Revisions

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

As mentioned in the previous section, with this update, two new years of data are provided: 2008 and 2009. However, data for the period 1997 to 2007 have also been revised. The purpose of this section is to outline and explain the main revisions to the data.

While jobs for the total economy have not changed over the period 1997 to 2007, jobs in tourism industries have been revised downward by 21,000 jobs in 2006 and downward by 54,000 jobs in 2007. Jobs were lowered mainly in the food and beverage services industries and to a lesser extent in the accommodation industries.

The downward revisions stem from changes in the Canadian Productivity Accounts (CPA), which in turn come from two main sources:1

  • The Canadian System of National Accounts 2005 final and 2006 preliminary Input-Output tables were published in December 2009. This explains the revisions to jobs in 2006.

  • T4 data for the year 2007 were incorporated, creating revisions to jobs of 2007.

Weekly hours per job, for both the total economy and the tourism sector, have not changed over the 1997 to 2007 period. Hourly compensation for the total economy was unchanged over the same period. However, hourly compensation in tourism industries is between 12 to 15 cents lower per hour over the same period compared to the last Human Resources Module (HRM). This stems from the change in the calculation of the labour portion of mixed income for the self- employed, mentioned earlier.


Note:

  1. See Statistics Canada 2009.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Révisions

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comme il est mentionné à la section précédente, la présente mise à jour comporte l'ajout de données pour deux nouvelles années, à savoir 2008 et 2009. Toutefois, les données pour la période allant de 1997 à 2007 ont été révisées. Le but de la présente section est de décrire et d'expliquer les principales révisions des données.

Alors que le nombre d'emplois pour l'ensemble de l'économie n'a pas changé au cours de la période allant de 1997 à 2007, le nombre d'emplois dans les industries touristiques a été réduit de 21 000 en 2006 et de 54 000 en 2007. Le nombre d'emplois a été révisé à la baisse principalement dans le groupe des services de restauration et, dans une moindre mesure, dans celui de l'hébergement.

Les révisions à la baisse proviennent de changements dans les Comptes canadiens de productivité (CCP). Deux raisons principales sont à la base de ces changements1 :

  • Les nouveaux tableaux d'entrées-sorties des comptes nationaux (données finales de 2005 et données provisoires de 2006) ont été publiés en décembre 2009, ce qui explique principalement les révisions du nombre d'emplois en 2006;

  • Les données des feuillets T4 pour 2007 ont été intégrées, ce qui a donné lieu à des révisions des nombres d'emplois pour 2007.

Le nombre d'heures de travail hebdomadaires par emploi, tant pour l'économie dans son ensemble que pour le secteur du tourisme, n'a pas changé de 1997 à 2007. Au cours de la même période, la rémunération horaire pour l'ensemble de l'économie n'a pas varié, tandis que la rémunération horaire dans les industries touristiques a baissé d'un montant variant de 12 à 15 cents de l'heure comparativement aux données du dernier Module des ressources humaines (MRH). Ce changement est dû à la modification du calcul de la portion travail du revenu mixte des travailleurs autonomes mentionnée plus haut.


Note :

  1. Voir Statistique Canada (2009).
Date de modification :