Detailed lesson plan #2 The value of ecosystem goods and services in changing ecosystems

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Overview

This lesson explores ecosystem changes in Canada, the impact of changes on ecosystem goods and services (EGS), and potential strategies for increasing the value of EGS, using the Statistic Canada publication Human Activity and the Environment 2013: Measuring Ecosystem Goods and Services in Canada (MEGS). Learners begin by analyzing an image of an ecosystem, looking for changes and inferring potential impacts on human wellbeing. They then consider data sources on changes in various ecosystems across Canada, in order to consider possible impacts on the value of EGS. They consider various monetary and non-monetary valuation measures that might be used to estimate the impact of changes on EGS. Finally, learners generate sustainable, desirable and feasible strategies to increase the value of EGS provided by an ecosystem, and share these with the rest of the class.

Audience

  • junior high school
  • senior high school
  • introductory post-secondary

Learning outcomes

  • understand ecosystem accounting practices
  • understand how ecosystems across Canada have changed over time
  • explore various ways of estimating the value of EGS
  • learn to think critically about value in relation to EGS

Curriculum links

  • grades 7 to 12 geography (ecosystems, geographic change), social studies (economics), biology (ecosystems and change), science, economics (accounting, valuation methods)
  • post-secondary geography (ecosystems), environmental science (ecosystem accounting, ecosystem change)

Learning materials

Instructions

Session one

To develop learner understanding of ecosystems, EGS and valuation methods, it may be useful to introduce this activity by first using the three PowerPoint Lessons and related learning materials.

Learn about the impact of ecosystem change

Begin by presenting learners with an image of an ecosystem found in the Image Collection. Reminding learners of the attributes of an ecosystem, prompt learners to consider the changes that may have occurred over the past 30 years. Prompt learners by having them reflect on changes such as:

  • changes in the number of people in the area
  • reduction or growth in the numbers of trees
  • reduction or growth in the numbers of farms
  • development of roads, housing, industry or businesses.

Discuss learner responses and record them on a whiteboard or chart paper.

Next, ask learners to consider the question: “Have changes in this ecosystem improved human wellbeing?” Ask learners to determine which ecosystem changes may have improved human wellbeing and which may have caused human wellbeing to deteriorate. Possible responses about changes resulting in improved wellbeing include more trees being planted, more parks, or more businesses providing desired goods and services. Possible responses about changes resulting in decreased wellbeing include more traffic, fewer trees, and fewer natural areas.

Prompt learners to consider why some ecosystem changes might be viewed as both increasing and decreasing wellbeing. Are there examples of where a change in an ecosystem may have led to both an increase and a decrease in human wellbeing? One possible response might be that fewer trees might decrease wellbeing by reducing scenic views and opportunities for recreation, while at the same time leading to economic growth.

This activity may be extended by asking learners to determine whether human wellbeing has improved or declined as a result of changes in a local ecosystem.

Session two

Learn about the changes in ecosystems across Canada

Remind learners that valuing EGS often focuses on the impact of small changes in an ecosystem or its services. Policy-makers can use this to show how specific changes will impact human well-being.

Inform learners that their challenge will be to analyze changes in ecosystems in different areas of the country and determine what impacts these changes may have had on the value of EGS provided by the ecosystem. Provide small groups of learners with copies of Activity sheet #5: Assessing the effects of ecosystem changes. Assign each group one of the following sections from the MEGS publication. Each section describes some population and landscape changes that have occurred in a specific area of the country:

  • pages 27 to 29 and Table 3.3 and 3.4 (Greater Golden Horseshoe)
  • pages 30 to 34 and Appendix C Tables 1, 2 and 3 – Maritime provinces (Sub-drainage area (SDA) codes 01A to 01F)
  • pages 30 to 34 and Appendix C Tables 1, 2 and 3 – St. Lawrence (SDA codes 02A to 02Z)
  • pages 30 to 34 and Appendix C Tables 1, 2 and 3 – Nelson River (SDA codes 05A to 05U)
  • pages 30 to 34 and Appendix C Tables 1, 2 and 3 – Great Slave Lake (SDA codes 07A to 07U)
  • pages 30 to 34 and Appendix C Tables 1, 2 and 3 – Pacific (SDA codes 08A to 08P)

Use the following instructions to guide learners through the first stages of completing the chart:

  1. Record the name or location of the area described in the designated section of the activity sheet.
  2. Review the assigned text and tables to discover what ecosystem changes have occurred in this area. OPTIONAL: Have learners look for online sources of information on ecosystem changes that occurred in their assigned area.
  3. Infer how each change may have increased or decreased the provision of specific EGS. Encourage learners to consider both positive and negative impacts on human wellbeing, even for changes that appear to be negative. For example, if ‘deforestation’ was identified as a change, learners might note that there may be ‘less habitat,’ but also ‘more timber production.’
  4. Identify what monetary and non-monetary measures might be used to quantify the impacts of ecosystem change on the value of the identified EGS. Remind learners that they are to think of how the value of EGS might be measured, not to calculate dollar amounts or actual values. Possible examples include the ‘market prices of timber and wood products,’ or ‘number of species using the area for habitat.’
  5. Considering the impact of the ecosystem change on the provision of the identified EGS, learners should infer whether the change in the ecosystem has likely contributed to a decrease or increase in the overall value of the EGS provided by the ecosystem and provide reasons for this choice.

Invite learners to share the results from their charts, identifying which EGS they considered, how the value of these EGS might be measured, and how this influenced their decision on whether the overall value of EGS provided by the ecosystem increased or decreased. Ask learners to reflect on the valuation techniques: which techniques are more appropriate for assessing the value of the different EGS they identified for their assigned area?

OPTIONAL: Ask learners to rank the ecosystem changes from the most to least influential on the value of EGS provided by the ecosystem. Which change might have led to the most significant increase in the value of EGS? Which change might have led to the most significant decrease in the value of EGS?

Picturing ecosystem change across Canada

To build a national picture of changes to ecosystems and the related impact on the general value of EGS, provide each group of learners with Activity sheet #6: Map of Canada. Instruct learners to locate their assigned area on the map and, reflecting on the decision made about the overall change in value of EGS, mark the area with a green colour for an increase in value of EGS or a red colour for a decrease in value of EGS.

If available, consider projecting a map using a Smartboard or similar device. Invite learners to replicate the colouring from their individual maps on the large map. After all groups have coloured in their ecosystems, consider the resulting large map image. The following questions might be used to guide a discussion about changing ecosystems and the value of EGS and any identifiable trends:

  • What does the resulting colour reveal about the value of EGS in selected areas of the country?
  • Are certain types of ecosystems more sensitive to pressures?
  • Do certain types of ecosystems provide different EGS?

Session three

Setting criteria

Begin by asking learners to identify a proposed change or development in their community that might impact the ecosystem and the value of EGS. This may include proposals to develop flood mitigation strategies, construct a skate park or build a pipeline. Ask learners to suggest criteria that might be used to evaluate the proposed developments. Encourage learners to consider the following criteria:

  • Sustainable: Can this change or proposal continue over time given the resources that it may require?
  • Desirable: Is this change or proposal needed and/or wanted by members of the community or by people knowledgeable in that field?
  • Feasible: Does the change or proposal draw upon existing and usable techniques, technologies and research? Is the idea ‘doable’?

Guide a class discussion using the criteria to assess the suggested proposals and changes. Inform learners that the same criteria could be used to evaluate strategies intended to increase the value of EGS provided by ecosystems across Canada.

Developing recommendations

Provide each learner with a copy of Activity sheet #7: Strategies for increasing the value of ecosystem goods and services. Inform learners that their challenge is to recommend sustainable, desirable and feasible strategies to increase the value of EGS provided by an assigned ecosystem (consider using the areas assigned in Session two). Direct learners to use data regarding ecosystem changes from the MEGS publication or from additional online sources. The following resources include some useful information about ecosystem change in Canada:

Guide learners to reflect on the changes identified in Session 2 and the discussion about which changes are most responsible for decreasing the value of EGS provided by the ecosystem. After learners have identified which changes are most responsible for decreasing the value of EGS, ask them to recommend strategies that could be used to increase the value of EGS. These strategies should be directly related to the changes. Learners should consider possible monetary or non-monetary measures that could be used to assess changes in the value of the EGS.

Once learners have created a number of potential strategies, guide learners in using the criteria of sustainable, desirable and feasible to evaluate the strategies to determine which may be best.

  • Sustainable: Can this strategy continue over time given the resources that it may require?
  • Desirable: Is this strategy needed and/or wanted by members of the community or by people knowledgeable in that field?
  • Feasible: Does the strategy draw upon existing and usable techniques, technologies and research? Is the idea ‘doable’?

To assess learner recommendations, consider using Assessment support #2: Assessing the recommendation.

Presenting recommendations

Based on this activity, learners could develop presentations describing their recommendation for the most sustainable, desirable and feasible strategy to increase the value of EGS of the ecosystem. Encourage learners use the strategies and criteria for selection identified in Activity sheet #7: Strategies for increasing the value of ecosystem goods and services to inform the development of their presentations.

To encourage effective presentations, ask the class to brainstorm the criteria for excellent presentations, such as:

  • well organized and prepared
  • engages the audience (e.g., speaks from an outline instead of reading from notes, speaks in a clear voice)
  • includes helpful examples and supporting resources.

Activity sheet #5

Activity sheet #5: Assessing the effects of ecosystem changes

Description for activity sheet #5 (DOC)

Activity sheet #6

Activity sheet #6: Map of Canada

Description for activity sheet #6 (DOC)

Activity sheet #7

Activity sheet #7: Strategies for increasing the value of ecosystem goods and services

Description for activity sheet #7 (DOC)

Assessment support #2

Assessment support #2: Assessing the recommendation

Description for assessment support #2 (DOC)

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Plan de leçon détaillé no 2 La valeur des biens et services écosystémiques dans des écosystèmes en évolution

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

Cette leçon porte sur les changements dans les écosystèmes au Canada, les répercussions de ces changements sur les biens et services des écosystèmes (BSE) ainsi que les stratégies potentielles pour augmenter la valeur des BSE, et repose sur la publication de Statistique Canada intitulée L’activité humaine et l’environnement, 2013 : Mesure des biens et services écosystémiques au Canada (MBSE). Les apprenants commencent par analyser une image d’un écosystème en relevant les changements et leurs répercussions potentielles sur le bien-être des personnes. Ensuite, ils examinent des sources de données sur les changements dans divers écosystèmes au Canada afin de déterminer les répercussions possibles sur la valeur des BSE. Ils analysent différentes mesures d’évaluation monétaire et non monétaire qui pourraient être utilisées pour estimer les répercussions des changements sur les BSE. Enfin, les apprenants suggèrent des stratégies durables, souhaitables et réalisables pour accroître la valeur des BSE fournis par un écosystème, et font part de ces stratégies au reste de la classe.

Public cible

  • élèves de premier cycle du secondaire
  • élèves de deuxième cycle du secondaire
  • élèves des cours d’introduction postsecondaires

Résultats d’apprentissage

  • comprendre les pratiques de comptabilité des écosystèmes
  • comprendre comment les écosystèmes du Canada ont évolué au fil du temps
  • explorer diverses façons d’estimer la valeur des BSE
  • apprendre à réfléchir de manière critique à la notion de valeur relative aux BSE

Programme éducatif

  • géographie (écosystèmes, changements géographiques), études sociales (économie), biologie (écosystèmes et changement), sciences, économie (comptabilité, méthodes d’évaluation) de la 7e à la 12e année
  • géographie (écosystèmes), science de l’environnement (comptabilité des écosystèmes, évolution des écosystèmes) postsecondaires

Matériel d’apprentissage

Directives

Première séance

Pour approfondir la compréhension qu’ont les apprenants des écosystèmes, des BSE et des méthodes d’évaluation, il pourrait être utile d’introduire cette activité en utilisant d’abord les trois leçons PowerPoint et le matériel d’apprentissage connexe.

Connaître les répercussions des changements dans les écosystèmes

Commencez en présentant aux apprenants une image d’un écosystème tirée de la collection d’images. Rappelez aux apprenants les caractéristiques d’un écosystème et incitez-les à réfléchir aux changements qui ont pu se produire au cours des 30 dernières années. Invitez-les à se pencher sur les changements suivants :

  • modification du nombre de personnes dans la zone
  • réduction ou augmentation du nombre d’arbres
  • réduction ou augmentation du nombre de fermes
  • construction de routes, de maisons, d’industries ou d’entreprises

Discutez des réponses des apprenants et consignez-les sur un tableau blanc ou un tableau-papier.

Ensuite, demandez aux apprenants de réfléchir à la question « les changements dans cet écosystème ont-ils amélioré le bien-être des personnes? ». Demandez aux apprenants de déterminer quels changements dans l’écosystème peuvent améliorer le bien-être des personnes et lesquels peuvent entraîner la détérioration de leur bien-être. Les réponses possibles relatives aux changements entraînant une amélioration du bien-être comprennent le fait de planter des arbres, de créer des parcs ou d’accroître le nombre d’entreprises offrant les biens et services souhaités. Les réponses possibles relatives aux changements entraînant une diminution du bien-être comprennent l’augmentation de la circulation et la réduction du nombre d’arbres et d’espaces naturels.

Invitez les apprenants à réfléchir aux raisons pour lesquelles on peut considérer que certains changements dans les écosystèmes augmentent et réduisent à la fois le bien-être. Existe‑t‑il des exemples d’endroits où un changement dans un écosystème a mené à la fois à une hausse et à une diminution du bien-être des personnes? Une des réponses possibles consiste à affirmer que la coupe des arbres réduit le bien-être en détériorant le paysage et en réduisant les occasions de loisirs, tout en favorisant la croissance économique.

Il est possible d’approfondir cette activité en demandant aux apprenants de déterminer si le bien-être des personnes s’est amélioré ou s’est détérioré en raison des changements survenus dans un écosystème local.

Deuxième séance

Connaître les changements dans les écosystèmes au Canada

Rappelez aux apprenants que l’évaluation des BSE est souvent axée sur les répercussions des petits changements dans un écosystème ou ses services. Les décideurs peuvent utiliser cette information pour démontrer comment des changements particuliers peuvent avoir une incidence sur le bien-être des personnes.

Informez les apprenants que leur défi consiste à analyser les changements dans les écosystèmes de différentes régions du pays et à déterminer quelles répercussions ces changements peuvent avoir sur la valeur des BSE offerts par l’écosystème. Formez de petits groupes et remettez à chacun un exemplaire de la feuille d’activités no 5 : Évaluer les effets des changements dans les écosystèmes. Assignez à chaque groupe une des sections suivantes de la publication MBSE. Chaque section décrit des changements de population et de paysage survenus dans une région particulière du pays :

  • pages 29 à 31 et tableaux 3.3 et 3.4 (Grand Golden Horseshoe)
  • pages 32 à 36 et tableaux 1, 2 et 3 de l’appendice C – provinces maritimes (codes des sous-aires de drainage 01A à 01F)
  • pages 32 à 36 et tableaux 1, 2 et 3 de l’appendice C – Saint-Laurent (codes des sous-aires de drainage 02A à 02Z)
  • pages 32 à 36 et tableaux 1, 2 et 3 de l’appendice C – Fleuve Nelson (codes des sous-aires de drainage 05A à 05U)
  • pages 32 à 36 et tableaux 1, 2 et 3 de l’appendice C – Grand lac des Esclaves (codes des sous-aires de drainage 07A à 07U)
  • pages 32 à 36 et tableaux 1, 2 et 3 de l’appendice C – Pacifique (codes des sous-aires de drainage 08A à 08P)

Utilisez les directives ci‑dessous pour orienter les apprenants lorsqu’ils commenceront à remplir le tableau :

  1. Écrivez le nom ou l’emplacement de la région décrite dans la section désignée de la feuille d’activités.
  2. Examinez le texte et les tableaux qui vous ont été assignés pour découvrir quels changements sont survenus dans les écosystèmes de cette région. FACULTATIF : Invitez les apprenants à chercher des sources d’information en ligne sur les changements survenus dans les écosystèmes de la région qui leur est assignée.
  3. Déterminez dans quelle mesure chaque changement a augmenté ou diminué l’offre de BSE particuliers. Incitez les apprenants à prendre en considération les répercussions négatives et positives sur le bien-être des personnes, même pour les changements qui semblent négatifs. Par exemple, si la « déforestation » a été relevée comme un changement, les apprenants pourraient noter une « réduction de l’habitat » et une « hausse de la production de bois ».
  4. Déterminez quelles mesures monétaires et non monétaires pourraient être utilisées pour quantifier les répercussions des changements dans les écosystèmes sur la valeur des BSE. Rappelez aux apprenants qu’ils doivent réfléchir aux façons de mesurer la valeur des BSE et non calculer des montants en dollars ou des valeurs réelles. Par exemple, les « prix courants du bois et des produits du bois » ou le « nombre d’espèces qui utilisent la région comme habitat ».
  5. En tenant compte des répercussions du changement dans l’écosystème sur l’offre des BSE cernés, les apprenants doivent déterminer si le changement dans l’écosystème est susceptible d’avoir contribué à une diminution ou à une hausse de la valeur globale des BSE offerts par l’écosystème et fournir les raisons appuyant cette décision.

Invitez les apprenants à partager les résultats de leurs tableaux en indiquant quels BSE ils ont analysés, comment ils ont mesuré leur valeur et comment ces données leur ont permis de décider si la valeur globale des BSE fournis par l’écosystème avait augmenté ou diminué. Demandez aux apprenants de réfléchir aux techniques d’évaluation : quelles techniques sont les plus appropriées pour établir la valeur des différents BSE qu’ils ont relevés dans la région qui leur a été assignée?

FACULTATIF : Demandez aux apprenants de classer les changements dans les écosystèmes de celui ayant le plus d’influence à celui ayant le moins d’influence sur la valeur des BSE offerts par l’écosystème. Quel changement pourrait avoir entraîné la plus importante augmentation de la valeur des BSE? Quel changement pourrait avoir entraîné la plus importante diminution de la valeur des BSE?

Portrait de l’évolution des écosystèmes à l’étendue du Canada

Pour peindre un portrait national des changements touchant les écosystèmes et de leurs répercussions sur la valeur générale des BSE, remettez à chaque groupe d’apprenants la feuille d’activités no 6 : Carte du Canada. Demandez aux apprenants de repérer sur la carte la zone qui leur a été attribuée et, en réfléchissant à la décision prise sur la variation globale de la valeur des BSE, de marquer cette zone en vert pour indiquer une augmentation de la valeur des BSE ou en rouge pour indiquer une diminution de la valeur des BSE.

Si vous disposez d’un tableau blanc électronique ou d’un dispositif semblable, envisagez d’y projeter une carte. Invitez les apprenants à reproduire sur la grande carte la couleur appliquée sur leur carte individuelle. Une fois que tous les groupes auront colorié leur écosystème respectif, examinez l’image résultante sur la grande carte. Les questions suivantes pourraient servir à orienter une discussion sur l’évolution des écosystèmes et de la valeur des BSE et toute tendance qui s’en dégage :

  • Que révèle la couleur résultante à propos de la valeur des BSE dans certaines zones du pays?
  • Certains types d’écosystèmes sont-ils plus sensibles aux pressions?
  • Certains types d’écosystèmes offrent-ils des BSE différents?

Troisième séance

Établir les critères

Commencez par demander aux apprenants de nommer un changement ou un aménagement proposé dans leur collectivité qui pourrait se répercuter sur l’écosystème et la valeur des BSE. Il pourrait s’agir de projets d’élaborer des stratégies d’atténuation des inondations, d’aménager un parc pour la planche à roulettes ou de construire un gazoduc. Demandez aux apprenants de suggérer des critères qui pourraient servir à évaluer les aménagements proposés. Encouragez les apprenants à considérer les critères suivants :

  • Durable : Ce changement ou ce projet est‑il viable au fil du temps compte tenu des ressources qu’il peut exiger?
  • Souhaitable : Ce changement ou ce projet est‑il conforme aux besoins ou à la volonté des membres de la collectivité ou des spécialistes du domaine?
  • Réalisable : Le changement ou le projet prévoit‑il un recours à des techniques, à des technologies et à des études existantes et utilisables? L’idée est-elle faisable?

Orientez une discussion en classe en fonction des critères pour évaluer les projets et les changements suggérés. Informez les apprenants que les mêmes critères pourraient servir à évaluer les stratégies visant à accroître la valeur des BSE offerts par les écosystèmes au Canada.

Élaborer des recommandations

Remettez à chaque apprenant un exemplaire de la feuille d’activités no 7 : Stratégies visant à accroître la valeur des biens et services des écosystèmes. Informez les apprenants que leur défi consiste à recommander des stratégies durables, souhaitables et réalisables qui permettent d’accroître la valeur des BSE offerts par l’écosystème qui leur est attribué (envisagez d’utiliser les zones attribuées lors de la deuxième séance). Dites aux apprenants d’utiliser les données sur les changements écosystémiques provenant de la publication MBSE ou d’autres sources en ligne. Les ressources suivantes comprennent certains renseignements utiles sur l’évolution des écosystèmes au Canada :

Invitez les apprenants à réfléchir aux changements relevés à la deuxième séance et à la discussion sur les changements contribuant le plus à faire baisser la valeur des BSE offerts par l’écosystème. Une fois que les apprenants auront nommé les changements contribuant le plus à faire baisser la valeur des BSE, demandez-leur de recommander des stratégies qui pourraient servir à accroître la valeur des BSE. Ces stratégies devraient être directement liées aux changements. Les apprenants devraient envisager de possibles mesures monétaires ou non monétaires qui pourraient servir à évaluer les variations de la valeur des BSE.

Une fois que les apprenants auront créé un certain nombre de stratégies possibles, invitez-les à utiliser les critères (durable, souhaitable et réalisable) pour évaluer les stratégies dans le but de déterminer lesquelles pourraient être les meilleures.

  • Durable : Cette stratégie est-elle viable au fil du temps compte tenu des ressources qu’elle peut exiger?
  • Souhaitable : Cette stratégie est-elle conforme aux besoins ou à la volonté des membres de la collectivité ou des spécialistes du domaine?
  • Réalisable : La stratégie prévoit-elle un recours à des techniques, à des technologies et à des études existantes et utilisables? L’idée est-elle faisable?

Pour évaluer les recommandations des apprenants, envisagez d’utiliser le document de soutien à l’évaluation no 2 : Évaluer la recommandation.

Présenter les recommandations

À partir de cette activité, les apprenants pourraient préparer des exposés décrivant la stratégie la plus durable, souhaitable et réalisable qu’ils recommandent pour accroître la valeur des BSE de l’écosystème. Encouragez les apprenants à utiliser les stratégies et les critères de sélection indiqués sur la feuille d’activités no 7 : Stratégies visant à accroître la valeur des biens et services des écosystèmes pour orienter la préparation de leurs exposés.

Pour favoriser des exposés efficaces, demandez à la classe de lancer des idées sur les critères d’un excellent exposé, tels que les suivants :

  • être bien organisé et bien préparé
  • soutenir l’intérêt de l’auditoire (p. ex., parler d’une voix claire en se servant d’un aide-mémoire au lieu de lire des notes)
  • fournir des exemples utiles et des ressources à l’appui

Feuille d’activités no 5

Feuille d’activités no 5 :  Évaluer les effets des changements écosystémiques

Description de la feuille d’activités no 5 (DOC)

Feuille d’activités no 6

Feuille d’activités no 5 :  Évaluer les effets des changements écosystémiques

Description de la feuille d’activités no 6 (DOC)

Feuille d’activités no 7

Feuille d’activités no 7 :  Stratégies visant à accroître la valeur des biens et services des écosystèmes

Description de la feuille d’activités no 7 (DOC)

Soutien à l’évaluation no 2

Soutien à l’évaluation no 2 : Évaluer la recommandation

Description du soutien à l’évaluation no 2 (DOC)

Date de modification :