Courts statistics: Interactive dashboard

Release date: November 19, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

The Courts statistics interactive dashboard provides a overview of criminal court services, civil court services, and maintenance enforcement programs in Canada.

All the information presented in the Court statistics interactive dashboard is available on Statistics Canada's website. Please refer to the following documentation for more details:

Criminal court

The objective of the Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS) is to develop and maintain a national database of statistical information on appearances, charges, and cases in youth courts and adult criminal courts. The survey is intended to be a census of pending and completed federal statute charges heard in provincial-territorial and superior courts in Canada. Appeal courts, federal courts (e.g., Tax Court of Canada) and the Supreme Court of Canada are not covered by the survey.

The survey includes information on the age and sex of the accused, case decisions, sentencing information regarding the length of prison and probation, and amount of fine, as well as case-processing indicators such as case elapsed time. These survey data are collected by the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics (CCJS) in collaboration with provincial and territorial government departments responsible for criminal courts. The collection of data is from administrative records, in which data are derived from records originally kept for non-statistical purposes. The data are collected to respond to the needs of the provincial, territorial and federal departments of justice and attorneys-general, researchers and policy analysts, academics and the media, as well as to inform the public on how youths and adults appearing in provincial-territorial and superior criminal courts are dealt with in Canada.

The Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS) is an annual administrative data survey that was implemented to replace two previous micro-data surveys: the Adult Criminal Court Survey (ACCS, see legacy versions of record number 3312) and the Youth Court Survey (YCS, see record number 3309). The purpose of redevelopment was to collect new information related to the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA). At the same time, it was an opportunity to integrate data collection and processing, implement a snapshot data collection strategy (collect appearances as they occurred rather than once the case was completed), and change survey definitions to more closely reflect court processing.

  • Table 35-10-0027-01 Adult criminal courts, number of cases and charges by type of decision
  • Table 35-10-0029-01 Adult criminal courts, cases by median elapsed time in days
  • Table 35-10-0030-01 Adult criminal courts, guilty cases by type of sentence
  • Table 35-10-0038-01 Youth courts, number of cases and charges by type of decision
  • Table 35-10-0040-01 Youth courts, cases by median elapsed time in days
  • Table 35-10-0041-01 Youth courts, guilty cases by type of sentence
  • Survey 3312 Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS)
Civil court

The Civil Court Survey is a census survey and when fully implemented, it will collect data from all civil courts in Canada, including all the superior and provincial-territorial courts hearing civil matters including general civil, family, probate and small claims. Appeal courts, federal courts (e.g., Tax Court of Canada) and the Supreme Court of Canada are not covered by the survey. The collection of data is from administrative records, in which data are derived from records originally kept for non-statistical purposes. In particular, survey data are obtained from case files located in existing civil court automated information systems. Given that the data collection methodology requires the existence of detailed operational information systems that have not yet been developed in all jurisdictions it will take time for the survey to achieve full coverage.

  • Table 35-10-0112-01 Civil court cases, by level of court and type of case, Canada and selected provinces and territories
  • Table 35-10-0114-01 General civil court cases, by type of action, Canada and selected provinces and territories
  • Survey 5052 Civil Court Survey (CCS)
Maintenance enforcement programs

The Survey of Maintenance Enforcement Programs (SMEP) collects information on child and spousal support payments and cases from provincial and territorial maintenance enforcement programs (MEPs). These programs exist in each province and territory to assist in the collection and enforcement of child and spousal support payments.

The SMEP data provide information on the volume and type of cases enrolled, enforcement actions taken, support amounts due and compliance with support payments, among other measures. The data do not cover all support cases in Canada, as not all support orders are registered in MEPs.The SMEP is a microdata survey that provides more detailed information than the former aggregate Maintenance Enforcement Survey (MES) (see legacy version of record number 3324).

  • Table 35-10-0102-01 Maintenance enforcement programs, by annual caseload, Canada and selected provinces and territories
  • Table 35-10-0105-01 Maintenance enforcement programs, cases enrolled, by compliance with regular and total payments, arrears status and assignment status at March 31, Canada and selected provinces and territories
  • Survey 3324 Survey of Maintenance Enforcement Programs (SMEP)
Notes
  • A case is one or more charges against an accused person or company, which were processed by the courts at the same time (date of offence, date of initiation, date of first appearance, or date of decision), and received a final decision. The definition attempts to reflect court processing. All data have been processed using this case definition. The case definition changed for the 2006/2007 release of data. The former definition (used in releases prior to October 2007) combined all charges against the same person disposed of in court on the same day into a case. Consequently, comparisons should not be made with data tables and reports released before that time.
  • Cases are counted in the fiscal year in which they are completed. Every year, the Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS) database is considered final at the end of March for the production of court statistics for the previous fiscal year. These counts do not include cases pending an outcome at the end of the reference period. If an outcome is reached in the next fiscal year, these cases are included in the completed case counts for that fiscal year. However, cases that are inactive for one year are deemed complete and the originally published counts for the previous fiscal year are updated and reported in the next fiscal year's data release. This approach is difficult to apply in Quebec where information from the Court of Quebec and the Superior Court is reported using the Adult Criminal Court Survey national data requirements (NDR) rather than the ICCS NDR. Inasmuch as possible, the data are converted to ICCS format during data processing; however, the conversion seems to have a negative impact on the number of annual updates. The methods that Quebec uses to send data, in contrast with the other provinces, may lead to overestimation of the median length of cases completed by Quebec courts.
  • A charge refers to a formal accusation against an accused person or company involving a federal statute offence that has been processed by the courts and received a final decision. A charge is considered to be completed under any of the following conditions: the accused is acquitted or found guilty and sentenced (if applicable); the accused is found unfit to stand trial; the charge is stayed, withdrawn, dismissed, or discharged at preliminary hearing; the charge has been waived out of the province or territory.
  • A decision is a judgment made by the court. The decision categories are as follows: Guilty; Acquittal; Stay, Withdrawn, Dismissed; and Other decisions.
  • Due to a change in the extraction methodology, median elapsed times from first appearance to final decision may be impacted in the first year of transition from the legacy Adult Criminal Court Survey to the Integrated Criminal Court Survey (ICCS), and to a smaller extent in the subsequent year. For this reason, caution should be used when using data on elapsed times for the first reporting year of ICCS. Please see the notes for each province and territory that provide information on the transition year.
  • Elapsed times are calculated based on the number of days it takes to complete a case, from first appearance to final decision. The median is the point at which half of all cases had longer case lengths and half had shorter case lengths. Excludes cases in which the case length was unknown.
  • Guilty findings include guilty of the charged offence, of an included offence, of an attempt of the charged offence, or of an attempt of an included offence. This category also includes guilty pleas, and cases where an absolute or conditional discharge has been imposed.
  • In Ontario, sentencing detail was not available for 17% of guilty decisions in the fourth quarter of 2001/2002. This data-reporting limitation affects 4% of all guilty decisions for this reference period.
  • Cases can have more than one sentence. Therefore, sanctions are not mutually exclusive and will not add to 100%. For all sentencing tables, data are for cases with a guilty finding only.
  • Youth Sentences may be one of the following types: Custody, Deferred Custody and Supervision, Intensive Support and Supervision, Probation, Attend a Non-residential Program, Fine, Community Service Order, Reprimand and Other Sentence. This Other Sentence category includes absolute discharge, restitution, prohibition, seizure, forfeiture, compensation, pay purchaser, essays, apologies, counseling programs and conditional discharge, deferred custody and supervision, intensive support and supervision, attendance at non-residential program and reprimand where sentencing data under the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA) are not available.
  • The Civil Court Survey (CCS) collects data on civil court events and cases at both the superior and provincial-territorial court levels. Appeal courts, federal courts (for example, Tax Court of Canada) and the Supreme Court of Canada are out of scope for this survey. Data are based on the fiscal year (April 1st to March 31st).
  • A general civil case is any civil action that is not a family-related action, such as contracts, torts, bankruptcy, probate matters and other claims involving money.
  • Family cases are cases involving family law-related issues, including child protection, divorce, separation, custody and access, division of property, support, and adoption.
  • The Survey of Maintenance Enforcement Programs (SMEP) collects information on child and spousal support payments and cases from provincial and territorial maintenance enforcement programs (MEPs). These programs exist in each province and territory to assist in the collection and enforcement of child and spousal support payments.
  • The compliance rate is the proportion of cases with an amount due that were in compliance in a given month. Full compliance is the percent of cases that made their payment in full and partial compliance is the percent of cases that made partial payment

Newly released crime and justice articles can be found in The Daily - Crime and Justice.

Date modified:

Statistiques sur les tribunaux : tableaux de bord interactif

Date de diffusion : le 19 novembre 2019
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le tableau de bord interactif sur les statistiques sur les tribunaux offre une vue d’ensemble des services juridiques des tribunaux de juridiction criminelle et des tribunaux civils ainsi que des programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires au Canada.

