Activities of Multinational Enterprises: Interactive Tool

Release date: November 18, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

The interactive tool presents information on activities of multinational enterprises at the international and national level. At the international level, users can see the importance of foreign multinationals on the Canadian economy as well as the similar role of Canadian multinationals in foreign economies, by country. At the national level, information on activities of multinational enterprises in Canada are included, by type of multinationals, province and industry. Activities include a number of selected variables such as number of enterprises, number of jobs, assets, operating revenues, international merchandise trade and gross domestic product.

Geospatial sources: ESRI, DeLorme Publishing Company, Inc., GADM

Tool Specifications

The “Canada” tab includes information for the corporate sector only. This excludes organizations operating in the institutional sectors of general government, households and non-profit institutions serving households.

On the “International” tab, the affiliates of Canadian multinationals outside of Canada also include those who are ultimately controlled by foreign enterprises.

Number of enterprises is only available for select countries.

When multiple countries are selected and one or more of the data points are suppressed or missing, only countries for which data are available are included in the results. Therefore, use caution when interpreting these results.

Definitions

A foreign multinational is an enterprise operating in Canada that is majority owned by a foreign enterprise. On this tool, the country of ownership is measured on an ultimate basis, the country where final ownership resides.

Canada (round-tripping) refers to enterprises operating in Canada which have an immediate foreign parent, but are ultimately controlled by a Canadian enterprise.

A Canadian multinational is an enterprise based in Canada that majority owns at least one foreign enterprise. The “International” tab presents data on their activities outside Canada. The “Canada” tab presents their activities within Canada.

The multinational concept includes both the multinational enterprise itself, as well as any majority owned subsidiaries that it controls.

Gross domestic product (GDP) is measured at basic prices. GDP is also known as value added.

Symbol legend

.. : data are not available for a specific reference period
x : suppressed to meet the confidentiality requirements of the Statistics Act

For more information related to Canadian multinational enterprises outside of Canada, see survey number 1539. For definitions, data sources and methods related to multinational enterprises in Canada, see survey number 5230.

Date modified:

Activités des entreprises multinationales : outil interactif

Date de diffusion : le 18 novembre 2019
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

L'outil interactif présente des renseignements sur les activités des entreprises multinationales à l'échelle internationale et nationale. À l'échelle internationale, les utilisateurs peuvent constater l'importance des multinationales étrangères dans l'économie canadienne de même que celle des multinationales canadiennes dans les économies étrangères, selon le pays. À l'échelle nationale, des renseignements sur les activités des entreprises multinationales au Canada sont présentés, selon le type de multinationales, la province et l'industrie. Les activités comprennent un certain nombre de variables sélectionnées, comme le nombre d'entreprises, le nombre d'emplois, les actifs, les revenus d’exploitation, le commerce international de marchandises et le produit intérieur brut.

Sources géospatiales : ESRI, DeLorme Publishing Company, Inc., GADM

Spécifications de l’outil

L’onglet « Canada » contient uniquement des renseignements sur le secteur des sociétés. Sont exclus les organismes du secteur des administrations publiques, du secteur des ménages et du secteur des institutions sans but lucratif au service des ménages.

Sous l’onglet « International », les filiales des multinationales canadiennes à l’extérieur du Canada comprennent aussi celles qui sont ultimement contrôlées par des entreprises étrangères.

Le nombre d’entreprises n’est disponible que pour certains pays.

Lorsque plusieurs pays sont sélectionnés et qu’une ou plusieurs données sont supprimées ou manquantes, seulement les pays pour lesquels des données sont disponibles sont inclus dans les résultats. Par conséquent, il faut donc faire preuve de prudence lorsqu’on interprète ces résultats.

Définitions

Une multinationale étrangère est une entreprise qui mène des activités au Canada et dont la propriété est majoritairement étrangère. Dans cet outil, le pays propriétaire est déterminé selon la propriété ultime, c’est-à-dire qu’il correspond au pays où la propriété finale est détenue.

Canada (opération circulaire) fait référence aux entreprises menant des activités au Canada qui ont une société mère immédiate à l’étranger, mais qui sont contrôlées par une entreprise canadienne.

Une multinationale canadienne est une entreprise établie au Canada qui est propriétaire majoritaire d’au moins une entreprise étrangère. Les données sur les activités à l’extérieur du Canada se trouvent sous l’onglet « International ». Les données sur les activités au Canada se trouvent sous l’onglet « Canada ».

Le concept de multinationale désigne la multinationale elle-même ainsi que toute filiale à participation majoritaire qu’elle contrôle.

Le Produit intérieur brut (PIB) est mesuré aux prix de base. Le PIB est également appelé valeur ajoutée.

Légende des symboles

.. : indisponible pour une période de référence précise
x : confidentiel en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la statistique

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des multinationales canadiennes à l’étranger, veuillez consulter le numéro d’enquête 1539. Pour obtenir les définitions, les sources de données et les méthodes associées aux multinationales au Canada, veuillez consulter le numéro d’enquête 5230.

Date de modification :