Introduction

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

The aim of the Human Resource Module (HRM) is to provide timely and reliable statistics on the human resource dimension of tourism.

Both the Canadian Tourism Satellite Account (CTSA) and the National Tourism Indicators (NTI) already carry some information on the number of jobs generated by tourism at the national level.1   The HRM complements and enhances the analytical capacity provided by the CTSA and the NTI, allowing for a broader insight into tourism's role in the economy by providing more detailed human resource information.

For example, human resource planning involves all persons working in tourism industries regardless of whether their job comes directly from serving a visitor or from serving a local resident. Consequently, the total number of jobs in tourism industries is a major focus of the HRM and is much broader than the CTSA and the NTI, which portray only the jobs directly attributable to visitor spending. In addition, some outputs of tourism industries are considered non-tourism commodities because tourism is not a significant source of their demand. Nevertheless, their production generates jobs in tourism industries, and these jobs are included in the overall human resource planning for tourism industries.

The HRM serves as a useful planning and forecasting tool for policy makers in the tourism, employment and training areas. Various tourism-affiliated agencies, academics, and decision-makers in tourism use it for research and analysis, planning and development. An extension to the provincial level has also been started,2 to make the HRM more relevant to these audiences, for similar purposes.

Outlining the rest of the report, the scope of the study is described in the next section, followed by a discussion of changes to the methodology and an explanation of revisions to the data. Selected results are then discussed to demonstrate analytical uses of the HRM. Conclusions and future work are discussed in the last section, followed by a selection of relevant data tables.

Appendices A and B discuss the accounting frameworks behind the HRM, key tourism concepts and definitions from the CTSA, and various labour concepts and definitions from the Canadian System of National Accounts (CSNA). Appendix C summarizes the data sources and Appendix D outlines the general methodology used. Appendix E provides a list of North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) industries included in the industry groups used by the HRM, while Appendix F lists the occupations used by the HRM from the National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S). A summary of the tables available upon request in the HRM is included in Appendix G. A glossary of terms and a list of references are also provided.


Notes:

  1. Some provincial information on the number of jobs generated by tourism was provided in Barber-Dueck and Kotsovos 2003.
  2. See Bisaillon 2010.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Introduction

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le Module des ressources humaines (MRH) vise à produire des statistiques courantes et fiables sur l'aspect ressources humaines du tourisme.

Le Compte satellite du tourisme du Canada (CSTC) et les Indicateurs nationaux du tourisme (INT) comportent déjà certains renseignements sur le nombre d'emplois créés par le tourisme au niveau national1. Le MRH complète et améliore la capacité d'analyse découlant du CSTC et des INT, en fournissant des renseignements plus détaillés sur les ressources humaines, donnant ainsi un aperçu plus large du rôle du tourisme dans l'économie.

Par exemple, la planification des ressources humaines touche toutes les personnes qui travaillent dans le secteur du tourisme, que leur emploi soit lié directement aux services offerts à des visiteurs ou lié aux services offerts à des résidents locaux. Par conséquent, le nombre total d'emplois dans les industries touristiques constitue un élément central du MRH et est plus vaste que dans le CSTC et les INT, lesquels rendent compte uniquement des emplois découlant directement des dépenses des visiteurs. De plus, certains des produits des industries touristiques ne sont pas considérés des biens touristiques car les visiteurs n'en consomment pas, mais leur production crée des emplois. Ces emplois font partie de la planification des ressources humaines dans les industries touristiques.

Le MRH est un outil essentiel pour la planification et les prévisions pour les décideurs dans les domaines du tourisme, de l'emploi et de la formation. Divers organismes liés au tourisme, chercheurs universitaires et décideurs dans le domaine du tourisme utilisent ces données pour la recherche et l'analyse, la planification et le développement. Une nouvelle application du MRH a aussi débuté au niveau provincial2,visant à accroître l'intérêt que présente le module pour ces auditoires et pour des fins similaires.

Pour donner un aperçu du reste du rapport, précisons que la portée de l'étude est décrite à la section suivante, suivie d'une discussion des changements apportés à la méthodologie et d'une explication des révisions aux données. Certains résultats sont ensuite examinés afin de démontrer les utilisations analytiques du MRH. Les conclusions et les travaux à venir sont abordés à la dernière section, suivie d'une sélection pertinente de tableaux de données.

L' annexes A et B exposent les cadres comptables qui sous-tendent le MRH, les concepts et définitions clés du tourisme du CSTC, ainsi que divers concepts et définitions du travail tirés du Système des comptes nationaux du Canada (SCNC). L'annexe C résume les sources de données et l'annexe D fait état de la méthodologie générale utilisée. L'annexe E comporte une liste des industries du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) incluses dans les groupes d'industries utilisés dans le MRH, tandis que l'annexe F fournit une liste des professions utilisées dans le MRH de la Classification nationale des professions pour les statistiques (CNP-S). Un résumé des tableaux disponibles sur demande dans le MRH figure à l'annexe G. Un glossaire des termes et une bibliographie sont également fournis.


Notes :

  1. Certains renseignements sur le nombre d'emplois créés par le tourisme par province ont été fournis par Barber-Dueck et Kotsovos (2003).
  2. Voir Bisaillon 2010.
Date de modification :