Publications

Income and Expenditure Accounts Technical Series

Real Import and Export Adjustments to Account for Exchange Rate Fluctuations

Real Import and Export Adjustments to Account for Exchange Rate Fluctuations

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

Background and rationale behind the adjustment

International trade is an integral part of the Canadian economy. Canadian firms ship goods and provide services to export markets while Canadian consumers and firms rely on foreign producers to supply goods and services for final consumption, as well as to provide inputs into domestic production. In 2008 Canadian exports totalled $562 billion, while imports totalled $537 billion, relative to an aggregate gross domestic product of $1,600 billion.

Effectively measuring these transactions is central to monitoring Canada's trade performance and balance of payments, as well as to the derivation of the expenditure-based gross domestic product (GDP) estimate. GDP estimates serve to measure the total value of production in the Canadian economy and the growth in this production over time. This growth measure is derived both in terms of the value at the current prices of produced goods and services, as well as the real or volume growth of this output. The real measure requires the deflation of GDP components which removes price or inflationary effects over the period. The deflation process for international trade statistics relies on dividing the import and export value series by appropriate price indexes to arrive at volume, or real, movements.

Statistics Canada produces monthly import and export merchandise trade price indexes which are used in this deflation. For the majority of these indexes, Statistics Canada uses a variety of proxy measures to derive these indexes in lieu of collecting observed import and export prices. These proxy measures include average prices derived from customs documentation, Canadian domestic prices from Statistics Canada's Industrial Product Price Index (IPPI) program, or U.S. domestic price indexes adjusted for the Canada/U.S. exchange rate. In the case of the latter, 100% of the fluctuation in the exchange rate is applied to the U.S. domestic indexes to arrive at the Canadian import price variation.

These methodologies, therefore, are based on assumptions concerning the relationship between domestic prices, international trade prices and exchange rates. Namely,

  • export and domestic prices behave in the same manner
  • Canadian importers are subject to the same price changes as U.S. domestic purchasers, denominated in U.S. dollars.

Although these assumptions are reasonable during times of exchange rate stability, a review was triggered by the rapid appreciation of the Canadian dollar, which began in 2002. At that time, imbalances between the supply of goods (production plus imports) and the disposition of goods (consumption, exports, inventories and intermediate use) became apparent. This resulted in differences between expenditure-based and production-based gross domestic product estimates. The result of that research indicated that during times of large exchange rate fluctuations, export and domestic prices behave differently, and that Canadian importers are not subject to the same price changes as U.S. domestic purchasers. Based on this research, Statistics Canada has been adjusting its aggregate estimates of real exports and real imports. These adjustments serve to improve the overall coherence of the real expenditure and real production-based accounts1. The purpose of this note is to explain the methodology behind these adjustments. The impact these adjustments have on estimates of real merchandise trade and gross domestic product is provided in Appendix 1.

Chart 1 Exchange rate
Description for Chart 1
Chart 1 Exchange rate

Adjustment to real exports

The adjustment to real exports is based on the analysis of three sets of information.

  1. A comparison is made between constant dollar exports and the actual quantity2 of units exported. This comparison is performed for a subset of commodities (Appendix 2). The commodities selected for the comparison are relatively homogeneous over time, consistently report quantity information on customs documentation, and are currently deflated using IPPI's (domestic prices). The movements in export quantities are compared with the movements in the constant dollar exports for the same commodities. Divergences between these two series have been found to correlate strongly with exchange rate fluctuations and indicate that in times of Canadian dollar appreciation, growth measured through quantities outpaces the growth of the constant dollar estimate for the same series. The implication is that the constant dollar growth estimate is too low, and that the true export price growth is lower than the price growth of the domestic IPPI when the Canadian dollar is appreciating. When the Canadian dollar is depreciating, the opposite is true. The difference in growth rates between the quantity series and the constant dollar export series (using the domestic IPPI) is used to derive the first component of the adjustment to real exports.
  2. The second adjustment makes use of directly observed export prices which are available through the Industrial Product Price Index program (IPPI). Although the export prices used to produce these price indexes are not based on an adequate number of price quotes to be published, they are nevertheless analytically useful. For two machinery and equipment commodity prices (industrial machinery and agricultural machinery), the domestic prices are compared to specific machinery and equipment export prices to determine if an exchange rate driven bias exists. The research showed that divergences between the export prices and domestic prices for these commodities are correlated with exchange rate fluctuations.
  3. Finally, a set of economy wide supply disposition models, as well as extensive coherence analysis between production and export estimates are used as an input into the adjustment to real exports.

Because the supply disposition analysis is focused on total exports rather than specific commodities, and because the results of the commodity level analysis are believed to be more accurate at the aggregate level, the three adjustments are combined together and applied at the aggregated level in the real export series'other balance of payments adjustments'3. The price of the 'other balance of payments adjustments' series is also adjusted as a consequence. The effect of the adjustment on the aggregate merchandise exports price series is evident when comparing the implicit price with, and without, the adjustment.

Chart 2 Merchandise export price
Description for Chart 2
Chart 2 Merchandise export price

Adjustment to real imports

The adjustment to real imports is derived from three sources.

  1. The first adjustment is based on the timing difference between when goods imported to Canada were shipped from their country of origin and their date of arrival in Canada. Although imports may have been shipped prior to the month when they arrived in Canada, the current import prices are based solely on the foreign domestic price of the current month. For example, suppose a commodity was shipped in May and should correspond to a foreign price of 100. The commodity arrives in Canada in June, at which point the foreign price has risen to 110. Unadjusted, the value of the commodity would be deflated with the price index of 110. To address this issue, the aggregate import price deflator, excluding energy, is lagged and re-constructed to include 90% of the current month's price, and 10% from the previous month. The 90% to 10% weighting is based on research on transaction level import data, comparing when imports were shipped versus when they arrived in Canada4.
  2. Further, import prices based on U.S. domestic price indexes assume a 100% pass-through effect of all exchange rate fluctuations. Fixed contracts, or the ability of some foreign producers to take advantage of a strengthening Canadian currency to raise export prices relative to prices charged in their home country, lead to the need to re-examine the 100% pass-through assumption. Based on aggregate supply-disposition analysis of the Canadian economy, as well as analysis of individual import prices, an adjustment has been included which limits this pass-through to 96%.5 As previously mentioned, not all import commodities use foreign domestic price deflators; therefore this aggregate adjustment is applied to only 67% of the total import value. The 67% represents approximately the reliance of import prices on U.S. domestic prices and has been held constant over time.
  3. A quantity versus constant dollar analysis, similar to that described for exports, and commodity balancing, is performed on the import side to refine the adjustment to total real imports.

Similar to the real export adjustment, these real import adjustments are combined together and included at the aggregated level in the real import series 'other balance of payments adjustments'6. There is an adjustment effect on the aggregate real merchandise imports series, and consequently, the aggregate merchandise import price series. This is evident when comparing the implicit price with, and without, the real import adjustment.

Chart 3 Merchandise import price
Description for Chart 3
Chart 3 Merchandise import price

Impact on imports, exports and gross domestic product

By comparing real aggregate export and import estimates, with and without these adjustments, we can see the impact on the external trade data. As expected, the adjustments serve to raise real export growth and diminish real import growth during times of Canadian dollar appreciation. Further, the magnitude of the effect on the export or import growth rate is closely related to the magnitude of appreciation or depreciation for that quarter. Given the overall appreciation of the exchange rate from the end of 2002 to 2007, the level of the adjustments also tended to increase over time. However, with the significant currency depreciation in the fourth quarter of 2008, the adjustments served to reduce real export growth, and increase real import growth. The effects on total GDP are less pronounced than those on external trade, but are nevertheless significant in several quarters. The detailed adjustments are provided in Appendix 1.

Chart 4 Gross domestic product
Description for Chart 4
Chart 4 Gross domestic product


Notes:

  1. The export volume adjustment was incorporated with the first quarter release of gross domestic product in 2004. The import price adjustment was incorporated in two phases, one in the first quarter of 2007 (included from 2003 forward), and a second in the first quarter of 2008 (included from 2004 forward).
  2. Quantity as reported on the customs documentation.
  3. The other balance of payments adjustment nominal value series includes the Balance of Payments Division's estimates of inland freight, as well as adjustments for merchandise trade transactions not captured through customs documentation. Prior to the aggregate trade price adjustment, the export 'other balance of payments adjustments' series is deflated using adjustment-specific prices for inland freight and not captured trade transactions.
  4. On-going research is preformed to verify the stability of this ratio.
  5. The estimate of exchange rate pass-through is reviewed each production cycle, based on newly available supply-use data.
  6. The other balance of payments adjustment nominal value series includes the Balance of Payments Division's estimates of inland freight, as well as adjustments for merchandise trade transactions not captured through customs documentation. Prior to the aggregate real trade adjustment, the import 'other balance of payments adjustments' series is deflated using an inland freight price.
Date modified:

Publications

Comptes des revenus et dépenses - Série Technique

Ajustements aux importations et exportations réelles pour tenir compte des fluctuations du taux de change

Ajustements aux importations et exportations réelles pour tenir compte des fluctuations du taux de change

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Contexte et raison d'être des ajustements

Le commerce international fait partie intégrante de l'économie canadienne. Les entreprises canadiennes expédient des biens et fournissent des services aux marchés d'exportation, tandis que les entreprises et les consommateurs canadiens comptent sur les producteurs étrangers pour leur fournir des biens et des services pour consommation finale ainsi que des intrants pour la production intérieure. En 2008, les exportations canadiennes totalisaient 562 milliards de dollars et les importations, 537 milliards de dollars, par rapport à un produit intérieur brut agrégé de 1 600 milliards de dollars.

Il est essentiel de mesurer ces transactions efficacement pour surveiller la performance commerciale et la balance des paiements du Canada, ainsi que pour produire une estimation du produit intérieur brut (PIB) en termes de dépenses. Les estimations du PIB servent à mesurer la valeur totale de la production dans l'économie canadienne et la croissance de cette production au fil du temps. Cette mesure de la croissance est établie en termes de la valeur aux prix courants des biens et services produits ainsi que de la croissance réelle (ou en volume) de cette production. La mesure réelle nécessite la déflation des composantes du PIB de manière à éliminer les effets de l'inflation ou des prix au cours de la période. Pour les statistiques du commerce international, le processus de déflation consiste à diviser les séries sur la valeur des importations et des exportations par les indices de prix appropriés pour obtenir les mouvements en volume (ou mouvements réels).

Statistique Canada produit des indices mensuels des prix des importations et des exportations de marchandises qui sont utilisés aux fins de cette déflation. Pour la majorité de ces indices, Statistique Canada utilise une variété de mesures indirectes au lieu de recueillir les prix observés des importations et des exportations. Ces mesures indirectes comprennent les prix moyens tirés des documents douaniers, les prix intérieurs canadiens provenant du programme de l'Indice des prix des produits industriels (IPPI) de Statistique Canada ou les indices des prix intérieurs aux États-Unis ajustés en fonction du taux de change entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Dans ce dernier cas, 100 % de la fluctuation du taux de change est appliquée aux indices des prix intérieurs aux États-Unis pour déterminer la variation des prix des importations canadiennes.

Par conséquent, les méthodes sont fondées sur des hypothèses concernant la relation entre les prix intérieurs, les prix du commerce international et les taux de change, à savoir :

  • les prix intérieurs et les prix à l'exportation se comportent de la même façon;
  • les importateurs canadiens subissent les mêmes variations de prix que les acheteurs américains, en dollars américains.

Bien que ces hypothèses soient raisonnables en période de stabilité du taux de change, un examen a été rendu nécessaire par l'appréciation rapide du dollar canadien qui s'est amorcée en 2002. On s'est alors aperçu qu'il existait un déséquilibre entre l'offre de biens (production plus importations) et l'utilisation de biens (consommation, exportations, stocks et utilisation intermédiaire). Ce déséquilibre était à l'origine des écarts entre les estimations du produit intérieur brut en termes de dépenses et les estimations du PIB en termes de production. Les résultats de l'examen ont révélé qu'en période de fortes fluctuations du taux de change, les prix à l'exportation et les prix intérieurs affichent des comportements différents, et que les importateurs canadiens ne subissent pas les mêmes variations de prix que les acheteurs américains. Étant donné ces résultats, Statistique Canada a entrepris d'apporter des ajustements à ses estimations agrégées des exportations réelles et des importations réelles. Ces ajustements servent à améliorer la cohérence globale des comptes fondés sur les dépenses réelles et la production réelle1. La présente note vise à expliquer la méthodologie qui sous-tend ces ajustements. L'effet de ces derniers sur les estimations du commerce de marchandises réel et du produit intérieur brut réel est indiqué à l'annexe 1.

Graphique 1 Taux de change
Description pour le Graphique 1
Graphique 1 Taux de change

Ajustement apporté aux exportations réelles

L'ajustement apporté aux exportations réelles est fondé sur l'analyse de trois ensembles de renseignements.

  1. Les exportations en dollars constants sont comparées à la quantité réelle2 d'unités exportées. On procède à cette comparaison pour un sous-ensemble de marchandises (annexe 2). Les marchandises sélectionnées aux fins de comparaison sont relativement homogènes au fil du temps, les quantités sont indiquées systématiquement dans les documents douaniers et les prix sont déflatés actuellement au moyen de l'IPPI (prix intérieurs). Les mouvements des quantités exportées sont comparés aux mouvements des exportations des mêmes marchandises en dollars constants. On a constaté que les divergences entre ces deux séries sont fortement corrélées aux fluctuations du taux de change et indiquent qu'en période d'appréciation du dollar canadien, la croissance mesurée par les quantités est supérieure à celle de l'estimation en dollars constants pour la même série. Nous pouvons en conclure que l'estimation de la croissance en dollars constants est trop faible et que la croissance réelle des prix à l'exportation est inférieure à la croissance des prix selon l'IPPI intérieur en période d'appréciation du dollar canadien. En période de dépréciation du dollar canadien, l'inverse s'observe. La différence en ce qui concerne les taux de croissance entre la série sur la quantité et la série sur les exportations en dollars constants (d'après l'IPPI intérieur) est utilisée pour calculer la première composante de l'ajustement à apporter aux exportations réelles.
  2. Le deuxième ajustement est fondé sur les prix à l'exportation observés directement, qui proviennent du programme de l'IPPI. Même si les prix à l'exportation utilisés pour produire ces indices des prix ne sont pas fondés sur un nombre adéquat de prix relevés pouvant être publiés, ils sont néanmoins utiles aux fins d'analyse. Pour les prix des deux catégories de machines et de matériel (machines industrielles et machines agricoles), les prix intérieurs sont comparés aux prix à l'exportation de machines et de matériel particuliers pour déterminer s'il existe un biais attribuable au taux de change. Les recherches montrent que, dans le cas de ces marchandises, les divergences entre les prix à l'exportation et les prix intérieurs sont corrélées aux fluctuations du taux de change.
  3. Enfin, un ensemble de modèles offre-utilisation ainsi qu'une analyse de cohérence exhaustive des estimations de la production et des exportations sont utilisés comme intrants dans l'ajustement apporté aux exportations réelles.

Étant donné que l'analyse de l'offre et de l'utilisation porte sur l'ensemble des exportations plutôt que sur des marchandises particulières, et puisque l'on croit que les résultats de l'analyse au niveau de la marchandise sont plus exacts que ceux au niveau agrégé, les trois ajustements sont combinés et appliqués au niveau agrégé dans la série sur les exportations réelles « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements »3. Le prix dans la série « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements » est également rajusté en conséquence. L'effet de l'ajustement sur la série des prix des exportations de marchandises agrégées est évident lorsqu'on compare le prix implicite (ajustement compris) et le prix implicite (ajustement non compris).

Graphique 2 Prix à l'exportation des marchandises
Description pour le Graphique 2
Graphique 2 Prix à l'exportation des marchandises

Ajustement apporté aux importations réelles

L'ajustement apporté aux importations réelles provient de trois sources.

  1. Le premier ajustement est fondé sur le délai écoulé entre l'expédition des biens importés au Canada de leur pays d'origine et la date de leur arrivée au Canada. Même si les importations ont été expédiées avant le mois de leur arrivée au Canada, les prix à l'importation courants sont fondés uniquement sur le prix intérieur à l'étranger du mois courant. Par exemple, supposons qu'une marchandise a été expédiée en mai, son prix à l'étranger correspondant à 100. Lorsque la marchandise est arrivée au Canada, en juin, son prix à l'étranger était passé à 110. Non ajustée, la valeur de la marchandise serait déflatée au moyen de l'indice de prix de 110. Pour régler ce problème, le déflateur des prix à l'importation agrégés, excluant l'énergie, est décalé et reconstruit de manière à inclure 90 % du prix du mois courant et 10 % de celui du mois précédent. La pondération de 90 % à 10 % est fondée sur des recherches sur les données sur les importations au niveau de la transaction, comparant la date d'expédition des marchandises importées et leur date d'arrivée au Canada4.
  2. En outre, les prix à l'importation fondés sur les indices des prix américains supposent que toutes les fluctuations du taux de change se répercutent à 100 %. Les contrats à prix fixe, ou la capacité de certains producteurs étrangers de tirer parti du raffermissement du dollar canadien pour relever les prix à l'exportation par rapport aux prix demandés dans leur propre pays, rendent nécessaire de réexaminer l'hypothèse d'une répercussion à 100 %. Un ajustement a été apporté, fondé sur l'analyse de l'offre et de l'utilisation de l'économie canadienne ainsi que sur l'analyse de divers prix à l'importation, limitant cette répercussion à 96 %5. Comme nous l'avons mentionné plus haut, des déflateurs des prix intérieurs à l'étranger ne sont pas appliqués à toutes les marchandises d'importation; par conséquent, cet ajustement agrégé est appliqué à 67 % seulement de la valeur totale des importations. Les 67 % représentent approximativement la mesure dans laquelle les prix à l'importation dépendent des prix intérieurs aux États-Unis, qui a été maintenue constante au fil du temps.
  3. Du côté des importations, on procède à une analyse des quantités par rapport à une analyse en dollars constants, semblable à celle décrite pour les exportations, ainsi qu'à l'équilibrage des biens et services, de manière à perfectionner l'ajustement apporté aux importations réelles totales.

Comme dans le cas de l'ajustement apporté aux exportations réelles, ces ajustements aux importations réelles sont combinés et inclus au niveau agrégé dans la série sur les importations réelles « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements »6. L'ajustement a un effet sur la série sur les importations de marchandises réelles agrégées et, par conséquent, sur la série sur les prix à l'importation des marchandises agrégées. C'est ce qui ressort d'une comparaison du prix implicite (ajustement aux importations réelles compris) et du prix implicite (ajustement non compris).

Graphique 3 Prix à l'importation des marchandises
Description pour le Graphique 3
Graphique 3 Prix à l'importation des marchandises

Répercussions sur les importations, les exportations et le produit intérieur brut

Une comparaison des estimations des exportations et des importations réelles agrégées, ajustements compris et non compris, montre les répercussions sur les données concernant le commerce extérieur. Comme on peut s'y attendre, en période d'appréciation du dollar canadien, les ajustements font augmenter la croissance des exportations réelles et diminuer la croissance des importations réelles. En outre, l'ampleur de l'effet sur le taux de croissance des exportations ou des importations est étroitement liée à l'importance de l'appréciation ou de la dépréciation pour le trimestre en question. Étant donné l'appréciation globale du taux de change de la fin de 2002 jusqu'en 2007, le niveau des ajustements a également eu tendance à augmenter au fil du temps. Toutefois, lors de l'importante dépréciation de la devise au quatrième trimestre de 2008, les ajustements ont eu pour effet de réduire la croissance réelle des exportations et d'augmenter la croissance réelle des importations. Les effets sur le PIB global sont moins prononcés que ceux sur le commerce extérieur, mais néanmoins considérables pour plusieurs trimestres. Les ajustements détaillés sont indiqués à l'annexe 1.

Graphique 4 Produit intérieur brut
Description pour le Graphique 4
Graphique 4 Produit intérieur brut


Notes

  1. L'ajustement apporté au volume des exportations a été intégré aux données sur le produit intérieur brut pour le premier trimestre de 2004. L'ajustement apporté au volume des exportations a été intégré en deux étapes, soit au premier trimestre de 2007 (à compter de 2003) puis au premier trimestre de 2008 (à compter de 2004).
  2. La quantité indiquée dans les documents douaniers.
  3. La série « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements »  en valeur nominale comprend les estimations du fret intérieur calculées par la Division de la balance des paiements ainsi que les ajustements apportés pour tenir compte des transactions au chapitre du commerce de marchandises non saisies dans les documents douaniers. Avant d'apporter l'ajustement au prix du commerce agrégé, on procède à la déflation de la série sur les exportations « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements » au moyen des prix ajustés pour tenir compte du fret intérieur et des transactions commerciales non saisies.
  4. Des recherches sont menées sur une base continue pour vérifier la stabilité de ce ratio.
  5. L'estimation des répercussions des variations du taux de change est examinée pour chaque cycle de production en fonction des nouvelles données disponibles sur l'offre et l'utilisation.
  6. La série « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements » en valeur nominale comprend les estimations du fret intérieur calculées par la Division de la balance des paiements ainsi que les ajustements apportés pour tenir compte des transactions au chapitre du commerce de marchandises non saisies dans les documents douaniers. Avant d'ajuster les données sur le commerce réel global, la série sur les importations « autres ajustements de la balance des paiements » est déflatée au moyen d'un prix de fret intérieur.
Date de modification :