Highlights

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Survey of the couriers and local messengers industry, 2005 (preliminary data) and 2004 (revised data)

  1. The 19,625 active establishments in the industry in 2005 generated $7.2 billion in operating revenue, up 6% from $6.8 billion in 2004.
  2. Operating expenses reached $6.6 billion, an increase of 6% compared to 2004. The largest increases in operating expenses were in salaries, wages and benefits and other operating expenses, which were tied at 10%, followed by depreciation expenses and rental and leasing expenses, also tied, at 7%.
  3. The industry's operating margin reached $591 million, an increase of 10% over 2004. However, the operating ratio (operating expenses divided by operating revenue) remained at 0.92.
  4. The couriers segment showed $5.8 billion in operating revenue, an increase of 10% compared to 2004. This segment's operating margin reached $406 million, up by 14%. Its operating ratio remained unchanged at 0.93.
  5. The local messengers segment totalled $1.4 billion, a decrease of 5% compared to the previous year. This segment showed an operating margin of $185 million, an increase of 2%. Its operating ratio also improved slightly, moving from 0.88 to 0.87.
  6. Overall, establishments belonging to large and medium-sized businesses (businesses with revenue of $1 million or more) delivered almost 654 million pieces, generating just over $5.5 billion in delivery revenue.
  7. Courier establishments delivered 89% of the total number of pieces, generating 90% of the delivery revenue. Couriers also dominated next day/overnight services, with 97% of the total revenue, and two-day or more and other services, with 98% of the total revenue.
  8. Local messenger establishments delivered 11% of the total number of pieces, generating 10% of the industry's delivery revenue. Local messengers mainly specialize in same-day services, producing nearly all the revenue generated by this type of service (96%).
  9. Ontario has remained the dominant region in the industry in terms of delivery revenue based on shipment collection location, generating almost half of the revenue for Canada (47%).
  10. Shipments to Canadian destinations accounted for 80% of total delivery revenue, while those to the United States accounted for approximately 16% and to other countries, 4%.
  11. Establishments belonging to large and medium-sized businesses had approximately 50,600 employees and hired almost 15,200 independent operators. They also used more than 27,800 vehicles and other equipment.

About this publication

This bulletin provides information on the couriers and local messengers industry. It starts by focussing on the results of the 2005 annual survey (preliminary data). It includes an industry profile and tables of operations data with short analytical comments. Secondly, this bulletin provides revised data tables for reference year 2004. This publication concludes with a survey quality statement, a description of the survey methodology and data quality. In particular, it includes a section on changes and revisions.

Notes to users

1- The data on characteristics published in this bulletin (number of packages, origin and destination, equipment and employment) apply solely to establishments belonging to businesses that generated annual revenue of $1 million or more from their courier and local messenger activities. More specifically, this definition applies to tables 4 to 6 and 10 to 12.

2- Starting with reference year 2004r, there are two new important additions: employment data have been added (tables 6 and 12) as well as data on the number of establishments in the population in tables referring to characteristics (tables 4 to 6 and 10 to 12).

Faits saillants

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Industrie des messageries et des services locaux de livraison, 2005 (données provisoires) et 2004 (données révisées)

  1. Les 19 625 établissements actifs au sein de l'industrie en 2005 ont généré 7,2 milliards de dollars en recettes d'exploitation, une hausse de 6 % par rapport aux 6,8 milliards de dollars de 2004.
  2. Les dépenses d'exploitation se sont établies à près de 6,6 milliards de dollars, en hausse de 6 % par rapport à 2004. Parmi les charges d'exploitation ayant affiché les hausses les plus importantes, on retrouve ex æquo les salaires et avantages sociaux et les autres dépenses d'exploitation avec 10 %, suivi des dépenses de dépréciation et celles de location et de location bail, également ex æquo avec une hausse de 7 %.
  3. La marge d'exploitation de l'industrie a atteint 591 millions de dollars, un gain de 10 % avec 2004. Par ailleurs, le ratio d'exploitation (les dépenses d'exploitation divisées par les recettes d'exploitation) est demeuré à 0,92.
  4. Le segment des messageries a affiché des recettes d'exploitation de 5,8 milliards de dollars, une augmentation de 10 % avec 2004. La marge d'exploitation du segment a atteint 406 millions de dollars, en hausse de 14 %. Son ratio d'exploitation est resté inchangé à 0,93.
  5. Le segment des services locaux de livraison a pour sa part totalisé 1,4 milliard de dollars, une diminution de 5 % avec l'année précédente. Le segment a présenté une marge d'exploitation de 185 millions de dollars, soit un gain de 2 %. Son ratio d'exploitation s'est aussi légèrement amélioré, passant de 0,88 à 0,87.
  6. Dans l'ensemble, les établissements appartenant aux entreprises de grande et de moyenne taille (celles dont les recettes excèdent 1 million de dollars) ont livrés presque 654 millions d'articles, ce qui a entraîné des recettes de livraison d'un peu plus de 5,5 milliards de dollars.
  7. Les établissements du segment des messageries ont acheminé 89 % du nombre total des articles tout en ayant réalisé 90 % des recettes de livraison. Par ailleurs, elles assuraient presque exclusivement les services de livraison du lendemain ou de nuit avec 97 % des recettes totales et ceux de deux jours ou plus et les autres services avec 98 % des recettes totales.
  8. Les établissements du segment des services locaux de livraison ont acheminé 11 % du total des articles et réalisé 10 % des recettes de livraison de l'industrie. Ils se spécialisaient principalement dans les services de livraison le jour même, accaparant la presque totalité des recettes tirées de ce type de service (96 %).
  9. L'Ontario est demeurée la région dominante de l'industrie en ce qui a trait aux recettes de livraison selon le lieu de collecte des expéditions, ayant enregistré près de la moitié des recettes au pays (47 %).
  10. Les livraisons à destination du Canada ont représenté 80 % des recettes de livraisons totales, alors que celles à destination des États-Unis 16 % et celles à destination des autres pays 4 % de ce même total.
  11. Les établissements appartenant à des entreprises de grande et de moyenne taille employaient environ 50 600 salariés et comptaient près de 15 200 opérateurs indépendants. De même, ils utilisaient plus de 27 800 véhicules et diverses pièces d'équipement.

Au sujet de cette publication

Le présent bulletin présente de l'information au sujet de l'industrie des messageries et des services locaux de livraison. Il porte sur les résultats de l'enquête annuelle de 2005 (données provisoires). On y retrouve un profil de l'industrie ainsi que des tableaux de données d'exploitations commentées par de brèves analyses. De même, il présente les tableaux des données révisées de l'année de référence 2004. Enfin, la publication se conclut par l'énoncé de qualité de l'enquête, une description de la méthodologie de l'enquête et de la qualité des données. On y retrouve notamment un volet traitant des changements et des révisions.

Notes aux utilisateurs

1- Les données portant sur les caractéristiques publiées dans le présent bulletin (nombre de colis, origine et destination, équipement et emploi) portent uniquement sur les établissements appartenant aux entreprises ayant généré un revenu annuel relié à leur activité de messageries et de services locaux de livraison de 1 million de dollars ou plus. De façon plus spécifique, cette définition est applicable aux tableaux 4 à 6 et 10 à 12.

2- Débutant avec l'année de référence 2004r, deux nouveautés notables ont été apportées : des données sur l'emploi ont été ajoutées (tableaux 6 et 12) de même que le nombre d'établissements dans la population pour les tableaux portant sur les caractéristiques (tableaux 4 à 6 et 10 à 12).