Quarterly demographic estimates, provinces and territories: Interactive dashboard

Release date: December 19, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

Notes

The estimates contained in this dashboard are based on 2016 Census counts adjusted for census net undercoverage and incompletely enumerated Indian reserves, to which are added data from the population growth estimates for the period from May 10, 2016, to the date of the estimate. Data are presented for the last 25 years.

Until the second quarter of 2016 inclusively, population growth is not equal to the sum of natural increase, net international migration and net interprovincial migration because residual deviation (not shown) must also be considered in the calculation.

Definitions

Demographic weight
Demographic weight represents the share of a population or territory in the population of Canada.
Natural increase
Natural increase is the variation in the population size over a given period as a result of the difference between the numbers of births and deaths.
Net international migration
Net international migration basically refers to the total number of moves between Canada and abroad that result in a change in the usual place of residence. It is calculated by adding immigrants, returning emigrants and net non-permanent residents, then subtracting emigrants and net temporary emigration.
Net interprovincial migration
Net interprovincial migration represents the difference between in-migrants and out-migrants for a given province or territory involving a change in the usual place of residence.
Population
Estimated population and population according to the census are both defined as being the number of Canadians whose usual place of residence is within that area, regardless of where they happened to be on Census Day. Also included are any Canadians staying in a dwelling in that area on Census Day and having no usual place of residence elsewhere in Canada, as well as those considered non-permanent residents.
Population growth
Population growth is the variation of population size between two dates. It can also be obtained by summing the natural increase, net international migration and net interprovincial migration and if applicable, subtract residual deviation. It can be positive or negative.
Population growth rate
Population growth rate or population growth (%) is the ratio of population growth over the period to the average of the start-of-period and end-of-period populations. The rate is generally expressed as a percentage.
Residual deviation
Difference between demographic population growth calculated using intercensal estimates of population between two dates and that obtained by the sum of the components for the same period. This deviation results from the distribution of the error of closure between years within the quinquennial period. This distribution is calculated by taking into account the number of days within each month.

To learn more

The Quarterly Demographic Estimates is now available to know more about the topic.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Estimations démographiques trimestrielles, provinces et territoires : tableau de bord interactif

Date de diffusion : le 19 décembre 2019
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Notes

Les estimations contenues dans ce tableau de bord interactif sont fondées sur les chiffres du Recensement de 2016, rajustés pour tenir compte du sous-dénombrement net du recensement et des réserves indiennes partiellement dénombrées, auxquels sont ajoutées les estimations de l'accroissement démographique pour la période allant du 10 mai 2016 à la date de l'estimation. Les données sont présentées pour les 25 dernières années.

Jusqu'au deuxième trimestre de 2016 inclusivement, l'accroissement démographique n'est pas égal à la somme de l'accroissement naturel, du solde migratoire international et du solde migratoire interprovincial car l'écart résiduel (non présenté) doit également être considéré dans le calcul.

Définitions

Accroissement démographique
L’accroissement démographique est la variation de l’effectif d’une population entre deux dates. On peut également l’obtenir en faisant la somme de l’accroissement naturel, du solde migratoire international et du solde migratoire interprovincial et, s’il y a lieu, soustraire l’écart résiduel. Il peut être positif ou négatif.
Accroissement naturel
L’accroissement naturel est la variation de l’effectif d’une population entre deux dates résultant de la différence entre le nombre des naissances et celui des décès.
Poids démographique
Le poids démographique représente la part de la population d’une province ou d’un territoire au sein de la population du Canada.
Population
La population estimée répond à la même définition que celle du recensement. Il s’agit donc du nombre de Canadiens qui ont leur lieu habituel de résidence dans la région considérée, sans égard au lieu où ils se trouvaient le jour du recensement. Sont également comptés les Canadiens séjournant dans un logement de la région en cause le jour du recensement et n’ayant pas de lieu habituel de résidence ailleurs au Canada, de même que ceux qui sont considérés comme des résidents non permanents.
Solde migratoire international
Le solde migratoire international tient essentiellement compte de l'ensemble des mouvements entre le Canada et l'étranger menant à un changement de lieu habituel de résidence. Pour le calculer, il faut additionner le nombre d'immigrants, le nombre d'émigrants de retour et le solde des résidents non permanents, et soustraire le nombre d'émigrants et le solde des émigrants temporaires.
Solde migratoire interprovincial
Le solde migratoire interprovincial représente la différence entre les entrants et les sortants pour une province ou un territoire donné, accompagnés d'un changement de lieu habituel de résidence.
Taux d’accroissement démographique
Le taux d’accroissement démographique ou l’accroissement démographique (%) est le rapport de l’accroissement de la population pendant la période à la moyenne des populations de début et de fin de période. Ce taux est généralement exprimé en pourcentage.

Pour en savoir plus

Il est possible de consulter la publication Estimations démographiques trimestrielles pour en connaître davantage sur le sujet.

Date de modification :