Toute l’information présentée dans le tableau de bord interactif concernant les statistiques sur les tribunaux est disponible sur le site Web de Statistique Canada. Veuillez consulter la documentation suivante afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Tribunaux de juridiction criminelle

L'Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) vise à créer et à mettre à jour une base de données nationale dans laquelle se trouvent des renseignements statistiques sur les comparutions, les accusations et les causes portées devant les tribunaux de la jeunesse et les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes. L'enquête se veut un recensement des accusations en instance et des accusations réglées qui ont été portées en vertu de lois fédérales et instruites par les cours provinciales et territoriales ainsi que par les cours supérieures du Canada. Les cours d'appel, les cours fédérales (p. ex. la Cour canadienne de l'impôt) et la Cour suprême du Canada ne font pas partie du champ de l'enquête.

L'Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) fournit des renseignements sur l'âge et le sexe de l'accusé, les décisions rendues, la durée des peines d'emprisonnement et de probation, et le montant de l'amende, ainsi que des indicateurs sur le traitement des causes, comme le temps écoulé depuis l'introduction de la cause. Les données de l'enquête sont recueillies par le Centre canadien de la statistique juridique (CCSJ) en collaboration avec les ministères provinciaux et territoriaux responsables de l'administration des tribunaux de juridiction criminelle. Les données recueillies proviennent des dossiers administratifs, c'est-à-dire des dossiers tenus à l'origine à des fins non statistiques. Les données sont recueillies afin de répondre aux besoins des ministères provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux de la Justice et des procureurs généraux, des chercheurs et des analystes des politiques, des universitaires et des médias, de même que pour informer le public sur la façon dont les causes impliquant des jeunes et des adultes sont traitées devant les cours provinciales ou territoriales et les cours supérieures de juridiction criminelle au Canada.

L'Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) est une enquête administrative qui est réalisée chaque année. L'EITJC remplace les deux enquêtes précédentes qui étaient fondées sur des microdonnées — l'Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes (ETJCA, voir les anciennes versions du numéro d'enregistrement 3312) et l'Enquête sur les tribunaux de la jeunesse (ETJ, voir le numéro d'enregistrement 3309). Ce remaniement visait à recueillir de nouveaux renseignements relativement à la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents (LSJPA). De plus, il s'agissait d'une occasion d'intégrer la collecte et le traitement des données, de mettre en œuvre une stratégie de collecte des données instantanée (recueillir les données sur les comparutions lorsqu'elles surviennent plutôt que lorsque la cause est réglée) et de modifier les définitions de l'enquête afin qu'elles reflètent mieux le traitement des causes par les tribunaux.

  • Tableau 35-10-0027-01 Tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes, nombre de causes et d'accusations selon le type de décision
  • Tableau 35-10-0029-01 Tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes, causes selon la durée médiane de traitement (en jours)
  • Tableau 35-10-0030-01 Tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes, causes avec condamnation selon le type de peine
  • Tableau 35-10-0038-01 Tribunaux de la jeunesse, nombre de causes et d'accusations selon le type de décision
  • Tableau 35-10-0040-01 Tribunaux de la jeunesse, causes selon la durée médiane de traitement (en jours)
  • Tableau 35-10-0041-01 Tribunaux de la jeunesse, causes avec condamnation selon le type de peine
  • Enquête 3312 — Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC)
Tribunaux civils

L'Enquête sur les tribunaux civils est un recensement, ce qui signifie qu'une fois la mise en œuvre terminée, il sera possible de recueillir des données auprès de tous les tribunaux civils au Canada, y compris les cours supérieures et les cours provinciales et territoriales qui instruisent des affaires civiles, notamment des affaires civiles générales, des affaires familiales, et des affaires de succession et de petites créances. Les cours d'appel, les cours fédérales (p. ex. la Cour canadienne de l'impôt) et la Cour suprême du Canada ne sont pas visées par l'enquête. Les données recueillies proviennent des dossiers administratifs, c'est-à-dire des dossiers tenus à l'origine à des fins non statistiques. Tout particulièrement, les données d'enquête sont obtenues à partir des dossiers figurant dans les systèmes d'information automatisés existants des tribunaux civils. Puisque la méthode de collecte des données requiert des systèmes d'information opérationnels détaillés, lesquels n'ont pas encore été mis en place dans tous les secteurs de compétence, il faudra du temps pour que l'enquête atteigne une couverture complète.

