Prices Analytical Series
Methodological Supplement for the Monthly Average Retail Prices Table

Release date: May 4, 2022

Text begins

The table, Monthly average retail prices for selected products provides average monthly price estimates for a range of products commonly purchased by Canadian consumers.

The average prices in this table are calculated using scanner data (also known as transaction data) collected from Canadian retailers which offers a significant quality advantage over traditional in-store collection. Transaction data provide a comprehensive electronic record of the transactions made through a retailer’s point-of-sale system by including prices from thousands of stores across the country, representing millions of weekly food prices and covering the majority of the Canadian grocery market.

Scanner or point-of-sale data are the highest quality price data available as they track actual prices paid by Canadians at the till, including sales and promotions where applicable, as well as product characteristics such as package size and quantity sold.

How to interpret Average Prices and the Consumer Price Index

Average prices are estimates of the average price paid by the consumer and can be used for comparing price levels of different items in the same month.

Average prices are not estimates of pure price change as they are not comparable over time due to factors including product rotation, quality and quantity changes, and shifting consumer preferences which all contribute to differences in prices from one month to another. Average prices do not necessarily compare the same product from month to month and should not be used for time series comparison.

Users should also use caution if comparing average prices across different provinces due to variations in brand, quality, and size among geographic areas.

Instead, the Consumer Price Index (CPI) should be used to measure pure price change. The CPI controls for product rotation, quality changes, quantity changes and shifting consumer preferences by reflecting price change only for the same or comparable item in the same outlet.

Furthermore, average price estimates may not move in the same direction or by the same magnitude as the CPI. The absence of a constant quality approach and the use of different sample designs, data sources and calculation methodologies make the two measures not conceptually comparable.


Table 1
Features of the average prices and the Consumer Price Index
Table summary
This table displays the results of Features of the average prices table and the Consumer Price Index Average prices table and Consumer Price Index (CPI) (appearing as column headers).
Average prices Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Type of measure Average price estimates are measures of
price levels.
Price indexes measure pure price change.
Frequency Released monthly. Usually the first week of the second month following the observation period. Released monthly. Usually in the third week of the month following the observation period.
Content updates As consumer preferences change the contents of the table may, from time to time, be updated. The CPI basket is updated every year to reflect changing household expenditures, and ensure the goods and services it contains are current. The characteristics of the representative products are reviewed and updated on a monthly basis to maintain comparability from one month to another. The published CPI products are updated accordingly so that the aggregated headline CPI remains an accurate measure of average price change.
Data source Retailer scanner (transaction) data. Retailer scanner (transaction) data, online pricing (websites/banner store flyers) and administrative data.
Products included Sample of commonly purchased consumer items. All representative products under the food category.
Revisions Subject to revisions. Not revised.
Uses Represents the average price paid by the consumer and can be used for comparing price levels of different items in the same month. Average prices should not be used as a time series for price comparison. The CPI is a measure of pure price change, tracking products of constant quality, and holding all variables constant except for the month when prices are observed. This ensures the continuity of the CPI time series.

Product definition

Average prices are derived for products as defined by a specific size or quantity measure (e.g. 4 litres, 1 dozen) and exclude taxes. In most cases, a standard size or quantity can be easily identified as the measure of best fit for a particular product (for example, 1 dozen eggs). For certain products which are available to consumers in a wide variety of package sizes, prices for products within a set rangeNote  of package sizes are standardized before the average price calculation. Standardization is an accepted practice in the field of price measurement. It allows for the measurement of a broader group of product sizes which increases the robustness of a given sampled product category. For example, prices for blocks of cheese ranging in size from 400 g to 800 g are adjusted to represent a 500 g block of cheese, and are represented as such in the average prices table.

Average price calculation

The weighted average price calculation is done by first calculating the unit price for all unique items, calculating a unit weight based on units sold for that item, and then combining these into a weighted arithmetic average. This involves the following three step process.

In the first step, unit prices are calculated for all unique items belonging to a product category by dividing the total sales of that unique item by the number of units sold. If the product needs standardization because it is sold in a range of sizes, this is done by dividing the unit price (sales / units sold) by a standardization factor, which itself is calculated as the item’s original size amount divided by the target size amount (see Table 2.2). This step is done across all store locations for each retailer.

In the second step, each unit price is then assigned a unit weight. If the item does not need standardization, the unit weight is calculated as the units sold for that item divided by the total number of units sold for that product category. Note that for the provincial level average price, this is the total units sold at the provincial level, and for the national level average price, this is the total units sold in all of Canada (territories included). If the item requires standardization, the units are first standardized by multiplying the units by the standardization factor (size amount / target size amount). Second, the standardized unit weights are calculated as the standardized units sold for that item divided by the sum of all standardized units sold for that product category.

In the third step, the final average price is calculated using a weighted arithmetic mean. This is done by multiplying unit prices by their unit weights (or standardized unit prices by their standardized unit weights) and summing all weighted unit prices at the provincial level as well as the national level to derive the final average price for a given product.

Table 2
Example: Calculation of a standardized and non-standardized weighted average price


2.1 Non-standardized
Table summary
This table displays the results of 2.1 Non-standardized Unique Product, Sales, Units sold, Unit weight, Unit price, Weighted unit price and Final weighted average price (appearing as column headers).
Unique Product Sales Units sold Unit weight2.1 Non-standardized Note 1 Unit price2.1 Non-standardized Note 2 Weighted unit price2.1 Non-standardized Note 3 Final weighted average price2.1 Non-standardized Note 4
Retailer A $ 1.16
Apples - 1KG Gala apples (1 KG) $ 11,000 12,000 0.17 $ 0.92 $ 0.15
Apples - 1KG Fuji apples (1 KG) $ 15,500 14,000 0.19 $ 1.11 $ 0.22
Retailer B
Apples - 1KG Gala apples (1 KG) $ 17,000 16,000 0.22 $ 1.06 $ 0.24
Apples - 1KG Fjji apples (1 KG) $ 40,000 30,000 0.42 $ 1.33 $ 0.56
Totals Note ...: not applicable $ 83,500 72,000 1.00 Note ...: not applicable Note ...: not applicable Note ...: not applicable

2.2. Standardized
Table summary
This table displays the results of 2.2. Standardized Unique Product, Sales, Units sold, Standardized units, Standardized unit weight, Unit price, Standardized unit price, Weighted unit price and Final weighted average price (appearing as column headers).
Unique Product Sales Units sold Standardized units sold2.2. Standardized Note 5 Standardized unit weight2.2. Standardized Note 6 Unit price2.2. Standardized Note 7 Standardized unit price2.2. Standardized Note 8 Weighted standardized unit price2.2. Standardized Note 9 Final weighted standardized average price2.2. Standardized Note 10
Retailer A $ 5.82
Block cheese - 0.5KG Cheddar cheese (500 G) $ 20,000 2,500 2,500 0.23 $  8.00 $ 8.00 $ 1.86
Block cheese - 0.5KG Mozzarella cheese (800 G) $ 13,500 2,000 3,200 0.30 $ 6.75 $ 4.22 $ 1.25
Retailer B
Block cheese - 0.5KG Cheddar cheese (600 G) $ 15,000 1,900 2,280 0.21 $ 7.89 $ 6.58 $ 1.39
Block cheese - 0.5KG Mozzarella cheese (700 G) $ 14,250 2,000 2,800 0.26 $ 7.13 $ 5.09 $ 1.32
Totals Note ...: not applicable $ 62,750 8,400 10,780 1.00 Note ...: not applicable Note ...: not applicable Note ...: not applicable Note ...: not applicable

Note to users

Users are advised to exercise caution when comparing average prices for products across geographies as these may reflect brand and quality differences inherent to the various regions. Branded products such as yogurt and block cheese are more affected by such differences than homogenous products such as produce and meat. Further, shifting consumer preferences may also have an impact on price levels, and users should keep this in mind when attempting to make comparisons over time.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Série analytique des prix
Supplément méthodologique pour le tableau des prix de détail moyens mensuels

Date de diffusion : le 4 mai 2022

Début du texte

Le tableau Prix de détail moyens mensuels pour certains produits fournit des estimations de prix mensuels moyens pour un éventail de produits couramment achetés par les consommateurs canadiens.

Les prix moyens compris dans ce tableau sont calculés à partir des données des lecteurs optiques (également appelées données de transactions) recueillies auprès des détaillants canadiens, qui comportent des avantages importants au chapitre de la qualité par rapport aux relevés traditionnels en magasin. Les données de transactions permettent de disposer d’un fichier électronique exhaustif des transactions effectuées par l’entremise du système de point de vente d’un détaillant, en incluant les prix de milliers de magasins au pays, qui représentent des millions de prix des aliments hebdomadaires et qui couvrent la majorité du marché alimentaire canadien.

Les données des lecteurs optiques ou les données de point de vente sont les meilleures données disponibles puisqu’elles font le suivi des prix réels payés par les Canadiens à la caisse et qu’elles comprennent les soldes et promotions lorsqu’ils sont en vigueur, en plus de fournir des caractéristiques sur les produits, comme la taille de l’emballage et la quantité vendue.

Comment interpréter les prix moyens et l’Indice des prix à la consommation

Les prix moyens représentent des estimations du prix moyen payé par le consommateur et peuvent être utilisés pour comparer les niveaux de prix de différents articles au cours du même mois.

Les prix moyens ne sont pas des estimations de la variation pure des prix, car ils ne sont pas comparables au fil du temps, en raison de facteurs comme la rotation des produits, les changements de qualité et de quantité, et les préférences changeantes des consommateurs, qui contribuent tous aux différences de prix d’un mois à l’autre. Les prix moyens ne comparent pas nécessairement le même produit d’un mois à l’autre et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la comparaison de séries chronologiques.

Les utilisateurs doivent également faire preuve de prudence lorsqu’ils comparent les prix moyens d’une province à l’autre, en raison des variations des marques, de la qualité et des formats d’une région géographique à l’autre.

L’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) devrait plutôt servir à mesurer la variation pure des prix. I’IPC tient compte de la rotation des produits, des changements de qualité et de quantité et des préférences changeantes des consommateurs et ne rend compte de la variation des prix que pour le même article ou un article comparable dans le même point de vente.

De plus, les estimations des prix moyens peuvent ne pas évoluer dans la même direction ou au même degré que l’IPC. Les deux mesures ne peuvent pas faire l’objet de comparaisons conceptuelles, en raison de l’absence d’une approche de qualité constante, ainsi que l’utilisation de différents plans d’échantillonnage, de la source des données et des méthodes de calcul.


Tableau 1
Caractéristiques des prix moyens et de l’Indice des prix à la consommation
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Caractéristiques du tableau des prix moyens et de l’Indice des prix à la consommation Tableau des prix moyens et Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Prix moyens Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)
Type de mesure Les estimations de prix moyens sont des mesures des niveaux de prix. Les indices des prix mesurent les variations pures des prix.
Fréquence Publié chaque mois. Habituellement la première semaine du deuxième mois suivant la période d’observation. Publié chaque mois. Habituellement au cours de la troisième semaine du mois suivant la période d’observation.
Mises à jour du contenu À mesure que les préférences des consommateurs changent, le contenu du tableau peut, de temps à autre, être mis à jour. Le panier de l’IPC est mis à jour chaque année pour tenir compte de l’évolution des dépenses des ménages et veiller à ce que les biens et services qu’il contient soient à jour. Les caractéristiques des produits représentatifs sont examinées et mises à jour chaque mois pour maintenir la comparabilité d’un mois à l’autre. Les produits de l’IPC publiés sont mis à jour en conséquence, afin que l’IPC global demeure une mesure exacte de la variation des prix.
Source des données Données des lecteurs optiques (transactions) de détaillant. Données des lecteurs optiques (transactions) de détaillant, prix relevés en ligne (sites Web/dépliants publicitaires) et les données administratives.
Produits inclus Échantillon d’articles de consommation couramment achetés. Tous les produits représentatifs de la catégorie des aliments.
Révisions Sujet à révisions. Non révisé.
Utilisations Représente le prix moyen payé par le consommateur et peut être utilisé pour comparer les niveaux de prix de différents articles au cours du même mois. Les prix moyens ne doivent pas servir de série chronologique pour la comparaison des prix. L’IPC est une mesure de la variation pure des prix. Il suit des produits dont la qualité est constante et maintient la constance des variables, sauf pour le mois où les prix sont observés. Cela permet d’assurer la continuité de la série chronologique de l’IPC.

Définition des produits

Les prix moyens sont calculés pour des produits définis selon un format ou une mesure de quantité spécifique (p. ex. 4 litres, 1 douzaine), excluant les taxes. Dans la plupart des cas, il est assez facile de déterminer le format ou la quantité standard qui serait la meilleure mesure pour un produit donné (p. ex. 1 douzaine d’œufs). Pour certains produits qui sont offerts aux consommateurs en plusieurs formats, les prix pour une gamme établieNote  de formats sont normalisés avant le calcul du prix moyen. La normalisation est une pratique courante dans le domaine de la mesure des prix. Elle rend possible la mesure d’un plus grand groupe de formats de produits, ce qui accroît la robustesse d’une catégorie donnée de produits échantillonnés. Par exemple, les prix pour des blocs de fromage dont le format peut se situer entre 400 g à 800 g sont ajustés pour représenter un bloc de fromage de 500 g, et ils sont représentés comme tels dans le tableau des prix moyens.

Calcul des prix moyens

Le calcul du prix moyen pondéré se fait en calculant d’abord le prix unitaire de tous les articles uniques, puis un poids unitaire fondé sur les unités vendues pour cet article, et en les combinant pour obtenir une moyenne arithmétique pondérée. Il s’agit du processus en trois étapes suivant.

À la première étape, les prix unitaires sont calculés pour tous les articles uniques appartenant à une catégorie de produits en divisant les ventes totales de cet article unique par le nombre d’unités vendues. Si le produit doit faire l’objet d’une normalisation, parce qu’il est vendu dans une gamme de formats, on divise le prix unitaire (ventes / unités vendues) par un facteur de normalisation, qui est lui-même calculé en fonction du format original de l’article divisé par le format cible (voir le tableau 2.2). Cette étape est effectuée pour tous les magasins de chaque détaillant.

À la deuxième étape, un poids unitaire est attribué à chaque prix unitaire. Si l’article ne doit pas faire l’objet d’une normalisation, le poids unitaire est calculé en divisant les unités vendues pour cet article par le nombre total d’unités vendues pour cette catégorie de produit. À noter que pour le prix moyen provincial, il s’agit du nombre total d’unités vendues à l’échelle provinciale, et pour le prix moyen national, il s’agit du nombre total d’unités vendues dans l’ensemble du Canada (y compris les territoires). Si l’article doit faire l’objet d’une normalisation, les unités sont d’abord normalisées en multipliant les unités par le facteur de normalisation (format/format cible). Deuxièmement, les poids unitaires normalisés sont calculés comme les unités normalisées vendues pour cet article, divisées par la somme de toutes les unités normalisées vendues pour cette catégorie de produit.

À la troisième étape, le prix moyen final est calculé à l’aide d’une moyenne arithmétique pondérée. Pour ce faire, on multiplie les prix unitaires par leurs poids unitaires (ou les prix unitaires normalisés par leurs poids unitaires normalisés), et on additionne tous les prix unitaires pondérés au niveau provincial, ainsi qu’au niveau national, pour calculer le prix moyen final d’un produit donné.

Tableau 2
Exemple : Calcul d’un prix moyen pondéré normalisé et non normalisé


2.1 Non-normalisé
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de 2.1 Non-normalisé Produit unique, Ventes , Unités vendues, Poids unitaire, Prix unitaire , Prix unitaire pondéré et Prix moyen pondéré final(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Produit unique Ventes Unités vendues Poids unitaire2.1 Non-standardized Note 1 Prix unitaire2.1 Non-standardized Note 2 Prix unitaire pondéré2.1 Non-standardized Note 3 Prix moyen pondéré final2.1 Non-standardized Note 4
Détaillant A 1,16 $
Pommes - 1 KG Pommes Gala (1 KG) 11 000 $ 12 000 0,17 0,92 $ 0,15 $
Pommes - 1 KG Pommes Fuji (1 KG) 15 500 $ 14 000 0,19 1,11 $ 0,22 $
Détaillant B
Pommes - 1 KG Pommes Gala (1 KG) 17 000 $ 16 000 0,22 1,06 $ 0,24 $
Pommes - 1 KG Pommes Fuji (1 KG) 40 000 $ 30 000 0,42 1,33 $ 0,56 $
Totaux Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 83 500 $ 72 000 1,00 ... Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer

2.2. normalisé
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de 2.2. normalisé. Les données sont présentées selon Produit (titres de rangée) et Produit unique, Ventes , Unités vendues, Unités normalisées, Poids unitaire normalisé , Prix unitaire , Prix unitaire normalisé , Prix unitaire pondéré et Prix moyen pondéré final (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Produit Produit unique Ventes Unités vendues Unités normalisées vendues2.2. Standardized Note 5 Poids unitaire normalisé2.2. Standardized Note 6 Prix unitaire2.2. Standardized Note 7 Prix unitaire normalisé2.2. Standardized Note 8 Prix unitaire normalisé pondéré2.2. Standardized Note 9 Prix moyen normalisé pondéré final2.2. Standardized Note 10
Détaillant A 5,82 $
Fromage en bloc- 0,5 KG Fromage cheddar (600 g) 20 000 $ 2 500 2 500 0,23 8,00 $ 8,00 $ 1,86 $
Fromage en bloc- 0,5 KG Fromage mozzarella (700 g) 13 500 $ 2 000 3 200 0,30 6,75 $ 4,22 $ 1,25 $
Détaillant B
Fromage en bloc- 0,5 KG Fromage cheddar (600 g) 15 000 $ 1 900 2 280 0,21 7,89 $ 6,58 $ 1,39 $
Fromage en bloc- 0,5 KG Fromage mozzarella (700 g) 14 250 $ 2 000 2 800 0,26 7,13 $ 5,09 $ 1,32 $
Totaux Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 62 750 $ 8 400 10 780 1,00 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer

Note aux utilisateurs

Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de prudence au moment de comparer les prix moyens des produits par région géographique, compte tenu des différences régionales sur le plan des marques et de la qualité. Les produits de marque, comme le yogourt et le fromage en bloc, sont plus touchés par ces différences que les produits homogènes, comme les fruits et légumes et la viande. De plus, l’évolution des préférences des consommateurs peut avoir une incidence sur les niveaux des prix, et les utilisateurs doivent en tenir compte au moment d’effectuer des comparaisons dans le temps.


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :