Housing Market Indicators

Release date: December 13, 2018 Updated on: September 19, 2018
Select type of growth rate   Month-to-month %      Year-over-year %

.

Skip interactive map, go to data table

Map data table

Map legend

Increase
Decrease
No change

.

Skip interactive chart, go to data table

Chart data table

.

Canada and the provinces
Rank Region
(click on region to update page)
April 2016
(uom)
Month-to-month
change (%)

.

Data from the Canadian Housing Statistics Program

Detailed information about residential property for the provinces of British Columbia, Ontario, and Nova Scotia can be found under the Canadian Housing Statistics ProgramOpens a new window.

Definitions

New housing price index
New Housing Price Index (NHPI)Opens a new window is a monthly series that measures changes over time in the contractors' selling prices of new residential houses, where detailed specifications pertaining to each house remain the same between two consecutive periods. The survey covers the following dwelling types: single homes, semi-detached homes and townhouses.
Building permits
The monthly Building Permits (BPER)Opens a new window survey collects data on the value of permits issued by Canadian municipalities for both residential and non-residential buildings, and the number of residential dwellings authorized. The survey also measures the number of dwelling units demolished. Building Permit data are widely used as a leading indicator for the construction industry since the issuance of a building permit is one of the first steps in the construction process.
Housing starts
A housing start is defined as the beginning of construction work on a building, usually when the concrete has been poured for the whole of the footing around the structure, or an equivalent stage where a basement will not be part of the structure. For survey methodology, visit the Housing Market Information PortalOpens a new window from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation.
Housing completions
A housing completion is defined as the stage at which all the proposed construction work on a dwelling unit has been performed, although under some circumstances a dwelling may be counted as completed where up to 10 per cent of the proposed work remains to be done. For survey methodology, visit the Housing Market Information PortalOpens a new window from Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation.
Shelter price index
The Shelter price index tracks price changes related to the costs of owning or renting a home. It is one of the 8 major components in the Consumer Price Index (CPI)Opens a new window and, among them, it is the most heavily weighted component, making up over a quarter of the total CPI basket weight (as of the 2015 Basket). Shelter is composed of various sub-components, such as rent, electricity, mortgage interest cost, homeowner’s replacement cost and homeowner’s home and mortgage insurance.
Population 15+
Number of persons of working age, 15 years of age and over. Estimates in thousands, rounded to the nearest hundred. For definitions, data sources and methods, consult the Labour Force Survey (LFS)Opens a new window.
Employment
Number of persons who, during the reference week, worked for pay or profit, or performed unpaid family work or had a job but were not at work due to own illness or disability, personal or family responsibilities, labour dispute, vacation, or other reason. Those persons on layoff and persons without work but who had a job to start at a definite date in the future are not considered employed. Estimates in thousands, rounded to the nearest hundred. For definitions, data sources and methods, consult the Labour Force Survey (LFS)Opens a new window.
Census metropolitan area
A census metropolitan area (CMA) is a large population centre (known as core) together with adjacent fringe and rural areas that have a high degree of social and economic integration with the cores. A CMA has a population of at least 100,000.
Seasonal adjustment
A seasonally adjusted time series is a monthly or quarterly time series that has been modified to eliminate the effect of seasonal and calendar influences. The seasonally adjusted data allow for more meaningful comparisons of economic conditions from period to period. For more information on seasonal adjustment, see Seasonally adjusted data – Frequently asked questionsOpens a new window.

Return to note referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

For New Housing Price Index data, Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton are combined into a single index.

Return to note 1 referrer

Date modified:

Indicateurs du marché du logement

Date de diffusion : le 13 décembre 2018 Mis à jour : le 5 novembre 2018
Select type of growth rate   Variation mensuelle %      Variation annuelle %

.

Sauter la carte interactive, passer au tableau de données

Tableau de données de la carte

Légende de la carte

Hausse
Baisse
Aucun changement

.

Sauter le graphique interactif, passer au tableau de données

Tableau de données du graphique

.

Canada et les provinces
Rang Région
(cliquer sur une région pour mettre à jour la page)
April 2016
(uom)
Variation mensuelle
(%)

.

Des données du Programme de la statistique du logement canadien

Des renseignements détaillés sur les propriétés résidentielles pour les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Ontario et de la Nouvelle-Écosse se trouvent sous le Programme de la statistique du logement canadienOuvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Définitions

Indice des prix des logements neufs
L'Indice des prix des logements neufs (IPLN)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre est une série mensuelle qui mesure les variations au fil du temps des prix de vente des maisons résidentielles neuves établis par les entrepreneurs lorsque les spécifications détaillées de chaque maison demeurent les mêmes pendant deux mois consécutifs. L'enquête porte sur les types de logements suivants : les maisons individuelles, les maisons jumelées et les maisons en rangée.
Permis de bâtir
L'Enquête mensuelle sur les Permis de bâtir (PERB)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre vise à recueillir des données sur la valeur des permis délivrés par les municipalités canadiennes, à la fois pour des immeubles résidentiels et non résidentiels, et aussi sur le nombre de logements autorisés. Le nombre d'unités de logements démolis est également recueilli dans cette enquête. Les données sur les permis de bâtir sont largement utilisées comme indicateur avancé pour l'industrie de la construction car la délivrance d'un permis de bâtir est l'une des premières étapes du processus de construction.
Logement mis en chantier
Un logement est mis en chantier au moment où commence la construction de l’immeuble. Il s’agit en général du stade auquel la semelle de béton est entièrement coulée, ou de tout stade équivalent pour les bâtiments sans sous-sol. Pour les méthodes d’enquête, visitez le site Portail de l’information sur le marché de l’habitationOuvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre de la Société canadienne d’hypothèque et de logement.
Logement achevé
Un logement est achevé lorsque tous les travaux projetés sont terminés. Dans certains cas, on peut considérer qu’un logement est achevé s’il ne reste qu’au plus 10 % des travaux projetés à exécuter. Pour les méthodes d’enquête, visitez le site Portail de l’information sur le marché de l’habitationOuvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre de la Société canadienne d’hypothèque et de logement.
Indice des prix du logement
L’Indice des prix du logement est un indicateur de la variation des prix liés aux coûts associés à la propriété ou à la location d’une habitation. Il s’agit d’une des huit principales composantes de l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre (IPC) et, parmi celles-ci, celle qui a la pondération la plus élevée, comptant pour plus du quart de la pondération du panier de l’IPC global (selon la mise à jour du panier de 2015). L’Indice des prix du logement comprend plusieurs sous-composantes, telles que le loyer, l’électricité, le coût de l’intérêt hypothécaire, le coût de remplacement par le propriétaire et l’assurance habitation et assurance hypothécaire du propriétaire.
Population 15+
Nombre de personnes en âge de travailler de 15 ans et plus. Les estimations sont exprimées en milliers et arrondies à la centaine près. Pour les définitions, les sources de données et les méthodes, consultez l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Emploi
Nombre de personnes qui, au cours de la semaine de référence, ont fait un travail quelconque contre rémunération ou en vue d'un bénéfice (comprend également le travail familial non rémunéré), ou avaient un emploi mais n'étaient pas au travail à cause d'une maladie ou d'une incapacité, pour obligations personnelles ou familiales, pour des vacances, par suite d'un conflit de travail ou du fait de tout autre facteur. Les personnes mises à pied et celles qui avaient un emploi devant commencer à une date ultérieure ne sont pas considérées comme étant occupées. Les estimations sont exprimées en milliers et arrondies à la centaine près. Pour les définitions, les source de données et les méthodes, consultez l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
Région métropolitaine de recensement
Une région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) est composée d'un grand centre de population (appelée noyau) ainsi que de banlieue et régions rurales adjacentes dont le degré d'intégration économique et sociale avec le noyau est élevé. La population d'une RMR compte au moins 100 000 habitants.
Désaisonnalisation
Une série chronologique désaisonnalisée est une série chronologique mensuelle ou trimestrielle que l'on a modifiée afin d'éliminer les effets saisonniers et de calendrier. Ces données désaisonnalisées permettent d'effectuer des comparaisons plus justes de la conjoncture économique d'une période à l'autre. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la désaisonnalisation, consultez le document intitulé Données désaisonnalisées — Foire aux questionsOuvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Retour à la référence de la note

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Pour les données de l’Indice des prix des logements neufs, Saint John, Fredericton et Moncton sont combinés en un seul indice.

Retourner à la référence de note 1

Date de modification :