Environment Fact Sheets
Trends in capital expenditures on environmental protection in Canadian industries

Release date: April 13, 2018

Skip to text

Text begins

To comply with various environmental rulesNote 1,Canadian businesses invest in processes and technologies that eliminate or reduce pollution before it is created (pollution prevention), or before it is released into the environment (pollution abatement and control, including waste management and sewerage). Between 1996 and 2000, Canadian industries spent as much on pollution prevention as they did on pollution abatement and control (Chart 1). However, following the revision of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) in 1999, the adoption of new regulations and legislation resulted in additional investments. Between 2000 and 2006, industry invested primarily in pollution prevention, reaching the highest point in 2006. Since 2008, however, investment in pollution abatement and control has been higher and continued its upward trend through to 2014, meaning that industries were spending more to clean up pollution after it was created (end-of-pipe processes) than to prevent it from being created in the first place.

Chart 1

Data table for Chart 1
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Pollution prevention and Pollution abatement and control, calculated using millions of current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year Pollution prevention Pollution abatement and control
millions of current dollars
1996 681.8 821.4
1997 716.0 690.3
1998 648.7 684.6
2000 943.7 881.4
2002 1427.2 907.7
2004 1507.9 710.0
2006 1566.9 1440.1
2008 964.7 2036.6
2010 1070.9 2249.2
2012 1031.4 2947.5
2014 852.8 3941.4

The various industries surveyed do not all spend at the same rate and do not all use the same techniques. The amount spent and techniques used depend on current and anticipated regulations and on economic growth in the industry, among other factors. The following sections describe the trends in environmental protection expenditures by the three industries with some of the highest environmental protection spending in Canada: oil and gas extraction; petroleum and coal product manufacturing; and electric power generation, transmission and distribution.

Oil and gas extraction industry

Between 1996 and 2004, the oil and gas extraction industry invested in both pollution prevention and pollution abatement and control at similar levels (Chart 2). However, in 2006, the industry began investing more heavily in pollution abatement and control, increasing to a high of nearly $3 billion in 2014. Factors that might have encouraged the industry to invest in pollution abatement and control include the implementation of a number of regulations and incentive programs to reduce greenhouse gases (GHGs) or prohibit certain toxic substances; several voluntary environmental agreements and pollution prevention plans; and, in some provinces, either planned or actual carbon pricing. Another factor that cannot be overlooked is the industry’s growth. Investments in environmental protection grew as the industry’s overall revenues and expenditures increased as well.

Chart 2

Data table for Chart 2
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Pollution prevention and Pollution abatement and control, calculated using millions of current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year Pollution prevention Pollution abatement and control
millions of current dollars
1996 18.5 158.4
1997 40.7 59.2
1998 46.5 55.5
2000 114.8 244.8
2002 243.7 85.9
2004 207.3 65.5
2006 377.1 696.4
2008 118.1 960.8
2010 239.5 1,330.2
2012 437.3 1,418.6
2014 325.1 2,880.6

Petroleum and coal product manufacturing industry

Investments by the petroleum and coal product manufacturing industry in environmental protection were primarily between 2000 and 2008. At that time, the industry invested heavily in pollution prevention, peaking at just under $800 million in 2004 (Chart 3). There was also a slight increase in expenditures on pollution abatement and control between 2000 and 2002. This corresponds to Environment Canada implementing the Sulphur in Gasoline Regulations in 1999, which primarily affected refineries. The increase in environmental protection expenditures coincides with the two stages of the regulations’ implementation (2002 and 2005).

Chart 3

Data table for Chart 3
Data table for Chart 3
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 3. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Pollution prevention and Pollution abatement and control, calculated using millions of current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year Pollution prevention Pollution abatement and control
millions of current dollars
1996 44.4 42.1
1997 63.2 38.7
1998 48.6 82.2
2000 90.3 119.1
2002 499.9 226.7
2004 779.5 93.1
2006 533.1 56.1
2008 42.5 137.1
2010 151.1 X
2012 40.2 X
2014 65.1 X

Electric power generation, transmission and distribution industry

The electric power generation, transmission and distribution industry invested as much in pollution prevention as it did in pollution abatement and control between 1996 and 2008 (Chart 4). The peaks in 2002 and 2008 show that both types of methods were used. This could reflect the various means of generating electric power in Canada. Several regulations and agreements were developed over the years following the Canadian Environmental Protection Act. For example, several Canada-wide environmental standards were adopted regarding particulate matter and ozone (2000) as well as mercury (2005). The provinces may also have played a role in the type of environmental protection methods used by the industry through the adoption of certain policies, regulations and legislation, such as the elimination of the use of coal in electric power generation in Ontario between 2001 and 2014.

Chart 4

Data table for Chart 4
Data table for Chart 4
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 4. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Pollution prevention and Pollution abatement and control, calculated using millions of current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year Pollution prevention Pollution abatement and control
millions of current dollars
1996 7.9 37.0
1997 9.8 57.4
1998 21.0 56.5
2000 78.1 56.0
2002 228.2 218.3
2004 71.8 80.1
2006 111.6 95.5
2008 281.9 207.2
2010 50.2 215.9
2012 102.0 X
2014 80.6 X

About the Survey of Environmental Protection Expenditures

This release presents data from the Survey of Environmental Protection Expenditures from 1996 to 2014. The survey has been biennial since 1998 and was redesigned in 2006. It is now conducted with just over 3,500 establishments in selected primary industries and in the manufacturing sector. This survey produces estimates of the capital and operating expenditures of Canadian businesses to protect the environment. Measures of industrial spending on environmental protection are restricted to spending to comply with current or anticipated regulations, conventions or voluntary agreements.

Definitions

Environmental protection expenditures: Environmental protection expenditures are defined as all operating expenses and capital and repair expenditures incurred to anticipate or comply with Canadian or international environmental regulations, conventions, or voluntary agreements.

Environmental regulations: Environmental regulations refer to any Canadian federal, provincial or municipal law or international legislation intended to protect or to restore the environment in Canada.

Capital expenditures: Include all relevant capitalized expenditures for machinery and equipment and their installation and repair, as well as for the construction of non-residential facilities (contractors or own employees).

Operating expenses: Include all expenses related to environmental protection incurred for labour, materials and supplies, maintenance and repairs, and purchased services (including fuel and electricity expenses for machinery and equipment whose sole purpose is to protect the environment). Exclude depreciation on machinery and equipment.

Waste management and sewerage services: Waste is material that is unwanted by its producer. The unwanted materials may be by-products of a production process, such as fly ash from a furnace. Alternatively, they might be products, the inherent value of which has been consumed from the perspective of the current holder—for example, a newspaper that has been read, a package that has been opened and emptied of its contents, or an apple eaten to the core are all similar insofar as they have lost their original inherent value from the consumer’s perspective.

Pollution abatement and control (end-of-pipe processes): Pollution abatement and control (end-of-pipe processes) can be described as equipment and processes that treat pollution and waste after they have been created. Examples of these types of equipment or processes include scrubbers at the end of emission stacks, biological and chemical systems for treating water (such as a water treatment plant), filtration systems, cyclones or other barrier systems.

Pollution prevention: Pollution prevention involves the use of technologies, equipment or processes that reduce or eliminate pollution and/or waste at the source—rather than at the end-of-pipe or stack—before the pollution or waste is created. Examples include implementing more efficient processes that consume less energy or inputs, restructuring or redesigning the production process to reduce pollution or emissions, or reusing, recirculating or recycling materials on site (does not include materials sent off-site for recycling).

Date modified:

Feuillets d'information de l'environnement
Tendances des dépenses en immobilisation dans la protection de l’environnement dans les industries canadiennes

Date de diffusion : le 13 avril 2018

Passer au texte

Text begins

Afin de se conformer aux différentes règles environnementalesNote 1, les entreprises canadiennes investissent dans des processus et technologies qui permettent d’éliminer ou de réduire la pollution avant qu’elle ne soit créée (prévention de la pollution), ou avant qu’elle ne soit relâchée dans l’environnement (lutte contre la pollution, incluant les services de gestion des déchets et les services d’égout). Entre 1996 et 2000, les industries canadiennes ont dépensé autant dans la prévention que dans la lutte contre la pollution (Graphique 1). Toutefois, après la révision de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (LCPE) en 1999, l’adoption de nouveaux règlements et lois a entrainé des investissements supplémentaires. Dans les faits, entre 2000 et 2006, les industries ont investi principalement dans la prévention de la pollution, le maximum ayant été atteint en 2006. Depuis 2008, cependant, l’investissement dans la lutte contre la pollution a été plus élevé et n'a cessé d'augmenter jusqu'en 2014, ce qui signifie que les industries dépensent plus pour nettoyer la pollution une fois qu’elle est créée (processus en bout de chaîne) plutôt que de prévenir sa création à la base.

Chart 1

Tableau de données du graphique 1
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Prévention de la pollution et Lutte contre la pollution, calculées selon millions de dollars courant unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Prévention de la pollution Lutte contre la pollution
millions de dollars courant
1996 681,8 821,4
1997 716,0 690,3
1998 648,7 684,6
2000 943,7 881,4
2002 1 427,2 907,7
2004 1 507,9 710,0
2006 1 566,9 1 440,1
2008 964,7 2 036,6
2010 1 070,9 2 249,2
2012 1 031,4 2 947,5
2014 852,8 3 941,4

Les différents types d’industries faisant partie de l’enquête ne dépensent pas tous au même rythme et n’utilisent pas tous les mêmes techniques. Les montants dépensés et les techniques utilisées dépendent entre autres de la règlementation mise en vigueur et anticipée et de la croissance économique de l’industrie. Les prochaines sections décrivent les dépenses en protection de l’environnement de trois industries canadiennes ayant des dépenses en protection de l’environnement parmi les plus élevées : l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz, la fabrication de produits du pétrole et du charbon et la production, le transport et la distribution d’électricité.

L’industrie de l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz

Entre 1996 et 2004, l’industrie de l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz a investi dans la prévention de la pollution et dans la lutte contre la pollution à des niveaux semblables (Graphique 2). Par contre, à partir de 2006, l’industrie a commencé à investir plus particulièrement dans la lutte contre la pollution, atteignant un sommet à près de 3 milliards de dollars en 2014. Parmi les facteurs qui ont pu influencer l’investissement dans la lutte contre la pollution, on compte : plusieurs règlementations ainsi que des programmes incitatifs qui ont été mis en place pour diminuer les gaz à effet de serres (GES) ou interdire certaines substances toxiques ; plusieurs accords volontaires en matière d’environnement et plans de prévention de la pollution qui ont été mis en œuvre ; et, dans certaines provinces, l’implantation ou la planification de la tarification sur le carbone. Un autre élément à ne pas négliger est la croissance de l’industrie. Les investissements dans la protection de l’environnement ont augmenté comme l’ont fait les revenues et les dépenses globaux de l’industrie.

Graphique 2

Tableau de données du graphique 2
Tableau de données du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 2. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Prévention de la pollution et Lutte contre la pollution, calculées selon millions de dollars courant unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Prévention de la pollution Lutte contre la pollution
millions de dollars courant
1996 18,5 158,4
1997 40,7 59,2
1998 46,5 55,5
2000 114,8 244,8
2002 243,7 85,9
2004 207,3 65,5
2006 377,1 696,4
2008 118,1 960,8
2010 239,5 1 330,2
2012 437,3 1 418,6
2014 325,1 2 880,6

L’industrie de la fabrication de produits du pétrole et du charbon

Les investissements dans la protection de l’environnement pour l’industrie de fabrication de produits du pétrole et du charbon ont essentiellement été faits entre 2000 et 2008. En effet, l’industrie a fortement investit dans la prévention de la pollution à ce moment, avec un sommet juste au-dessous de 800 millions de dollars en 2004 (Graphique 3). Il y a aussi une légère augmentation des dépenses dans la lutte contre la pollution entre 2000 et 2002. Ceci correspond au moment où le règlement sur le soufre dans l’essence a été mis en place par Environnement Canada en 1999, affectant principalement les raffineries ; l’augmentation des dépenses dans la protection de l’environnement coïncide aux deux phases d’implantation de la règlementation (2002 et 2005).

Graphique 3

Tableau de données du graphique 3
Tableau de données du graphique 3
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 3. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Prévention de la pollution et Lutte contre la pollution, calculées selon millions de dollars courant unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Prévention de la pollution Lutte contre la pollution
millions de dollars courant
1996 44,4 42,1
1997 63,2 38,7
1998 48,6 82,2
2000 90,3 119,1
2002 499,9 226,7
2004 779,5 93,1
2006 533,1 56,1
2008 42,5 137,1
2010 151,1 X
2012 40,2 X
2014 65,1 X

L’industrie de la production, du transport et de la distribution d’électricité

L’industrie de la production, du transport et de la distribution d’électricité a investi autant en prévention qu’en lutte contre la pollution entre 1996 et 2008 (Graphique 4). Les sommets de 2002 et de 2008 montrent que les deux types de méthodes ont été utilisés. Ceci pourrait être relié à la diversité des façons de produire l’électricité au pays. Plusieurs règlements et ententes ont été développés durant les années suivant la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement. À titre d’exemple, il y a eu l’adoption de plusieurs standards environnementaux pancanadiens relatifs aux particules fines et à l’ozone (2000) ainsi qu’au mercure (2005). Les provinces peuvent aussi avoir joué un rôle dans le type de méthodes de protection de l’environnement utilisées par les industries en adoptant certaines politiques, règlements et lois telles l’élimination complète de l’utilisation du charbon dans la production de l’électricité en Ontario entre 2001 et 2014.

Graphique 4

Tableau de données du graphique 4
Tableau de données du graphique 4
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 4. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Prévention de la pollution et Lutte contre la pollution, calculées selon millions de dollars courant unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Prévention de la pollution Lutte contre la pollution
millions de dollars courant
1996 7,9 37,0
1997 9,8 57,4
1998 21,0 56,5
2000 78,1 56,0
2002 228,2 218,3
2004 71,8 80,1
2006 111,6 95,5
2008 281,9 207,2
2010 50,2 215,9
2012 102,0 X
2014 80,6 X

À propos de l’Enquête sur les dépenses de protection de l’environnement

Le présent communiqué contient des données provenant de l’Enquête sur les dépenses de protection de l’environnement de 1996 à 2014. L’enquête est biennale depuis 1998 et a subit un remaniement en 2006. Elle est maintenant menée auprès d’un peu plus de 3 500 établissements de certaines industries primaires et du secteur de la fabrication. Cette enquête vise notamment à diffuser des estimations des dépenses en immobilisations et des dépenses d’exploitation des entreprises canadiennes au chapitre de la protection de l’environnement. Les mesures des dépenses de protection de l’environnement ne concernent que les dépenses effectuées dans le but d’assurer la conformité à la réglementation, aux conventions ou aux accords volontaires en vigueur ou à venir.

Définitions

Dépenses de protection de l’environnement : Les dépenses de protection de l’environnement sont définies comme étant toutes les dépenses d’exploitation, les dépenses en immobilisations et les dépenses de réparation effectuées afin d’anticiper ou de se conformer à une réglementation, une convention ou un accord volontaire de nature environnementale, canadiens ou internationaux.

Réglementation environnementale : La réglementation environnementale réfère à toute législation canadienne fédérale, provinciale, municipale ou à une législation internationale qui a pour but de protéger ou de restaurer l’environnement au Canada.

Dépenses en immobilisations : Inclut toutes les dépenses pertinentes capitalisées engagées pour l’acquisition, l’installation et la réparation de machines et de matériel ainsi que pour la construction d’installations non résidentielles, qu’elles soient effectuées par des entrepreneurs ou par des employés de l’établissement.

Dépenses d’exploitation : Inclut toutes les dépenses liées à la protection de l’environnement engagées au chapitre de la main-d’œuvre, des matériaux et des fournitures, de l’entretien et des réparations ainsi que des services acquis (inclut les dépenses en combustible et en électricité pour les machines et le matériel dont l’unique but est la protection de l’environnement). Exclut la dépréciation des machines et du matériel.

Services de gestion des déchets et services d’égout : Les déchets désignent les matières dont le producteur veut se débarrasser. Les matières indésirables peuvent être des sous-produits d’un procédé de production, par exemple, les cendres légères provenant d’une chambre de combustion. Il peut aussi s’agir d’un produit qui n’a plus de valeur aux yeux de son propriétaire, par exemple, un journal qui a été lu, un colis qui a été ouvert et vidé de son contenu ou une pomme qui a été mangée jusqu’au cœur; tous ces objets sont semblables dans la mesure où ils ont perdu leur valeur inhérente originale du point de vue des consommateurs.

Lutte contre la pollution (procédés en bout de chaîne) : Les procédés de lutte contre la pollution (procédés en bout de chaîne) se présentent sous la forme de matériel et de procédés qui traitent la pollution et les déchets après leur production. À titre d’exemple, mentionnons les épurateurs installés sur les cheminées qui rejettent des polluants dans l’atmosphère, les systèmes biologiques et chimiques de traitement de l’eau (comme une station de traitement de l’eau), les systèmes de filtration, les cyclones et autres dispositifs antipollution.

Prévention de la pollution : La prévention de la pollution est l’utilisation de technologies, de matériel ou de procédés qui réduisent ou éliminent la pollution et les déchets à la source — plutôt qu’en bout de chaîne ou de cheminée — avant que la pollution ou les déchets ne soient produits. On pense notamment à l’installation de processus plus efficaces consommant moins d’énergie ou moins d’intrants, à la restructuration ou à la reformulation de processus de production pour réduire la pollution ou les émissions, à la réutilisation, à la recirculation ou au recyclage des matériaux sur le site (n’inclut pas le recyclage de matériaux hors site).

Date de modification :