The Canadian Consumer Price Index Reference Paper
Chapter 2 – Availability and Uses

Availability of Information

2.1 The all-items Consumer Price Index (CPI), various aggregate indices as well as special aggregate indices are produced and published each month for Canada, the provinces, Whitehorse and Yellowknife. Additionally, the all-items CPI and the shelter price index are produced and published for sixteen cities.Note  The all-items CPI is the only index published for Iqaluit.

2.2 The CPI series for the eight major aggregates at the Canada level are also available seasonally adjusted. Each year with the release of the December CPI in January, annual average indices are produced for all of the published monthly indices. Annual average indices are calculated as the unweighted arithmetic average of the 12 monthly indices within the year. The monthly and annual average indices for the all-items CPI for Canada are available in chain-linked series back to 1914. Indices for other geographies and/or aggregates are available starting from various periods as they entered the CPI statistical program.

2.3 In addition to the monthly and annual CPI series, average retail prices (not price indices) for food and other selected items for Canada and for the ten provinces, and average retail gasoline and fuel oil prices for Canada and eighteen citiesNote  are estimated and published monthly.

2.4 All monthly CPI statistics are available at 8:30 am EST on the day of the release. The release is typically on the third week of the month following the price observation period. For example, the CPI for price observation period November 2018 was released on December 19th 2018.

2.5 At present, there are two main vehicles for the release of the CPI data:

The Consumer price index portal offers information relating to all CPI data, publications, interactive tools, and announcements highlighting new products and upcoming changes to the CPI in one convenient location.

2.6 The Daily is Statistics Canada’s main release bulletin and the Agency’s first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily provides an overview of the monthly CPI statistics while focusing on the indices which had the most notable upward or downward contributions to the year-over-year (12-month) and monthly percentage changes in the CPI.

2.7 Once published, the official CPI statistics are not revised. Seasonally adjusted price indices are the only CPI series which are revised. Those data are revised one month after release and then each year with the January CPI, the past 36 months of seasonally adjusted data are revised.

2.8 Contrary to the official CPI, the three Bank of Canada’s preferred measures of core inflation, CPI-trim, CPI-median and CPI-common, are subject to revision. For CPI-median and CPI-trim, this results from the fact that these measures are based on seasonally adjusted price index series. For CPI-common, revisions are due to the statistical technique used as a factor model is estimated over all available historical data.

Interpreting Percentage Changes

2.9 The CPI is a composite price index, which compares prices for consumer products in various price observation periods (which can be months or years), to prices in the index base period (also referred to as the index reference period). The CPI is arbitrarily set to equal 100 in the index base period. Therefore, all index values express price change in percentage terms in comparison to the index base period. For example, if the index is 123.4, that means prices have increased 23.4% since the base period. The current index base period of the CPI is 2002.

2.10 The CPI base period can easily be changed by multiplying all CPI series by a constant conversion factor equal to 100 divided by the average index for another specific time period. This is known as rebasing an index. Period to period, price change will not be impacted by rebasing an index.Note 

2.11 Other common time comparisons that are made with the CPI include:

2.12 Special aggregate indices are calculated and published monthly and on an annual basis for Canada, the provinces, Whitehorse and Yellowknife.

2.13 Special aggregates are different combinations of elementary aggregates. They often exclude certain product classes, in order to provide users with supplementary information on how consumer prices are changing. These indices provide alternative measures of consumer price inflation.

2.14 When a special aggregate index excludes certain product classes, their corresponding weights are removed from the total. As a result, the shares of the remaining goods and services increase in relative importance.

2.15 The Bank of Canada’s preferred measures of core inflation (CPI-trim, CPI-median and CPI-common) are based on the disaggregation of the all-items CPI into 55 exhaustive and mutually exclusive components.Note  The CPI-trim measure excludes CPI components whose rates of change in a given month are located in the tails of the distribution of price changes. This measure helps filter out extreme price movements that might be caused by factors specific to certain components. In particular, CPI-trim excludes 20% of the monthly variations in weighted prices at both the bottom and top of the distribution of price changes, and thus it always removes 40% of the total CPI basket. The components excluded from the CPI-trim calculation can change from month-to-month, depending on which ones are extreme in a given month. This approach differs from traditional a priori exclusion-based measures which, every month, omit a pre-specified list of CPI components. The CPI-median measure corresponds to the price change located at the 50th percentile (in terms of the CPI basket weights) of the distribution of price changes in a given month. This measure helps filter out extreme price movements specific to certain components. This approach is similar to CPI-trim as it eliminates all the monthly variations in weighted prices at both the bottom and the top of the distribution of price changes in any given month, except the price change for the component that is the midpoint of that distribution. The CPI-common measure tracks common price changes across categories in the CPI basket.

Rounding in the Consumer Price Index

2.16 During the different steps of their construction all CPI indices are calculated to several decimal places. However, consistent with international practice, indices are rounded to one decimal place when they are published. Percentage changes (monthly, 12-month and annual average) in Statistics Canada publications are always calculated with the published rounded indices. They are also rounded to one decimal place. That way, users can always replicate the published percentage changes.

2.17 As a result of these two stages of rounding, a small amount of accuracy in percentage changes may be lost. Therefore, small fluctuations (+/- 0.1) in the percentage changes of indices should be interpreted with discretion.

2.18 Another side effect of rounding indices is that at times there could appear to be inconsistencies between the percentage changes in aggregate indices and their sub-aggregate indices. For example, the rounded percentage change of an aggregate index may not be centred among the rounded percentage changes of its sub-aggregate indices.

2.19 The loss of precision due to rounding is amplified when indices are of small value. Therefore, rebasing an index, which generally results in smaller index values for the past, can reduce the precision of calculated percentage changes. For example, with an index base period of 1914=100, a 0.1 percent increase in the all-items CPI from 1914 to 1915 would translate to an index value of 100.100, rounded to 100.1. However, with an index base period of 2002=100, the rebased 1914 index value would be 6.0. The same 0.1 percent increase in the all-items CPI from 1914 to 1915 translates to an index value of 6.006, rounded to 6.0.

2.20 Therefore, rounding indices reduces the precision for percentage changes for periods in the past. Loss of precision in historical figures should be considered when deciding to rebase an index.

Uses of the Consumer Price Index

2.21 The CPI, as a composite price index, is an official measure of consumer price change through time. It is of interest to governments, unions, business organizations, research institutions and very large segments of the general public. Undoubtedly, the CPI is one of the most widely known, quoted and used statistical series in Canada. Its prominent profile, while indicative of wide acceptance, also poses problems because the CPI cannot serve all uses perfectly and equally well. Users are advised, therefore, to approach the CPI with discretion, especially when using it for purposes that lie outside of its main focus.

2.22 The CPI is often used to adjust incomes, wages or other payments to maintain previous purchasing power in the face of changing consumer prices. In some cases, periodic changes to specific payments are made using a built‑in adjustment factor, in which the CPI rate of change is applied either wholly or in part. This is currently the case, for example, for government payments resulting from such social programs as the Old Age Security and the Guaranteed Income Supplement. Some labour-management contracts also contain cost-of-living adjustment clauses, by which wages and salaries are tied to the CPI in a variety of ways. Even more frequently, the CPI serves as a point of reference in wage and salary negotiations without being applied as a built-in adjustment factor. Many other financial arrangements make reference to the CPI in adjusting the terms of payment.Note  Finally, it is likely that many Canadians monitor the CPI to judge how their incomes (or expenditures) are keeping pace with consumer price change.

2.23 As an adjustment factor, whether it is used automatically or as a point of reference, the CPI has come to affect most Canadians, and it plays an extremely important role in the economic and social affairs of the country. The CPI, for example, is a good indicator of changes in the purchasing power of the consumer dollar. However, the index does not dictate what the specific adjustments should be to wages and other forms of income. It is up to the contracting parties to determine the proportion of changes in purchasing power that should be compensated for. The following should be considered by those who use the CPI as an income adjustment factor.

2.24 The CPI is often used as a general indicator of inflation in Canada. An analysis of the CPI, in conjunction with analyses of other statistical series, can reveal fundamental trends in the economy. The CPI therefore plays an important role in the formulation of policies and in economic forecasting. The comparison of current changes in the CPI to changes in the past, and to the behaviour of similar indices in other countries, helps analysts to evaluate the effectiveness of many economic policy decisions. Although the CPI is often used as a general indicator of inflation, it is worth underlining some important limitations in this respect.

2.25 The Implicit Price Index or the chain Fisher price index for domestic final expenditures in the Canadian System of National Accounts (CSNA), being free of the above limitations in addition to being calculated with a symmetrically weighted index formula, is a more comprehensive indicator of overall inflation. It is, however, released quarterly, two months after a given quarter, relates to non-market as well as market segments of the economy and relies on imputed prices for some important components, notably owner-occupied housing. It is also subject to revisions over several years as more statistical information becomes available.Note 

2.26 The importance of the CPI as a general indicator of inflation has become more apparent since February 1991, when the Bank of Canada switched to an inflation targeting regime with the all-items CPI as its target indicator. While the CPI has always been a key statistical measure used by the Bank of Canada in determining its monetary policy, the adoption of an inflation targeting regime increased the attention given to the CPI as a general indicator of inflation. Again, to help it achieve this target, the Bank of Canada defined a set of preferred measures of core inflation that are calculated and published by Statistics Canada. The purpose of these measures is to reflect persistent price movements by eliminating transitory or sector-specific fluctuations in some components of the CPI.


Date modified:

Le document de référence de l’Indice des prix à la consommation canadien
Chapitre 2 – Disponibilité et utilisations

Disponibilité des données

2.1 L’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) d’ensemble, divers indices agrégés, ainsi que des indices agrégés spéciaux sont produits et publiés mensuellement pour le Canada, les provinces, Whitehorse et Yellowknife. En outre, l’IPC d’ensemble et l’Indice des prix du logement sont produits et publiés pour 16 villes.Note  L’IPC d’ensemble est le seul indice publié pour Iqaluit.

2.2 Les séries de l’IPC pour les huit agrégats principaux au niveau du Canada sont également disponibles sous forme désaisonnalisée. Chaque année en janvier, au moment de la diffusion de l’IPC de décembre, des indices annuels moyens sont produits pour tous les indices mensuels publiés. Les indices annuels moyens sont calculés sous forme de moyenne arithmétique non pondérée des 12 indices mensuels dans l’année. Les indices mensuels et les indices annuels moyens pour l’IPC d’ensemble pour le Canada sont disponibles sous forme de série enchaînée remontant jusqu’à 1914. Pour les autres domaines géographiques et/ou agrégats, les indices sont disponibles à partir de diverses périodes, selon le moment où ils sont entrés dans le programme statistique de l’IPC.

2.3 En plus des séries mensuelles et annuelles de l’IPC, on estime et publie mensuellement des prix de détail moyens (et non les indices des prix) pour les aliments et certains autres articles pour le Canada et pour les dix provinces, ainsi que les prix de détail moyens de l’essence et du mazout pour le Canada et 18 villes.Note 

2.4 Toutes les statistiques mensuelles de l’IPC sont disponibles à 8 h 30, heure de l’Est, le jour de la diffusion. Habituellement, la diffusion a lieu la troisième semaine du mois qui suit la période d’observation des prix. Ainsi, l’IPC pour la période d’observation des prix correspondant à novembre 2018 a été diffusé le 19 décembre 2018.

2.5 À l’heure actuelle, il existe deux moyens principaux de diffusion des données de l’IPC :

Le Portail de l’Indice des prix à la consommation offre des renseignements concernant l’ensemble des données de l’IPC, des publications, des outils interactifs et des annonces relatives aux nouveaux produits et aux changements qui seront apportés à l’IPC.

2.6 Le Quotidien est le principal bulletin de diffusion de données de Statistique Canada et la première ligne de communication de l’organisme avec les médias et le public. Le Quotidien donne un aperçu des données mensuelles de l’IPC en mettant l’accent sur les indices qui ont contribué le plus à l’augmentation ou à la diminution des variations en pourcentage d’une année à l’autre (sur 12 mois) et mensuelles de l’IPC.

2.7 Une fois publiées, les statistiques officielles de l’IPC ne sont pas révisées. Les indices des prix désaisonnalisés sont les seules séries de l’IPC qui sont révisées. Ces données sont révisées un mois après la diffusion. Puis, chaque année, au moment de la diffusion de l’IPC de janvier, les données désaisonnalisées portant sur les 36 mois précédents sont révisées.

2.8 Contrairement à l’IPC officiel, les trois mesures de l’inflation fondamentale de la Banque du Canada, soientt l’IPC-tronq, l’IPC-méd et l’IPC-comm, sont sujettes à révision. Pour ce qui est de l’IPC-méd et de l’IPC-tronq, les révisions résultent du fait que ces mesures sont construites sur la base de séries d’indices de prix désaisonnalisés. Dans le cas de l’IPC-comm, les révisions sont le résultat de la technique statistique utilisée comme étant un modèle de facteur étant estimé sur l’ensemble des données historiques disponibles.

Interprétation des variations en pourcentage

2.9 L’IPC est un indice composite de prix, qui compare les prix des produits de consommation à diverses périodes d’observation des prix (qui peuvent correspondre à des mois ou à des années) aux prix à la période de base de l’indice (également appelée période de référence de l’indice). La valeur de l’IPC est fixée arbitrairement à 100 à la période de base de l’indice. Par conséquent, toutes les valeurs de l’indice expriment la variation en pourcentage des prix comparativement à la période de base de l’indice. Par exemple, si l’indice est égal à 123,4, cela signifie que les prix ont augmenté de 23,4 % depuis la période de base. À l’heure actuelle, la période de base de l’IPC est 2002.

2.10 La période de base de l’IPC peut être modifiée facilement en multipliant toutes les séries de l’IPC par un facteur de conversion constant égal à 100, divisé par l’indice moyen pour une autre période particulière. On parle alors de changement de base d’un indice. Les variations des prix de période en période ne sont pas affectées par le changement de base d’un indice.Note 

2.11 Voici d’autres comparaisons temporelles faites dans le cas de l’IPC :

2.12 Des indices agrégés spéciaux sont calculés et publiés mensuellement et annuellement pour le Canada, les provinces, Whitehorse et Yellowknife. 

2.13 Les agrégats spéciaux représentent des combinaisons différentes d’agrégats élémentaires. En sont souvent exclues certaines classes de produits, afin de fournir aux utilisateurs des renseignements supplémentaires sur la façon dont évoluent les prix à la consommation. Ces indices fournissent d’autres mesures de l’inflation des prix à la consommation.

2.14 Lorsqu’un agrégat spécial exclut certaines classes de produits, la pondération de ces dernières est soustraite du total. Ainsi, les parts des biens et services retenus dans l’agrégat spécial gagnent en importance relative.

2.15  Les mesures privilégiées de l’inflation fondamentale de la Banque du Canada (IPC-tronq, IPC-méd et IPC-comm) sont fondées sur une désagrégation de l’IPC d’ensemble en 55 composantes exhaustives et mutuellement exclusives.Note  La mesure IPC-tronq exclut de l’IPC les composantes dont les taux de variation, au cours d’un mois donné, se situent dans les queues de la distribution des variations de prix. Cette mesure permet de cerner et d’exclure les variations de prix extrêmes qui pourraient être causées par des facteurs spécifiques à certaines composantes. En particulier, IPC-tronq retranche de la distribution des variations de prix les 20 % inférieurs et supérieurs des variations mensuelles pondérées des prix. Elle exclut donc toujours 40 % du panier total de l’IPC. Les composantes exclues du calcul de l’IPC-tronq peuvent varier d’un mois à l’autre, selon celles qui sont extrêmes en un mois donné. Cette approche diffère des mesures traditionnelles fondées sur l’exclusion mensuelle a priori d’une liste prédéterminée de composantes de l’IPC. La mesure IPC-méd correspond à la variation de prix se situant au 50e centile de la distribution des variations de prix au cours d’un mois donné (pondérées selon les poids des composantes dans le panier de l’IPC). Cette mesure permet de cerner et d’exclure les variations de prix extrêmes spécifiques à certaines composantes. Cette approche est similaire à celle de l’IPC-tronq, puisqu’elle élimine toutes les variations mensuelles pondérées autant du bas que du haut de la distribution des variations de prix dans un mois donné, à l’exception de la variation de prix de la composante qui est le point médian de cette distribution. La mesure IPC-comm extrait les mouvements communs des prix entre les catégories du panier de l’IPC.

Arrondissement de l’Indice des prix à la consommation

2.16 Durant les différentes étapes de leur construction, tous les indices de l’IPC sont calculés en gardant plusieurs décimales. Cependant, conformément à la pratique internationale, les indices sont arrondis à la première décimale lors de leur publication. Les variations en pourcentage (mensuelles, sur 12 mois et annuelles moyennes) qui figurent dans les publications de Statistique Canada sont toujours calculées en se servant des indices arrondis publiés. Ces variations sont également arrondies à la première décimale. De cette façon, les utilisateurs peuvent toujours reproduire les variations en pourcentage publiées.

2.17 Ces deux étapes d’arrondissement peuvent entraîner une faible perte d’exactitude des variations en pourcentage. Par conséquent, les petites fluctuations (+/- 0,1) des variations en pourcentage des indices doivent être interprétées avec prudence.

2.18 Un autre effet secondaire de l’arrondissement des indices est que, parfois, il peut sembler exister des incohérences entre les variations en pourcentage des indices agrégés et celles de leurs sous-agrégats. En d’autres termes, la variation en pourcentage arrondie d’un indice agrégé pourrait ne pas être centrée parmi les variations en pourcentage arrondies des indices sous-agrégés constitutifs.

2.19 La perte de précision due à l’arrondissement est amplifiée lorsque la valeur des indices est faible. Par conséquent, le changement de base d’un indice, qui produit généralement des valeurs plus faibles de l’indice pour le passé, peut réduire la précision des variations en pourcentage calculées. Par exemple, pour une période de base de l’indice correspondant à 1914 = 100, une augmentation de 0,1 % de l’IPC d’ensemble entre 1914 et 1915 se traduirait par une valeur de l’indice de 100,100, arrondie à 100,1. Cependant, avec une période de base de l’indice correspondant à 2002 = 100, la valeur de l’indice de 1914 recalculée en changeant l’année de base serait de 6,0. La même augmentation de 0,1 % de l’IPC d’ensemble entre 1914 et 1915 se traduit par une valeur de l’indice de 6,006, arrondie à 6,0.

2.20  Par conséquent, l’arrondissement des indices réduit la précision des variations en pourcentage pour les périodes du passé. La perte de précision dans les chiffres historiques doit être prise en considération lorsque l’on décide de changer l’année de base d’un indice.

Utilisations de l’Indice des prix à la consommation

2.21 En tant qu’indice composite de prix, l’IPC est une mesure officielle de l’évolution des prix à la consommation au cours du temps. Il présente un intérêt pour les administrations publiques, les syndicats, les associations d’entreprises, les établissements de recherche et de très grands segments du grand public. L’IPC est indubitablement l’une des séries statistiques les plus connues, citées et utilisées au Canada. Si sa notoriété témoigne de son acceptation générale, elle pose aussi des problèmes parce que l’IPC ne peut pas servir parfaitement et uniformément à tous les usages. Il est donc conseillé aux utilisateurs de se servir de l’IPC avec prudence, surtout lorsqu’ils le font à des fins qui dépassent le cadre de son objectif principal.

2.22 L’IPC est souvent utilisé pour ajuster les revenus, les salaires et d’autres paiements en vue de maintenir le pouvoir d’achat antérieur en réponse aux variations des prix à la consommation. Dans certains cas, des modifications périodiques de paiements particuliers sont faites en utilisant un facteur d’ajustement intégré, dans lequel le taux de variation de l’IPC est appliqué entièrement ou partiellement. Actuellement, il en est ainsi pour des paiements effectués par l’administration publique en vertu de programmes sociaux tels que la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Supplément de revenu garanti. Certains contrats patronaux-syndicaux contiennent aussi des clauses d’ajustement en fonction du coût de la vie, qui relient les salaires et traitements à l’IPC de diverses façons. Encore plus fréquemment, l’IPC sert de point de référence pour la négociation des traitements et salaires sans être appliqué comme un facteur d’ajustement intégré. De nombreux autres arrangements financiers font référence à l’IPC pour ajuster les modalités de paiement.Note  Enfin, il est probable que nombre de Canadiens surveillent l’IPC pour juger si leurs revenus (ou leurs dépenses) sont en harmonie avec l’évolution des prix à la consommation.

2.23 À titre de facteur d’ajustement, qu’il soit utilisé automatiquement ou comme simple point de référence, l’IPC a une incidence sur la plupart des Canadiens, et il joue un rôle très important dans les affaires économiques et sociales du pays. Ainsi, l’IPC est un bon indicateur des variations du pouvoir d’achat du dollar du consommateur. Cependant, l’indice ne dicte pas quels doivent être les ajustements particuliers qu’il faut apporter aux salaires et à d’autres formes de revenu. Il revient aux parties contractantes de déterminer la proportion des variations du pouvoir d’achat qui doit être compensée. Les éléments qui suivent doivent être pris en considération par ceux qui utilisent l’IPC comme facteur d’ajustement du revenu.

2.24 L’IPC est souvent utilisé comme un indicateur général de l’inflation au Canada. Conjuguée à d’autres séries statistiques, une analyse de l’IPC peut révéler des tendances fondamentales dans l’économie. L’IPC joue donc un rôle important dans la formulation des politiques et la prévision économique. La comparaison des variations courantes de l’IPC à leurs variations précédentes ou à des indices similaires d’autres pays, aide les analystes à évaluer l’efficacité de nombreuses décisions économiques. Bien que l’IPC soit souvent utilisé comme indicateur général de l’inflation, il importe de souligner certaines de ses limites importantes à cet égard. 

2.25 L’indice implicite des prix ou l’indice-chaîne de Fisher pour les dépenses intérieures finales dans le Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada (SCNC), qui est exempt des limites susmentionnées en plus d’être calculé avec une formule d’indice pondérée symétriquement, est un indicateur plus complet de l’inflation globale. Toutefois, il est diffusé trimestriellement, deux mois après un trimestre donné, se rapporte aux segments non marchands ainsi que marchands de l’économie et s’appuie sur des prix imputés pour certaines composantes importantes, notamment celle du logement en propriété. Il est également sujet à des révisions sur plusieurs années à mesure que des données statistiques supplémentaires deviennent disponibles.Note 

2.26 L’importance de l’IPC en tant qu’indicateur général de l’inflation est devenue plus évidente depuis février 1991, quand la Banque du Canada est passée à un régime de ciblage de l’inflation en prenant l’IPC d’ensemble comme indicateur cible. Bien que l’IPC ait toujours été une mesure statistique clé utilisée par la Banque du Canada pour établir sa politique monétaire, l’adoption d’un régime de ciblage de l’inflation a accru l’attention portée à l’IPC en tant qu’indicateur général de l’inflation. Encore une fois, pour lui faciliter l’atteinte de la cible, la Banque du Canada a défini un ensemble de mesures privilégiées de l’inflation fondamentale qui sont calculées et publiées par Statistique Canada. Ces mesures visent à refléter les fluctuations persistantes des prix en éliminant les fluctuations transitoires ou les effets des variations de prix spécifiques à certaines composantes de l’IPC.


Date de modification :