Quick fact

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Private sector jobs: Faster rebound in the east

Following the labour market downturn of late 2008 and early 2009, Newfoundland and Labrador lead all Canadian provinces in terms of job growth in the private sector, followed by Nova Scotia and Quebec.

The number of private sector employees in Newfoundland and Labrador was almost 4% higher in April 2010 than July 2009, the month that marked the beginning of an upturn in Canada's labour market. This was a notable turnaround from the 1.7% drop the province had seen during the downturn period from October 2008 to June 2009—a time when all provinces, except New Brunswick and Manitoba, lost private sector jobs.

Chart - Job growth in the private sector, from July 2009 to April 2010

Private sector employment rebounded in Nova Scotia and Quebec by 3.5% and 3.4% respectively, compared to losses of 5.9% and 2.1% during the downturn.

Alberta lost over 6% of its private sector employment during the downturn, and subsequently gained 1.4% from the trough. But with less than half the rate of job growth experienced by Newfoundland and Labrador, Alberta fell below the national average, just after British Columbia.

Table - Employment change in the private sector since the fall of 2008
  October 2008 to June 2009 July 2009 to April 2010
%
Newfoundland and Labrador -1.7 3.9
Nova Scotia -5.9 3.5
Quebec -2.1 3.4
Prince Edward Island -1.3 3.0
Saskatchewan -2.1 2.9
Ontario -4.2 2.5
Canada -3.5 2.4
British Columbia -3.1 2.1
Alberta -6.1 1.4
New Brunswick 0.4 0.5
Manitoba 1.0 -2.1
Note: July 2009 marks the beginning of an upward trend in the labour market since the start of the downturn in the fall of 2008.
Source: Statistics Canada, Labour Force Survey, seasonally adjusted data.

Quick fact archive

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

En bref

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'emploi dans le secteur privé : une reprise plus rapide dans l'est

Après la morosité du marché du travail de la fin de l'année 2008 et du début 2009, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador se classe au premier rang de toutes les provinces canadiennes quant à la croissance de l'emploi dans le secteur privé, suivie de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec.

Le nombre de travailleurs du secteur privé à  Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador était de presque 4 % plus élevé en avril 2010 par rapport à juillet 2009, le mois qui a marqué l'esquisse d'une reprise dans le marché du travail canadien. Il s'agit d'une reprise notable, étant donné la baisse de 1,7 % que la province avait connue durant la période de ralentissement allant d'octobre 2008 à juin 2009 — période où toutes les provinces, sauf le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Manitoba, ont enregistré des pertes d'emploi dans le secteur privé.

Graphique - La croissance de l'emploi dans le secteur privé, de juillet 2009 à avril 2010

L'emploi dans le secteur privé de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec a remonté de 3,5 % et 3,4 % respectivement, comparé à des pertes de 5,9 % et 2,1 % survenues pendant le ralentissement.

L'Alberta a perdu plus de 6 % de l'emploi dans le secteur privé pendant le dernier ralentissement économique, mais regagné 1,4 % par la suite. Toutefois, avec moins de la moitié du taux de croissance enregistré à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, l'Alberta est tombée en-dessous de la moyenne nationale, juste après la Colombie-Britannique.

Tableau - La variation de l'emploi dans le secteur privé depuis l'automne 2008
  Octobre 2008 à juin 2009 Juillet 2009 à avril 2010
%
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador -1,7 3,9
Nouvelle-Écosse -5,9 3,5
Québec -2,1 3,4
Île-du-Prince-Édouard -1,3 3,0
Saskatchewan -2,1 2,9
Ontario -4,2 2,5
Canada -3,5 2,4
Colombie-Britannique -3,1 2,1
Alberta -6,1 1,4
Nouveau-Brunswick 0,4 0,5
Manitoba 1,0 -2,1
Note : Juillet 2009 marque l'esquisse d'une reprise du marché du travail après le ralentissement qui a commencé à l'automne 2008.
Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la population active, données désaisonnalisées.

Archives de la rubrique En bref

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :