Spending by Canadian businesses on environmental protection

Start of visual interactive dashboard
Embed this product
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

For more information on how to use this tool, consult the guide “How to use” available on this page (top right).

For information on symbol legend please check Standard table symbols.

Totals may not add due to rounding.

Disaggregated industries estimates, and regional estimates are available in the published data tables (section Data). 2018 estimates can also be consulted in those data tables.

Due to estimates too unreliable to be published (symbol F in the data tables), or when no expenditures is reported, some selected categories may remain empty in the map and/or charts. The sum of the data breakdown may not equal the aggregate estimates on this dashboard when “estimates too unreliable to be published’ are observed.

Definitions

Environmental protection expenditures group expenditures on both environmental protection activities and resources management activities.

  • Environmental protection activities include air pollution management, solid waste management; wastewater management; protection and remediation of soil, groundwater and surface water; protection and restoration of biodiversity and habitat; clean vehicles and transportation technologies; environmental monitoring; environmental assessments and audits; relevant training and administrative costs, etc.
  • Resource management activities include heat or energy savings and management, the purchase of biofuels, biochemical products or biomaterials, as well as the production of energy from nuclear or renewable sources.

Capital expenditures: All relevant outlays for machinery and equipment and their installation that have been capitalized, as well as for the construction of non-residential facilities.

Operating expenses: All expenses related to environmental protection incurred for labour, materials and supplies, maintenance and repair, and purchased services.

Industry groups

To lighten this data visualization, industries have been grouped. Details are available in the published data tables, accessible in the Data section. Industries are presented under the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

Utilities (energy) category includes the following industries: Electric power generation, transmission and distribution (NAICS 2211) and Natural gas distribution (NAICS 2212).

Oil and gas and related activities category includes the following industries: Oil and gas extraction (NAICS 211), Petroleum and coal product manufacturing (NAICS 324), and Pipeline transportation (NAICS 486).

Forest sector activities category includes the following industries: Logging (except contract) (NAICS 113311), Wood product manufacturing (NAICS 321), Paper manufacturing (NAICS 322), and Furniture and related product manufacturing (NAICS 337).

Metal and general manufacturing category includes the following industries: Primary metal manufacturing (NAICS 331), Fabricated metal product manufacturing (NAICS 332), Transportation equipment manufacturing (NAICS 336), and Machinery manufacturing (NAICS 333).

Chemical manufacturing category includes the following industries: Chemical manufacturing (NAICS 325), Non-metallic mineral product manufacturing (NAICS 327), and Plastics and rubber products manufacturing (NAICS 326).

Mining and quarrying category includes the following industries: Coal mining (NAICS 2121), Metal ore mining (NAICS 2122), Shale, clay and refractory mineral mining and quarrying (NAICS 212326), and Other non-metallic mineral mining and quarrying (NAICS 21239).

Food and beverage manufacturing category includes the following industries: Food manufacturing (NAICS 311), and Beverage and tobacco product manufacturing (NAICS 312).

Other manufacturing industries category includes the following industries: Textile mills (NAICS 313), Textile product mills (NAICS 314), Clothing manufacturing (NAICS 315), Leather and allied product manufacturing (NAICS 316), Printing and related support activities (NAICS 323), Computer and electronic product manufacturing (NAICS 334), Electrical equipment, appliance and component manufacturing (NAICS 335), and Miscellaneous manufacturing (NAICS 339).

Date modified:

Dépenses des entreprises canadiennes en protection de l'environnement

Début du tableau de bord interactif
Intégrer ce produit
Fin du tableau de bord interactif

Information additionnelle

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’utilisation de cet outil, veuillez consulter le guide « Comment utiliser » qui figure sur cette page (en haut à droite).

Pour obtenir de l'information sur la légende des signes, veuillez consulter la page Signes conventionnels dans les tableaux.

Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre au total indiqué.

Les estimations des industries désagrégées et les estimations régionales sont disponibles dans les tableaux de données publiés (section Données). Les estimations de 2018 peuvent également être consultées dans ces tableaux de données.

En raison des estimations trop peu fiables pour être publiées (symbole F dans les tableaux de données), ou lorsqu’aucune dépense est rapportée, certaines catégories sélectionnées peuvent rester vides dans la carte et/ou les graphiques. La somme de la ventilation des données peut ne pas être égale aux estimations agrégées de ce tableau de bord lorsque des estimations trop faibles pour être publiées sont présentes.

Définitions

Les dépenses de protection de l’environnement regroupent les dépenses consacrées aux activités de protection de l’environnement et aux activités de gestion des ressources.

  • Les activités de protection de l’environnement comprennent la gestion de la pollution atmosphérique; la gestion des déchets solides; la gestion des eaux usées; la protection et l'assainissement des sols, des eaux souterraines et des eaux de surface; la protection et la restauration de la biodiversité et de l'habitat; l'achat de véhicules moins polluants et de technologies de transport propres; la surveillance de l'environnement; les évaluations et les audits environnementaux; les coûts de formation et d'administration connexes.
  • Les activités de gestion des ressources comprennent les économies et la gestion de la chaleur ou de l'énergie, l'achat de biocarburants, de produits biochimiques ou de biomatériaux ainsi que les dépenses engagées pour la production d'énergie nucléaire ou d'énergie à partir de sources renouvelables.

Dépenses en immobilisations : Toutes dépenses pertinentes engagées pour l'acquisition et l'installation de machines et de matériel ainsi que pour la construction d'installations non résidentielles.

Dépenses d'exploitation : Toutes dépenses liées à la protection de l'environnement engagées pour de la main-d'œuvre, des matériaux et des fournitures, de l'entretien et des réparations ainsi que des services acquis.

Groupes d’industries

Pour alléger cette visualisation des données, les industries ont été regroupées. Les détails sont disponibles dans les tableaux de données publiés, accessibles dans la section Données. Les industries sont présentées sous le Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN).

Le regroupement Services publics (énergie) inclut les industries suivantes : Production, transport et distribution d’électricité (SCIAN 2211) et Distribution de gaz naturel (SCIAN 2212).

Le regroupement Pétrole et gaz et activités connexes inclut les industries suivantes : Extraction de pétrole et de gaz (SCIAN 211), Fabrication de produits du pétrole et du charbon (SCIAN 324) et Transport par pipeline (SCIAN 486).

Le regroupement Activités du secteur forestier inclut les industries suivantes : Exploitation forestière (sauf à forfait) (SCIAN 113311), Fabrication de produits en bois (SCIAN 321), Fabrication du papier (SCIAN 322) et Fabrication de meubles et de produits connexes (SCIAN 337).

Le regroupement Fabrication de produits métalliques et fabrication générale inclut les industries suivantes : Première transformation des métaux (SCIAN 331), Fabrication de produits métalliques (SCIAN 332), Fabrication de matériel de transport (SCIAN 336) et Fabrication de machines (SCIAN 333).

Le regroupement Fabrication de produits chimiques inclut les industries suivantes : Fabrication de produits chimiques (SCIAN 325), Fabrication de produits minéraux non métalliques (SCIAN 327) et Fabrication de produits en plastique et en caoutchouc (SCIAN 326).

Le regroupement Extraction minière et exploitation en carrière inclut les industries suivantes : Extraction de charbon (SCIAN 2121), Extraction de minerais métalliques (SCIAN 2122), Extraction de schiste, d'argile et de minerais réfractaires (SCIAN 212326) et Extraction d'autres minerais non métalliques (SCIAN 21239).

Le regroupement Fabrication d’aliments et de boissons inclut les industries suivantes : Fabrication d’aliments (SCIAN 311) et Fabrication de boissons et de produits du tabac (SCIAN 312).

Le regroupement Autres industries de fabrication inclut les industries suivantes : Usines de textiles (SCIAN 313), Usines de produits textiles (SCIAN 314), Fabrication de vêtements (SCIAN 315), Fabrication de produits en cuir et de produits analogues (SCIAN 316), Impression et activités connexes de soutien (SCIAN 323), Fabrication de produits informatiques et électroniques (SCIAN 334), Fabrication de matériel, d’appareils et de composants électriques (SCIAN 335) et Activités diverses de fabrication (SCIAN 339).

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :