Sources of family income by family type, sub-provincial regions, T1 Family File: Interactive tool

Release date: July 11, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

The data displayed in this tool comes from the T1 Family File (T1FF) and gives information on income of tax filers and their families. This application contains only a portion of the information available in Statistics Canada’s T1FF data tables. Additional information is available directly in the data tables listed above the tool. The number of families in this application differ from counts of families from Statistics Canada’s Demography Division.

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

For more information on how to use this tool, consult the guide “How to use” available on this page (top right).

Please note that the tool will automatically revert to the highest category in a dimension when multiple categories are selected simultaneously within that dimension. Selecting multiple provinces or territories will revert automatically to the statistics for Canada. Selecting multiple CMA/CAs does not show data for the combined regions. If selected in the same province, it will show the statistics for the provinces otherwise it will show them for Canada.

Notes

  • The acronyms CMA and CA in the title of the filter to select subprovincial region and in the title of the map (right of the tool) correspond to Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) and Census Agglomeration (CA). Those regions are formed by one or more adjacent municipalities linked by a common population centre (known as the core). A CMA must have a total population of at least 100,000 of which 50,000 or more must live in the core. A CA must have a core population of at least 10,000. To be included in the CMA or CA, other adjacent municipalities must have a high degree of integration with the core. For a more detailed definition, please consult the Standard Geographical Classification.
  • The family corresponds to census families and persons not in census families, which is a smaller unit of analysis than a household. Families are comprised of: 1) couples (married or common-law, including same-sex couples) living in the same dwelling with or without children, and 2) single parents (male or female) living with one or more children. Persons who are not matched to a family become persons not in census families. They may be living alone, with a family to whom they are related, with a family to whom they are unrelated or with other persons not in census families.
  • Family income is the sum of the incomes of all members of the family.
  • Total income is income from all sources. Monies not included in total income are veterans' disability and dependant pensioners' payments, war veterans' allowances, lottery winnings and capital gains.
  • After-tax income is total income minus provincial and federal income taxes, plus the Quebec abatement and the federal refundable First Nation Abatement for Yukon.
  • Median is the middle number in a group of numbers. Where a median income, for example, is given as $26,000, it means that exactly half of the incomes reported are greater than or equal to $26,000, and that the other half is less than or equal to the median amount.
  • The constant dollars are based on the most recent year of income data available. It is calculated using the annual Consumer Price Index for all items.
  • Information on the data source, the historical availability, definitions of the terms used, and the geography levels available can be found at Technical Reference Guide for the Annual Income Estimates for Census Families, Individuals and Seniors. For questions and comments, please contact the Income Statistics Division of Statistics Canada (STATCAN.income-revenu.STATCAN@canada.ca).
  • This tool shows only a portion of the information available in the data tables listed above the tool. More data from these tables and several other tables presenting data from the T1 Family File are available.
Date modified:

Sources de revenu familial selon le type de famille, régions infraprovinciales, Fichier des familles T1 : Outil interactif

Date de diffusion : le 11 juillet 2019
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Le 13 novembre 2019, les estimations pour les impôts provinciaux du Québec et le revenu après impôt pour le Québec et le Canada ont été corrigées pour 2017.

Les données présentées dans cet outil proviennent du fichier des familles T1 (FFT1) et fournissent des renseignements sur le revenu des déclarants et de leur famille. Cette application ne contient qu’une partie de l’information accessible dans les tableaux de données du FFT1 de Statistique Canada. D’autres renseignements sont accessibles directement dans les tableaux de données énumérés au-dessus de l’outil. Le nombre de familles dans cette application diffère du nombre de familles provenant de la Division de la démographie de Statistique Canada.

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’utilisation de cet outil, veuillez consulter le guide « Comment utiliser» qui figure sur cette page (en haut à droite).

Veuillez noter que l’outil reviendra automatiquement à la catégorie supérieure d’une dimension lorsque plusieurs catégories sont sélectionnées simultanément dans cette dimension. La sélection de plusieurs provinces ou territoires ramènera automatiquement l’affichage aux statistiques pour le Canada. La sélection de plusieurs RMR/AR ne génère pas l’affichage des données pour les régions combinées. Si la sélection est faite dans la même province, les statistiques pour les provinces seront affichées; sinon les statistiques pour le Canada seront affichées.

Notes

  • Les acronymes RMR et AR qui apparaissent dans le titre du filtre de la région infraprovinciale et le titre de la carte géographique (à droite de l’outil) correspondent à région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) et agglomération de recensement (AR). Ces régions sont formées d’une ou de plusieurs municipalités adjacentes reliées par un centre de population commun (aussi appelé le noyau). Une RMR doit avoir une population totale d’au moins 100 000 habitants et son noyau doit compter au moins 50 000 habitants. L’AR doit avoir un noyau d’au moins 10 000 habitants. Pour faire partie de la RMR ou de l’AR, les municipalités adjacentes doivent avoir un fort degré d’intégration avec le noyau. Pour obtenir une définition plus détaillée, veuillez consulter la classification géographique type.
  • La famille correspond aux familles de recensement et aux personnes hors familles de recensement, ce qui constitue une unité d’analyse plus petite que le ménage. Les familles sont composées de : 1) les couples (mariés ou en union libre, y compris les couples de même sexe) vivant dans le même logement avec ou sans enfants, et 2) les parents seuls (hommes ou femmes) vivant avec un ou plusieurs enfants. Les personnes qui ne sont pas appariées à une famille deviennent des personnes hors familles de recensement. Ces personnes peuvent vivre seules, avec une famille à laquelle elles sont apparentées, avec une famille à laquelle elles ne sont pas apparentées ou avec d’autres personnes qui ne font pas partie des familles de recensement.
  • Le revenu familial est la somme des revenus de tous les membres de la famille.
  • Le revenu total correspond au revenu provenant de toutes les sources. Les sommes non comprises dans le revenu total sont les prestations d’invalidité pour anciens combattants et les prestations pour personnes à charge de retraités, les allocations aux anciens combattants, les gains de loterie et les gains en capitaux.
  • Le revenu après impôt correspond au revenu total moins les impôts fédéraux et provinciaux sur le revenu plus l’abattement du Québec et l’abattement fédéral remboursable des Premières Nations au Yukon.
  • La médiane est la valeur centrale d’une série de chiffres. Par exemple, si le revenu médian est de 26 000 $, alors exactement la moitié des revenus déclarés sont égaux ou supérieurs à 26 000 $, et l’autre moitié des revenus sont égaux ou inférieurs à ce montant.
  • Les dollars constants sont fondés sur l’année la plus récente pour laquelle les données sur le revenu sont accessibles. Le calcul est fait à l’aide de l’indice annuel des prix à la consommation pour l’ensemble des biens et services.
  • Des renseignements sur la source des données, la disponibilité historique, les définitions des termes utilisés et les niveaux géographiques accessibles se trouvent à l’adresse suivante Guide de référence technique pour les estimations annuelles du revenu des familles de recensement, des particuliers et des aînés. Pour toute question ou tout commentaire, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de la statistique du revenu de Statistique Canada (STATCAN.income-revenu.STATCAN@canada.ca).
  • Cet outil ne présente qu’une partie de l’information accessible dans les tableaux de données énumérés au-dessus de l’outil. D’autres données tirées de ces tableaux et de plusieurs autres tableaux présentant les données du fichier sur la famille T1 sont accessibles.

Date de modification :