Survey Methodology

Release date: December 20, 2016

 

The journal Survey Methodology Volume 42, Number 2 (December 2016) contains the following 6 papers, 2 short notes and one corrigendum:

Regular Papers

Tests for evaluating nonresponse bias in surveys

by Sharon L. Lohr, Minsun K. Riddles and David Morganstein

How do we tell whether weighting adjustments reduce nonresponse bias? If a variable is measured for everyone in the selected sample, then the design weights can be used to calculate an approximately unbiased estimate of the population mean or total for that variable. A second estimate of the population mean or total can be calculated using the survey respondents only, with weights that have been adjusted for nonresponse. If the two estimates disagree, then there is evidence that the weight adjustments may not have removed the nonresponse bias for that variable. In this paper we develop the theoretical properties of linearization and jackknife variance estimators for evaluating the bias of an estimated population mean or total by comparing estimates calculated from overlapping subsets of the same data with different sets of weights, when poststratification or inverse propensity weighting is used for the nonresponse adjustments to the weights. We provide sufficient conditions on the population, sample, and response mechanism for the variance estimators to be consistent, and demonstrate their small-sample properties through a simulation study.

Full article  PDF version

Reducing the response imbalance: Is the accuracy of the survey estimates improved?

by Carl-Erik Särndal, Kaur Lumiste and Imbi Traat

We present theoretical evidence that efforts during data collection to balance the survey response with respect to selected auxiliary variables will improve the chances for low nonresponse bias in the estimates that are ultimately produced by calibrated weighting. One of our results shows that the variance of the bias – measured here as the deviation of the calibration estimator from the (unrealized) full-sample unbiased estimator – decreases linearly as a function of the response imbalance that we assume measured and controlled continuously over the data collection period. An attractive prospect is thus a lower risk of bias if one can manage the data collection to get low imbalance. The theoretical results are validated in a simulation study with real data from an Estonian household survey.

Full article  PDF version

Statistical inference based on judgment post-stratified samples in finite population

by Omer Ozturk

This paper draws statistical inference for finite population mean based on judgment post stratified (JPS) samples. The JPS sample first selects a simple random sample and then stratifies the selected units into H judgment classes based on their relative positions (ranks) in a small set of size H. This leads to a sample with random sample sizes in judgment classes. Ranking process can be performed either using auxiliary variables or visual inspection to identify the ranks of the measured observations. The paper develops unbiased estimator and constructs confidence interval for population mean. Since judgment ranks are random variables, by conditioning on the measured observations we construct Rao-Blackwellized estimators for the population mean. The paper shows that Rao-Blackwellized estimators perform better than usual JPS estimators. The proposed estimators are applied to 2012 United States Department of Agriculture Census Data.

Full article  PDF version

Adaptive rectangular sampling: An easy, incomplete, neighbourhood-free adaptive cluster sampling design

by Bardia Panahbehagh

This paper introduces an incomplete adaptive cluster sampling design that is easy to implement, controls the sample size well, and does not need to follow the neighbourhood. In this design, an initial sample is first selected, using one of the conventional designs. If a cell satisfies a prespecified condition, a specified radius around the cell is sampled completely. The population mean is estimated using the π MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdahcba Gaa8xRaaaa@393E@ estimator. If all the inclusion probabilities are known, then an unbiased π MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdahcba Gaa8xRaaaa@393E@ estimator is available; if, depending on the situation, the inclusion probabilities are not known for some of the final sample units, then they are estimated. To estimate the inclusion probabilities, a biased estimator is constructed. However, the simulations show that if the sample size is large enough, the error of the inclusion probabilities is negligible, and the relative π MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdahcba Gaa8xRaaaa@393E@ estimator is almost unbiased. This design rivals adaptive cluster sampling because it controls the final sample size and is easy to manage. It rivals adaptive two-stage sequential sampling because it considers the cluster form of the population and reduces the cost of moving across the area. Using real data on a bird population and simulations, the paper compares the design with adaptive two-stage sequential sampling. The simulations show that the design has significant efficiency in comparison with its rival.

Full article  PDF version

Unequal probability inverse sampling

by Yves Tillé

In an economic survey of a sample of enterprises, occupations are randomly selected from a list until a number r of occupations in a local unit has been identified. This is an inverse sampling problem for which we are proposing a few solutions. Simple designs with and without replacement are processed using negative binomial distributions and negative hypergeometric distributions. We also propose estimators for when the units are selected with unequal probabilities, with or without replacement.

Full article  PDF version

A cautionary note on Clark Winsorization

by Mary H. Mulry, Broderick E. Oliver, Stephen J. Kaputa and Katherine J. Thompson

Winsorization procedures replace extreme values with less extreme values, effectively moving the original extreme values toward the center of the distribution. Winsorization therefore both detects and treats influential values. Mulry, Oliver and Kaputa (2014) compare the performance of the one-sided Winsorization method developed by Clark (1995) and described by Chambers, Kokic, Smith and Cruddas (2000) to the performance of M-estimation (Beaumont and Alavi 2004) in highly skewed business population data. One aspect of particular interest for methods that detect and treat influential values is the range of values designated as influential, called the detection region. The Clark Winsorization algorithm is easy to implement and can be extremely effective. However, the resultant detection region is highly dependent on the number of influential values in the sample, especially when the survey totals are expected to vary greatly by collection period. In this note, we examine the effect of the number and magnitude of influential values on the detection regions from Clark Winsorization using data simulated to realistically reflect the properties of the population for the Monthly Retail Trade Survey (MRTS) conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. Estimates from the MRTS and other economic surveys are used in economic indicators, such as the Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

Full article  PDF version

Short notes

A few remarks on a small example by Jean-Claude Deville regarding non-ignorable non-response

by Yves Tillé

An example presented by Jean-Claude Deville in 2005 is subjected to three estimation methods: the method of moments, the maximum likelihood method, and generalized calibration. The three methods yield exactly the same results for the two non-response models. A discussion follows on how to choose the most appropriate model.

Full article  PDF version

A note on the concept of invariance in two-phase sampling designs

by Jean-François Beaumont and David Haziza

Two-phase sampling designs are often used in surveys when the sampling frame contains little or no auxiliary information. In this note, we shed some light on the concept of invariance, which is often mentioned in the context of two-phase sampling designs. We define two types of invariant two-phase designs: strongly invariant and weakly invariant two-phase designs. Some examples are given. Finally, we describe the implications of strong and weak invariance from an inference point of view.

Full article  PDF version

Corrigendum

Statistical matching using fractional imputation

by Jae Kwang Kim, Emily Berg and Taesung Park
Volume 42, Number 1, (June 2016), 19-40

Full article  PDF version

Date modified:

Techniques d’enquête

Date de diffusion : 20 décembre 2016

La revue Techniques d'enquête volume 42, numéro 2 (décembre 2016) comprend 6 articles, 2 communications brèves et un corrigendum :

Articles réguliers

Tests pour évaluer le biais de non-réponse dans les enquêtes

par Sharon L. Lohr, Minsun K. Riddles et David Morganstein

Comment savoir si les ajustements de la pondération réduisent ou non le biais de non-réponse ? Si une variable est mesurée pour toutes les unités de l’échantillon sélectionné, on peut calculer une estimation approximativement sans biais de la moyenne ou du total de population pour cette variable en se servant des poids de sondage. Une seconde estimation de la moyenne ou du total de population peut être obtenue en se basant uniquement sur les répondants à l’enquête et en utilisant des poids ajustés pour tenir compte de la non-réponse. Si les deux estimations ne concordent pas, il y a des raisons de penser que les ajustements des poids n’ont peut-être pas éliminé le biais de non-réponse pour la variable en question. Dans le présent article, nous développons les propriétés théoriques des estimateurs de variance par linéarisation et par jackknife en vue d’évaluer le biais d’une estimation de la moyenne ou du total de population par comparaison des estimations obtenues pour des sous-ensembles chevauchants des mêmes données avec différents ensembles de poids, quand la poststratification ou la pondération par l’inverse de la propension à répondre servent à ajuster les poids pour tenir compte de la non-réponse. Nous donnons les conditions suffisantes sur la population, l’échantillon et le mécanisme de réponse pour que les estimateurs de variance soient convergents, et démontrons les propriétés de ces derniers pour un petit échantillon au moyen d’une étude par simulation.

Article complet Version PDF

Est-ce que la réduction du déséquilibre de la réponse accroît l’exactitude des estimations de l’enquête ?

par Carl-Erik Särndal, Kaur Lumiste et Imbi Traat

Nous présentons des preuves théoriques que les efforts déployés durant la collecte des données en vue d’équilibrer la réponse à l’enquête en ce qui concerne certaines variables auxiliaires augmentera les chances que le biais de non-réponse soit faible dans les estimations qui sont, en fin de compte, produites par pondération calée. Nous montrons que la variance du biais – mesurée ici comme étant l’écart de l’estimateur calé par rapport à l’estimateur sans biais sur échantillon complet (non réalisé) – diminue linéairement en fonction du déséquilibre de la réponse que nous supposons être mesuré et contrôlé continuellement tout au long de la période de collecte des données. Cela offre donc la perspective intéressante d’un plus faible risque de biais si l’on peut gérer la collecte des données de manière à réduire le déséquilibre. Les résultats théoriques sont validés au moyen d’une étude en simulation s’appuyant sur des données réelles provenant d’une enquête-ménages estonienne.

Article complet Version PDF

Inférence statistique fondée sur des échantillons poststratifiés par choix raisonné en population finie

par Omer Ozturk

Le présent article traite de l’inférence statistique de la moyenne d’une population finie fondée sur des échantillons poststratifiés par choix raisonné (PCR). L’échantillon PCR s’obtient en sélectionnant d’abord un échantillon aléatoire simple, puis en stratifiant les unités sélectionnées en H classes créées par choix raisonné en se basant sur les positions relatives (rangs) des unités dans un petit ensemble de taille H. Cela donne un échantillon présentant des tailles d’échantillon aléatoires dans les classes créées par choix raisonné. Le processus de classement peut être effectué en se servant de variables auxiliaires ou par inspection visuelle afin de déterminer les rangs des observations mesurées. L’article décrit l’élaboration d’un estimateur sans biais et la construction d’un intervalle de confiance pour la moyenne de population. Puisque les rangs déterminés par choix raisonné sont des variables aléatoires, en conditionnant sur les observations mesurées, nous construisons des estimateurs Rao-Blackwellisés de la moyenne de population. Nous montrons que les estimateurs Rao-Blackwellisés donnent de meilleurs résultats que les estimateurs PCR habituels. Les estimateurs proposés sont appliqués aux données du recensement de 2012 du United States Department of Agriculture.

Article complet Version PDF

Échantillonnage rectangulaire adaptatif : échantillonnage en grappes adaptatif comme plan facile, incomplet et sans recours au voisinage

par Bardia Panahbehagh

Cet article présente un plan d’échantillonnage en grappes adaptatif incomplet qui est facile à appliquer, permet de bien contrôler la taille de l’échantillon et n’oblige pas à suivre le voisinage. Dans un tel plan, on prélève un échantillon initial par un des plans classiques. Si une cellule répond à une condition préétablie, on procède à une sélection complète dans un rayon déterminé de cette cellule. On estime la moyenne de la population à l’aide de l’estimateur π . MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdaNaai Olaaaa@38B9@  Si toutes les probabilités d’inclusion sont connues, on dispose d’un estimateur π MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdahaaa@3807@  sans biais, mais si selon le cas ces probabilités sont inconnues pour une partie des unités de l’échantillon final, elles feront l’objet d’une estimation. Pour estimer les probabilités d’inclusion, on construit un estimateur biaisé. Toutefois, les simulations démontrent que, si la taille d’échantillon est suffisante, l’erreur sera négligeable pour les probabilités d’inclusion et que l’estimateur π MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqk0Jf9crFfpeea0xh9v8qiW7rqqrpipC0xd9Wqpe0dd9 qqaqFeFr0xbbG8FaYPYRWFb9fi0lXxbvc9Ff0dfrpm0dXdHqps0=vr 0=vr0=fdbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaGaeqiWdahaaa@3807@  relatif sera presque exempt de biais. Ce plan rivalise avec l’échantillonnage en grappes adaptatif, parce qu’il permet de contrôler la taille de l’échantillon final et que sa gestion est facile. Il rivalise également avec l’échantillonnage séquentiel à deux degrés, parce qu’on tient compte de la forme en grappes de la population et qu’on diminue le coût de la couverture de toute l’aire d’échantillonnage. L’auteur se sert de données réelles d’une population d’oiseaux ainsi que de simulations pour comparer ce plan à un échantillonnage séquentiel adaptatif à deux degrés. Les simulations montrent que le plan est d’une grande efficacité en comparaison à son rival.

Article complet Version PDF

Échantillonnage inverse à probabilités inégales

par Yves Tillé

Dans le cadre d’une enquête économique auprès d’un échantillon d’entreprises, on sélectionne au hasard des professions dans une liste jusqu’à ce que l’on identifie un nombre r de professions présentes dans une unité locale. Il s’agit d’un problème d’échantillonnage inverse pour lequel nous proposons quelques solutions. Les plans simples avec et sans remise se traitent au moyen des distributions binomiale négative et hypergéométrique négative. On propose également des estimateurs pour le cas où les unités sont sélectionnées à probabilités inégales avec ou sans remise.

Article complet Version PDF

Une mise en garde concernant la winsorisation de Clark

par Mary H. Mulry, Broderick E. Oliver, Stephen J. Kaputa et Katherine J. Thompson

Les procédures de winsorisation permettent de remplacer les valeurs extrêmes par des valeurs moins extrêmes, déplaçant en fait les valeurs extrêmes originales vers le centre de la distribution. La winsorisation sert donc à détecter ainsi qu’à traiter les valeurs influentes. Mulry, Oliver et Kaputa (2014) comparent la performance de la méthode de winsorisation unilatérale élaborée par Clark (1995) et décrite par Chambers, Kokic, Smith et Cruddas (2000) avec celle de l'estimation M (Beaumont et Alavi 2004) dans le cas de données sur une population d’entreprises fortement asymétrique. Un aspect particulièrement intéressant des méthodes qui servent à détecter et à traiter des valeurs influentes est la plage de valeurs définies comme étant influentes, que l’on appelle « zone de détection ». L’algorithme de winsorisation de Clark est facile à mettre en œuvre et peut s’avérer très efficace. Cependant, la zone de détection qui en résulte dépend considérablement du nombre de valeurs influentes dans l’échantillon, surtout quand on s’attend à ce que les totaux d’enquête varient fortement selon la période de collecte. Dans la présente note, nous examinons l’effet du nombre de valeurs influentes et de leur taille sur les zones de détection produites par la winsorisation de Clark en utilisant des données simulées de manière à représenter raisonnablement les propriétés de la population visée par la Monthly Retail Trade Survey (MRTS) du U.S. Census Bureau. Les estimations provenant de la MRTS et d’autres enquêtes économiques sont utilisées dans le calcul d’indicateurs économiques, comme le produit intérieur brut (PIB).

Article complet Version PDF

Communications brèves

Quelques remarques sur un petit exemple de Jean-Claude Deville au sujet de la non-réponse non-ignorable

par Yves Tillé

Un exemple présenté par Jean-Claude Deville en 2005 est soumis à trois méthodes d’estimation : la méthode des moments, la méthode du maximum de vraisemblance et le calage généralisé. Les trois méthodes donnent exactement les mêmes résultats pour les deux modèles de non-réponse. On discute ensuite de la manière de choisir le modèle le plus adéquat.

Article complet Version PDF

Une note sur le concept d’invariance dans les plans d’échantillonnage à deux phases

par Jean-François Beaumont et David Haziza

Les plans d’échantillonnage à deux phases sont souvent utilisés dans les enquêtes lorsque la base de sondage ne contient que peu d’information auxiliaire, voire aucune. Dans la présente note, nous apportons certains éclaircissements sur le concept d’invariance souvent mentionné dans le contexte des plans d’échantillonnage à deux phases. Nous définissons deux types de plans d’échantillonnage à deux phases invariants, à savoir les plans fortement invariants et les plans faiblement invariants, et donnons des exemples. Enfin, nous décrivons les implications d’une forte ou d’une faible invariance du point de vue de l’inférence.

Article complet Version PDF

Corrigendum

Appariement statistique par imputation fractionnaire

par Jae Kwang Kim, Emily Berg et Taesung Park
Volume 42, numéro 1, (juin 2016), 21-43

Article complet Version PDF

Date de modification :