Wholesale and Retail Services Price Indexes: Interactive Tool

Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
Embed this product
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

The Wholesale Services Price Index (WSPI) and the Retail Services Price Index (RSPI) represent respectively the change overtime in the price of the wholesale and the retail services. The price of the wholesale or the retail service is defined as the margin price, which is the difference between the average purchase price and the average selling price of a product. The retail or wholesale gross margin represents the vendor’s expense and profit for the service of selling a product. WSPI and RSPI are not selling price indexes.

The reference year of the indexes (i.e. the period where each series equals 100) is 2013.

With each release, data for the previous quarter may have been revised. The series are also subject to an annual revision with the release of second quarter data of the following reference year. The indexes are not seasonally adjusted. Data are available at the Canada level only.

Due to revisions, the displayed percentage change values from past quarters could vary from those in The Daily texts. The values displayed in this interactive tool are the most up-to-date.

Category: Type of service as defined by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

[NAICS Code] -The number displayed in the bracket corresponds to the classification code assigned to a type of service in the NAICS 2017.

Data quality indicators:

  • Code D: Acceptable (market coverage equal to or greater than 25%, and standard error greater than 2%, but less than or equal to 5%).
  • Code E: Use with caution (market coverage less than 25% or standard error greater than 5% or fewer than 5 reported price quotes).
  • Index series without data quality indicators are considered to be statistically reliable.

Related products

Statistics Canada has launched the Producer Prices Portal as part of a suite of portals for prices and price indexes. This webpage provides Canadians with a single point of access to a wide variety of statistics and measures related to producer prices. The portal offers an array of information on topics such as manufacturing, construction, professional services, distributive trades and financial services. The portal will be continually updated as new information becomes available.

The study "Recent trends in wholesale and retail softwood lumber prices", part of the Prices Analytical Series (62F0014M), is now available. This study sheds light on the recent price trends for softwood lumber in the Canadian retail and wholesale sectors, and on the supply and demand dynamics in the lumber commodity markets.

Infographics - The evolution of margins in the wholesale and the retail trade sectors (2008 to 2017)

The infographics, "Wholesale Services Price Index (WSPI) 2008 to 2017", and "Retail Services Price Index (RSPI) 2008 to 2017" which are part of Statistique Canada — Infographies (11-627-M), are available. They demonstrate how margins in the Canadian wholesale and retail trade sectors have evolved from the first quarter of 2008 to the fourth quarter of 2017.

A video entitled "Producer Price Indexes" is available on the Statistics Canada Training Institute webpage. It provides an introduction to Statistics Canada's Producer Price Indexes — what they are, how they are made and what they are used for.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Indices des prix des services du commerce de gros et de détail : Outil interactif

Date de diffusion : le 24 octobre 2019 Mis à jour : le 24 janvier 2020
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tables de données suivantes :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

L’Indice des prix des services du commerce de gros (IPSCG) et l’Indice des prix des services du commerce de détail (IPSCD) représentent respectivement la variation, au fil du temps, du prix des services du commerce de gros et de détail. Le prix des services du commerce de gros ou de détail est défini comme le prix de marge, soit la différence entre le prix d’achat moyen d’un produit et son prix de vente moyen. La marge brute du commerce de détail ou de gros représente les dépenses et les profits des fournisseurs pour le service de vente d’un produit. L’IPSCG et l’IPSCD ne sont pas des indices de prix de vente.

L’année de référence des indices (c.-à-d. la période où chacune des séries est égale à 100) est 2013.

Au moment de chaque diffusion, il est possible que les données du trimestre précédent aient été révisées. Les séries pourraient aussi faire l’objet d’une révision annuelle lors de la diffusion des données du deuxième trimestre de l’année de référence suivante. Les indices ne sont pas désaisonnalisés. Les données sont offertes à l’échelle du Canada uniquement.

En raison des révisions, les valeurs des variations en pourcentage affichées pour les trimestres précédents pourraient différer de celles des communiqués du Quotidien. Les valeurs affichées dans cet outil interactif sont les plus à jour.

Catégorie : Type de service tel que défini dans le cadre du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN).

[Code SCIAN] : Les chiffres affichés entre les crochets correspondent au code de classification assigné à un type de service dans le SCIAN 2017.

Indicateurs de qualité :

  • Code D : Acceptable (couverture du marché égale ou supérieure à 25 %, et erreur-type supérieure à 2 %, mais inférieure ou égale à 5 %).
  • Code E : À utiliser avec prudence (couverture du marché inférieure à 25 %, erreur-type supérieure à 5 % ou nombre de prix relevés inférieur à 5).
  • Les séries d’indices sans indicateurs de qualité sont considérées comme étant statistiquement fiables.

Produits connexes

Statistique Canada a lancé le Portail de l’Indice des prix à la production, lequel fait partie d’une série de portails relatifs aux prix et aux indices des prix. Cette page Web fournit aux Canadiens un point d’accès unique à diverses statistiques et mesures relatives aux prix à la production. Le portail offre de nombreux renseignements sur des sujets tels que la fabrication, la construction, les services professionnels, le commerce et les services financiers. Le portail sera continuellement mis à jour à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements deviennent disponibles.

L’étude intitulée « Tendances récentes relatives aux prix du bois d’œuvre de résineux dans le commerce de gros et de détail », qui fait partie de la Série analytique des prix (62F0014M), est maintenant disponible. Cette étude met en lumière les tendances récentes relatives aux prix du bois d’œuvre dans les secteurs du commerce de détail et du commerce de gros au Canada, ainsi que la dynamique de l’offre et de la demande dans les marchés des produits de base du bois d’œuvre.

Infographies — Évolution des marges dans les secteurs du commerce de gros et de détail (2008 à 2017)
Les infographies « Indice des prix des services du commerce de gros (IPSCG), 2008 à 2017 » et « Indice des prix des services du commerce de détail (IPSCD), 2008 à 2017 », qui font partie de Statistique Canada — Infographies (11-627-M), sont accessibles. Ces infographies montrent de quelle façon les marges dans les secteurs du commerce de gros et de détail au Canada ont évolué du premier trimestre de 2008 au quatrième trimestre de 2017.

Une vidéo intitulée « Indices des prix à la production » est accessible sur la page Web de l’Institut de formation de Statistique Canada. Elle se veut une introduction aux indices des prix à la production de Statistique Canada, fournissant des renseignements sur leur définition, leur production et leur utilisation.


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :