Statistics Canada - Government of Canada
Accessibility: General informationSkip all menus and go to content.Home - Statistics Canada logo Skip main menu and go to secondary menu. Français 1 of 5 Contact Us 2 of 5 Help 3 of 5 Search the website 4 of 5 Canada Site 5 of 5
Skip secondary menu and go to the module menu. The Daily 1 of 7
Census 2 of 7
Canadian Statistics 3 of 7 Community Profiles 4 of 7 Our Products and Services 5 of 7 Home 6 of 7
Other Links 7 of 7

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Skip module menu and go to content.
Comments Resources by subject E-STAT Statistics: Power from Data! Glossary Postsecondary Teachers Students May I copy this? Learning Resources

Teacher's Kits >

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) and YOU

62-560-XWE

Jerry McKim, Statistics Canada resource teacher
François Bordé, Statistics Canada

Overview

By personalizing the study of the Consumer Price Index, students will understand the value of this economic indicator as

  • a method of comparing prices from period to period
  • a tool for adjusting wages, government transfers and other payments to reflect price inflation.

Objectives

  • To understand the terminology relating to consumer price inflation in the economy
  • To interpret interactive tabular data to support an argument concerning the Consumer Price Index
  • To understand the effect of individual price increases on overall consumer price inflation

Suggested grade levels and subject areas

Intermediate, secondary
Economics, Geography, Mathematics, Home Economics and Family Studies, Social Studies

Duration

45 to 60 minutes


Vocabulary

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) —Think of the CPI as a measure of the percentage change over time in the average cost of a large basket of goods and services purchased by Canadians. The quantity and quality of the items in the basket are held constant. As a result, changes in the cost of the basket are due to pure price movements and not to changes in the composition of the basket.

Inflation — Inflation is referred to as the average rate of increase in prices. When economists speak of inflation as an economic problem, they generally mean a persistent increase in the general price level over a period of time, resulting in a decline in a currency's purchasing power.

When prices rise, the purchasing power of money drops. When prices drop, a dollar has more purchasing power. The inverse of the CPI is used to estimate changes in the buying power of money.

Inflation is usually measured as a percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). If the rate of inflation is 10% a year, for example, $50,000 worth of purchases last year will, on average, cost $55,000 this year. At the same inflation rate, those purchases will cost $60,500 next year, and their cost will double after only seven years.

Weighting — The process of adjusting the impact of a price change on the CPI to reflect the relative importance of the product in the overall budget of an average family.

Basket of goods — Statistics Canada surveys Canadians periodically about their usual spending on consumer goods and services. The survey results determine the contents of this 'basket of goods.' The basket is subdivided into major components such as 'Food,' 'Clothing' and 'Household expenses.' These groups are further divided into 182 basic components, each of which contains actual products. For example, toothpaste is an item in the basic component 'Oral hygiene products,' within the major component 'Health and personal care.' In total, over 600 items are regularly checked for price changes.


Materials


Classroom instructions

  1. Teacher should review the publication Your Guide to the Consumer Price Index and introduce the general concepts. Use the tutorial worksheet and the Simulator to illustrate and explain these terms:
    • price change
    • weighting
    • basket of goods
  2. Manipulate the Custom Inflation Simulator data sheet to test the hypothesis that spending changes in various categories of goods have limited impact on the overall index (weighted average change).
  3. Manipulate the Custom Inflation Simulator data sheet to show that major price changes in periods of high inflation can have a serious effect on personal budget decisions.

Evaluation

Grade the student worksheets with the Teacher's tutorial answer sheet and Teacher's simulation answer sheet.


Please send comments or examples of how you used this exercise in your class to Learning Resources.

 


Home | Search | Contact Us | Français Top of page
Date modified: 2008-05-20 Important Notices

Statistique Canada - Gouvernement du Canada
Accessibilité : Renseignements générauxÉviter tous les menus et aller au contenu.Accueil - Logo de Statistique Canada Éviter le menu principal et aller au menu secondaire. English 1 de 5 Contactez-nous 2 de 5 Aide 3 de 5 Recherche site web 4 de 5 Site du Canada 5 de 5
Éviter le menu secondaire et aller au menu des rubriques. Le quotidien 1 de 7
Recensement 2 de 7
Le Canada en statistiques 3 de 7 Profils des communautés 4 de 7 Nos produits et services 5 de 7 Accueil 6 de 7
Autres liens 7 de 7

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Éviter le menu du rubriques et aller au contenu.
Commentaires Ressources par sujet E-STAT Glossaire Niveau postsecondaire Enseignants - Enseignantes Élèves Les statistiques : le pouvoir des données Puis-je reproduire ceci? Ressources éducatives

Trousses de l'enseignant >

L'Indice des prix à la consommation et VOUS

62-560-XWF

Jerry McKim, personne-ressource, Statistique Canada
François Bordé, Statistique Canada

Aperçu

En personnalisant l'étude de l'Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC), les élèves comprendront la valeur de cet indicateur économique servant :

  • de méthode de comparaison des prix d'une période à l'autre;
  • d'outil de rajustement des salaires, des transferts gouvernementaux et d'autres paiements afin de tenir compte de l'inflation des prix.

Objectifs

  • Comprendre la terminologie liée à l'inflation des prix à la consommation dans l'économie.
  • Interpréter des tableaux interactifs pour soutenir une discussion sur l'IPC.
  • Comprendre l'incidence des augmentations individuelles de prix sur la hausse globale des prix à la consommation.

Niveaux et matières suggérés

Cycles intermédiaire et secondaire
Économie, géographie, sciences sociales, études et économie familiales et mathématiques

Durée

45 à 60 minutes


Vocabulaire

Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) Comparez l'IPC à une mesure de la variation en pourcentage dans le temps du coût moyen d'un grand panier de biens et services achetés par les Canadiens. La quantité d'articles dans le panier demeure constante, tout comme leur qualité. Par conséquent, le changement de coût du panier est attribuable à de pures variations de prix et non à des changements de la composition du panier.

Inflation L'inflation fait référence au taux d'accroissement moyen des prix. Lorsque l'inflation représente un problème économique pour les économistes, c'est habituellement parce que le niveau général des prix est à la hausse de manière soutenue depuis un certain temps, entraînant ainsi une baisse du pouvoir d'achat d'une devise.

Une augmentation des prix se traduit par une diminution du pouvoir d'achat. Lorsque les prix chutent, le pouvoir d'achat augmente. L'inverse de l'IPC sert à évaluer les changements du pouvoir d'achat.

En général, on mesure l'inflation d'après l'augmentation en pourcentage de l'IPC. Si le taux d'inflation annuel est de 10 %, des biens qui valaient, par exemple, 50 000 $ l'année précédente coûtent en moyenne 55 000 $ cette année. Au même taux d'inflation, il en coûtera 60 500 $ l'an prochain pour les mêmes biens ou services et le double dans à peine sept ans.

Pondération — Il s'agit du processus de rajustement de l'incidence d'un changement de prix sur l'IPC afin de tenir compte de l'importance relative du produit dans le budget global d'une famille moyenne.

Panier de biens Statistique Canada sonde périodiquement les Canadiens sur leurs dépenses habituelles de consommation de biens et de services. Les résultats de l'enquête déterminent le contenu du « panier de biens ». Le panier se divise en composantes principales comme les aliments, l'habillement et les dépenses du ménage. Ces groupes se divisent à leur tour en 182 composantes de base, contenant chacune des produits réels. Par exemple, la pâte dentifrice fait partie de la composante de base « Produits d'hygiène buccale », au sein de la composante principale « Soins de santé et soins personnels ». Au total, les prix de plus de 600 articles sont régulièrement vérifiés.


Matériel


Enseignement en classe

  1. L'enseignant doit passer en revue la publication Votre guide d'utilisation de l'indice des prix à la consommation et présenter les concepts généraux. Utilisez la feuille d'activités tutorielle et le simulateur pour illustrer et expliquer ces expressions :
    • fluctuation des prix
    • pondération
    • panier de biens
  2. Manipulez la fiche technique du simulateur personnalisé de l'inflation pour mettre à l'épreuve l'hypothèse selon laquelle les changements relatifs aux dépenses dans différentes catégories de biens ont une incidence limitée sur l'indice global (variation moyenne pondérée).
  3. Manipulez la fiche technique du simulateur personnalisé de l'inflation pour montrer que les fluctuations majeures de prix survenant dans les périodes d'inflation élevée peuvent avoir une incidence considérable sur les décisions relatives au budget personnel.

Évaluation

Notez les feuilles d'activités des élèves selon la Feuille de réponses de l'enseignant — Tutoriel et la Feuille de réponses de l'enseignant — Simulation.


Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires ou des exemples de la façon dont vous avez utilisé cet exercice dans votre classe à Ressources éducatives.


Page d'accueil | Recherche | Contactez-nous | English
Haut de la page
Date de modification : 2008-05-20 Avis importants