Introduction

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]13-604-m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] The aim of the Human Resource Module (HRM) is to provide timely and reliable statistics on the human resource dimension of tourism. Both the Canadian Tourism Satellite Account (CTSA) and the National Tourism Indicators (NTI) already carry some limited information on the number of jobs generated by tourism, while the former carries information on the labour income associated with these jobs as well.

The HRM complements and enhances the analytical capacity provided by the CTSA and the NTI, allowing for a broader insight into tourism's role in the economy. It also serves as a useful planning and forecasting tool for policy makers in the tourism, employment and training areas. Various tourism-affiliated agencies, academics, and decision-makers in tourism will also be able to use it for research and analysis, planning and development.

Human resource planning involves all persons working in tourism, regardless of whether their income comes directly from serving a tourist or a non-tourist.  Consequently, the total number of jobs in tourism industries is a major focus of the HRM. This is broader than the CTSA and the NTI, which portray only the jobs generated by tourism demand.

It should be emphasized that, for consistency with the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts (CSNEA), the HRM uses the number of jobs as its key measure of employment. This is not the same as the Labour Force Survey measure of employment, which is the number of people employed. The two differ because of multiple job-holders, thus the former measure exceeds the latter by the number of people with second, third, etc., jobs.

Outlining the rest of the report, the following two sections discuss the accounting frameworks behind the HRM, key tourism concepts and definitions from the CTSA, and various labour concepts and definitions from the CSNEA. The scope of the study, including descriptions of the industry groups and occupations used, is described next. Selected results are then discussed to demonstrate analytical uses of the HRM. Conclusions and future work are discussed in the last section.

Appendix A summarizes the data sources and Appendix B outlines the methodology. Appendix C provides a list of North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) industries included in the industry groups of the HRM, while Appendix D lists the occupations. A summary of the tables available in the HRM is included in Appendix E. A glossary of terms and a list of references are also provided.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Introduction

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'objectif du Module des ressources humaines (MRH) consiste à produire des statistiques courantes et fiables sur l'aspect des ressources humaines du tourisme. Le Compte satellite du tourisme du Canada (CSTC) et les Indicateurs nationaux du tourisme (INT) comportent tous deux des renseignements limités sur le nombre d'emplois créés par le tourisme, alors que le premier comporte en plus des renseignements sur le revenu du travail lié à ces emplois.

Le MRH complète et améliore la capacité d'analyse découlant du CSTC et des INT, permettant d'avoir un aperçu plus large du rôle du tourisme au sein de l'économie. Il sert en outre comme outil de planification et de prévision utile pour les décideurs dans le domaine du tourisme, de l'emploi et de la formation. Divers organismes liés au tourisme, chercheurs universitaires et décideurs dans le domaine du tourisme pourront aussi utiliser ces données pour la recherche et l'analyse, la planification et le développement.

La planification des ressources humaines touche toutes les personnes qui travaillent dans une activité liée au tourisme peu importe si leur revenu provient directement des services offerts à des touristes ou à d'autres personnes. Par conséquent, le nombre total d'emplois des industries du tourisme constitue un élément de premier plan du MRH. Ce dernier est plus vaste que le CSTC et les INT, qui rendent compte uniquement des emplois découlant de la demande touristique.

Il convient de souligner que, pour assurer la cohérence avec le Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada (SCENC), le MRH utilise le nombre d'emplois comme mesure clé de l'emploi. Il diffère en cela de la mesure de l'emploi découlant de l'Enquête sur la population active, qui correspond au nombre de personnes occupées. La différence entre les deux vient des personnes qui détiennent plusieurs emplois, la première mesure de l'emploi dépassant la deuxième selon le nombre de personnes qui détiennent un deuxième, un troisième, etc., emploi.

Les deux sections qui suivent donnent un aperçu du reste du rapport et abordent les cadres comptables qui sous-tendent le MRH, les concepts et définitions clés du tourisme du CSTC, et divers concepts et définitions du travail tirés du SCENC. La portée de l'étude, y compris la description des groupes d'industries et des professions sur lesquels elle repose, sont décrites ci-après. Certains résultats sont par la suite examinés, afin de démontrer les utilisations analytiques du MRH. Les conclusions et les travaux à venir sont abordés dans la dernière section.

L'Annexe A résume les sources de données et l'Annexe B fait état de la méthodologie. L'Annexe C comporte une liste des classes d'industries du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) incluses dans les groupes d'industries du MRH, tandis que l'Annexe D comporte une liste des professions. Un sommaire des tableaux disponibles dans le MRH figure à l'Annexe E. Un glossaire des termes et une bibliographie sont aussi fournis.

Date de modification :