Provisional weekly estimates of the number of deaths, expected number of deaths and excess mortality: Interactive Tool

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following data table:

Table 13-10-0784-01 Adjusted number of deaths, expected number of deaths and estimates of excess mortality, by week

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

The dashboard presents data that are relevant for monitoring the impacts of COVID-19 on mortality in Canada. It includes updated adjusted (i.e. the estimated number of weekly deaths) and expected weekly death counts produced for the 2020 reference year, from the Canadian Vital Statistics: Death database (CVS:D). The CVS:D is an administrative survey that collects demographic and medical (cause of death)information from all provincial and territorial vital statistics registries on all deaths in Canada.

With this tool, data users can explore trends in excess mortality for each province and territory. Prediction intervals are also presented in the interactive charts.

The interactive tool allows users to examine excess deaths by comparing the adjusted number of weekly deaths to the expected number of weekly deaths.

To visualize the prediction intervals for the adjusted numbers of deaths on the graph, select "Lower 95% prediction interval of adjusted number of deaths" and "Upper 95% prediction interval of adjusted number of deaths" in the legend under the graph.

The quality of the weekly adjusted counts is largely contingent on the level of completeness of the data, that is, the extent to which all deaths have been reported to Statistics Canada. For this reason, only estimates for weeks where the level of completeness reaches 75% or more are shown. This threshold offers a compromise between the robustness and the timeliness of estimates. The level of completeness reaches 90% or more for almost all weeks, with a few exceptions. More information on these exceptions can be found in the footnotes for table 13-10-0784-01.

Although useful to signal potential new recent trends in regard to excess mortality, estimates based on weekly data with lower level of completeness should be used with caution as they were found to carry more uncertainty and be more sensitive to model assumptions (such as the choice of the reference period). Consequently, these estimates are subject to change noticeably in subsequent releases as the number of reported deaths increase for these weeks.

Definitions

  • Standard table symbols
  • Weeks are as defined in several epidemiological studies, including those of the United States Centers for Diseases Control and Prevention (CDC). CDC weeks start on a Sunday and end on a Saturday. They are numbered sequentially from 1 to 52 or 53 depending on the year. The first CDC week in a year ends on the first Saturday of January, provided it has at least four days in that calendar year. The first CDC week of a year may include a few days from the previous calendar year. Conversely, the first few days of a calendar year may be included in the last CDC week of the previous year. Since CDC weeks can overlap two months, they do not perfectly recreate calendar months or years.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Nombre ajusté de décès, nombre de décès attendus et estimations de surmortalité hebdomadaires : outil interactif

Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Tableau 13-10-0784-01 Nombre ajusté de décès, nombre de décès attendu et estimations de surmortalité, selon la semaine

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Ce tableau de bord présente certaines données utiles afin de surveiller les répercussions de la COVID-19 sur la mortalité au Canada. Il comprend des nombres ajustés de décès et des nombres de décès attendus pour l’année de référence 2020 de la Base canadienne de données de l’état civil sur les décès (BCDECD). La BCDECD est une enquête administrative conçut pour recueillir des renseignements démographiques et médicaux (cause de décès) sur tous les décès survenus au Canada auprès de tous les bureaux provinciaux et territoriaux de l’état civil.

Avec cet outil, les utilisateurs de données pourront explorer les tendances de surmortalité pour chaque province et territoire. Des intervalles de prévisions sont également disponibles dans des graphiques interactifs.

L’outil interactif permet aux utilisateurs d’examiner la surmortalité en comparant les nombres ajustés de décès hebdomadaires aux nombres de décès hebdomadaires attendus.

Pour visualiser les intervalles de prévision des nombres ajustés de décès, sélectionnez « Limite inférieure de l'intervalle de prévision de 95 % du nombre ajusté de décès » et « Limite supérieure de l'intervalle de prévision de 95 % du nombre ajusté de décès » dans la légende sous le graphique.

La qualité du nombre ajusté de décès hebdomadaire dépend largement de la couverture des données, c’est-à-dire, la mesure dans laquelle tous les décès ont été rapporté à Statistique Canada. Pour cette raison, seuls les nombres ajustés pour lesquels le niveau de couverture atteint 75% ou plus sont diffusés. Ce seuil offre un compromis entre la robustesse et l’actualité des nombres ajustés. Le niveau de couverture atteint 90% ou plus pour presque toutes les semaines, sauf pour quelques exception. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur ces exceptions dans les notes de bas de page du tableau 13-10-0784-01.

Les nombres ajustés sont utiles afin de signaler de nouvelles tendances de surmortalité, par contre, les nombres ajustés basés sur des données hebdomadaires comportant un niveau de couverture moins élevé devraient être utilisés avec prudence, car ils ont plus d’incertitude et sont plus sensibles aux hypothèses du modèle (tel que la sélection de la période de référence). Par conséquent, ces nombres ajustés sont sujets à changer de façon notable lors des prochaines diffusions au fur et à mesure que le nombre de décès rapporté augmente pour les semaines en question.

Définitions

  • Signes conventionnels dans les tableaux
  • Semaines telles que définies dans plusieurs études épidémiologiques, notamment celles des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) des États-Unis. Les semaines CDC commencent un dimanche et se terminent un samedi. Elles ont une numérotation séquentielle allant de 1 à 52 ou 53 selon l'année. La première semaine CDC d’une année se termine le premier samedi du mois de janvier, à condition qu’elle ait au moins quatre jours dans cette année civile. La première semaine CDC d’une année peut inclure quelques jours de l’année civile précédente. À l’inverse, les premiers jours d’une année civile peuvent être compris dans la dernière semaine CDC de l’année précédente. Comme les semaines CDC peuvent chevaucher deux mois, elles ne permettent pas de recréer parfaitement des mois ou des années civiles.
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :