Quick fact

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Canada's three largest cities1: Snapshot of an industry mix

Montréal has a slightly greater concentration of manufacturing employment (13.2%) than Toronto (11.8%). Despite losses, manufacturing employment still ranks second in both cities after trade, followed by health and social assistance services in Montréal, and finance, insurance, real estate and leasing services in Toronto.

Nationally, manufacturing dropped from being the second largest employer in 20072, just after retail trade, to third.  Growth in health care and social assistance services pushed this industry up to the second rank. Employment in manufacturing fell by 12.4% in 2009 from 2007, while it grew by nearly 6% in health and social assistance.

Chart - Employment in Canada's three largest cities1: Snapshot of an industry mix

Description

Employment in Canada's three largest cities: Snapshot of an industry mix

Source: Statistics Canada, Labour Force Survey, 2009.

Unsurprisingly, Toronto leads in the finance, insurance, real estate and leasing industry, with more than one in 10 of its workers employed in this sector, compared with 6.6% and 7.4% in Montréal and Vancouver respectively.

On average, one out of 10 workers in each of the metropolitan areas of Montréal, Toronto and Vancouver are employed in the professional, scientific and technical services industry. Nationally, employment in this industry grew by almost 6%, an increase that made it the fourth biggest employer overall in 2009—while it was in fifth position in 2007—and the third largest in the services-producing sector. Over one-quarter of national employment in professional, scientific and technical services is located in Toronto. 

Notes

  1. The term cities refers to the concept of Census Metropolitan Area (CMA).
  2. Because the recent economic downturn started in the last quarter of 2008, the year 2007, which was a "normal cycle" year, was chosen for comparison with 2009.

Table - Employment in Canada's three largest cities1: Snapshot of an industry mix

  Montréal Toronto Vancouver
Concentration of metropolitan area workers in selected industries (%)
Manufacturing 13.2 11.8 7.4
Finance, insurance, real estate and leasing 6.6 10.8 7.4
Professional, scientific and technical services 9.5 10.5 9.5
Source: Statistics Canada, Labour Force Survey, 2009.

Quick fact archive

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

En bref

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les trois plus grandes villes du Canada1 : Image d'une économie diverse

La part du secteur manufacturier dans l'emploi à Montréal (13,2 %) est légèrement  plus élevée qu'à Toronto (11,8 %). Malgré des pertes, le secteur manufacturier se classe encore au deuxième rang dans l'emploi des deux villes, après le commerce, suivi des services de santé et d'assistance sociale à Montréal, et des services de finance, d'assurance, d'immobilier et de location à Toronto.

À l'échelle nationale, le secteur manufacturier, qui était le deuxième plus grand secteur d'emploi en 20072, juste après le commerce de détail, est maintenant passé au troisième rang.  La croissance enregistrée dans les services de santé et d'assistance sociale a propulsé cette branche au deuxième rang. En effet, l'emploi dans le secteur manufacturier a chuté de 12,4 % en 2009 par rapport à 2007, alors qu'il a augmenté de presque 6 % dans les services de santé et d'assistance sociale.

Graphique - L'emploi dans les trois plus grandes villes1 du Canada : Image d'une économie diverse

Description

Tableau - L'emploi dans les trois plus grandes villes du Canada : Image d'une économie diverse

Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la population active, 2009.

Chose non surprenante, Toronto tient la palme d'or en matière d'emploi dans les services de finance, d'assurance, d'immobilier et de location, avec plus d'un travailleur sur dix employés dans ce secteur, contre 6,6 % et 7,4 % à Montréal et à Vancouver respectivement.

En moyenne, un travailleur sur dix dans chacune des régions métropolitaines de Montréal, Toronto et Vancouver occupent un emploi dans les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques. L'emploi dans cette industrie a progressé de près de 6 % à l'échelle nationale, une croissance qui en a fait le quatrième plus grand secteur d'emploi à l'échelle du pays en 2009 (alors qu'elle se classait au cinquième rang en 2007), et le troisième plus important dans l'ensemble du secteur des services. Plus d'un quart de l'emploi national dans les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques se trouve à Toronto. 

Notes

  1. Le terme villes renvoie au concept de Région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR).
  2. Vu que le dernier ralentissement économique a commencé au premier trimestre de 2008, l'année 2007, qui était une année hors conjoncture, a été choisie pour certaines comparaisons avec 2009.

Tableau - L'emploi dans les trois plus grandes villes1 du Canada : Image d'une économie diverse

  Montréal Toronto Vancouver
Concentration des travailleurs des régions métropolitaines dans certaines industries (%)
Secteur manufacturier 13,2 11,8 7,4
Finance, assurances, immobilier et location 6,6 10,8 7,4
Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques 9,5 10,5 9,5
Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la population active, 2009.

Archives de la rubrique En bref

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :