Introduction

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Statistics Canada has a long history of publishing data on the low income of Canadians. The low income cut-offs (LICOs) were first published in 1967 as part of the 1961 Census monograph series and are by far Statistics Canada's most established and widely recognized approach to estimating low-income cut-offs. LICOs are income thresholds below which families devote a larger share of income to the necessities of food, shelter and clothing than the average family would.

Following the practice of many international organizations, Statistics Canada began to publish before- and after-tax low income measures (LIMs) in 1991. LIMs are particularly convenient for making international comparisons, since estimating the cut-offs requires only data on household1 incomes within a country. As such, they require no adjustments using exchange rates or purchasing power parity indexes as would be necessary to make meaningful comparisons of absolute levels of income between countries.

The Market Basket Measure (MBM) was developed by Human Resources Development Canada (HRSDC) to represent a standard of living that is a compromise between subsistence and social inclusion that reflects differences in living costs across the country (HRSDC, 2010). The thresholds are produced for a reference family of two adults and two children for all sizes of area of residence in each province and for several cities. While HRSDC is responsible for defining the components of the basket and the related concepts, Statistics Canada is responsible for the costing the components and producing low income statistics.

Media, researchers and policy-makers interested in measures of low income are typically concerned with the extent to which individuals in the population are living in poverty. Unfortunately, defining poverty is far from straightforward. The underlying difficulty is that poverty is a question of social consensus, defined for a given point in time and in the context of a given country. Decisions on what defines poverty are subjective and ultimately arbitrary2. Given this, Statistics Canada has always referred to the low income lines as indicators of the extent to which some Canadians are less well-off than others based solely on income and as such, are low income and not poverty measures.

Other statistical organizations are also sensitive to the use of the word 'poverty'. Eurostat refers to its measure (similar to the LIM) as an 'at risk of poverty' measure. In the United States, where an official poverty measure exists, the poverty rates are qualified as being calculated according to a specified definition, allowing that other measures are possible.

The purpose of this document is to provide the dollar cut-offs used to define the low income population. Low income status is determined using family or household income. The family concept used is the economic family, that is, all persons living in the same dwelling and related by blood, marriage, common-law relationship or adoption. A household is defined as a person or group of persons residing in a dwelling.


Notes

  1. Previously, LIMs were calculated at the economic family level. Beginning with this release, LIMs are calculated at the household level to meet the international standard.
  2. Refer to 'On poverty and Low income' (Fellegi) and 'Describing the Distribution of Income: Guidelines for Effective Analysis' (Skuterud, Frenette, and Poon) for a more detailed discussion on poverty and low income.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Introduction

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Statistique Canada a une longue tradition en ce qui a trait à la publication de données sur les Canadiens à faible revenu. Des seuils de faible revenu (SFR) ont été publiés pour la première fois en 1967, dans une série de monographies du Recensement de 1961, et ils constituent de loin l'approche la mieux établie et la plus largement reconnue à Statistique Canada pour les estimations du faible revenu. Les SFR sont des limites de revenu en dessous desquels les familles dédient un plus grande part de leurs revenus à l'alimentation, le logement et à l'habillement que ne le fait la famille moyenne.

Dans la foulée de nombreux organismes internationaux, le Bureau publia à partir de 1991 les mesures de faible revenu avant et après impôt (MFR). Les MFR sont particulièrement utiles dans le cadre des comparaisons internationales, du fait qu'elles permettent l'estimation des seuils à partir uniquement de données sur le revenu des ménages1 à l'intérieur d'un pays. Il n'est donc pas nécessaire de les ajuster au moyen des indices du taux de change ou du pouvoir d'achat, comme il faudrait le faire pour obtenir des comparaisons utiles des niveaux absolus de revenu entre les pays.

La Mesure du panier de consommation (MPC) a été développée par Ressourses humaines et développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) pour refléter un niveau de vie qui soit un compromis entre subsistance et intégration sociale et qui tient compte des disparités régionales du coût de la vie (RHDCC, 2010). Les seuils sont produits pour une famille de référence, composée de deux adultes et deux enfants, pour plusieurs villes et toute les tailles d'agglomération dans chaque province. Alors que RHDCC est responsable de la composition du panier et des concepts qui lui sont associés, Statistique Canada évalue le coût du panier et produit des statistiques sur le faible revenu qui en découlent.

Les médias, les chercheurs et les décideurs qui s'intéressent aux mesures de faible revenu se préoccupent généralement de savoir dans quelle mesure les membres de la population vivent dans la pauvreté. Malheureusement, il n'est pas simple de définir la pauvreté. La difficulté sous-jacente tient au fait que la pauvreté est une question de consensus social, définie à un moment particulier dans un pays donné. Les décisions sur la façon de définir la pauvreté sont subjectives et, à la limite, arbitraires2. C'est pourquoi Statistique Canada a toujours considéré les lignes de faible revenu comme des indicateurs pour savoir dans quelle mesure certains Canadiens sont moins bien nantis que d'autres, sur la base uniquement du revenu, ce qui en fait des mesures du faible revenu et non pas de la pauvreté.

D'autres organismes statistiques sont aussi sensibles à l'utilisation du mot « pauvreté ». Eurostat désigne la mesure qu'il utilise (qui s'apparente à la MFR) comme une mesure « du risque de vivre dans la pauvreté ». Aux États-Unis, où il existe une mesure officielle de la pauvreté, on dit des taux de pauvreté qu'ils sont calculés selon une définition précise, en reconnaissant que d'autres mesures sont possibles.

Le présent document vise à fournir les limites monétaires utilisés pour définir la population à faible revenu. L'état de faible revenu est défini à l'aide du revenu familial ou ménager. Le concept de famille qui est utilisé est celui de la famille économique, soit toutes les personnes qui partagent le même logement et qui sont apparentées par le sang, par alliance ou par adoption ou qui vivent en union libre. Un ménage est constitué d'une personne ou d'un groupe de personnes vivant dans un même logement.


Notes

  1. Auparavant la MFR était calculée au niveau de la famille économique. Pour rencontrer les normes internationales, la MFR est dorénavant calculée au niveau du ménage.
  2. Voir 'À propos de la pauvreté et du faible revenu' (Fellegi) et 'Description de la répartition du revenu :
    Lignes directrices pour une analyse efficace' (Skuterud, Frenette, et Poon) pour un examen plus détaillé de la pauvreté et du fable revenu.
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :