Labour Market Indicators
By province, territory and economic region, unadjusted for seasonality

Release date: March 9, 2018 Updated on: April 5, 2019
Important Notes

Notes

This application is based on estimates from two surveys: the Labour Force Survey (LFS) and the Job Vacancy and Wage Survey (JVWS). All national, provincial and economic region (ER) estimates used in this application are unadjusted. The LFS data are presented as three-month moving averages, while estimates from the JVWS are available on a quarterly basis.

The shading applied to the map of Canada illustrates the year-over-year change for the selected indicator, as presented in the table below the map.

LFS seasonally adjusted estimates at the national and provincial level are published each month in The Daily.

Territorial LFS estimates are not included in the national estimates, but are published separately as three-month moving averages in table 14-10-0292-01 (formerly CANSIM 282-0100).

Sources

Sampling variability and data quality

The Labour Force Survey (LFS) estimates are based on a sample and are therefore subject to sampling variability. As a result, monthly estimates will show more variability than trends observed over longer time periods. For more information, see "Interpreting Monthly Changes in Employment from the Labour Force Survey." Estimates for smaller geographic areas or industries also have more variability. For an explanation of the sampling variability of estimates and how to use standard errors to assess this variability, consult the "Data quality" section of the publication Labour Force Information (71-001-X).

Data quality indicators for Job Vacancy and Wage Survey (JVWS) estimates are based on the coefficient of variation (CV). Comparisons of data from the first quarter of 2015 with data from subsequent quarters should be made with caution.

For more information, consult the Guide to the Labour Force Survey (71-543-G) or the Guide to the Job Vacancy and Wage Survey (75-514-G).

Date modified:

Indicateurs du marché du travail
Selon la province, le territoire et la région économique, données non désaisonnalisées

Date de diffusion : le 9 mars 2018 Mis à jour : le 5 avril 2019
Notes importantes

Notes

Cette application est fondée sur deux enquêtes : l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA) et l'Enquête sur les postes vacants et les salaires (EPVS). Toutes les estimations pour le Canada, les provinces et les régions économiques (RE) utilisées dans cette application sont non désaisonnalisées. Les données de l'EPA sont présentées en fonction de moyennes mobiles de trois mois, tandis que les estimations de l'EPVS sont disponibles sur une base trimestrielle.

La variation de l'ombrage appliquée à la carte géographique du Canada illustre la variation annuelle pour l'indicateur choisi, telle que présentée dans le tableau au-dessous de la carte.

Les estimations désaisonnalisées de l'EPA à l'échelle nationale et provinciale sont publiées chaque mois dans Le Quotidien.

Les estimations territoriales de l'EPA ne sont pas prises en compte dans les estimations nationales, mais sont publiées séparément sous forme de moyennes mobiles de trois mois dans le tableau 14-10-0292-01 (anciennement tableau CANSIM 282-0100).

Sources

La variabilité d'échantillonnage et la qualité de données

Les estimations tirées de l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA) sont fondées sur un échantillon et sont donc sujettes à la variabilité d'échantillonnage. Par conséquent, les estimations mensuelles se caractériseront par une plus grande variabilité que les tendances observées sur de plus longues périodes. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet, voir l'article intitulé « Interprétation des variations mensuelles de l'emploi provenant de l'Enquête sur la population active ». Les estimations visant de petites régions géographiques ou de petites branches d'activité sont également sujettes à une plus grande variabilité. Pour une explication de la variabilité d'échantillonnage touchant les estimations et de la façon d'évaluer cette variabilité à l'aide de l'erreur-type, consultez la section relative à la qualité des données, qui figure dans la publication Information sur la population active (71-001-X).

Les indicateurs de qualité pour les estimations de l'Enquête sur les postes vacants et les salaires (EPVS) sont basés sur le coefficient de variation (c.v.). La comparaison des données du premier trimestre de 2015 avec les données des trimestres subséquents devrait être effectuée avec précaution.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le Guide de l'Enquête sur la population active (71-543-G) ou le Guide de l'Enquête sur les postes vacants et les salaires (75-514-G).

Date de modification :