Low income measures

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

What is the LIM?

For the purpose of making international comparisons, the low income measure (LIM) is the most commonly used low income measure. The use of the LIM was suggested in 1989 in a discussion paper written by Wolfson, Evans, and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)1 which discussed their concerns about the low income cut-offs (LICOs). In simple terms, the LIM is a fixed percentage (50%) of median adjusted household2 income, where "adjusted" indicates that household needs are taken into account. Adjustment for household sizes reflects the fact that a household's needs increase as the number of members increases. Most would agree that a household of five has greater needs than a household of two.

The LIMs are calculated three times; with market income, before-tax income, and after-tax income using the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID). They do not require updating using an inflation index because they are calculated using an annual survey of household income. Unlike the low income cut-offs, which are derived from an expenditure survey and then compared to an income survey, the LIMs are both derived and applied using a single income survey.

Changes to the LIM – accounting unit, unit of analysis and equivalence scale

With this release, some changes have been made to the concepts around the Low Income Measures (Murphy, Zhang and Dionne 2010). These changes relate to the accounting unit utilized, the unit of analysis and the equivalence scale.

In previous years, the economic family was the accounting unit in which individuals pooled income to enjoy economies of scale. However, beginning this year, the household has replaced the economic family in the LIM. The rationale for this change is twofold. Firstly, housing costs such as mortgage interest or rent and utilities are likely shared among individuals living in a dwelling, regardless if they are part of a different economic family. Secondly, the household is the international standard when analysing income distribution (The Canberra Group 2001).

In addition, a change also appears at the unit of analysis. The median is no longer calculated over the population of families or households, but over the population of individuals. Hence, each persons in the population is represented by its adjusted household income. The LIM is then defined as 50% of the median of the adjusted household income observed at the person level.

Finally, the equivalence scale has been changed. In the past, the scale used by Statistics Canada was as follows:

  • the oldest person in the family was assigned a factor of 1.0;
  • the second oldest person in the family was assigned a factor of 0.4;
  • each of the other family members aged 16 and over was assigned a factor of 0.4;
  • each of the other family members under age 16 was assigned a factor of 0.3.

The adjusted income amount for the family was then obtained by dividing the family's income by the sum of the factors assigned to the family's members.

In order to ensure international consistency and to facilitate the calculation of adjusted household income, a new scale will now be used. From now on, adjusted household income will be obtained by dividing household income by the square root of the number of members in the household. Previous years' LIMs have been revised accordingly.

How is the LIM calculated?

In order to calculate the LIMs, first calculate "equivalent household income" for each household by dividing household income by its adjusted size, that is the square root of the number of persons in the household. Next, assign this adjusted household income to each individual in the population. Then determine the median of this "equivalent household income" over the population of individuals, that is the amount where half of all individuals will be above it and half below. The LIM for a household of one person is 50% of this median "equivalent household income", and the LIMs for other sizes of households are equal to this value multiplied by their "equivalent household size".


Notes

  1. 'Statistics Canada's Low Income Cut-offs: Methodological Concerns and Possibilities' (Wolfson, Evans, and OECD).
  2. A household is defined as a person or group of persons residing in a dwelling.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Les mesures de faible revenu

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Qu'est-ce la mesure de faible revenu?

Aux fins des comparaisons internationales, la mesure de faible revenu (MFR) est la méthode la plus couramment utilisée. L'utilisation de cette mesure a été proposée en 1989, dans un document de travail de Wolfson, Evans et l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)1, dans lequel on traitait de préoccupations concernant les seuils de faible revenu (SFR). En termes simples, la MFR est un pourcentage fixe (50 %) du revenu ménager2 médian « ajusté », ce dernier terme traduisant la prise en compte des besoins du ménage. L'ajustement en fonction de la taille rend compte du fait que les besoins d'une ménage augmentent à mesure que le nombre de membres croît. Ainsi, on s'entendra pour dire que les besoins seront plus élevés pour une ménage de cinq personnes que pour une ménage de deux.

Les MFR sont calculées trois fois; à partir du revenu du marché, du revenu avant impôt et du revenu après impôt. Elles sont calculées à partir de l'Enquête sur la dynamique du travail et du revenu (EDTR). Les MFR n'ont pas à être mises à jour au moyen d'un indice de l'inflation, parce qu'elles sont calculées à partir d'une enquête annuelle sur le revenu des ménages. Contrairement aux seuils de faible revenu, qui sont calculés à partir d'une enquête sur les dépenses, puis comparés à une enquête sur le revenu, les MFR sont calculées et appliquées à partir d'une seule et unique enquête sur le revenu.

Changements apportés aux MFR : unité de référence, unité d'analyse et échelle d'équivalence

Avec cette publication, quelques changements ont été apportés aux concepts entourant la MFR (Murphy, Zhang et Dionne, 2010). Ces changement ont rapport avec l'unité de référence, l'unité d'analyse et l'échelle d'équivalence.

Dans les années passées, la famille économique était l'unité de référence dans laquelle les individus mettaient en commun leurs revenus pour profiter des économies d'échelle. Cependant, à partir de cette année, le ménage remplace la famille économique en tant qu'unité de référence pour la MFR. Deux raisons justifient ce changement. Premièrement, les coûts du logis tel que l'hypothèque, le loyer et les commodités sont plus susceptibles d'être partagés entre les membres du ménage même si ils font partie de différentes familles économiques. Deuxièmement, le ménage est la norme internationale pour fins d'analyse de la distribution du revenu (Expert Group on Household Income Statistics, 2001).

De plus, un changement est apporté à l'unité d'analyse. La médiane n'est plus calculée sur la population des familles économiques ou des ménages mais sur la population d'individus. Ainsi, chaque personne dans la population est représentée par son revenu ménager ajusté. La MFR est donc définie comme étant la moitié de la médiane du revenu ménager ajusté de la population d'individus.

Finallement, l'échelle d'équivalence a été modifiée. Auparavant, l'échelle utilisée était définie comme suit :

  • la personne la plus âgée de la famille reçoit un facteur de 1,0;
  • la personne suivante en âge reçoit un facteur de 0,4;
  • tous les autres membres de la famille âgés de 16 ans et plus reçoivent chacun un facteur de 0,4; et
  • tous les autres membres de la famille de moins de 16 ans reçoivent un facteur de 0,3.

Le montant du revenu ajusté pour la famille était calculé en divisant la valeur du revenu par la somme des facteurs attribués à chaque membre.

Afin de maintenir une cohérence internationale et de simplifier le calcul du revenu ménager ajusté, une nouvelle échelle est maintenant utilisée. Dorénavant, le revenu ménager ajusté s'obtient en divisant le revenu ménager par la racine carré du nombre d'individus dans le ménage. Les MFR des années antérieures ont été revues en conséquence.

Comment calcule-t-on la mesure de faible revenu?

Pour calculer les MFR, il faut d'abord calculer pour chaque ménage le « revenu ménager ajusté » en divisant le revenu ménager par sa taille ajusté, soit la racine carré du nombre de personnes dans le ménage. Ensuite on assigne le revenu ménager ajusté à chaque membre du ménage. Puis, on détermine la médiane du revenu ménager ajusté sur l'ensemble des individus, c'est à dire le montant qui divise la population en deux groupes égaux (50 %), selon que le revenu ajusté est supérieur ou inférieur. La MFR pour un ménage d'une personne est 50 % de cette médiane et les MFR pour les autres tailles de ménage équivalent à cette valeur multipliée par la taille ajustée du ménage.


Notes

  1. « Seuils de faible revenue de Statistique Canada : Problèmes et possibilités méthodologiques » (Wolfson, Evans, et OCDE).
  2. Un ménage est constitué d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes vivant dans un même logement.
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :