Scope of study

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

The Human Resource Module (HRM) provides a snapshot of the tourism industries and occupations they comprise as well as insights into trends over time. Analyses can be made on the following key statistics: jobs, hours worked and employment earnings starting from 1997. Derived variables, such as number of full-time equivalents, average hourly earnings and average annual hours worked per job can also be examined.

These key statistics can be analyzed according to various characteristics of the jobs (employee or self- employed, full-time or part-time, occupation group) and the characteristics of the persons holding them (gender, age group, immigrant status). Information by occupation is also available. Comparisons can be made to the Canadian System of National Accounts (CSNA) employment estimates for the overall economy and for selected industries as well as Canadian Tourism Satellite Accounts (CTSA) and National Tourism Indicators (NTI) aggregates.

The scope of this study is similar to the previous national study1 with the addition of two years of data: 2008 and 2009. The information on the number of jobs, hours worked and employment earnings is presented for the same industry groups as before including for full-time and part-time jobs. The information is also available according to the same characteristics of employees (gender, age group and immigrant status) and similar occupations.

In particular, the HRM for Canada provides annual estimates for the years 1997 up to 2009. These estimates are based on national data from the Canadian Productivity Accounts (CPA),2 which is a key input to the HRM, as well as Labour Force Survey data (LFS). Census data for 2001 and 2006 are incorporated. The North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) of 2002 and the National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) of 2006 are used.


Notes:

  1. See Bisaillon and Morissette 2009.
  2. See Statistics Canada 2009.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Portée de l'étude

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le Module des ressources humaines (MRH) fournit un portrait des industries touristiques et des professions qui en font partie ainsi qu'un aperçu des tendances au fil du temps. On peut procéder à des analyses des statistiques clés suivantes : l'emploi, des heures travaillées et des gains d'emploi, à compter de 1997. Des variables dérivées, comme le nombre d'emplois équivalents temps plein, les gains horaires moyens et le nombre moyen d'heures annuelles travaillées par emploi, peuvent aussi être examinées.

Ces statistiques clés peuvent être analysées selon diverses caractéristiques des emplois (salarié ou travailleur autonome, temps plein ou temps partiel, groupe professionnel) et les caractéristiques des personnes qui les occupent (sexe, groupe d'âge, statut d'immigrant). Des renseignements sont également disponibles selon la profession. On peut procéder à des comparaisons avec les estimations de l'emploi du Système des comptes nationaux du Canada (SCNC) pour l'ensemble de l'économie et pour certaines industries, ainsi qu'avec les agrégats du Compte satellite du tourisme du Canada (CSTC) et des Indicateurs nationaux du tourisme (INT).

La portée de cette étude est comparable à celle de l'étude nationale la plus récente1, avec l'addition de deux années de données : 2008 et 2009. Les renseignements sur le nombre d'emplois, les heures travaillées et les gains d'emploi sont présentés pour les mêmes groupes d'industries, y compris pour les emplois à temps plein et à temps partiel. Les renseignements sont aussi disponibles selon les mêmes caractéristiques d'employés (sexe, groupe d'âge et statut d'immigrant) ainsi que pour des professions comparables.

Plus particulièrement, le MRH du Canada fournit des estimations annuelles pour les années allant de 1997 à 2009. Ces estimations sont fondées sur des données nationales tirées des Comptes canadiens de productivité (CCP)2 qui sont une source essentielle de données du MRH, ainsi que sur les données de l'Enquête sur la population active (EPA). Les données de recensement pour 2001 et 2006 sont utilisées, de même que la classification des industries selon le Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) de 2002 et la classification des professions selon la Classification nationale des professions pour les statistiques (CNP-S) de 2006.


Notes :

  1. Voir Bisaillon et Morissette (2009).
  2. Voir Statistique Canada (2009).
Date de modification :