Scope of study

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

The scope of this study is unchanged from last year. The information on the number of jobs, hours worked and employment earnings is presented for the same industry groups for full- and part-time jobs. The information is also available according to the same characteristics of employees (gender, age group and immigrant status). Some occupations have been added, however, while others have been removed.

The Human Resources Module (HRM) annual estimates have been updated to 2007. In addition, previous estimates for 1997 to 2006 have been revised as a result of adjustments to the Canadian Productivity Accounts data, which is a key input to the HRM, as well as revisions to the labour force survey data. As well, new census data were incorporated along with the National Occupational Classification for statistics 2006 (NOC-S 2006) occupation classification. The change in classification will help to keep the HRM relevant and up to date.

Industry classifications

This study uses the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 2002 to define the tourism-related industries. Briefly, NAICS is a comprehensive industry classification system encompassing all economic activities. It is designed for the compilation of production statistics and, therefore, for the classification of data relating to establishments (and locations). The criteria used to group establishments into industries in NAICS are similarity of input structures, labour skills or production processes used.

In order to maintain the reliability of the data, several tourism industries have been grouped together. Thus the tourism industry groups of the HRM include:

  1. Transportation
    • Air transportation
    • All other transportation (includes rail, water, bus, taxi and vehicle rental)
  2. Accommodation
  3. Food and beverage services
  4. Recreation and entertainment
  5. Travel services.

In this update a refinement was made to better match the tourism industries in the Canadian Tourism Satellite Account (CTSA). As a result, several non-tourism sub-industries are now excluded from the estimates. See Appendix C for a complete list, including NAICS codes.

Occupational classification

This study uses the National Occupational Classification for Statistics (NOC-S) definitions of occupations. The basic principle of classification of the NOC-S is that of kind of work performed. An occupation is thus defined as a collection of jobs, sufficiently similar in work performed to be grouped under a common title for classification purposes.

The selection of occupations for this study is based on an examination of the occupational data from the 2001 Census for persons in the experienced labour force whose main job was in one of the tourism industry groups of the HRM. Occupations with an estimated 5,000 employed persons (i.e., with underlying samples of roughly 1000 persons) or more were selected for this study.

Occupations were added if the 2006 Census obtained more than 1000 persons in the sample: casino occupations (G723), food counter attendants, kitchen helper and related occupations (G961) and technical occupations related to museum and arts galleries (F112) were added for recreation and entertainment industries. Program leaders and instructors in recreation and sport (F154) for accommodation industries were also added.

Conversely, occupations were removed if the 2006 Census obtained fewer than 500 persons in the sample. These occupations were too "small" to support time series based on much thinner samples from the Labour Force Survey (LFS). Between 500 and 1000 persons, some occupations were removed: facility operation and maintenance manager (A141) was removed for recreation and entertainment industries and railway track maintenance workers (H732) and railway carmen/women (H414) were removed for other transportation industries. A detailed listing of occupations along with their NOC-S codes is included in Appendix D.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Portée de l'étude

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La portée de la présente étude reste inchangée par rapport à l'an dernier. Les renseignements relatifs au nombre d'emplois, aux heures travaillées et au revenu de travail sont présentés pour les mêmes groupes d'industries et pour les emplois à temps plein et à temps partiel. Les renseignements sont aussi disponibles selon les mêmes caractéristiques d'employés (sexe, groupe d'âge et statut d'immigrant). Quelques professions ont été ajoutées alors que d'autres ont été éliminées.

Les estimations annuelles du Module des ressources humaines (MRH) ont été mises à jour jusqu'en 2007. De plus, les estimations antérieures couvrant la période de 1997 à 2006 ont été ajustées suite aux révisions apportées aux données des Comptes canadiens de productivité, qui sont une source de données clés du MRH, et suite à la révision des données de l'Enquête sur la population active. De plus, de nouvelles données sur le recensement ont été incorporées et nous utilisons maintenant la classification pour les professions Classification nationale des professions pour statistiques (CNP-S 2006). Le changement de classification permet de conserver la pertinence du MRH et de le mettre à jour.

Classifications des industries

La présente étude repose sur le Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) 2002, pour définir les industries liées au tourisme. Brièvement, le SCIAN est un système exhaustif de classification des industries qui englobe toutes les activités économiques. Il a été conçu pour élaborer des statistiques de production et, de ce fait, pour servir à la classification de données sur les établissements (et leurs emplacements). Le critère utilisé pour grouper les établissements en catégories dans le SCIAN est la similitude des structures des facteurs, des compétences de la main-d'œuvre ou des processus de production.

  1. Afin de maintenir la fiabilité des données, plusieurs industries touristiques ont été groupées. Les groupes d'industries du tourisme du MRH sont donc les suivants :
    • Transport
    • Transport aérien
  2. Toutes les autres industries du transport (ce qui comprend le transport par rail, par eau, par autobus, par taxi et la location de véhicules)
  3. Hébergement
  4. Restauration
  5. Loisirs et divertissements
  6. Services de voyages.

Dans la présente mise à jour, une mise au point a été apportée afin de mieux réfléter les industries touristiques définies par le Compte satellite du tourisme du Canada (CSTC). Par conséquent plusieurs industries auxiliaires non liées au tourisme sont dorénavant exclues des estimations. Voir l'Annexe C pour une liste complète y compris les codes du SCIAN.

Classification des professions

La présente étude repose sur les définitions des professions de la Classification nationale des professions pour les statistiques (CNP-S). Le principe de base de la classification de la CNP-S est le type de travail effectué. Une profession est par conséquent définie comme un ensemble d'emplois suffisamment similaires du point de vue du travail effectué pour être regroupés sous un titre commun aux fins de la classification.

La sélection des professions pour la présente étude est fondée sur un examen des données sur les professions du Recensement de 2001 pour les personnes appartenant à la population active expérimentée dont l'emploi principal faisait partie des groupes d'industries touristiques du MRH. Les professions qui comptent 5 000 personnes occupées (c.-à-d. avec des échantillons sous-jacents d'environ 1 000 personnes) ou plus ont été sélectionnées.

Des professions ont été ajoutées si, dans le recensement de 2006, ils y avait plus de 1 000 personnes dans l'échantillon. Les catégories personnel préposé au jeu dans les casinos (G723), serveurs au comptoir, aides de cuisine et personnel assimilé (G961) et personnel technique des musées et des galeries d'art (F112) ont été ajoutées pour les industries de loisirs et divertissements et les animateurs et responsables de programmes de sports, de loisirs et de conditionnement physique (F154) pour les industries d'hébergement.

Par contre, des professions ont été retirées s'il y avait moins de 500 emplois dans l'échantillon du Recensement de 2006. En effet, ces professions sont trop limitées pour appuyer des séries chronologiques fondées sur des échantillons beaucoup plus restreints de L'Enquête sur la population active (l'EPA). Pour les professions représentant entre 500 et 1 000 personnes, certaines ont été retirées : les directeurs de l'exploitation et de l'entretien des immeubles (A141) ont été retirées pour les industries de loisirs et divertissements et les ouvriers à l'entretien de la voie ferrée (H732) et les réparateurs de wagons (H414) pour les autres industries du transport. Une liste détaillée des professions, ainsi que de leurs codes de la (CNP-S) de 2006, figure à l'Annexe D.

Date de modification :