Prices Analytical Series
Enhancements to the Air Transportation Index in the Consumer Price Index

Release date: January 22, 2020

Skip to text

Text begins

Background

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is an indicator of price change experienced by Canadian consumers. It compares, over time, the cost of a fixed basket of goods and services of constant quality. To do so, the CPI relies on data from multiple sources and on different methods to capture the expenditure patterns of Canadian households and to measure changes in consumer prices.

The air transportation index is part of the transportation component of the CPI. It estimates the average change, over time, of airfares within Canada and between Canadian cities and international destinations. Based on the 2017 basket weights, introduced in 2019, the index has a weight of 1.49% in the CPI.

As part of the ongoing review of methods and data sources used in the calculation of the Canadian CPI, a two-phased enhancement initiative aimed at improving the quality of the air transportation index is now complete. The first phase, implemented in the March 2018 CPI (released in April 2018), replaced prices obtained from administrative data sources with prices collected from the Internet. The second phase, implemented in the November 2019 CPI (released in December 2019), introduced automated airfare price collection through the use of application programming interfaces (API). As a result of the new data source for the air transportation index, the number of airlines, origin and destination cities, as well as the frequency of price collection have all increased.  

Overview of phase 1

The goal of phase 1 was to better harmonize the air transportation index with consumer spending patterns, which have evolved to include shopping for, and purchasing, air travel online. Statistics Canada explored the use of Internet collected data for airfares faced by consumers when booking trips online. After a thorough evaluation, it was determined that Internet price data provided a reliable and representative data source for airfares, resulting in the following quality enhancements to the air transportation index:

These changes were introduced with the March 2018 CPI.

Overview of phase 2

In the second phase, the number of airlines and destinations included were further increased as Internet price data were eventually replaced with prices collected automatically using API from Global Distribution Systems (GDS).Note 

API, which are standardized data request and response formats, integrate airline reservation systems with the GDS so travel agencies and consumers can search and book tickets online. They work by gathering input request parameters such as the origin, destination, and departure and return dates, and output a response file containing data such as base fare, taxes, and itinerary details. While API are not necessarily observed directly by consumers when shopping online, they facilitate many aspects of the digital economy, including travel booking.

Statistics Canada subscribes to two of the travel industry’s largest GDS to obtain the airfare data used in the compilation of the air transportation index. These new data sources provide access to a wide spectrum of advertised flight prices and itinerary information via API.

Three assumptions underlie the use of API for airfares collection for the CPI:

The following table summarizes the increases in coverage, frequency of collection and number of prices resulting from API data:


Table 1
Results of the introduction of API data
Table summary
This table displays the results of Results of the introduction of API data Phase 1 (Internet price collection) and Phase 2 (API data) (appearing as column headers).
Phase 1 (Internet price collection) Phase 2 (API data)
Number of city pairs 53 180
Number of booking lags 2 4
Collection frequency per month 3 Daily
Prices per collection (per city pair) 2 Up to 15
Number of airlines 4 All airlines serving the Canadian market
Total prices used per month 636 Over 300,000 per API

Coverage

With API data collection, the sample of airlines used in the air transportation index was extended to include all airlines serving the Canadian market. To further ensure that prices are representative of important airlines in each city pair, revenue data from the Airport Activity Survey were used to establish a list of eight Canadian and eighteen international airlines for which at least one price is included in each daily city pair price selection. 

Additionally, the second phase increased the number of city pairs to 180. The Fare Basis Survey (FBS) was used to select the representative domestic and international city pairs, with revenue estimates serving as an indicator of which city pairs to select. The FBS contains information that was used to derive airlines’ revenue on each city pair.

For each city pair, booking lag, and collection day, the 15 least expensive fare observations are selected including at least one fare drawn from at least one of the important representative airlines mentioned above. The average of these 15 fare observations is calculated for each city pair, booking lag, and collection day using a geometric mean. These values are then aggregated to an average airfare for the reference month for each individual city pair using geometric means.

Price indexes of the 180 city pairs selected are grouped into elementary aggregates representing five travel destination sectors: domestic, transborder, transatlantic, southern and Asia-Pacific. To obtain the final air transportation index, those sectors are aggregated using basket weights derived from the Survey of Household Spending and the FBS.

Frequency of collection

The air transportation index is now calculated using prices obtained through daily API requests. The requests are made for a list of city pairs and also for different booking lags (i.e.: the number of days in advance of the departure date) to capture prices faced by consumers who book at different points in time prior to the date of departure.

Number of prices

The increases in coverage and collection frequency resulted in a significant augmentation in the number of prices used to calculate the air transportation index. This ensures the accuracy and reliability of the air transportation index in the CPI.  

Conclusion

The move to API for the collection of airfare data provided an opportunity to significantly expand the sample of airlines and travel destinations, and to increase the frequency of price collection. These changes constitute important enhancements towards maintaining the quality and relevance of the air transportation index in the Canadian CPI.

References

Statistics Canada. Airport Activity Survey (AAS) - Annual. Record number: 2701. .

Statistics Canada. Consumer Price Index (CPI) - Monthly. Record number: 2301.

Statistics Canada. Fare Basis Survey (FBS) - Quarterly. Record number: 2708.

Statistics Canada. Survey of Household Spending (SHS) - Annual. Record number: 3508.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Série analytique des prix
Améliorations de l’indice du transport aérien dans l’Indice des prix à la consommation

Date de diffusion : le 22 janvier 2020

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Contexte

L’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) est un indicateur de la variation de prix que connaissent les consommateurs canadiens. Il compare au fil du temps le coût d’un panier fixe de biens et services d’une qualité constante. Pour ce faire, l’IPC s’appuie sur des données provenant de plusieurs sources et fait appel à différentes méthodes afin de saisir les habitudes de dépense des ménages canadiens et de mesurer la variation des prix à la consommation.

L’indice du transport aérien fait partie de la composante des transports de l’IPC. Il estime la variation moyenne au fil du temps des tarifs aériens à l’intérieur du Canada et entre les villes canadiennes et les destinations internationales. En fonction du poids du panier de 2017, introduit en 2019, l’indice du transport aérien a un poids de 1,49 % dans l’IPC.

Dans le cadre de l’examen continu des méthodes et des sources de données utilisées pour calculer l’IPC canadien, une initiative d’amélioration à deux volets, visant à améliorer la qualité de l’indice du transport aérien, est maintenant complète. La première phase, mise en place avec l’IPC de mars 2018 (diffusé en avril 2018), a permis de remplacer les prix obtenus de sources de données administratives par des prix relevés sur Internet. La deuxième phase, mise en œuvre avec l’IPC de novembre 2019 (diffusé en décembre 2019), a permis d’introduire l’automatisation des relevés de prix au moyen d’interfaces de programmation d’applications (API). Cette nouvelle source de données pour l’indice du transport aérien a fait croître le nombre de compagnies aériennes et le nombre de villes d’origine et de destination et a fait augmenter la fréquence de la collecte des prix.

Aperçu de la phase 1

La phase 1 visait à mieux harmoniser l’indice du transport aérien aux habitudes de dépense des consommateurs qui ont évolué pour comprendre le magasinage et l’achat de voyages aériens en ligne. Statistique Canada a étudié la possibilité d’utiliser des données recueillies sur Internet pour les tarifs aériens auxquels font face les consommateurs lorsqu’ils réservent un voyage en ligne. Après une évaluation approfondie, il a été déterminé que les données des prix provenant de l’Internet étaient fiables et représentatives des tarifs aériens, ce qui a permis d’améliorer la qualité de l’indice du transport aérien de la manière suivante :

Ces changements ont été introduits avec la diffusion de l’IPC de mars 2018.

Aperçu de la phase 2

Au cours de la deuxième phase, le nombre de compagnies aériennes et de destinations incluses a augmenté lorsque les données de prix relevés sur Internet ont finalement été remplacées par la collecte automatique de données sur les prix au moyen des API des Systèmes mondiaux de distribution (SMD).Note 

Les API, étant des formats uniformisés de demandes de données et de réponses, intègrent les systèmes de réservation des compagnies aériennes aux SMD de sorte que les agences de voyages et les consommateurs puissent faire des recherches et réserver des billets en ligne. Elles recueillent des paramètres d’entrée, comme l’origine, la destination et les dates de départ et de retour, et produisent un fichier de réponse contenant des données comme le tarif de base, les taxes et les détails de l’itinéraire. Même si les API ne sont pas nécessairement directement apparentes aux consommateurs lorsqu’ils magasinent en ligne, elles facilitent de nombreux aspects de l’économie numérique, y compris la réservation de voyages.

Statistique Canada est abonné à deux des plus importants SMD de l’industrie du voyage pour obtenir les données sur les tarifs aériens utilisés dans la compilation de l’indice du transport aérien. Ces nouvelles sources de données permettent, au moyen des API, d’accéder à un large éventail de prix de vols annoncés et de renseignements sur les itinéraires.

Trois suppositions sous-tendent l’utilisation des API pour la collecte des tarifs aériens pour l’IPC :

Le tableau résume les améliorations de la couverture, de la fréquence de collecte et du nombre de prix relevés résultant des données des API :


Tableau 1
Résultats de l’introduction des données des API
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Résultats de l’introduction des données des API Phase 1 (collecte des prix sur Internet) et Phase 2 (données des API) (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Phase 1 (collecte des prix sur Internet) Phase 2 (données des API)
Nombre de paires de villes 53 180
Nombre de décalages de réservations 2 4
Fréquence des collectes par mois 3 Quotidienne
Nombre de prix relevés par collecte (par paire de villes) 2 Jusqu'à 15
Nombre de compagnies aériennes 4 Toutes les compagnies aériennes desservant le marché canadien
Total des prix utilisés par mois 636 Plus de 300 000 par API

Couverture

La collecte de données au moyen des API a permis d’élargir l’échantillon de compagnies aériennes utilisé pour établir l’indice du transport aérien en y incluant toutes les compagnies aériennes qui servent le marché canadien. Pour faire en sorte que les prix soient représentatifs des compagnies aériennes importantes dans chaque paire de villes, les données sur le revenu provenant de l’Enquête sur l’activité aéroportuaire ont servi à établir une liste de 8 compagnies aériennes canadiennes et de 18 compagnies internationales pour lesquelles au moins un prix est inclus dans chaque collecte de prix quotidienne par paire de villes.

De plus, la deuxième phase a augmenté le nombre de paires de villes à 180. L’Enquête sur la base tarifaire (EBT) a été utilisée pour sélectionner les paires de villes nationales et internationales représentatives, dont les estimations de revenus servent d’indicateurs pour les paires de villes à sélectionner. L’EBT contient des renseignements qui ont permis de déterminer le revenu des compagnies aériennes pour chaque paire de villes.

Pour chaque paire de villes, décalage de réservation et jour de collecte, 15 observations des tarifs les moins chers sont sélectionnées, y compris au moins un tarif provenant d’au moins une des compagnies aériennes représentatives importantes mentionnées précédemment. La moyenne de ces 15 observations de tarifs est calculée pour chaque paire de villes, décalage de réservation et jour de collecte en utilisant une moyenne géométrique. Ces valeurs sont alors agrégées à l’aide de moyennes géométriques afin d’obtenir le tarif aérien moyen du mois de référence pour chaque paire de villes.

Les indices de prix de 180 paires de villes choisies sont groupés en agrégats élémentaires représentant cinq secteurs de destination de voyage : national, transfrontalier, transatlantique, Sud et Asie‑Pacifique. Afin d’obtenir l’indice du transport aérien final, ces secteurs sont agrégés au moyen de poids du panier dérivés de l’Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages et de l’EBT.

Fréquence de la collecte

L’indice du transport aérien est maintenant calculé en utilisant des prix obtenus au moyen des demandes quotidiennes faites auprès des API. Les demandes sont effectuées pour une liste de paires de villes et également pour différents décalages de réservations (c.-à-d. le nombre de jours avant la date de départ) afin de saisir les prix payés par les consommateurs qui font leurs réservations à différents moments avant la date de départ.

Nombre de prix

L’augmentation de la couverture et de la fréquence de la collecte a entraîné une hausse importante du nombre de prix servant au calcul de l’indice du transport aérien, ce qui assure l’exactitude et la fiabilité de l’indice du transport aérien dans l’IPC.

Conclusion

Le passage à la collecte de données sur les tarifs aériens au moyen des API a permis d’élargir considérablement l’échantillon de compagnies aériennes et de destinations de voyage, en plus d’accroître la fréquence de la collecte des prix. Les changements apportés représentent d’importantes améliorations en vue d’assurer le maintien de la qualité et de la pertinence de l’indice du transport aérien dans l’IPC canadien.

Bibliographie

Statistique Canada. Enquête sur l’activité aéroportuaire (EAA) - Annuelle. Numéro d’enregistrement : 2701.

Statistique Canada. Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) - Mensuelle. Numéro d’enregistrement : 2301.

Statistique Canada. Enquête sur la base tarifaire (EBT) - Trimestrielle. Numéro d’enregistrement : 2708.

Statistique Canada. Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages (EDM) - Annuelle. Numéro d’enregistrement : 3508.


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :