Insights on Canadian Society

Upgrading and high school equivalency among the Indigenous population living off reserve

by Vivian O’Donnell and Paula Arriagada

Release date: September 19, 2019

Among people who leave high school prior to completion, many return to schooling as adults. High school equivalency programs (such as a General Educational Development or Adult Basic Education program) gives them the opportunity to go back and complete high school requirements. Using data from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, this study examines the factors associated with upgrading and high school equivalency among the Indigenous population living off reserve. It also examines whether high school equivalency or upgrading is associated with better educational and labour market outcomes.

Homeownership, mortgage debt and types of mortgage among Canadian families

by Sharanjit Uppal

Release date: August 8, 2019

A dream of many Canadians is to someday own their own home and most take on debt for that reason. This study uses data from the Survey of Financial Security to examine changes in homeownership rates and factors associated with homeownership, the proportion of families who had paid off the mortgage on their principal residence, and the amount of mortgage debt owed by families who had a mortgage. The study also provides information on the types of mortgage rates on the principal residence (fixed rate, variable rate or a combination of both).

Results from the 2016 Census: Occupations with older workers

by Bertrand Ouellet-Léveillé and Anne Milan

Release date: July 25, 2019

Over the past two decades, the share of the employed population aged 55 and over increased significantly. This study uses Census of Population and Labour Force Survey data to examine the changing age composition of workers within the most prevalent occupations (with at least 10,000 workers), as well as the occupations that are increasing and decreasing in size most rapidly.

Debt and financial distress among Canadian families

by George Marshall

Release date: June 26, 2019

This study uses data from the 2016 Survey of Financial Security to examine financial distress indicators for Canadian families. Three financial distress indicators are examined: the proportion of Canadian families who skipped or delayed a mortgage payment, the proportion who skipped or delayed a non-mortgage payment and the proportion who borrowed money through a payday loan. This paper also examines the factors associated with financial distress among Canadians, with a particular focus on their debt level.

The role of social capital and ethnocultural characteristics in the employment income of immigrants over time

by Rose Evra and Abdolmohammad Kazemipur

Release date: June 19, 2019

This study examines the impact of social capital and ethnocultural characteristics on the evolution of employment income of a cohort of immigrants who arrived in Canada in 2001, based on two linked datasets: the Longitudinal Survey of Immigrants to Canada (LSIC) and the Longitudinal Immigration Database (IMDB). The study examines the employment income of this cohort in their first 15 years in Canada (i.e., from 2002 to 2016).

Results from the 2016 Census: Commuting within Canada’s largest cities

by Katherine Savage

Release date: May 29, 2019

Using data from the 1996 and 2016 Census of Population, this study examines the geographic location of jobs, people’s commute and how they have changed over time. The commuting patterns for Canada’s eight largest census metropolitan areas (CMAs)—Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa–Gatineau, Edmonton, Québec and Winnipeg—are compared. 

Results from the 2016 Census: Earnings of immigrants and children of immigrants in official language minority populations

by René Houle

Release date: May 15, 2019

This study uses data from the 2016 Census in order to examine the employment earnings of individuals with an immigrant background (i.e., immigrants and children of immigrants) who are part of official language minorities in Canada. Two groups are examined: those with French as their first official language spoken (FOLS) living in Canada outside Quebec, and those with English as their FOLS living in Quebec. In this study, comparisons are made with groups belonging to the linguistic majority.

Persistence and representation of women in STEM programs

by Katherine Wall

Release date: May 2, 2019

The underrepresentation of women in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics and computer science) has attracted considerable attention, and many have wondered whether women are more likely than men to quit STEM programs at university. Using data from the Education and Labour Market Longitudinal Platform (ELMLP), this study follows a cohort of students who enrolled in a STEM program in 2010 over a number of years, in order to see the extent to which women and men persist in and eventually graduate from STEM programs.

Debt and assets among senior Canadian families

by Sharanjit Uppal

Release date: April 3, 2019

Using data from the Survey of Financial Security (SFS), this article looks at changes in debt, assets and net worth among senior Canadian families over the period from 1999 to 2016. It also examines changes in the debt-to-income ratio and the debt-to-asset ratio of senior families with debt.

The labour force in Canada and its regions: Projections to 2036

by Laurent Martel

Release date: March 20, 2019

In this study, data from the Demosim microsimulation model are used to assess the labour force participation rate of Canadians in 2036 under various scenarios of population growth and participation rates by age. In addition, the article provides an overview of the ethnocultural characteristics of persons who will be in the labour force in 2036, as well as an overview of regional differences in the characteristics of the labour force that may exist in 2036.

Living alone in Canada

by Jackie Tang, Nora Galbraith and Johnny Truong

Release date: March 6, 2019

This study uses the Census of Population and the 2017 General Social Survey on Family to examine the characteristics of the population living alone in Canada. The demographic, socioeconomic and housing characteristics of persons who live alone are examined, as well as their conjugal history, family relationships, and well-being indicators.

Results from the 2016 Census: Long commutes to work by car

by Tetyana Yaropud, Jason Gilmore and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: February 25, 2019

Commuting is a fact of life for millions of Canadians. Using data from the 2016 Census on place of work and commuting, this study examines the characteristics of those who spend at least 60 minutes travelling to work, with a focus on those who commute by car, truck or van (or “car commuters”).

Results from the 2016 Census: Syrian refugees who resettled in Canada in 2015 and 2016

by René Houle

Release date: February 12, 2019

In this study, data from the 2016 Census are used to examine the sociodemographic profile and employment
situation of Syrian refugees who resettled in Canada between January 1, 2015, and May 10, 2016, and who
were still living in Canada at the time of the census. Data from the 2016 Longitudinal Immigration Database
(IMDB) are also used to examine the income situation in 2016 of refugees who were admitted to Canada in
November and December 2015.

Articles released in 2018

Articles released in 2017

Articles released in 2016

Articles released in 2015

Articles released in 2014

Articles released in 2013

Articles released in 2012

Date modified:

Regards sur la société canadienne

Programme d’équivalence d’études secondaires ou de mise à niveau au sein de la population autochtone vivant hors réserve

par Vivian O’Donnell et Paula Arriagada

Date de diffusion : le 19 septembre 2019

Parmi les personnes qui abandonnent leurs études secondaires avant de les avoir terminées, nombreuses sont celles qui retournent aux études scolaires à l’âge adulte. Les programmes d’équivalence d’études secondaires et de mise à niveau (comme la Batterie générale de tests d’aptitudes ou la Formation de base des adultes) leur donnent l’occasion de retourner aux études pour respecter les exigences associées à l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires. Au moyen des données de l’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones de 2017, on examine, dans le cadre de la présente étude, les facteurs associés au fait d’achever un programme d’équivalence d’études secondaires ou de mise à niveau au sein de la population autochtone vivant hors réserve. On évalue également si le fait de terminer de tels programmes est associé à de meilleurs résultats en matière de scolarité et sur le marché du travail.

Accession à la propriété, dette hypothécaire et types d’hypothèque des familles canadiennes

par Sharanjit Uppal

Date de diffusion : le 8 août 2019

De nombreux Canadiens rêvent de posséder un jour leur propre maison, et la plupart d’entre eux s’endettent pour cette raison. La présente étude s’appuie sur les données de l’Enquête sur la sécurité financière de 2016 pour examiner les variations du taux d’accession à la propriété et les facteurs liés à l’accession à la propriété, la proportion de familles qui ont remboursé l’hypothèque de leur résidence principale, et le montant de la dette hypothécaire à rembourser par les familles ayant une hypothèque. L’étude fournit également des renseignements sur les types de taux hypothécaires sélectionnés pour la résidence principale (taux fixe, taux variable ou une combinaison des deux).

Résultats du Recensement de 2016 : Les professions comptant des travailleurs âgés

par Bertrand Ouellet-Léveillé et Anne Milan

Date de diffusion : le 25 juillet 2019

Au cours des 20 dernières années, la part des travailleurs âgés de 55 ans et plus a augmenté de façon significative. La présente étude s’appuie sur les données du Recensement de la population et de l’Enquête sur la population active afin d’examiner l’évolution de la composition par âge des travailleurs parmi les professions les plus répandues (comptant au moins 10 000 travailleurs), de même que les professions qui connaissent les variations d’effectifs les plus élevées et les moins élevées.

Endettement et difficultés financières des familles canadiennes

par George Marshall

Date de diffusion : le 26 juin 2019

La présente étude repose sur les données de l’Enquête sur la sécurité financière de 2016, pour examiner des indicateurs de difficultés financières au sein des familles canadiennes. Dans l’étude, on examine trois indicateurs de difficultés financières, à savoir la proportion de familles canadiennes ayant sauté ou retardé un paiement hypothécaire, la proportion ayant sauté ou retardé un paiement non hypothécaire et la proportion ayant emprunté de l’argent sous forme de prêt sur salaire. On examine également les facteurs associés aux difficultés financières au sein de la population canadienne, en accordant une attention particulière au niveau d’endettement.

Rôle du capital social et des caractéristiques ethnoculturelles dans le revenu d’emploi des immigrants au fil du temps

par Rose Evra et Abdolmohammad Kazemipur

Date de diffusion : le 19 juin 2019

Dans la présente étude, on examine l'incidence du capital social et des caractéristiques ethnoculturelles sur l'évolution du revenu d'emploi d'une cohorte d'immigrants admis au Canada en 2001, en se fondant sur deux ensembles de données couplés, à savoir l'Enquête longitudinale auprès des immigrants du Canada (ELIC) et la Base de données longitudinales sur l'immigration (BDIM). Dans l'étude, on examine le revenu d'emploi de cette cohorte d'immigrants au cours de leurs 15 premières années de vie au Canada (c'est à dire de 2002 à 2016).

Résultats du Recensement de 2016 : le navettage dans les grandes villes du Canada

par Katherine Savage

Date de diffusion : le 29 mai 2019

À partir des données du Recensement de la population de 1996 et de 2016, dans la présente étude, on examine l’emplacement géographique des emplois et le navettage des travailleurs, de même que leur évolution au fil du temps. Dans l’étude, on compare également les habitudes de navettage des travailleurs observées dans les huit plus grandes régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) du Canada — Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver, Calgary, Ottawa–Gatineau, Edmonton, Québec et Winnipeg.

Résultats du Recensement de 2016 : Rémunération des immigrants et des enfants d’immigrants appartenant aux minorités de langue officielle

par René Houle

Date de diffusion : le 15 mai 2019

Dans la présente étude, on examine, à l’aide des données du Recensement de 2016, la rémunération d’emploi des personnes issues de l’immigration (soit les immigrants et les enfants d’immigrants) faisant partie des minorités de langue officielle au Canada. Deux groupes sont examinés : ceux ayant le français comme première langue officielle parlée (PLOP) et vivant au Canada hors Québec, et ceux ayant l’anglais comme PLOP et vivant au Québec. Dans l’article, on effectue des comparaisons avec les groupes appartenant à la majorité linguistique.

Persévérance et représentation des femmes dans les programmes d’études en STGM

par Katherine Wall

Date de diffusion : le 2 mai 2019

La sous-représentation des femmes dans les programmes d’études en sciences, technologies, génie et mathématiques et sciences informatiques (STGM) a suscité beaucoup d’attention, et de nombreuses personnes se sont demandé si les femmes étaient plus susceptibles que les hommes de quitter ces programmes durant leurs études universitaires. À l’aide des données de la Plateforme longitudinale entre l’éducation et le marché du travail (PLEMT), la présente étude suit pendant une période donnée une cohorte d’étudiants qui se sont inscrits à un programme d’études en STGM en 2010, afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure les femmes et les hommes persévèrent dans ces programmes et obtiennent par la suite leur diplôme.

Dettes et actifs des familles canadiennes âgées

par Sharanjit Uppal

Date de diffusion : le 3 avril 2019

À l’aide des données de l’Enquête sur la sécurité financière (ESF), le présent article examine les variations de la dette, de l’actif et de la valeur nette chez les familles canadiennes âgées au cours de la période allant de 1999 à 2016. L’article se penche également sur les variations du ratio de la dette au revenu et du ratio de la dette aux actifs des familles canadiennes âgées qui avaient une dette.

Population active du Canada et de ses régions : projections jusqu’en 2036

par Laurent Martel

Date de diffusion : le 20 mars 2019

Dans la présente étude, on utilise les données du modèle de microsimulation Demosim afin d’évaluer, en fonction de divers scénarios de croissance de la population et de taux d’activité selon l’âge, le niveau de participation des Canadiens sur le marché du travail en 2036. En outre, l’article fournit un aperçu des caractéristiques ethnoculturelles des personnes qui seront actives sur le marché du travail en 2036, de même qu’un aperçu des différences régionales qui pourraient exister en 2036 sur le plan de la population active.

Vivre seul au Canada

par Jackie Tang, Nora Galbraith et Johnny Truong

Date de diffusion : le 6 mars 2019

La présente étude repose sur les données du Recensement de la population et de l’Enquête sociale générale de 2017 sur la famille et vise à examiner les caractéristiques de la population vivant seule au Canada. En plus d’étudier les caractéristiques démographiques et socioéconomiques des personnes qui vivent seules, on examine leurs caractéristiques sur le plan du logement, leurs antécédents conjugaux, leurs relations familiales et certains indicateurs de leur bien-être.

Résultats du Recensement de 2016 : Les trajets de longue durée en automobile pour se rendre au travail

par Tetyana Yaropud, Jason Gilmore et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : le 25 février 2019

Le navettage est une réalité pour des millions de Canadiens. À l’aide des données du Recensement de 2016 sur le lieu de travail et le navettage, dans la présente étude, on examine les caractéristiques des personnes qui consacrent au moins 60 minutes à se rendre au travail, en mettant l’accent sur celles qui effectuent le trajet en automobile, en camion ou en fourgonnette (ou les « navetteurs utilisant une automobile »).

Résultats du Recensement de 2016 : Les réfugiés syriens réinstallés au Canada en 2015 et 2016

par René Houle

Date de diffusion : le 12 février 2019

Dans la présente étude, on utilise les données du Recensement de la population de 2016 afin d'examiner le
portrait sociodémographique et la situation d'emploi des réfugiés syriens réinstallés au Canada du 1er janvier
2015 au 10 mai 2016 et qui vivaient toujours au Canada au moment du recensement. Les données de la Base
de données longitudinales sur l'immigration (BDIM) sont également utilisées afin d'examiner le revenu en 2016
des réfugiés admis au Canada en novembre et en décembre 2015.

Articles diffusés en 2018

Articles diffusés en 2017

Articles diffusés en 2016

Articles diffusés en 2015

Articles diffusés en 2014

Articles diffusés en 2013

Articles diffusés en 2012

Date de modification :