Lesson #1 What is an ecosystem?

Overview

This PowerPoint lesson describes use of the nine slides in Set #1 and related learning activities to explore the attributes of ecosystems. Using a series of images, learners recognize three key ecosystem attributes. They use these traits to determine whether or not an area portrayed in an image could represent an ecosystem. Learners discover the differences between ecosystems and habitats. Finally, learners examine a provocative image to determine whether it is an ecosystem or habitat.

Audience

  • junior high school
  • senior high school
  • introductory post-secondary

Learning outcomes

  • understand the attributes of ecosystems
  • understand the importance of studying ecosystems

Curriculum links

  • grades 7 to 12 geography (ecosystems, geographic change), social studies (economics), biology (ecosystems and change), science, economics (accounting, valuation methods)
  • post-secondary geography (ecosystems), environmental science (ecosystem accounting, ecosystem change)

Learning materials

Instructions

Think about the task

Display or project Slide 1 or provide a provocative image to prompt learner reflection on the question “Is this an ecosystem?”

Guide learners in a discussion of what an ecosystem might be and why it might be important to understand and study ecosystems.

Explore the attributes

Organize learners into small groups and provide each group with a copy of Activity sheet #1: Explore the attributes. Display or project Slide 2 and inform learners that it is an image of an ecosystem. Inform learners that their challenge is to identify the attributes that make it an ecosystem.

Remind learners of strategies for making thoughtful observations and encourage learners to record what they observe in the image. Guide learners in using these observations to infer possible attributes of ecosystems.

Invite learners to discuss possibilities with their partner(s) and then share ideas with the class. Record or project learners’ suggestions for the attributes.

Identify the attributes

Provide each learner with a copy of Activity sheet #2: What is an ecosystem? Inform learners that they will be identifying specific attributes of ecosystems.

Display or project Slide 3 and inform learners that one of the attributes of an ecosystem is that it is a community of living species.

It may be helpful to distinguish between ecological and biological. Remind learners that biological refers to specific organisms and how they function, while ecological refers to the interactions and interrelationships of organisms and their environments.

Guide learners in making observations about each image, then ask learners to select the image that best reflects the attribute. Prompt learners to note their decision on Activity sheet #2: What is an ecosystem? Repeat with the additional attributes of an ecosystem (Slides 4 and 5). Inform learners that some aspects of the attribute may not be immediately apparent in the image. For example, communities of living species include plants, animals and microorganisms. Physical environments include many different abiotic components including air, water, soils, minerals, etc.

Review learner decisions for each image, drawing attention to aspects of the images that clarify each attribute.

After identifying each attribute, guide learners in considering other examples of the attribute. Encourage students to consider different types of ecosystems (e.g., forest, cropland, wetland) and determine what examples of each of the attributes might be found in each. Learners may record additional examples on Activity sheet #2: What is an ecosystem?

Apply the attributes

Display or project Slide 6 and inform learners that their next task is to consider all of the attributes to determine if an area is an ecosystem.

Guide learners in making observations and identifying the appropriate attributes. Learners may use Activity sheet #3: Is this an ecosystem? to guide and record their decisions.

Explore the differences

Display or project Slide 7. Encourage learners to identify what they observe in each of the images. Prompt learners to identify which of the attributes of an ecosystem is present or absent in each of the images. Learners may use Activity sheet #3: Is this an ecosystem? to guide and record their decisions.

Ask learners to identify which characteristics distinguish ecosystems from habitat. Prompt learners to share ideas on the most significant differences between an ecosystem and a habitat. Encourage learners to record their ideas. Invite learners to discuss possibilities with a partner and then share ideas with the class.

Inform learners that ecosystems include all the interactions between all the living species and the non-living and environmental factors, while a habitat is an area occupied by a certain species.

Re-examine the image

Display or project the provocative image that was used to introduce the activity (Slide 8). Ask learners to reflect on their initial thoughts: given what they now know about the attributes of ecosystems, is this an ecosystem?

Encourage learners to carefully observe the image and to decide if this is an ecosystem, keeping in mind each of the three attributes. Learners may use Activity sheet #3: Is this an Ecosystem? to guide and record their decisions. Invite learners to share their ideas with the class.

Conclude by posing the question: “Why might it be important to understand and study ecosystems?”

Activity sheet #1

Activity sheet #1: Explore the attributes

Description for activity sheet #1 (DOC)

Activity sheet #2

Activity sheet #2: What is an ecosystem?

Description for activity sheet #2 (DOC)

Activity sheet #3

Activity sheet #3: Is this an ecosystem?

Description for activity sheet #3 (DOC)

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Leçon no 1 Qu’est‑ce qu’un écosystème?

Aperçu

Cette leçon PowerPoint décrit comment utiliser les neuf diapositives de l’ensemble no 1 ainsi que les activités d’apprentissage connexes visant l’exploration des caractéristiques des écosystèmes. À l’aide d’une série d’images, les apprenants doivent reconnaître trois caractéristiques clés des écosystèmes. Ils utilisent ces caractéristiques pour déterminer si la zone illustrée dans une image peut représenter un écosystème. Les apprenants découvrent les différences entre les écosystèmes et les habitats. Enfin, ils examinent une image provocante pour déterminer s’il s’agit d’un écosystème ou d’un habitat.

Public cible

  • élèves de premier cycle du secondaire
  • élèves de deuxième cycle du secondaire
  • élèves des cours d’introduction postsecondaires

Résultats d’apprentissage

  • comprendre les caractéristiques des écosystèmes
  • comprendre l’importance d’étudier les écosystèmes

Programme éducatif

  • géographie (écosystèmes, changements géographiques), études sociales (économie), biologie (écosystèmes et changement), sciences, économie (comptabilité, méthodes d’évaluation) de la 7e à la 12e année
  • géographie (écosystèmes), science de l’environnement (comptabilité des écosystèmes, évolution des écosystèmes) postsecondaires

Matériel d’apprentissage

Directives

Penser à la tâche

Affichez ou projetez la diapositive 1 ou fournissez une image provocante pour alimenter la réflexion des apprenants sur la question « s’agit‑il d’un écosystème? ».

Orientez la discussion des apprenants sur ce qui caractérise un écosystème et pourquoi il pourrait être important de comprendre et d’étudier les écosystèmes.

Explorer les caractéristiques

Répartissez les apprenants en petits groupes et remettez à chaque groupe un exemplaire de la feuille d’activités no 1 : Explorer les caractéristiques. Affichez ou projetez la diapositive 2 et informez les apprenants que l’image représente un écosystème. Dites aux apprenants que leur défi consiste à déterminer les caractéristiques d’un écosystème.

Rappelez aux apprenants les stratégies pour effectuer des observations judicieuses et incitez-les à consigner ce qu’ils voient dans l’image. Aidez les apprenants à utiliser ces observations pour déterminer les caractéristiques possibles des écosystèmes.

Invitez les apprenants à discuter des possibilités en équipes, puis à faire part de leurs idées à la classe. Consignez ou projetez les caractéristiques suggérées par les apprenants.

Nommer les caractéristiques

Remettez à chaque apprenant un exemplaire de la feuille d’activités no 2 : Qu’est‑ce qu’un écosystème? Informez les apprenants qu’ils devront déterminer les caractéristiques particulières des écosystèmes.

Affichez ou projetez la diapositive 3 et dites aux apprenants que l’une des caractéristiques d’un écosystème est qu’il s’agit d’une collectivité d’espèces vivantes.

Il pourrait être utile de faire la distinction entre écologique et biologique. Rappelez aux apprenants que biologique fait référence à des organismes particuliers et à leur fonctionnement, tandis qu’écologique se rapporte aux interactions et aux interdépendances entre les organismes et leur environnement.

Demandez aux apprenants de formuler des observations pour chaque image, puis de sélectionner l’image qui illustre le mieux la caractéristique. Invitez-les à noter leur décision sur la feuille d’activités no 2 : Qu’est‑ce qu’un écosystème? Reprenez l’exercice avec les autres caractéristiques d’un écosystème (diapositives 4 et 5). Informez les apprenants que certains aspects de la caractéristique pourraient ne pas être immédiatement apparents sur l’image. Par exemple, une collectivité d’espèces vivantes comprend des plantes, des animaux et des micro-organismes. Un environnement physique comprend de nombreuses composantes abiotiques distinctes telles que l’air, l’eau, le sol, les minéraux, etc.

Passez en revue les décisions des apprenants pour chaque image en soulignant les aspects de l’image qui correspondent à chaque caractéristique.

Une fois qu’ils auront déterminé chaque caractéristique, invitez les apprenants à réfléchir à d’autres exemples de la caractéristique. Incitez les élèves à examiner différents types d’écosystèmes (p. ex., forêt, terre en culture, milieu humide) et à trouver des exemples des caractéristiques dans chacun. Les apprenants peuvent consigner des exemples supplémentaires sur la feuille d’activités no 2 : Qu’est‑ce qu’un écosystème?

Appliquer les caractéristiques

Affichez ou projetez la diapositive 6 et informez les apprenants que leur prochaine tâche consiste à tenir compte de toutes les caractéristiques pour déterminer si une zone est un écosystème.

Aidez les apprenants à formuler des observations et à déterminer les caractéristiques appropriées. Pour orienter et consigner leurs décisions, les apprenants peuvent utiliser la feuille d’activités no 3 : S’agit‑il d’un écosystème?

Explorer les différences

Affichez ou projetez la diapositive 7. Incitez les apprenants à relever ce qu’ils observent sur chacune des images. Invitez-les à déterminer quelles caractéristiques d’un écosystème sont présentes ou absentes dans chacune des images. Pour orienter et consigner leurs décisions, les apprenants peuvent utiliser la feuille d’activités no 3 : S’agit‑il d’un écosystème?

Demandez aux apprenants de trouver les caractéristiques qui distinguent un écosystème d’un habitat. Invitez-les à partager leurs idées sur les principales différences entre un écosystème et un habitat. Incitez les apprenants à consigner leurs idées. Invitez-les à discuter des possibilités avec un partenaire, puis à faire part de leurs idées à la classe.

Informez les apprenants que les écosystèmes comprennent toutes les interactions entre toutes les espèces vivantes, les éléments non vivants et les facteurs environnementaux, tandis qu’un habitat est une zone occupée par certaines espèces.

Examiner de nouveau l’image

Affichez ou projetez l’image provocante utilisée pour introduire l’activité (diapositive 8). Demandez aux apprenants de se pencher sur leurs réflexions initiales : compte tenu de ce qu’ils connaissent maintenant des caractéristiques des écosystèmes, s’agit‑il d’un écosystème?

Incitez les apprenants à observer attentivement l’image et à décider s’il s’agit d’un écosystème en gardant à l’esprit chacune des trois caractéristiques. Pour orienter et consigner leurs décisions, les apprenants peuvent utiliser la feuille d’activités no 3 : S’agit‑il d’un écosystème? Invitez les apprenants à faire part de leurs idées à la classe.

Concluez en posant la question « pourquoi est‑il important de comprendre et d’étudier les écosystèmes? ».

Feuille d’activités no 1

Feuille d’activités no 1 : Explorer les caractéristiques

Description de la feuille d’activités no 1 (DOC)

Feuille d’activités no 2 

Feuille d’activités no 2 : Qu’est  qu’un écosystème?

Description de la feuille d’activités no 2 (DOC)

Feuille d’activités no 3

Feuille d’activités no 3 : S’agit-il d’un écosystème?

Description de la feuille d’activités no 3 (DOC)

Date de modification :