  • Tableau 35-10-0112-01 Causes portées devant les tribunaux civils, selon le palier de juridiction et le type de cause, Canada et certaines provinces et certains territoires
  • Tableau 35-10-0114-01 Causes générales portées devant les tribunaux civils, selon le type d'action, Canada et certaines provinces et certains territoires
  • Enquête 5052 — Enquête sur les tribunaux civils (ETC)
Programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires

L'Enquête sur les programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (EPEOA) permet de recueillir des renseignements sur les pensions alimentaires pour enfants et pour conjoints ainsi que sur les cas inscrits aux programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (PEOA) à l'échelle provinciale et territoriale. Ces programmes sont en place dans chaque province et territoire afin d'assurer l'exécution des ordonnances et le paiement des pensions alimentaires pour les enfants et les conjoints.

Les données de l'Enquête sur les programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (EPEOA) fournissent entre autres des renseignements sur le volume et les types de cas inscrits, les mesures prises pour assurer l'exécution des ordonnances, les montants des pensions alimentaires dus et le niveau de conformité quant aux paiements de pension alimentaire. Les données ne couvrent pas tous les cas de pensions alimentaires au Canada, parce que certaines ordonnances alimentaires ne sont pas inscrites aux PEOA. L'EPEOA est une enquête à base de microdonnées qui fournit des renseignements plus détaillés que ceux de l'ancienne Enquête sur l'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (EEOA), laquelle était une enquête agrégée (voir l'ancienne version du numéro d'enregistrement 3324).

  • Tableau 35-10-0102-01 Programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires, selon le nombre annuel de cas, Canada et certaines provinces et certains territoires
  • Tableau 35-10-0105-01 Programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires, cas inscrits, selon le niveau de conformité quant aux paiements de pension alimentaire réguliers et complets, l'état des arriérés et l'état de cession au 31 mars, Canada et certaines provinces et certains territoires
  • Enquête 3324 — Enquête sur les programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (EPEOA)
Notes
  • Une cause comprend une ou plusieurs accusations portées contre une personne ou une société qui ont été traitées par les tribunaux en même temps (date de l'infraction, date de l'introduction, date de la première comparution ou date de la décision) et qui ont fait l'objet d'une décision finale. La définition cherche à représenter le traitement judiciaire. Toutes les données ont été traitées au moyen de cette définition, laquelle a été modifiée pour la diffusion des données de 2006-2007. L'ancienne définition (utilisée dans les publications avant octobre 2007) regroupait en une seule cause toutes les accusations portées contre la même personne, pour lesquelles une décision finale avait été rendue devant les tribunaux la même journée. Par conséquent, les chiffres ne doivent pas être comparés à ceux des rapports et tableaux de données publiés précédemment.
  • Les causes sont comptées dans l'exercice financier au cours duquel elles sont réglées. Chaque année, la base de données de l'Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) est considérée comme finale à la fin de mars afin de permettre la production de statistiques sur les tribunaux pour l'exercice financier précédent. Ces chiffres ne tiennent pas compte des causes qui étaient en attente d'un résultat à la fin de la période de référence. Lorsqu'une cause aboutit à un résultat au cours de l'exercice financier suivant, elle est comptabilisée dans les chiffres de causes réglées de cet exercice. Toutefois, si une cause est inactive pendant une période d'un an, elle est considérée comme réglée et les chiffres initialement publiés de l'exercice financier précédent sont par la suite mis à jour et communiqués au moment de la diffusion des données de l'exercice suivant. Cette manière de procéder s'applique difficilement au Québec, où les renseignements provenant de la Cour du Québec et de la Cour supérieure sont déclarés en fonction des besoins nationaux en données (BND) de l'Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes plutôt qu'en fonction des BND de l'EITJC. Les données sont converties au format de l'EITJC, dans la mesure du possible, durant les activités de traitement des données. Cette conversion semble toutefois avoir une incidence défavorable sur le nombre de mises à jour annuelles. Les modalités d'envoi des données par le Québec, comparativement aux autres provinces, peuvent avoir pour effet de surestimer la durée médiane des causes réglées par les tribunaux au Québec.
  • On entend par « accusation » toute accusation formelle portée contre une personne ou une société concernant une infraction à des lois fédérales, cette accusation ayant été traitée par les tribunaux et ayant fait l'objet d'une décision finale. Une accusation est considérée comme ayant fait l'objet d'une décision finale dans les cas suivants : l'accusé a été acquitté ou déclaré coupable et condamné (le cas échéant); l'accusé a été déclaré inapte à subir son procès; l'accusation a été suspendue, retirée, rejetée ou a mené à une absolution à l'enquête préliminaire; l'accusation a fait l'objet d'un désistement à l'extérieur de la province ou du territoire.
  • Une décision est un jugement rendu par la cour. Les décisions sont réparties selon les catégories suivantes : Culpabilité; Acquittement; Arrêt, retrait ou rejet; Autres décisions.
  • En raison d'un changement apporté à la méthode d'extraction des données, la transition de l'ancienne Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes à l'Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle (EITJC) peut avoir une incidence sur les données relatives à la durée médiane de traitement des causes (de la première comparution à la décision finale) pendant la première année de la transition et, dans une moindre mesure, pendant l'année suivante. C'est la raison pour laquelle il faut faire preuve de prudence lorsqu'on utilise les données sur la durée de traitement des causes de la première année de déclaration dans le cadre de l'EITJC. Veuillez consulter les notes pour chaque province et territoire qui fournissent des renseignements sur l'année de transition.
  • La durée médiane de traitement est calculée selon le nombre de jours nécessaires pour régler la cause (de la première comparution à la décision finale). La médiane est le point central d'une série de valeurs représentant la durée des causes, la moitié des valeurs y étant supérieures et l'autre moitié y étant inférieures. Exclut les causes dont la durée était inconnue.
  • La catégorie « Culpabilité » comprend les jugements suivants : coupable de l'infraction imputée, coupable d'une infraction incluse, coupable de tentative de perpétration de l'infraction imputée et coupable de tentative de perpétration d'une infraction incluse. Cette catégorie comprend aussi les plaidoyers de culpabilité et les causes ayant donné lieu à une absolution inconditionnelle ou sous conditions.
  • En Ontario, les renseignements sur la détermination de la peine n'étaient pas disponibles pour 17 % des verdicts de culpabilité au quatrième trimestre de 2001-2002. Ces limites relatives à la déclaration des données concernent 4 % des verdicts de culpabilité en Ontario pour cette période de référence.
  • Une cause peut donner lieu à plus d'une peine. Par conséquent, les peines ne sont pas mutuellement exclusives, et la somme des pourcentages ne correspondra pas à 100. Pour tous les tableaux ayant trait à la détermination de la peine, les données portent uniquement sur les causes ayant mené à un verdict de culpabilité.
  • Les peines imposées aux jeunes peuvent être l'un des types suivants : placement sous garde, ordonnance différée de placement sous garde et de surveillance, participation à un programme d'assistance et de surveillance intensives, probation, participation à un programme hors établissement, amende, ordonnance de travaux communautaires, réprimande et autres peines. La catégorie « Autres peines » comprend l'absolution inconditionnelle, la restitution, l'interdiction, la saisie, la confiscation, l'indemnisation, le remboursement à l'acquéreur, les dissertations, la présentation d'excuses, les programmes de counselling et l'absolution sous conditions, l'ordonnance différée de placement sous garde et de surveillance, la participation à un programme d'assistance et de surveillance intensives, la participation à un programme hors établissement et la réprimande lorsque les données sur la détermination de la peine aux termes de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescentsne sont pas disponibles.
  • Dans le cadre de l'Enquête sur les tribunaux civils (ETC), on recueille des données sur les événements et les causes traités par les tribunaux civils, tant à l'échelon des cours supérieures qu'à celui des cours provinciales et territoriales. Les cours d'appel, les cours fédérales (p. ex. la Cour canadienne de l'impôt) et la Cour suprême du Canada ne sont pas visées par l'enquête. Les données sont déclarées selon l'exercice financier, soit du 1er avril au 31 mars.
  • Une affaire civile générale correspond à toute action civile qui n'est pas liée à la famille, comme un différend relatif à un contrat, un délit civil, une faillite, une succession ou d'autres réclamations financières.
  • Les affaires familiales portent sur des questions liées au droit de la famille comme la protection des enfants, le divorce, la séparation, la garde et le droit de visite, la répartition des biens, la pension alimentaire et l'adoption.
  • L'Enquête sur les programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (EPEOA) permet de recueillir des renseignements sur les pensions alimentaires pour enfants et pour conjoints ainsi que sur les cas inscrits aux programmes d'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires (PEOA) à l'échelle provinciale et territoriale. Ces programmes sont en place dans chaque province et territoire afin d'assurer l'exécution des ordonnances et le paiement des pensions alimentaires pour les enfants et les conjoints.
  • Le taux de conformité représente la proportion de cas dont le montant est dû et qui ont été conformes au cours d'un mois donné. Les paiements complets constituent le pourcentage de cas qui ont effectué leur paiement en totalité et les paiements partiels représentent le pourcentage de cas qui ont effectué un paiement partiel.

Des articles récemment publiés sur la criminalité et la justice se trouvent dans Le Quotidien - Crime et Justice.

Date de modification :