Main article

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]16-001-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. Introduction
  2. Data and methods
  3. Results
  4. Conclusion

1   Introduction

Understanding how the amount of water yield 1  has changed in Canada is an integral part of Statistics Canada's Water Accounts. The framework for these accounts, the Canadian System of Environmental and Resource Accounts (CSERA), establishes an outline for estimates of stocks and flows of water moving within and between the natural environment and society. The framework offers an integrated view of water and its use by society through the compilation of environmental data that are consistent over space and time, national in coverage and compatible with economic accounts. An important part of the water accounting program is the measurement and analysis of these stocks and flows as they change over time. This is in keeping with one of Statistics Canada's objectives: the identification, measurement and tracking of trends in order to facilitate public debate and decision-making. This paper describes the trend estimation methodology used in the 2010 issue of Human Activity and the Environment: Freshwater supply and demand in Canada (Statistics Canada, 2010).

The search for trends in hydrometeorological data has become a regular undertaking given the ever-increasing need to understand how the magnitudes of present and historical components of the hydrological cycle evolve over time. Numerous studies have been conducted which use nonparametric rank-based techniques to determine the magnitude and significance of a trend found between time and streamflow. The Mann-Kendall test (Salmi et al., 2002), one of the main methods used for trend estimation, provides a global robust estimate of the slope of the underlying trend in the series of annual water yield estimates. In this paper we present a methodology to complement this global estimate where the time series is deconstructed into several components separating the underlying trend-cycle from the irregularities in the series. To achieve this objective we first estimate a trend plus the cyclical component for the series of water yield estimates. We then describe the global trend over the span of the series by fitting a linear model to the trend-cycle estimate. To demonstrate this methodology, we used a water yield series from 1971 to 2004 for Southern Canada.

2   Data and methods

The water yield data consist of spatial estimates of average monthly unregulated flow (km3) summarized annually across Canada from 1971 to 2004. These water yield estimates were produced by means of a geostatistical approach that in short involved kriging regionalized unregulated flow per unit area (km3/km2). After interpolation the km3/km2 estimates were converted back into km3 for the desired accounting units. The unregulated flow data were obtained from the Water Survey of Canada's hydrometric database HYDAT (Environment Canada, 2007). A detailed description of the methodology used to derive the water yield estimates can be found in Bemrose et al. (2009). Given the paucity of data, especially in the North, this study evaluated the changes in water yield for the area of 2,598,632 km2 below the North-line 2  (Map 1). The series of annual estimates of water yield below the North-line can be seen in Chart 1.

A time series often consists of four components: the trend component which represents the systematic long-term movement over the span of the series; the cycle which describes the smooth movement around the trend; the seasonal component which consists of intra-year fluctuations, either monthly or quarterly; and the irregular (noise) component which is the residual not accounted for by the other components (Ladiray and Quenneville, 2001). Since the input series of water yield consisted of annual values, the seasonal component is not a component in the series. Consequently, the values were influenced only by the long-term trend, the quasi-cyclical fluctuations (the long-term trend and the quasi-cyclical fluctuations together are referred to as the signal), and the irregular component (that is, the difference or ratio between the signal and the observations).

To estimate the signal, we used a nonparametric approach, whereby the series Image was smoothed by a moving average of coefficients as follows:

(1)
Image

where Image are the weights and Image is the central weight for the moving averages from Image the "past" and Image"future" observations (Dagum, 1985; Ladiray and Quenneville, 2001). The resulting smoothed series is termed the trend-cycle because it consists of the long-term trend and cyclical fluctuations. The number of terms in the moving average is Image. When Image the filter is asymmetric; when Image, and Image the filter is symmetric.

In this study, we used the Henderson (1916) filter to estimate the trend-cycle wherever there were enough observations to satisfy the Image and Image requirements. The Henderson filter reproduces local polynomials up to order 3. With a 17-term Henderson filter we estimated the trend-cycle locally using 8 observations in the past and 8 observations in the future. To derive the 17 weights for the filter using Equation (2), we substituted 8 for Image and the values were obtained for each Image from -8 to 8 (Dagum et al., 1996; Ladiray and Quenneville, 2001). The symmetric weights for the 17-term Henderson filter can be seen in Figure 1.

(2)
Image

Given the end-point problem with the Henderson symmetric filter, we used an asymmetric approach developed by Musgrave (1964) to determine the Image coefficients Image using the symmetric Image coefficients Image wherever Image. Using the formula presented in Doherty (2001) and Findley et al. (1998) we calculated the Musgrave weights as follows:

(3)
Image

where Image was set to 4.5 for the 17-term Henderson filter. For a more detailed description of the Henderson filter and the associated Musgrave filter, see Ladiray and Quenneville (2001). The surrogate asymmetric coefficients used for the 17-term Henderson filter are presented in Figure 1. The coefficients for each Image from -8 to 8 sum to 1 for the Henderson filter when symmetric and asymmetric.

Figure 1: Coefficients for the symmetric and asymmetric 17-term Henderson filter

The 17-term filter was selected for this series and for those presented in the Statistics (2010) publication on the basis of its gain function displayed in Chart 2.

The gain function shows the frequencies eliminated or preserved by the moving average (Ladiray and Quenneville, 2001). From Chart 2, it can be seen that the filter preserves 99% of the strength of cycles that repeat once every 34 years and 89% of those that repeat twice over 34 years; this is followed by a further decrease until all cycles that repeat more than five times are eliminated. For details on how the gain function is calculated, see Dagum et al. (1996) or Ladiray and Quenneville (2001).

The Henderson filter is available in seasonal adjustment software such as the U.S. Bureau of Census X11 (Shiskin et al., 1967) and its variants including the X11-ARIMA (Dagum, 1988) and X12-ARIMA (Findley et al., 1998). We implemented the latter X12-ARIMA in this study using the trend option. The software works through an iterative process where in the first stage it evaluates the trend-cycle for the original series (Chart 3) and determines the adjustment factors for the extreme values in the irregular component (Chart 4). In the second stage of processing the original series is modified for the extreme values, and the trend-cycle is recalculated (Chart 5); again, adjustment factors are determined for the extreme values in the irregular component (Chart 6). In the final stage of the processing chain, the original series is further modified for the extreme values and the final trend-cycle is recalculated (Chart 7). An overlay of the trend-cycles estimated through each stage of processing can be seen in Chart 8.

Local estimation of the trend-cycle and local down-weighting of extreme values is illustrated in charts 6 and 7. Although the low water yield for 1978 is comparable to the levels observed in 1985, 1987, 1989, 1998, 2000, and 2001, it is considered atypical in comparison to its local neighbours. After producing the local trend-cycle for the series, we fitted a linear trend to the trend-cycle using the minimum least squares method to describe the global trend over the span of the series. 3 

3   Results

Chart 9 displays the trend-cycle produced using the iterative process along with the linear fit to the trend-cycle, which describes the global trend. The intercept is estimated at 1,388 km3, and the slope is -3.52 km3/yr.

The trend-cycle locally decreased from 1971 to 1987, increased until 1995, and then decreased again until 2004. Nineteen seventy-eight was the first year identified with an atypical water yield, but similar values have been observed in years since.

4   Conclusion

Water yield for the area below the North-line has globally decreased at a rate of 3.52 km3/yr from 1971 to 2004. Given that this is an aggregation of observations over a large and varied geographic area it is important to recognize that some regions may actually have had increasing water yields over the last 34 years, while the area as a whole experienced a decrease.

It is difficult to compare these results to those of other studies, given that most other studies focus on detecting changes that occur at localized areas over differing record lengths. However, some studies have made conclusions regarding the general trend for regions on the basis of an aggregation of clustered observations over fairly similar time periods. Zhang et al. (2001) found that annual average streamflow was for the most part decreasing across southern Canada from 1967-1996. This finding is similar to that presented in Rivard et al. (2009), who evaluated trends in groundwater recharge. They found that groundwater recharge has generally decreased for all observations below 55º latitude especially for Atlantic Canada from 1970 to 1997.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Article principal

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]16-001-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. Introduction
  2. Données et méthodes
  3. Résultats
  4. Conclusion

1   Introduction

Comprendre l'évolution du volume d'apport en eau 1  au Canada est une partie intégrante de l'établissement des Comptes de l'eau de Statistique Canada. Le cadre conceptuel pour ces comptes, le Système des comptes de l'environnement et des ressources du Canada (SCERC), établit les grandes lignes des estimations des réserves et des débits d'eau qui circulent dans l'environnement naturel et entre celui-ci et la société. Le cadre offre un aperçu intégré de l'eau et de son utilisation par la société au moyen d'une compilation de données environnementales qui sont cohérentes dans l'espace et dans le temps, qui couvrent l'ensemble du pays et qui sont compatibles avec les comptes économiques. La mesure et l'analyse de ces réserves et débits qui évoluent au fil du temps est un élément important du programme de comptabilisation de l'eau. Cela est conforme à l'un des objectifs de Statistique Canada, qui consiste à déterminer, mesurer et suivre les tendances afin de faciliter le débat public et la prise de décision. Le présent rapport décrit la méthode d'estimation des tendances utilisée dans la publication annuelle de 2010 de Statistique Canada intitulée L'activité humaine et l'environnement : Offre et demande d'eau douce au Canada (Statistique Canada, 2010).

Étant donné qu'il est de plus en plus nécessaire de comprendre comment l'ordre de grandeur des composantes actuelles et historiques du cycle hydrologique évolue au fil du temps, on tâche périodiquement de déterminer les tendances des données hydrométéorologiques. Dans de nombreuses études, les chercheurs ont utilisé des techniques non paramétriques basées sur les rangs pour déterminer l'ordre de grandeur et la signification d'une tendance observée entre le temps et le débit. Le test Mann-Kendall (Salmi et coll., 2002), l'une des principales méthodes utilisées pour estimer les tendances, donne une estimation globale robuste de la pente de la tendance sous-jacente dans la série des estimations annuelles de l'apport en eau. Dans le présent document, nous présentons une méthodologie qui permet de compléter cette estimation globale en décomposant la série chronologique en plusieurs composantes de manière à séparer la tendance-cycle sous-jacente des irrégularités dans la série. Pour atteindre cet objectif, nous estimons d'abord une tendance ainsi que la composante cyclique pour la série des estimations de l'apport en eau. Nous décrivons ensuite la tendance globale au cours de la période sur laquelle porte la série en ajustant un modèle linéaire à l'estimation de la tendance-cycle. Pour démontrer cette méthodologie, nous utilisons une série de données sur l'apport en eau allant de 1971 à 2004 pour le Sud du Canada.

2   Données et méthodes

Les données sur l'apport en eau se composent d'estimations spatiales du débit mensuel moyen non régularisé (km3) présentées annuellement pour l'ensemble du pays de 1971 à 2004. Ces estimations de l'apport en eau ont été produites au moyen d'une approche géostatistique de krigeage du débit d'eau non régularisé par unité de surface (km3/km2). Après cette interpolation, les estimations mesurées en km3/km2 ont été reconverties en km3 pour avoir les unités de comptabilité souhaitées. Les données sur le débit mensuel non régularisé provenaient de la base de données hydrométriques HYDAT des Relevés hydrologiques du Canada (Environnement Canada, 2007). Une description détaillée de la méthodologie utilisée pour dériver les estimations de l'apport en eau figure dans Bemrose et coll. (2009). En raison du manque de données, particulièrement dans le Nord, nous avons évalué dans la présente étude les variations de l'apport en eau pour la superficie du territoire de 2 598 632 km2 en dessous de la ligne du Nord 2  (carte 1). Le graphique 1 montre la série des estimations annuelles de l'apport en eau en dessous de la ligne du Nord.

Une série chronologique comprend souvent quatre composantes : la composante tendance, qui représente le mouvement systématique à long terme au cours de la période sur laquelle porte la série; le cycle, qui décrit le mouvement lissé autour de la tendance; la composante saisonnière, qui se compose des fluctuations au cours d'une année , soit mensuelles, soit trimestrielles; et la composante irrégulière (bruit) qui est le résidu non expliqué par les autres composantes (Ladiray et Quenneville, 2001). Étant donné que la série des intrants pour l'apport en eau se composaient de valeurs annuelles, la composante saisonnière n'a pas été prise en considération dans la série. Par conséquent, seules la tendance à long terme, les fluctuations quasi cycliques (la tendance à long terme et les fluctuations quasi cycliques prises ensemble forment les indicateurs) et la composante irrégulière (c'est à dire, l'écart ou le rapport entre les indicateurs et les observations) ont influé sur les valeurs.

Pour estimer les indicateurs, nous avons utilisé une approche non paramétrique selon laquelle la série Image a été lissée par une moyenne mobile de coefficients comme suit : 

(1)
Image

Image sont les poids et Image est le poids central pour les moyennes mobiles des observations avec Image valeurs « passées », la valeur actuelle et Image valeurs « futures » (Dagum, 1985; Ladiray et Quenneville, 2001). La série lissée qui en résulte est appelée la tendance-cycle parce qu'elle se compose de la tendance à long terme et des fluctuations cycliques. Le nombre de termes dans la moyenne mobile est Image. Lorsque Image, le filtre est asymétrique; lorsque Image, et Image, le filtre est symétrique.

Dans la présente étude, nous avons utilisé le filtre de Henderson (1916) pour estimer la tendance-cycle chaque fois que le nombre d'observations était suffisant pour satisfaire les exigences Image et Image. Le filtre de Henderson reproduit les polynômes locaux d'ordre 3. Au moyen d'un filtre de Henderson à 17 termes, nous avons estimé la tendance-cycle localement en utilisant huit observations dans le passé et huit observations dans le futur. Pour calculer les 17 poids pour le filtre au moyen de l'équation (2), nous avons remplacé Image par 8 et obtenu les valeurs pour chaque Image de -8 à 8 (Dagum et coll., 1996; Ladiray et Quenneville, 2001). La figure 1 montre les poids symétriques pour le filtre de Henderson à 17 termes.

(2)
Image

Étant donné le problème de point final que présente le filtre symétrique de Henderson, nous avons utilisé une approche asymétrique élaborée par Musgrave (1964) pour déterminer les coefficients ImageImage au moyen des coefficients symétriques ImageImage là où Image. Au moyen de la formule présentée dans Doherty (2001) et Findley et coll. (1998), nous avons calculé les poids de Musgrave comme suit : 

(3)
Image

Image a été fixé à 4,5 pour le filtre de Henderson à 17 termes. Pour une description plus détaillée du filtre de Henderson et du filtre de Musgrave associé, voir Ladiray et Quenneville (2001). Les coefficients asymétriques de substitution utilisés pour le filtre de Henderson à 17 termes sont présentés dans la figure 1. La somme des coefficients pour chaque de Image-8 à 8 pour le filtre de Henderson symétrique ainsi qu'asymétrique est égale à 1.

Figure 1 : Coefficients pour le filtre de Henderson symétrique et asymétrique de 17 termes

Le filtre de 17 termes a été choisi pour cette série et pour celles présentées dans la publication de Statistique Canada (2010) sur la base de sa fonction de gain telle qu'indiquée au graphique 2.

La fonction de gain montre les fréquences éliminées ou conservées par la moyenne mobile (Ladiray et Quenneville, 2001). Le graphique 2 montre que le filtre préserve 99 % de la vigueur des cycles qui se répètent tous les 34 ans et 89 % des cycles qui se répètent deux fois en 34 ans; cela est suivi d'une nouvelle diminution jusqu'à ce que tous les cycles qui se répètent plus de cinq fois soient éliminés. Pour des précisions sur la façon de calculer la fonction de gain, consulter Dagum et coll. (1996) ou Ladiray et Quenneville (2001).

Le filtre de Henderson est généralement disponible avec les logiciels de désaisonnalisation comme celui du U.S. Bureau of Census X-11 (Shiskin et coll., 1967) et ses variantes y compris les méthodes X11-ARIMA (Dagum, 1988) et X12-ARIMA (Findley et coll., 1998). Dans la présente étude, nous avons utilisé l'option tendance disponible dans X12-ARIMA. Le logiciel utilise un processus itératif selon lequel, à la première étape, il évalue la tendance-cycle pour la série originale (graphique 3) et détermine les facteurs de correction pour les valeurs extrêmes dans la composante irrégulière (graphique 4). À la deuxième étape de traitement, la série originale est modifiée pour tenir compte des valeurs extrêmes et la tendance-cycle est recalculée (graphique 5); de nouveau, les facteurs de correction sont déterminés pour les valeurs extrêmes dans la composante irrégulière (graphique 6). À l'étape finale de la chaîne de traitement, la série originale est modifiée encore pour tenir compte des valeurs extrêmes et la tendance-cycle finale est recalculée (graphique 7). Le graphique 8 montre une superposition des tendances-cycles estimées à chaque étape de traitement.

L'estimation locale de la tendance-cycle et la sous-pondération locale des valeurs extrêmes sont illustrées aux graphiques 6 et 7. Même si le faible apport en eau de 1978 est comparable aux niveaux observés en 1985, 1987, 1989, 1998, 2000 et 2001, il est considéré comme atypique par rapport à ses voisins locaux. Après avoir produit la tendance-cycle locale pour les séries, nous avons ajusté une tendance linéaire à la tendance-cycle au moyen de la méthode des moindres carrés ordinaires pour décrire la tendance globale au cours de la période sur laquelle portent les séries  3 .

3   Résultats

Le graphique 9 montre la tendance-cycle qui résulte du traitement itératif et l'ajustement linéaire à la tendance-cycle pour décrire la tendance globale. L'ordonnée à l'origine est estimée à 1 388 km3 et la pente est de 3,52 km3/an.

Localement, la tendance-cycle a diminué de 1971 à 1987, elle a augmenté jusqu'en 1995, et a ensuite diminué de nouveau jusqu'en 2004. L'année 1978 est la première année pour laquelle on a constaté un apport en eau atypique, mais des valeurs comparables ont été observées depuis.

4   Conclusion

L'apport en eau pour le territoire en dessous de la ligne du Nord a diminué dans l'ensemble au taux de 3,52 km3/an de 1971 à 2004. Étant donné qu'il s'agit d'une agrégation des observations portant sur un territoire géographique grand et varié, il importe de reconnaître que les apports en eau ont peut-être augmenté dans certaines régions au cours des 34 dernières années même s'ils ont diminué dans l'ensemble du territoire.

Il est difficile de comparer ces résultats à ceux d'autres études, étant donné que la plupart des autres études visent à détecter les changements qui surviennent localement au cours de périodes de longueur différente. Toutefois, certains chercheurs sont parvenus à des conclusions concernant la tendance générale de certaines régions en s'appuyant sur un agrégat d'observations regroupées sur des périodes comparables. Zhang et coll. (2001) ont constaté une baisse du débit annuel moyen dans la plus grande partie du Sud du Canada pour la période s'échelonnant de 1967 à 1996. Cette constatation est comparable à celle présentée dans Rivard et coll. (2009), qui ont évalué les tendances de la recharge des eaux souterraines. Ils ont constaté une diminution générale de la recharge des eaux souterraines pour toutes les observations en dessous du 55º de latitude, particulièrement pour le Canada atlantique de 1970 à 1997.

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :