Key Trends in Elementary to Postsecondary Student Enrolments, Graduations and Tuition Fees

Start of visual interactive dashboard
Embed this product
End of visual interactive dashboard

Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Tuition and living accommodation costs

Elementary to secondary education

Postsecondary education

Key trends

Additional information

Data for this dashboard is related to the following three surveys: Tuition and Living Accommodation Costs (TLAC), Elementary-Secondary Education Survey (ESES), and the Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS).

Tuition and living accommodation costs

Tuition fees are reported in 2021 constant dollars or current dollars.

Constant dollars for the current year are calculated using an average of the Consumer Price Index (CPI) from the last six months.

Classification of professional degree types can be found here.

Definitions, data sources, and methods for the Tuition and Living Accommodation Costs (TLAC): Survey number 3123.

Elementary to Secondary Education

Enrolments in each school type, as well as in official languages programs, are displayed if they are offered in the province or territory and the data are available. Counts represent the number of students enrolled in programs at the beginning of the school year (in September or as close as possible thereafter). Graduation counts are also available by school type and represent first-time secondary school graduates only.

All counts are randomly rounded to a multiple of 3 using the following procedure: counts that are already a multiple of 3 are not adjusted; counts 1 greater than a multiple of 3 are adjusted to the next lowest multiple of 3 with a probability of two-thirds and to the next highest multiple of 3 with a probability of one-third. The probabilities are reversed for counts that are 1 less than a multiple of 3.

Totals may not add up to the sum of all categories due to rounding.

The school type "private schools" also includes "independent schools".

Definitions, data sources, and methods for the Elementary-Secondary Education Survey (ESES): Survey number 5102.

Postsecondary Education

The STEM category includes fields of study in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics and computer sciences. The BHASE category includes fields of study in business, humanities, health, arts, social science, education, legal studies, trades, services, natural resources and conservation.

The field of study refers to the Variant of CIP Canada 2016 — Cannabis STEM and BHASE groupings. The “Total, instructional program” data in this application are modified to exclude the STEM/BHASE “Unclassified” category. All calculations based on the “Total, instructional program” use the modified STEM/BHASE field of study total.

Prior to 2008/2009, institutions provided an aggregated CIP code for field of study. Beginning in 2008/2009, Statistics Canada started coding field of study to the detailed CIP series but it was not until 2010/2011 that this was done uniformly across all institutions. This may cause light inconsistencies at the more detailed series of CIP, used to derive the STEM/BHASE groupings. Therefore, prior to 2010/2011, the STEM/BHASE groupings are not available in the public data tables.

All counts are randomly rounded to a multiple of 3. Totals may not add up to the sum of all categories due to rounding. Percentages are calculated using rounded counts.

Graduate data are published based on the calendar year.

Reference to international student enrolments at Canadian public colleges and universities for 2017/2018 can be found here.

Definitions, data sources, and methods for the Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS): Survey number 5017.

Date modified:

Principales tendances des inscriptions, des sanctions d'études et des droits de scolarité du primaire au niveau postsecondaire

Début du tableau de bord interactif
Intégrer ce produit
Fin du tableau de bord interactif

Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Frais de scolarité et de subsistance

Enseignement primaire et secondaire

Enseignement postsecondaire

Principales tendances

Information additionnelle

Les données de ce tableau de bord sont relatives aux trois enquêtes suivantes : Frais de scolarité et de subsistance (FFS), Enquête sur l'enseignement primaire et secondaire (EEPS) et Système d'information sur les étudiants du postsecondaire (SIEP).

Frais de scolarité et de subsistance

Les frais de scolarité sont indiqués en dollars constants de 2021 ou en dollars courants.

Les dollars constants pour l'année en cours sont calculés en utilisant une moyenne de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) des six derniers mois.

La classification des types de diplômes professionnels peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante.

Définitions, sources de données et méthodes pour l'enquête Frais de scolarité et de subsistance (FSS) : Numéro 3123.

Enseignement primaire et secondaire

Les effectifs pour chaque type d'école, en plus des programmes de langues officielles, seront affichés s'ils sont offerts dans la province ou territoire et si les données sont disponibles. Les effectifs représentent le nombre d'élèves inscrits dans les programmes au début de l'année scolaire (en septembre ou aussitôt que possible par la suite).

Les effectifs de diplômés sont également disponibles par type d'école et représentent les nouveaux diplômés des écoles secondaires seulement.

Tous les nombres sont aléatoirement arrondis à un multiple de 3 à l'aide du procédé suivant : les nombres qui sont déjà un multiple de 3 ne sont pas ajustés ; les nombres qui sont supérieurs de 1 à un multiple de 3 sont ajustés au prochain plus bas multiple de 3 avec une probabilité de deux tiers et au prochain plus élevé multiple de 3 avec une probabilité d'un tiers. Les probabilités sont inversées pour les nombres qui sont inférieurs de 1 à un multiple de 3.

La somme des chiffres peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux en raison des valeurs arrondies.

Le type d'école « écoles privées » comprend également les « écoles indépendantes ».

Définitions, sources de données et méthodes pour l'enquête sur l'enseignement primaire et secondaire (EEPS) : Numéro 5102.

Enseignement postsecondaire

Le regroupement STGM comprend les domaines d'études en sciences, technologies, génie, mathématiques et sciences informatiques. Le regroupement SACHES comprend les domaines d'études en sciences sociales, arts, commerce, sciences humaines, éducation, santé, études juridiques, métiers, services, ressources naturelles et conservation.

Les domaines d’études sont basés sur les regroupements STGM/SACHE de la Classification des programmes d’enseignement, Canada 2016, variante du cannabis. Le « Total – programmes d’enseignement » présenté dans cette application a été modifié pour exclure les données de la catégorie « Non classé ». Tous les calculs basés sur le « Total – programmes d’enseignement » utilisent le total modifié.

À partir de 2008-2009, Statistique Canada a commencé à coder le domaine d’études en fonction des séries détaillées de la CPE, mais ce n’est qu’en 2010-2011 que cela a été fait de façon uniforme pour tous les établissements. Ce changement pourrait causer de légères incohérences dans les séries plus détaillées de la CPE, utilisées pour déterminer les regroupements STGM et SACHES. Par conséquent, pour les années ultérieures à 2010-2011, les regroupements STGM et SACHES ne sont pas disponibles dans les tableaux de données publiques.

Tous les chiffres sont aléatoirement arrondis à un multiple de 3. Par conséquent, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux totaux. Les variations en pourcentage ont été calculées à partir des chiffres arrondis.

Les données publiées sur les diplômés sont fondées sur l’année civile.

La référence aux inscriptions d'étudiants internationaux dans les collèges et universités publics canadiens pour 2017/2018 est disponible à l'adresse suivante.

Définitions, sources de données et méthodes pour le système d'information sur les étudiants postsecondaires (SIEP) : Numéro 5017.

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :