Glossary

Basic price: a basic price valuation includes the costs of production factors (labour and capital) and taxes and subsidies on production factors.

Culture: a creative artistic activity and the goods and services produced by this creative activity and the preservation of heritage.

Culture goods and services: in the context of the CSA, and following the CFCS, culture goods are defined as original and mass-produced goods which contain culture content, resulting from creative artistic activity. A culture service on the other hand is defined to include creative services (which can, in turn, include copyright payments or receipts), content services (services that add to, or alter a culture product), broadcasts, live performances and other culture events (such as museum exhibits).

Culture GDP or GDP of culture activities: is the value added related to the production of all culture goods and services in the economy produced by culture and non-culture industries. For example, for the performing arts industry which may generate GDP from admissions to live performances and food and beverages services (a non-culture activity) only the GDP from admissions to live performances (the culture activity) will be counted. However, it will also include any GDP from admissions to live performances produced outside of the live performance industry.

Culture industry: A culture industry is one for which culture products (goods or services) make up the most significant part of its output. For instance, in the live performance industry, culture products represent the majority of its output even though they have secondary activity related to the sale of food and beverages. The CFCS, and therefore the CSA, also include industries involved in the ‘creative chain’.

Culture jobs: are the number of jobs in the culture and non-culture industries related to the production of all culture goods and services across the economy. Therefore it covers only the jobs required to produce culture activities. Using the example above from Culture GDP, only the individual selling admissions tickets would be in the estimate of culture jobs.

Culture output: is the value of culture goods and services produced in the economy by establishments in culture and non-culture industries.

Domain: is a category in the Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics used to group various entities for conceptual and measurement purposes. These categories describe dimensions, such as industries, products, occupations or instructional programs. For example, an industry or group of establishments (i.e. the cinematography industry) or a professional group (i.e. cinematography industry workers), or product categories (i.e. public works).

Employment: represents the number of jobs held by the self-employed, employees and unpaidNote 1 family workers. It should be noted that a job that exists for only part of the year (e.g., 4 months) counts as only a fraction of a job (1/3 of a job) for the year. It should also be noted that a part-time job at 10 hours a week counts as much as a full-time job at 50 hours a week.Note 2

Employment in culture industries: is measured by the number of jobs in each of the culture industries. It covers all jobs in the industry required to produce both culture and non-culture products. For example, the performing arts industry may require an individual to collect admissions tickets to a live performance (job from culture activity) and a bartender in the food and beverages services (a job from a non-culture activity). Both jobs are included in the estimate of employment in culture industries.

Employment in sport industries: is the number of jobs in each of the sport industries. It covers all jobs in the industry required to produce both sport and non-sport products. For example, a sporting event will need jobs for both admissions to sporting events (a sport activity) and food and beverages services (a non-sport activity). Both of these jobs will be included in the estimate of employment in sport industries.

Gross Domestic Product (GDP): is defined as the total unduplicated value of the goods and services produced in the economic territory of a country or region during a given period. GDP can be measured three ways: as total incomes earned in current production (income approach), as total final sales of current production (expenditure approach), or as total net values added in current production (value added approach). It can be valued either at basic prices or at market prices.

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) at basic prices: is Gross domestic product at market prices minus taxes less subsidies on products. Gross domestic product at basic prices is also equal to the traditional value at factor cost plus taxes less subsidies on the factors of production (labour and capital).

GDP by industry: GDP of an industry (also referred to as value added) equals output by the industry minus the value of intermediate inputs that were purchased from other industries, domestic or foreign. Value added is a measure of how much an industry has contributed to the value of its output over and above the value of intermediate inputs. GDP by industry for the economy as a whole is the sum of values added by all industries resident in Canada.

GDP by industry at basic prices: When evaluated at basic prices, an industry’s GDP is the sum of its factor incomes (wages and salaries, supplementary labour income, mixed income and other operating surplus) plus taxes on production less subsidies on production.

GDP of culture industries: is the measure of GDP for each of the culture industries. It covers all of their outputs—culture and non-culture products. For example, the performing arts industry may generate GDP from both admissions to live performances (a culture activity) and food and beverages services (a non-culture activity). The GDP for both activities is included in the GDP of culture industries.

GDP of sport industries: is the measure of output from all sport industries. It covers all of their outputs—sport and non-sport products. For example, a sporting event may generate GDP from both, admissions to the sporting event (a sport activity) and food and beverages services (a non-sport activity). The GDP associated with both of these products would be included in the GDP of sport industries.

Goods and services: are the results of production. They are exchanged and used for various purposes: as inputs in the production of other goods and services, as final consumption or for investment. A good is a tangible product that can be stocked or placed in inventory. An example of a good is photographic equipment or a book. A service, on the other hand, is generally consumed at the place and time it is bought. Services cover a wide and complex variety of transactions on products that are generally intangible in nature. An example of a service is admission to a live performance or a museum exhibition.

Hours of work: actual hours worked during normal periods of work, including overtime but excluding paid leave (e.g. holidays, sick leave). Total hours worked are the aggregate number of hours actually worked during the year in employee jobs and jobs due to self-employment.

Industry: an industry is a group of establishments engaged in the same or a similar kind of economic activity.

Industry perspective: is the presentation of culture or sport activity by industry. The culture and sport industries are grouped under their respective domains and sub-domains. It measures the output, GDP and jobs of culture industries and sport industries. It covers all of the output produced by establishments in these industries including non-culture and non-sport products.

Infrastructure: includes both physical infrastructure (e.g. buildings such as theatres, recording studios) and mediating products (e.g. consumer equipment such as television sets, computers) which are essential for at least one stage of supply in the culture chain. While they provide important support for culture activity, they are factors of cultural production rather than culture products. They may be reported separately as a means of determining their size and impact on the culture sector. Dedicated facilities whose primary function is the provision of space to culture such as museum buildings, heritage sites and buildings, theatres and cinemas are included in their respective sub-domains.

Input-output tables: Input-output tables are part of the production accounts of the CSNEA. They show the production of goods and services, the generation of income from the production process and the flows of goods and services through the economic system between producers and consumers. The transactors involved in the production process are individuals (persons or households), establishments (production units of businesses and governments), non-business entities such as non-profit institutions, and governments.

Job: an explicit or implicit contract between a person and an institutional unit to perform work in return for compensation for a defined period or until further notice. The institutional unit may be the proprietor of an unincorporated enterprise; in this case the person is described as being self-employed and earns a mixed income. The number of jobs can exceed the number of persons employed by the number of second, third, etc. jobs.

Mixed income: represents the return to both self-employed labour and capital of the unincorporated business. Mixed income consists of earnings of proprietors of unincorporated businesses (sole proprietorships and partnerships) such as retailers and consultants, earnings of independent professional practitioners such as lawyers and dentists, net (after expenses) rental income of owners of real property and the accrued net farm income of farm operators.

Multi domain: includes culture industries that are not associated with any culture domains and sub-domains: the culture portion of convention and trade show organizers; manufacturing and reproducing magnetic optical media; lessors of non-financial intangible assets; internet publishing and broadcasting and web search portal industries. These culture industries all affect more than one culture domain but cannot be easily allocated to a single domain, so they have been aggregated together.

Multi sub-domain: includes services that cannot be allocated to other specific sub-domain within Written and published works. It includes the printing of books, magazines or art work; translation services; wholesale and distribution, and retail services, etc.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS): is an industrial classification system used to group producers into industries on the basis of similarities in their production processes. Developed jointly by Canada, Mexico and the United States in 1997, NAICS provides a common framework of classification which places industrial statistics compiled by the three countries on a comparable basis.

North American Product Classification System (NAPCS): is a classification that organizes goods and services throughout the economy in a systematic fashion. NAPCS is intended to include products of service and goods producing industries.

Output: consists of those goods or services that are produced within an establishment that become available for use outside that establishment, plus any goods and services produced for own final use.

Product perspective: measures output, GDP and jobs resulting from the production of culture or sports products regardless of whether they were made by establishments in culture or non-culture industries. For example, books may be produced in more than one industry. In the product perspective, all of the activity related to the production of books is grouped together.

Salaries and wages: monetary compensation and payments-in-kind (e.g., board and lodging), to wage earners and salaried persons employed in private, public and non-profit institutions in Canada including domestic servants and baby-sitters. Other forms of compensation included are commissions, bonuses, tips, directors’ fees, taxable allowances, and the values of stock options of corporations. Bonuses, commissions and retroactive wages are recorded in the period paid rather than earned. Wages and salaries are recorded on a gross basis, before deductions for taxes, employees’ contributions to employment insurance, and private and public pension plans.

Satellite Account: an accounting system that follows the basic principles of the System of National Accounts but also expands the analytical capacity for selected areas of economic or social concern, without overburdening or disrupting the central system. Satellite accounts are linked with the central framework of the national accounts and through them to the main body of integrated economic statistics.

Self-employed: persons whose jobs consist mainly of operating a business, farm or professional practice, alone or in partnership. This includes: operating a farm, whether the land is rented or owned; working on a freelance or contract basis to do a job (e.g., architects, private duty nurses); operating a direct distributorship selling and delivering products such as cosmetics, newspapers, brushes and cleaning products; and fishing with own equipment or with equipment in which the person has a share. The business can be incorporated or unincorporated. Self-employed persons include those with and those without paid help.

Sport: an individual or group activity often pursued for fitness during leisure time which may be undertaken for fun or for competition. This includes recreational sports and physical activities, as well as professional, semi-professional or amateur sport clubs and independent athletes that are primarily engaged in presenting sporting events before an audience.

Sport GDP or GDP of sport activities: sport GDP is defined as the value added in an industry that is related to the production of sport goods and/or across the economy regardless of the producing industry. For example, for a sporting event which generates GDP from admissions to sporting events (a sport activity) and food and beverages services (a non-sport activity), only the GDP from admissions to sporting event (the sport activity) will be included in Sport GDP. However, it will also include any GDP from admissions to sporting events produced outside the sport industries.

Sport jobs: are defined as the number of jobs that are related to the production of sport goods and/or services regardless of the industry. For example, a sporting event may have two jobs: a job collecting admissions to sporting events (a job from sport activity) and bartender in the food and beverages services (a job from non-sport activity). Only the job of the person collecting admissions tickets to sporting events (job from culture activity) is included in sport jobs.

Sub-domain: a subordinate domain which can be used to identify a number of related industries, products and occupations and which represents a distinct sub-category of a domain.

Supplementary labour income: expenditures by employers on their labour account other than wages and salaries which are regarded as compensation of employees. It includes contributions to employment insurance, private and public pension plan contribution, worker’s compensation, health and life insurance plans, and retirement allowances.

Unpaid family workers: persons who work without pay in a business, farm or professional practice owned and operated by another family member living in the same dwelling.

Notes

Date modified:

Glossaire

Biens et services : sont le résultat de la production. Ils sont échangés et utilisés à diverses fins : entrées intermédiaires pour la production d’autres biens et services, consommation finale ou investissement. Un bien est un produit corporel qui peut être stocké ou placé en inventaire. Un livre ou du matériel photographique est un exemple de bien. Par contre, un service est généralement consommé à l’endroit et au moment où il est acheté. Les services englobent une grande variété complexe de transactions sur des produits qui sont généralement de nature incorporelle. L’entrée à un spectacle sur scène ou à une exposition de musée est un exemple de service.

Biens et services de la culture : Dans le contexte du CSC, et conformément au CCSC, les biens de la culture sont définis comme des biens originaux et produits en série qui contiennent un contenu culturel résultant d’une activité artistique créative. Un service de la culture, par ailleurs, est défini comme englobant les services créatifs (qui peuvent, à leur tour, comprendre des paiements ou des recettes de droit d’auteur), les services de contenu (services qui ajoutent quelque chose à un produit de la culture ou le modifient), les diffusions, les spectacles sur scène et autres manifestations culturelles (telles les expositions dans un musée).

Compte satellite : Système de comptabilité qui suit les principes de base du Système des comptes nationaux, mais qui comporte une capacité analytique élargie pour certains domaines de préoccupation économique ou sociale, sans surcharger ou interrompre le système central. Les comptes satellites sont liés au cadre central des comptes nationaux et, par leur entremise, à l’ensemble principal des statistiques économiques intégrées.

Culture : Culture est défini comme l’activité artistique créative et les biens et services produits par cette activité, et la préservation du patrimoine.

Domaine : est une catégorie dans le Cadre conceptuel pour les statistiques de la culture 2011 qui servent à regrouper diverses entités — aux fins des concepts et de la mesure. C’est une catégorie conceptuelle qui peut correspondre à une industrie ou à un groupe d’établissements (p. ex., l’industrie cinématographique), mais il peut aussi décrire un groupe de professions (p. ex., les travailleurs de l’industrie cinématographique), ou une catégorie de produits (p. ex., les ouvrages publiés).

Emploi : Il s’agit du nombre d’emplois occupés par les travailleurs autonomes, les salariés et les travailleurs familiaux non rémunérésNote 1. Il convient de souligner qu’un emploi qui n’existe que pendant une partie de l’année (p. ex., 4 mois) ne compte que comme une fraction d’un emploi seulement (1/3 d’un emploi) pour l’année en question. Il faut aussi souligner qu’un emploi à temps partiel de 10 heures par semaine compte autant qu’un emploi à temps plein de 50 heures par semaineNote 2.

Emploi dans les industries de la culture : Est mesuré par le nombre d’emplois dans chacune des industries de la culture. Il englobe tous les emplois dans l’industrie nécessaires pour produire les produits culturels ainsi que non culturels. Par exemple, l’industrie des arts d’interprétation peut employer une personne qui recueille les billets d’entrée à un spectacle sur scène (emploi découlant de l’activité culturelle) et un barman pour les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (un emploi découlant d’une activité non culturelle). Les deux emplois sont inclus dans l’estimation de l’emploi dans les industries de la culture.

Emploi dans les industries du sport : Est mesuré par le nombre d’emplois dans chacune de ces industries du sport. Il englobe tous les emplois nécessaires dans l’industrie en question pour produire les produits liés au sport ainsi que ceux non liés au sport. Par exemple, un événement sportif nécessitera des emplois pour les entrées à l’événement sportif (une activité liée au sport) ainsi que pour les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (une activité non liée au sport). Ces emplois seront inclus tous deux dans l’estimation de l’emploi dans les industries du sport.

Emplois : Un emploi se définit comme un contrat explicite ou implicite passé par une personne avec une unité institutionnelle pour exercer un travail en échange d’une rémunération pendant une durée déterminée ou indéterminée. L’unité institutionnelle peut être le propriétaire d’une entreprise non constituée en société; il s’agit alors d’un travailleur indépendant percevant un revenu mixte. Le nombre d’emplois dépasse le nombre de personnes occupées d’une valeur égale au nombre de deuxièmes emplois, troisièmes emplois, etc.

Emplois lié à la culture : Est défini comme étant le nombre d’emplois reliés à la production de biens et/ou services de la culture dans une industrie. Par conséquent, il n’englobe que les emplois dans l’industrie nécessaires pour produire les activités de la culture.

Emplois lié au sport : Est défini comme étant le nombre d’emplois reliés à la production de biens et/ou de services liés au sport, quelle que soit l’industrie. Par exemple, un événement sportif peut nécessiter deux emplois, l’un pour la collecte des billets d’entrée à l’événement sportif (un emploi découlant d’une activité liée au sport) et un barman pour les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (un emploi découlant d’une activité non liée au sport). Seul l’emploi de la personne qui recueille les billets d’entrée à l’événement sportif (emploi découlant d’une activité liée au sport) est inclus dans l’emploi lié au sport.

Industrie : Une industrie est un groupe d’établissements se livrant à des activités économiques identiques ou similaires.

Industries de la culture : Est une industrie dont la part la plus importante de la production est constituée de produits de la culture (biens ou services). Par exemple, dans l’industrie des spectacles sur scène, les produits de la culture représentent la majorité de la production même s’il existe dans cette industrie une activité secondaire liée à la vente de nourriture et de boissons. Le CCSC, et par conséquent le CSC, englobe aussi les industries faisant partie de la « chaîne de création ».

Infrastructure : L’infrastructure physique (p. ex., les immeubles comme les salles de cinéma, les studios d’enregistrement, etc.) et les produits d’accès aux médias (p. ex., l’équipement des consommateurs comme les téléviseurs, les ordinateurs, etc.) sont essentiels à au moins une étape de l’offre dans la chaîne de la culture. Même s’ils fournissent un soutien important à l’activité culturelle, ce ne sont pas des produits de la culture. Ils peuvent être déclarés séparément pour déterminer leur ampleur et leur incidence sur le secteur de la culture. Les installations spécialisées dont la fonction principale est de fournir de l’espace à la culture, telles que les bâtiments des musées, les sites patrimoniaux et les édifices, les théâtres et les cinémas sont compris dans leurs sous-domaines respectifs.

Heures de travail : Nombre réel d’heures travaillées durant les périodes normales de travail, incluant les heures supplémentaires, mais excluant les congés payés (p. ex., vacances, congés de maladie). Le nombre total d’heures travaillées est le nombre agrégé d’heures effectivement travaillées durant l’année dans les emplois de salariés et de travailleurs autonomes.

Multidomaine : englobe les industries de la culture qui ne sont associées à aucun domaine et sous-domaine de la culture; il s’agit de la partie liée à la culture des industries des organisateurs de congrès, de salons et de foires commerciales, la fabrication et la reproduction de supports magnétiques et optiques, les bailleurs de biens incorporels non financiers (sauf les œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur), ainsi que l'édition et la radiodiffusion par Internet et sites portails de recherche. Ces industries de la culture influent toutes sur plus d’un domaine de la culture, mais ne peuvent pas être facilement attribuées à un seul domaine, de sorte qu’elles ont été regroupées.

Multi sous-domaine : comprend les services qui ne peuvent pas être affectés à d'autres sous-domaines particuliers dans le domaine écrits et ouvrages publiés. Il comprend l'impression de livres, de magazines ou d'illustrations, les services de traduction, les services de vente en gros et de distribution, et de vente au détail, etc.

Perspective de l’industrie : Est simplement la présentation de l’activité culturelle et du sport par industrie. Dans le jeu de tableaux dans la perspective de l’industrie du CSC, les industries de la culture sont regroupées dans leurs domaines et sous-domaines respectifs. Il mesure la production, le PIB et l’emploi des établissements appartenant aux industries de la culture et du sport. Ces estimations englobent la production de produits non liés à la culture et au sport.

Perspective du produit : mesure la production, le PIB et l’emploi de la culture ou du sport, peu importe si les produits de la culture ou du sport proviennent d’établissements des industries de la culture ou du sport ou des industries qui n’y sont pas liées. Est simplement le regroupement des produits semblables (quelle que soit l’industrie d’origine) dans un même domaine. Ainsi, des livres pourraient être produits dans plus d’une industrie. Dans la perspective du produit, toutes les activités liées à la production de livres sont regroupées ensemble.

Produit intérieur brut (PIB) : Valeur sans double compte des biens et services produits dans le territoire économique d’un pays ou d’une région au cours d’une période donnée. Le PIB peut être calculé de trois façons, soit comme la somme des revenus gagnés dans la production courante (approche des revenus), la somme des ventes finales de la production courante (approche des dépenses) ou la somme des valeurs ajoutées nettes dans la production courante (approche de la valeur ajoutée). Il peut être évalué au prix de base ou aux prix du marché.

Produit intérieur brut (PIB) aux prix de base : est le produit intérieur brut aux prix de base correspond au produit intérieur brut aux prix du marché déduction faite des impôts moins les subventions sur les produits. Le produit intérieur brut aux prix de base correspond également au produit intérieur brut traditionnel au coût des facteurs plus les impôts moins les subventions sur les facteurs de production (main-d'œuvre et capital).

PIB par industrie : Le PIB d’une industrie donnée (également appelé « valeur ajoutée ») correspond aux sorties de l’industrie moins la valeur des entrées intermédiaires achetées auprès d’autres industries, que ce soit au pays ou à l’étranger. La valeur ajoutée est une mesure de la contribution d’une industrie à la valeur de sa production déduction faite de la valeur des entrées intermédiaires. Le PIB par industrie de l’économie dans son ensemble correspond à la somme des valeurs ajoutées par toutes les industries résidentes du Canada.

PIB par industrie aux prix de base : Évalué aux prix de base, le PIB d’une industrie correspond à la somme de ses revenus des facteurs (salaires et traitements, revenu supplémentaire du travail, revenu mixte et autres excédents d’exploitation) plus les impôts sur la production moins les subventions à la production.

PIB de la culture ou le PIB associé aux activités de la culture : est la valeur ajoutée par la production de biens et/ou de services de la culture dans l’économie sans égard à l’industrie productrice. Par exemple, dans le cas de l’industrie des arts d’interprétation, dont le PIB peut être généré à la fois par les entrées à des spectacles sur scène et des services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (une activité non culturelle), seul le PIB généré par les entrées à des spectacles sur scène (l’activité culturelle) sera compté. Cependant, il comprendra aussi le PIB découlant des entrées à des spectacles sur scène produits en dehors de l’industrie des arts d’interprétation.

PIB des industries de la culture : Correspond à la mesure du PIB pour chacune de ces industries. Il englobe la totalité de leurs produits, soit les produits de la culture et les produits non culturels. Par exemple, le PIB de l’industrie des arts d’interprétation peut être généré à la fois par les entrées à des spectacles sur scène (une activité culturelle) et les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (une activité non culturelle). Le PIB pour les deux activités est inclus dans le PIB des industries de la culture.

PIB des industries du sport : est la mesure de la production provenant de toutes les industries du sport. Il englobe tous les produits de ces industries, que ce soient des produits liés au sport ou non liés au sport. Par exemple, le PIB découlant d’un événement sportif peut être généré à la fois par les entrées à l’événement sportif (une activité liée au sport) et par les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (une activité non liée au sport). Le PIB associé à ces deux catégories de produits serait inclus dans le PIB des industries du sport.

PIB du sport ou le PIB associé aux activités du sport : Il correspond à la valeur ajoutée liée à la production de biens ou de services du sport dans l’ensemble de l’économie, quelle que soit l’industrie de production. Par exemple, dans le cas d’un événement sportif dont le PIB est généré à la fois par les entrées à l’événement sportif (une activité liée au sport) et par les services de vente d’aliments et de boissons (une activité non liée au sport), seul le PIB découlant des entrées à l’événement sportif (l’activité liée au sport) est pris en compte dans le PIB du sport. Cependant, ce dernier inclura aussi tout PIB généré par les entrées à des événements sportifs produits en dehors des industries du sport.

Production : La production comprend les biens et les services qui sont produits dans un établissement, et qui deviennent utilisables en dehors de cet établissement, plus tout bien et service produit pour usage final propre.

La production de la culture : représente la valeur des biens et services de la culture produits dans l’économie par des établissements des industries de la culture et des industries non liées à la culture.

Prix de base : Une évaluation aux prix de base comprend le coût des facteurs de production (travail et capital) ainsi que les impôts indirects et subventions sur facteurs de productions.

Revenu mixte : Le revenu mixte représente le rendement du travail autonome et du capital de l’entreprise non constituée en société. Le revenu mixte se compose des gains des propriétaires d’entreprises non constituées en société (entreprises à propriétaire unique et partenariats) tels que les détaillants et les sociétés d’experts- conseils, les gains des praticiens professionnels autonomes tels les avocats et les dentistes, le revenu net (après déduction des dépenses) de loyers des propriétaires de biens immobiliers et le revenu agricole comptable net des exploitants agricoles.

Revenu supplémentaire du travail : Il s’agit des dépenses des employeurs qui figurent dans leur compte de main-d’œuvre à titre de rémunération des salariés. Il comprend les cotisations à l’assurance-emploi, les cotisations aux régimes de pensions privés et publics, au fonds d’indemnisation des accidents du travail, aux régimes d’assurance-maladie et d’assurance-vie, et aux régimes d’allocations de retraite.

Sport : est défini comme une activité individuelle ou de groupe souvent pratiquée pour garder la forme pendant les temps libres et à laquelle on peut s’adonner pour le plaisir ou pour la compétition. Ce domaine comprend les sports récréatifs et activités physiques, ainsi que les clubs sportifs professionnels, semi-professionnels ou amateurs et les athlètes indépendants dont l’activité principale consiste à présenter des événements sportifs devant un public.

Sous-domaine : Une subdivision d’un domaine qui permet d’identifier un certain nombre d’industries, de produits et de professions apparentés qu’on peut définir comme représentant une sous-catégorie distincte d’un domaine.

Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) : Le Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) est un système de classification des industries utilisé pour regrouper les producteurs en industries en fonction de la similitude de leurs procédés de production. Élaboré conjointement en 1997 par le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis, le SCIAN offre un cadre commun de classification assurant la comparabilité des statistiques industrielles produites par les trois pays.

Système de classification des produits de l'Amérique du Nord (SCPAN) : Système de classification systématique des biens et services à l'échelle de l'économie, le SCPAN vise à comprendre les produits des industries productrices de biens et de services.

Traitements et salaires : Comprennent la rémunération en espèces et les paiements en nature (p. ex., le gîte et le couvert) versés aux personnes touchant un salaire ou un traitement employées dans les établissements du secteur privé et du secteur public, ainsi que dans les institutions sans but lucratif au Canada, y compris les domestiques et les gardiennes d’enfants. Les autres formes de rémunération incluses comprennent les commissions, les primes, les pourboires, les jetons de présence, les allocations imposables, ainsi que la valeur des options sur actions des sociétés. Les primes, les commissions et les salaires rétroactifs sont inscrits durant la période où ils ont été versés plutôt que durant celles où ils ont été gagnés. Les salaires et traitements sont enregistrés sur une base brute, avant les retenues aux fins de l’impôt ainsi que les cotisations des employés au régime d’assurance-emploi et aux régimes de pensions des secteurs privé et public.

Travailleurs autonomes : Cette catégorie comprend les personnes dont l’emploi consiste principalement à exploiter une entreprise ou une ferme, ou à exercer une profession, seules ou avec des associés. Sont comprises les personnes qui exploitent une ferme à titre de propriétaire ou de locataire, celles qui travaillent comme pigistes ou à forfait pour un travail particulier (p. ex., les architectes et les infirmières privées), les personnes qui exploitent une concession de vente et de distribution directe d’articles, comme des produits de beauté, des journaux, des brosses ou des articles ménagers, et celles qui font de la pêche avec du matériel qui leur appartient en propre ou dont elles sont copropriétaires. L’entreprise peut être constituée en société ou non constituée en société. Les travailleurs autonomes comprennent ceux ayant ou n’ayant pas d’aide rémunérée.

Travailleurs familiaux non rémunérés : Les personnes qui travaillent sans rémunération à l’exploitation d’une entreprise, d’une ferme ou d’un cabinet de professionnel appartenant à un autre membre de la famille vivant dans le même logement et exploité par lui.

Tableaux d’entrées-sorties : Les tableaux d’entrées-sorties font partie des comptes de production du SCEN. Ils font état de la production de biens et services, du revenu généré par le processus de production et des flux de biens et services dans le système économique entre les producteurs et les consommateurs. Les agents impliqués dans le processus de production sont les particuliers (personnes ou ménages), les établissements (unités de production des entreprises et des administrations publiques), les entités non commerciales comme les institutions sans but lucratif et les administrations publiques.

Notes

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :