Prices Analytical Series
Methodological Supplement for the Provincial Monthly Average Retail Prices Table

Release date: June 10, 2020

Skip to text

Text begins

The table, Monthly average retail prices for selected products, by province, provides average monthly price estimates for a range of products commonly purchased by Canadian consumers.

The average prices in this table are calculated using scanner data (also known as transaction data) collected from Canadian retailers. Transaction data provide a comprehensive electronic record of the transactions made through a retailer’s point-of-sale system, and contain relevant pricing information, such as product descriptions and quantities sold. The use of transaction data for the calculation of the average prices in this table offers a significant quality advantage over traditional in-store collection, given the number of product prices available in the transaction data and the geographic coverage available.

Product definition

Average prices are derived for products as defined by a specific size or quantity measure (e.g. 4 litres, 1 dozen) and exclude taxes. In most cases, a standard size or quantity can be easily identified as the measure of best fit for a particular product (for example, 1 dozen eggs). For certain products which are available to consumers in a wide variety of package sizes, prices for products within a set rangeNote 1 of package sizes are standardized before the average price calculation. Standardization is an accepted practice in the field of price measurement. It allows for the measurement of a broader group of product sizes which increases the robustness of a given sampled product category, and improves the comparability of products across time and geographies. For example, prices for blocks of cheese ranging in size from 400 g to 800 g are adjusted to represent a 500 g block of cheese, and are represented as such in the average prices table.

Average price calculation

The average price calculation is a two-step process. In the first step, unit prices are calculated for all unique items belonging to a product, across all store locations of each retailer, in a given province. In the second step, the final average price is calculated as the weighted arithmetic mean of the prices of all retailers in the transaction dataset within that province. The weight applied to the mean represents the retailer’s share of total units sold for that product within the province.

Average prices and the Consumer Price Index

While the average prices in this table are derived from transaction data that are also used in the calculation of Canada’s Consumer Price Index (CPI), the purpose and use of the two measures are different (Table 1).


Table 1
Features of the provincial average prices table, and the Consumer Price Index
Table summary
This table displays the results of Features of the provincial average prices table Provincial average prices and Consumer Price Index (CPI) (appearing as column headers).
Provincial average prices Consumer Price Index (CPI)
Type of measure Average price estimates are measures of price levels. Price indexes measure price change.
Frequency Released monthly. Usually in the first week of the month following the observation period. Released monthly. Usually in the third week of the month following the observation period.
Content updates As consumer preferences change the contents of the table may, from time to time, be updated. The CPI basket is updated every two years to reflect changing household expenditures, and ensure the goods and services it contains are current. The published CPI products are updated accordingly so that the aggregated headline CPI remains an accurate measure of average price change.
Comparability

Average price estimates are not a measure of pure price observations and do not take into account changes in the quality of a product. Consequently, differences in the brand, quality and regional variations in products may affect the comparability of estimates in the current reference period and over time.

Further, average price estimates may not move in the same direction or by the same magnitude as the CPI. The absence of a constant quality approach, and different sample design, data source and calculation methodology mean that the two measures cannot be compared.

The CPI is a measure of pure price change, tracking products of constant quality, and holding all variables constant except for the month when prices are observed. This ensures the continuity of the CPI time series.

Note to users

Users are advised to exercise caution when comparing average prices for products across geographies as these may reflect brand and quality differences inherent to the various regions. Branded products such as yogurt and block cheese are more affected by such differences than homogenous products such as produce and meat. Further, shifting consumer preferences may also have an impact on price levels, and users should keep this in mind when making comparisons over time.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Série analytique des prix
Supplément méthodologique pour le tableau provincial de prix de détail moyens mensuels

Date de diffusion : le 10 juin 2020

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Le tableau Prix de détail moyens mensuels pour certains produits, par province, fournit les estimations de prix mensuels moyens pour un éventail de produits couramment achetés par les consommateurs canadiens.

Les prix moyens présentés dans ce tableau sont calculés à partir des données de lecteurs optiques (également appelées données de transactions) recueillies auprès de détaillants canadiens. Les données de transactions fournissent un dossier électronique complet des transactions effectuées au moyen du système de point de vente d’un détaillant, et contiennent des informations pertinentes associées aux prix, comme la description des produits et les quantités vendues. L’utilisation des données de transactions, aux fins du calcul des prix moyens dans ce tableau, apporte un important avantage au chapitre de la qualité par rapport à la collecte traditionnelle en magasin, compte tenu de la quantité de prix de produits que fournissent les données de transactions et de la couverture géographique offerte.

Définition des produits

Les prix moyens sont calculés pour les produits définis selon un format ou une mesure de quantité spécifique (p. ex. 4 litres, 1 douzaine), excluant les taxes. Dans la plupart des cas, il est assez facile de déterminer le format ou la quantité standard qui serait la meilleure mesure pour un produit donné (p. ex. 1 douzaine d’œufs). Pour certains produits qui sont offerts aux consommateurs dans une grande variété de formats d’emballage, les prix pour une gamme établieNote 1 de formats sont normalisés avant le calcul du prix moyen. La normalisation est une pratique courante dans le domaine de la mesure des prix. Elle rend possible la mesure d’un plus grand groupe de formats de produits, ce qui accroît la robustesse d’une catégorie donnée de produits échantillonnés et améliore la comparabilité des produits au fil du temps et entre les différentes régions géographiques. Par exemple, les prix pour des blocs de fromage dont le format peut se situer entre 400 g à 800 g sont ajustés pour représenter un bloc de fromage de 500 g, et sont représentés comme tels dans le tableau des prix moyens.

Calcul des prix moyens

Le calcul des prix moyens est un processus en deux étapes. Dans la première étape, les prix unitaires sont calculés pour tous les articles uniques appartenant à un produit, pour tous les magasins de chaque détaillant, dans une province donnée. Dans la deuxième étape, le prix moyen final est calculé comme la moyenne arithmétique des prix pondérés pour tous les détaillants compris dans l’ensemble de données de transactions au sein de cette province. Le poids appliqué à la moyenne correspond à la part de ventes totales d’unités vendues de ce produit chez le détaillant, dans cette province.

Les prix moyens et l’Indice des prix à la consommation

Bien que les données de transactions servent au calcul des prix moyens provinciaux ainsi que de l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) du Canada, ces deux mesures sont utilisées à des fins différentes (tableau 1).


Tableau 1
Caractéristiques des prix moyens provinciaux et de l’Indice des prix à la consommation
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Caractéristiques des prix moyens provinciaux et de l’Indice des prix à la consommation Prix moyens provinciaux et Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Prix moyens provinciaux Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC)
Type de mesure Les estimations des prix moyens sont des mesures des niveaux des prix. Les indices des prix sont des mesures de la variation des prix.
Fréquence Diffusion mensuelle, habituellement pendant la première semaine du mois suivant la période d’observation. Diffusion mensuelle, habituellement pendant la troisième semaine du mois suivant la période d’observation.
Mise à jour du contenu Puisque le contenu change selon les préférences des consommateurs, le tableau peut être périodiquement mis à jour Le panier de l’IPC est mis à jour aux deux ans pour rendre compte de changements dans les dépenses des ménages et pour assurer que les biens et services qu’il contient restent actuels. Les produits publiés de l’IPC sont mis à jour en conséquence, de sorte que l’IPC agrégé global demeure une mesure exacte de la variation moyenne des prix.
Comparabilité

Les estimations des prix moyens ne sont pas une mesure d’observation pure des prix et ne tiennent pas compte des changements dans la qualité d’un produit. Par conséquent, les différences sur le plan de la marque, de la qualité et des variétés régionales d’un produit peuvent avoir une incidence sur la comparabilité des estimations au cours de la période de référence en question, ainsi qu’au fil du temps.

De plus, les estimations des prix moyens peuvent ne pas évoluer dans la même direction ou au même degré que l’IPC. Les deux mesures ne peuvent faire l’objet de comparaisons en raison de l’absence de l’approche de qualité constante ainsi que des différences au niveau du plan d’échantillonnage, de la source des données et des méthodes de calcul.

L’IPC est une mesure de la variation pure des prix. Il suit les prix dont la qualité est constante, et maintient la constance des variables, sauf pour le mois où les prix sont observés. Cela permet d’assurer la continuité de la série chronologique de l’IPC.

Note aux utilisateurs

Les utilisateurs doivent faire preuve de prudence au moment de comparer les prix moyens des produits par région géographique, compte tenu des différences régionales sur le plan des marques et de la qualité. Les produits de marque comme le yogourt et le fromage en bloc sont plus touchés par ces différences que les produits homogènes comme les fruits et légumes et la viande. De plus, l’évolution des préférences des consommateurs peut avoir une incidence sur les niveaux des prix, et les utilisateurs doivent en tenir compte au moment d’effectuer des comparaisons dans le temps.


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :