Characteristics of research and development in Canadian industry

Release date: August 26, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

In-house R&D expenditures

In-house or intramural research and development refers to research and development that is performed within the organization, whatever the source of funds. In-house research and development comprise creative and systematic work undertaken in order to increase the stock of knowledge - including knowledge of humankind, culture and society - and devise new applications of available knowledge.

Outsourced R&D expenditures

Outsourced R&D expenditures refer to payments made within or outside Canada to other organizations, companies or individuals to purchase or fund R&D activities. These payments include grants, donations, fellowships, as well as contracts.

Energy-related areas of technology

Energy-related technologies include: fossil fuels, renewable energy sources, nuclear fission and fusion, electric power, hydrogen and fuel cells, energy efficiency and other energy-related technologies.

Payments made and received for intellectual property products and technological services (IP)

Payments and receipts for IP are considered measures of innovation and creativity often related to R&D. IP can include different forms of registered instruments that generate revenues through sales and licensing, such as patents, trademarks and copyrights. It can also include transactions related to original and packaged software, databases with useful lives exceeding one year and other payments for IP. Other payments entail technological services such as technical assistance and know-how, offered by the R&D-active businesses' highly skilled personnel to support the adoption of R&D results by purchasing organizations.

Date modified:

Caractéristiques de la recherche et du développement dans l'industrie canadienne

Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Intégrer ce produit
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Dépenses en R-D intra-muros

La recherche et développement intra-muros s'entend de la recherche et développement exécutée au sein de l'organisme, quelles que soient les sources de financement. La recherche et développement intra-muros comprend le travail créatif et systématique entrepris dans le but d'accroître la somme des connaissances, y compris les connaissances sur l'humanité, la culture et la société, et de trouver de nouvelles applications des connaissances existantes.

Dépenses au titre de la recherche et développement exécutée en sous-traitance

Dépenses en R-D exécutée en sous-traitance fait référence aux paiements versés à l’intérieur du Canada ou à l’étranger, aux autres organismes, entreprises, ou particuliers pour effectuer ou subventionner des activités de la R-D. Ceux-ci inclus les paiements versés, au moyen de contrats, de subventions, dons ou de bourses de recherche.

Les secteurs de technologie énergétiques

Les technologies énergétiques comprennent : combustibles fossiles, sources renouvelables d'énergie, fission et fusion nucléaires, énergie électrique, hydrogène et piles à combustible, efficacité énergétique, autres technologies associées à l'énergie.

Paiements et les recettes services technologiques et à la propriété intellectuelle (PI)

Les paiements et les recettes de la PI sont considérés comme des mesures de l’innovation et de la créativité reliée à R-D. La PI peut comprendre différentes formes d’instruments enregistrés qui génèrent des revenus grâce aux ventes et à l’octroi de licences, comme des brevets, des marques de commerce et des droits d’auteur. Elle peut également inclure des transactions liées à des logiciels originaux et de série, des bases de données dont la durée de vie utile dépasse un an et d’autres paiements au chapitre de la propriété intellectuelle. D’autres paiements sont liés aux services technologiques comme l’aide technique et le savoir-faire, offerts par le personnel hautement qualifié des entreprises actives en R-D pour appuyer l’adoption de résultats en matière de R-D par les organisations d’achat.

Date de modification :