Highlights

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
  • This study provides detailed employment data in a Human Resource Module (HRM) of the Canadian Tourism Satellite Account (CTSA). This information is useful for tourism analysts and employment and training planners.

  • Since the HRM is based on the same concepts as the CTSA and the National Tourism Indicators (NTI), direct comparisons can be made with the data in these accounts.

  • With this release, the HRM is updated to 2007 from 2006. Revised Labour Force Survey, and Canadian Productivity Accounts' estimates, as well as the Census 2006, have been incorporated, leading to revisions of the HRM estimates for 1997 to 2006. In addition, a refinement was made to better match the tourism industries in the CTSA. Finally, occupation groups are now based on the National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) 2006.

  • Detailed information is available for all tourism industries, in this case aggregated into five industry groups. These industry groups include transportation (which is further split into air transportation and other transportation), accommodation, food and beverage services, recreation and entertainment and travel services.

  • The HRM provides information on the number of employee jobs, hours worked, and employment earnings according to whether the jobs are full-time or part-time, by occupation. The same information is also available according to the gender, age group and immigrant status of employees. More aggregated estimates are provided for self-employment jobs.

  • One of the strengths of the HRM is that it can convey information from two different perspectives; the total industry approach and the CTSA approach. With the former, all jobs in an industry are estimated. With the CTSA approach, in contrast, only a fraction of these jobs, the ones that can be directly attributed to spending by tourists, is estimated.

  • With this update, the annual estimates of total employment in the tourism industry groups of the HRM are made available. Detailed estimates of the employment that can be directly attributed to tourism demand (or spending by tourists) are under development.

  • In 2007, 1.7 million jobs were held in the tourism industries covered in the HRM. This represented about 10% of the 17.1 million jobs in the economy that year.

  • According to the National Tourism Indicators, 525 thousand of these 1.7 million jobs could be directly attributed to tourism demand (spending).

  • The number of jobs in the tourism industries was up 3.4% in 2007, after growing 2.0% in 2006. By comparison, the number of jobs economy-wide was up 2.1% in 2007, following a 1.8% gain in 2006.

  • In 2007, food and beverage services added 23 thousand jobs, while more modest increases were recorded in recreation and entertainment (+10 thousand), other transportation (+10 thousand) and accommodation (+8 thousand). Job gains were smaller in air transportation (+2 thousand) and travel services (+2 thousand).

  • The weekly hours worked in jobs in the tourism industries averaged 29.8 hours in 2007, compared to an economy-wide average of 33.3 hours per job.

  • Hourly compensation increased faster in tourism industries compared to the economy overall. Hourly compensation in tourism in 2007 was $18.33 per hour, up 5.1% from one year earlier. Hourly compensation averaged $27.68 across all jobs in the economy, up 4.0%.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Faits saillants

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

  • La présente étude fournit des données détaillées sur l'emploi, sous forme de Module des ressources humaines (MRH) du Compte satellite du tourisme du Canada (CSTC). Ces données sont utiles pour les analystes du tourisme et les planificateurs de l'emploi et de la formation.

  • Du fait que le MRH repose sur les mêmes concepts que le CSTC et les Indicateurs nationaux du tourisme (INT), on peut procéder à des comparaisons directes avec les données de ces comptes.

  • La présente diffusion comporte une mise à jour du MRH pour 2007 par rapport à 2006. Les estimations révisées de l'Enquête sur la population active et des Comptes canadiens de productivité ainsi que le Recensement de 2006 ont été intégrées, ce qui a entraîné des révisions des estimations du MRH pour la période de 1997 à 2006. Par ailleurs, une mise au point a été effectuée afin de mieux faire correspondre les industries du tourisme dans le CSTC. Enfin, les groupes de professions sont maintenant fondés sur la Classification nationale des professions pour statistiques (CNP-S) de 2006.

  • Des renseignements détaillés sont disponibles pour toutes les industries touristiques, agrégées, dans ce cas, en cinq groupes. Ces groupes d'industries sont le transport (qui est par la suite réparti entre le transport aérien et les autres industries du transport), l'hébergement, la restauration, les loisirs et divertissements et les services de voyages.

  • Le MRH fournit des renseignements sur le nombre d'emplois d'employés, les heures travaillées et les revenus d'emploi, répartis entre les emplois à temps plein et à temps partiel, selon la profession. Les mêmes données sont aussi disponibles selon le sexe, le groupe d'âge et le statut d'immigrant des employés. Des estimations plus agrégées sont fournies pour les emplois de travailleurs autonomes.

  • Une des forces du MRH est le fait qu'il fournit de l'information selon deux perspectives différentes : l'approche de l'ensemble de l'industrie et l'approche du CSTC. Dans le premier cas, tous les emplois d'une industrie sont estimés. En ce qui a trait à l'approche du CSTC, par contre, seule une fraction de ces emplois, c'est-à-dire ceux pouvant être directement attribués aux dépenses des touristes, est estimée.

  • La présente mise à jour permet la production d'estimations annuelles de l'emploi total dans les groupes d'industries touristiques du MRH. Les estimations détaillées de l'emploi qui peut être directement attribué à la demande touristique (ou aux dépenses des touristes) sont en voie d'élaboration.

  • En 2007, on comptait 1,7 million d'emplois dans les industries touristiques comprises dans le MRH. Cela correspond à environ 10 % des 17,1 millions d'emplois dans l'économie cette année-là.

  • Selon les Indicateurs nationaux du tourisme, 525 000 de ce 1,7 million d'emplois peuvent être directement attribués à la demande touristique (dépenses).

  • Le nombre d'emplois dans les industries touristiques a connu une hausse de 3,4 % en 2007, qui faisait suite à une croissance de 2,0 % en 2006. En comparaison, le nombre d'emplois dans l'ensemble de l'économie a connu une hausse de 2,1 % en 2007, après une augmentation de 1,8 % en 2006.

  • En 2007, des hausses importantes ont touché la restauration (+23 000 emplois), et des augmentations plus modestes ont été enregistrées pour les loisirs et divertissements (+10 000 emplois), les autres industries du transport (+10 000 emplois) et l'hébergement (+8 000 emplois). La croissance de l'emploi a été beaucoup plus faible dans le transport aérien (+2 000 emplois) et les services de voyages (+2 000 emplois).

  • Le nombre hebdomadaire d'heures travaillées dans les emplois des industries touristiques s'est situé en moyenne à 29,8 en 2007, comparativement à une moyenne de 33,3 heures par emploi dans l'ensemble de l'économie.

  • La rémunération horaire a augmenté plus rapidement dans les industries touristiques que dans l'ensemble de l'économie. En 2007, la rémunération horaire dans les industries touristiques se situait à 18,33 $, en hausse de 5,1 % par rapport à l'année précédente. La rémunération horaire se situait en moyenne à 27,68 $ pour l'ensemble des emplois dans l'économie, en hausse de 4,0 %.

Date de modification :