Quick fact

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Self-employment in service industries

Over 2.6 million Canadian workers were self-employed in 2008, representing 15.4% of the total workforce, up from 13.8% in 1987. Nearly three-quarters (72% or 1.9 million) of these self-employed persons worked in the services-producing sector.

Among the service industries, only the accommodation and food services group as well as trade posted a decline in the self-employment rate between 1987 and 2008 (-1.8 percentage points to 8.4%, and -3.3 points to 10.8%, respectively).

Service industries with the largest growth in self-employment were finance, insurance, real estate and leasing, where the self-employment rate almost doubled, from 8.6% in 1987 to 16.6% in 2008, and professional, scientific and technical services, where the rate increased from 27.4% to 33.2% during the same period. These are generally high-skill industries.

Other high-skill service industries also posted increases, albeit moderate—information, culture and recreation, with a four-percentage-point growth in self-employment, education (2.1 points) and health care and social assistance (1.9 points).

Chart - Service industries with growing self-employment rates

Service industries with growing self-employment rates

Source: Statistics Canada, Labour Force Survey.

Just as women's share in the workforce grew during the two-decade period (from 43% to 47%), so did their share among the self-employed, increasing from 30% in 1987 to 35% in 2008.

Service industries with the largest share of self-employed women in 2008 were, unsurprisingly, health and social assistance (65%) and education (62%); women's share in the total workforce of these industries was 82% and 66% respectively.

Women accounted for a third of the self-employed workers in finance, insurance, real estate and leasing services, while their share in this industry's total employment was 57%. In professional, scientific and technical services, their share was 35% of the self-employed and 42% overall.

Well over three-quarters (77%) of the total Canadian workforce (employees and self-employed) worked in the services sector in 2008. The latest Labour Force Survey data show a job gain of 37,000 in self-employment for April 2009, compared with a small decline (-1,100) in the number of employees.

Table - Service industries with growing self-employment rateTable - Service industries with growing self-employment rate


Related to this topic:

Recent Developments in Self-Employment in Canada by Nadja Kamhi and Danny Leung, Bank of Canada, Working Paper 2005-8, March 2005.

Microentrepreneurship and the Business Cycle: Is Self-Employment a Desired Outcome? by Federico S. Mandelman and Gabriel V. Montes Rojas, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, Working Paper 2007-15, July 2007.

Quick fact archive

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

En bref

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'emploi autonome dans le secteur des services

Plus de 2,6 millions de travailleurs canadiens étaient travailleurs indépendants en 2008, représentant 15,4 % de la main-d'œuvre globale, contre 13,8 % en 1987. Près des trois-quarts (72 % ou 1,9 million) de ces travailleurs indépendants travaillaient dans le secteur des services.

Parmi les industries de services, seuls les services d'hébergement et de restauration ainsi que le commerce ont affiché une baisse du taux d'emploi autonome entre 1987 et 2008 (-1,8 point de pourcentage pour atteindre 8,4 %, et -3,3 points pour atteindre 10,8 %, respectivement).

Les industries de services ayant connu la plus forte croissance de l'emploi autonome sont celles des services de finance, assurances, immobilier et location, où le taux d'emploi autonome a presque doublé, passant de 8,6 % en 1987 à 16,6 % en 2008, et les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques, où ce taux est passé de 27,4 % à 33,2 % durant la même période. Ces industries se caractérisent généralement par une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée.

D'autres industries de services à main-d'œuvre également qualifiée ont aussi affiché des hausses, quoique modestes, à savoir les services d'information, de culture et loisirs, qui ont affiché une croissance de 4 points de pourcentage du travail autonome, les services d'enseignement (2,1 points) et les services de soins de santé et d'assistance sociale (1,9 point).

Industries de services où le taux d'emploi autonome est en croissance

Graphique - Industries de services où le taux d'emploi autonome est en croissance

Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la population active.

Les femmes, qui ont vu leur part dans la main-d'œuvre progresser durant la période des deux décennies (allant de 43 % à 47 %), ont aussi vu leur part parmi les travailleurs indépendants augmenter, passant de 30 % en 1987 à 35 % en 2008.

Les industries de services ayant la proportion la plus élevée de femmes travailleuses indépendantes en  2008 étaient, comme on pouvait s'y attendre, les soins de santé et l'assistance sociale (65 %) et l'enseignement (62 %); la part des femmes dans l'effectif total de ces industries était de 82 % et 66% respectivement.

Toujours en 2008, les femmes représentaient un tiers des travailleurs autonomes dans les services de finance, assurances, immobilier et location, alors que leur part de l'effectif total de cette industrie était de 57%. Dans les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques, elles représentaient 35 % des travailleurs autonomes et 42 % de l'effectif global.

Bien plus des trois-quarts (77 %) de l'effectif global de la main-d'œuvre canadienne (employés et travailleurs autonomes) travaillaient dans le secteur des services en 2008. D'après les dernières données de l'Enquête sur la population active, l'effectif des travailleurs autonomes a augmenté de 37 000 en avril 2009, alors que celui des employés a diminué de 1 100.

Tableau - Industries de services où le taux d'emploi autonome est en croissanceTableau - Industries de services où le taux d'emploi autonome est en croissance


Concernant ce sujet, voir :

Recent Developments in Self-Employment in Canada de Nadja Kamhi et Danny Leung, Banque du Canada, document de travail 2005-8, mars 2005.

Microentrepreneurship and the Business Cycle: Is Self-Employment a Desired Outcome? de Federico S. Mandelman et Gabriel V. Montes Rojas, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, document de travail 2007-15, juillet 2007.

Archives de la rubrique En bref

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :