Environmental Thematic Maps and Graphics
Complementary approaches to reporting Canada’s greenhouse gas emissions

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Release date: July 15, 2020

Two Sets of United Nations (UN) Guidelines

A Greenhouse Gas (GHG) account is compiled by Statistics Canada in accordance with the United Nations System of Environmental-Economic Accounting (SEEA) guidelines. This framework explicitly aligns environmental data with current economic activity.

The National GHG Inventory provides Canada’s offi­cial GHG emissions and is prepared by Environment and Climate Change Canada in accordance with the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) reporting guidelines. These estimates focus on emissions occurring over Canadian territory.

Two Different Frameworks

GHG accounting concepts are aligned with those of the UN System of National Accounts which allows environmental information to be integrated with economic information.

Direct GHG emissions are published following the industry classification used by Statistics Canada’s economy-wide Supply-Use Tables. Includes estimates for 110 different industries plus two household categories.

The National GHG Inventory is the official report for GHG emissions in Canada - used to track Canada's progress toward meeting international agreements to reduce GHG emissions. Emissions and removals grouped into:

5 internationally-agreed activity sectors:

  • Energy (stationary combustion, transport, fugitive sources)
  • Industrial Processes and Product Use
  • Agriculture
  • Land Use, Land-use Change and Forestry
  • Waste

6 Canada-specific economic sectors:

  • Oil and Gas
  • Transportation
  • Electricity
  • Heavy Industry
  • Buildings
  • Agriculture, Waste and Other

Venn Diagram

Description for Figure

This figure is an overlapping two-circle Venn diagram that compares and contrasts Statistics Canada's greenhouse gas account, which is related to current economic activity to the national greenhouse gas inventory, which is related to net greenhouse gas emissions in Canada.

The left circle (exclusive to the greenhouse gas account, except for the overlapping portion) shows emissions from biomass with the examples wood, spent pulping liquor, ethanol and biodiesel given, and prescribed burns. The greenhouse gas account doesn't account for the re-absorption of these emissions later. Also in the left circle are aviation fuel emissions abroad by domestic airlines.

The right circle (exclusive to the national greenhouse gas inventory, except for the overlapping portion) shows emissions from other gases commonly used in refrigerants and electronic manufacturing. Data for these gases is currently insufficient to include in the greenhouse gas account. Also in the right circle are aviation fuel emissions in Canada by foreign airlines. Finally in the right circle are emissions from solid waste. These are not included in the greenhouse gas account since these emissions are not a result of current economic production.

In the overlapping portion of the Venn diagram (included in both the greenhouse gas account and the national greenhouse gas inventory) are emissions of carbon dioxide from non-biomass sources, plus methane and nitrous oxide. Also, we find aviation fuel emissions in Canada by domestic airlines.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Cartes thématiques et graphiques liés à l'environnement
Approches complémentaires au rapport des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du Canada

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 15 juillet 2020

Deux différents ensembles de lignes directrices des Nations Unies (ONU)

Un compte de gaz à effet de serre (GES) est compilé par Statistique Canada selon les lignes directrices du système de comptabilité économique et environnementale (SCEE) des Nations Unies. Ce cadre aligne explicitement les données environnementales à l’activité économique courante.

L’inventaire national de GES fournit les émissions de GES offi­cielles du Canada et est préparé par Environnement et Changement Climatique Canada selon les lignes directrices de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC). Ces estimations se concentrent sur les émissions qui ont lieu sur le territoire canadien.

Deux cadres différents

Les concepts de comptabilité de GES s’alignent avec ceux du Système de comptabilité nationale de l’ONU ce qui permet d’intégrer l’information environnementale avec l’information économique.

Les émissions de GES directes sont publiées selon la classification industrielle utilisée dans les tableaux des ressources et des emplois pour l’ensemble de l’économie de Statistique Canada. Inclut des estimations pour 110 industries en plus de deux catégories pour les ménages.

L’inventaire national de GES est le rapport o­fficiel pour les émissions de GES au Canada – utilisé pour mesurer le progrès du Canada par rapport aux traités internationaux pour la réduction des émissions de GES. Les émissions et les absorptions sont regroupées par:

5 secteurs d’activités convenus à l’échelle internationale :

  • Énergie (combustion stationnaire, transport, sources fugitives)
  • Procédés industriels et utilisation des produits
  • Agriculture
  • Affectation des terres, changement d’affectation des terres et foresterie
  • Déchets

6 secteurs économiques spécifi­ques au Canada :

  • Pétrole et gaz
  • Transport
  • Électricité
  • Industrie lourde
  • Bâtiments
  • Agriculture, déchets et autres

Diagramme Venn

Description du figure

Ce graphique est un diagramme de Venn à deux cercles se chevauchant qui compare et contraste le compte de gaz à effet de serre de Statistique Canada, lui-même relié à l'activité économique courante, par rapport à l'inventaire national de gaz à effet de serre, qui lui est relié aux émissions nettes de gaz à effet de serre au Canada.

Le cercle gauche (exclusif au compte de gaz à effet de serre, à part la portion se chevauchant) montre les émissions de biomasse avec les exemples bois, liqueur résiduaire, éthanol, biodiésel ainsi que le brûlage dirigé. Le compte de gaz à effet de serre ne prend pas en considération la réabsorption des émissions dans le futur. Également dans le cercle gauche se trouvent les émissions issues des carburants d'aviation à l'étranger par les compagnies aériennes domestiques.

Le cercle droit (exclusif à l'inventaire national de gaz à effet de serre, à part la portion se chevauchant) montre les émissions d'autres gaz communément utilisés comme réfrigérants ou pour la production d'appareils électroniques. Les données pour ces gaz sont présentement insuffisantes pour inclusion dans le compte de gaz à effet de serre. Également dans le cercle droit sont les émissions issues des carburants d'aviation par les compagnies aériennes étrangères au Canada. Finalement, le cercle droit montre les émissions provenant des déchets solides. Celles-ci ne sont pas incluses dans le compte de gaz à effet de serre puisque ces émissions ne sont pas le résultat de la production économique courante.

La portion se chevauchant dans le diagramme de Venn (inclus dans le compte de gaz à effet de serre et dans l'inventaire national de gaz à effet de serre) montre les émissions provenant du dioxyde de carbone de sources non issues de la biomasse, en plus du méthane et de l'oxyde nitreux. On y trouve également les émissions issues des carburants d'aviation au Canada par les compagnies aériennes domestiques.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: