Conclusion and future work

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

In 2009, jobs in tourism industries declined 0.6%, a smaller decline than for all industries in Canada (-1.7%) and a smaller decline than for jobs generated by tourism demand (-2.2%). Jobs in tourism industries were not affected as much because of sustained local consumption of tourism commodities.

With this update, it has been possible to improve the timeliness of the data. The data can now be published six months after the reference period. Estimates were provided up to and including 2009, an addition of two years of data.  The methodology for imputing the labour portion of mixed income was also improved through the exclusion of Supplementary Labour Income (SLI).

The feasibility of extending the Human Resources Module (HRM) to a regional dimension has been explored and has been successful for Ontario.  Another pilot is planned to look at the feasibility of using the methodology of the HRM for a province with a smaller population.

Currently the HRM provides information on the total number of jobs due to the production of commodities in tourism industries whether the commodities are consumed by visitors or by local residents. Work is currently underway to develop detailed estimates that identify separately, at the national level, jobs due to production serving visitors from jobs due to production serving local residents.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Conclusion et travaux à venir

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

En 2009, le nombre d'emplois dans les industries touristiques a baissé de 0,6 %, soit un recul plus faible que celui enregistré pour l'ensemble des industries au Canada (-1,7 %) et que celui affiché par les emplois créés par la demande touristique (-2,2 %). Les emplois dans les industries touristiques n'ont pas été touchés autant, en raison d'une consommation locale soutenue de produits et services touristiques.

La présente mise à jour a permis d'améliorer l'actualité des données. Il est maintenant possible de publier six mois après l'année de référence. Les estimations ont été fournies jusqu'à 2009 inclusivement, ce qui représente un ajout de données couvrant deux années. En outre, nous avons amélioré la méthode d'imputation de la partie attribuable au travail du revenu mixte grâce à l'exclusion du revenu supplémentaire du travail.

 L'étude de faisabilité de l'extension du Module des ressources humaines (MRH) afin d'ajouter une dimension régionale a donné de bons résultats pour l'Ontario. Toutefois, il est prévu de réaliser une autre étude pilote pour une province moins peuplée, afin de déterminer si la méthode utilisée pour le MRH est applicable dans ce cas.

À l'heure actuelle, le MRH fournit des renseignements sur le nombre total d'emplois liés à la production de biens et services dans les industries touristiques, que ces biens et services soient consommés par des visiteurs ou par des résidents locaux. Des travaux sont en cours en vue d'élaborer des estimations détaillées qui identifieraient séparément à l'échelle nationale la production consommée par les visiteurs de la production consommée par les résidents locaux.

Date de modification :