Analytical Studies: Methods and References
Longitudinal Immigration Database (IMDB) Technical Report, 2019

Release date: February 1, 2021

Skip to text

Text begins

Acknowledgements

The initial publication of the IMDB Technical Report was co-authored by Rose Evra and Elena Prokopenko.

We would like to mention the special contribution of the following people: Laetitia Martin of the Diversity and Sociocultural Statistics (DSS), who wrote sections 3.3.1 to 3.3.3 of this report; Tristan Cayn, Kristen James, Caroline Li, Ian Marrs, Scott McLeish, and Eric Mongrain, members of the Administrative Data team, who produced the IMDB and contributed to the content of several sections of the report.

The IMDB is the result of a partnership between Statistics Canada, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC), and the provinces. IRCC has been funding the IMDB since the beginning, and has been continuously collaborating with Statistics Canada to expand the content of the IMDB as well as contributing to the development of new analytical tools.

On the provincial side, the following departments have been part of the consortium funding the IMDB:

Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Island Investment Development Inc (Prince Edward Island)
Nova Scotia Office of Immigration (Nova Scotia)
Population Growth Division (New Brunswick)
Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration (Québec)
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (Ontario)
Manitoba Labour and Immigration
Ministry of Immigration and Career Training (Saskatchewan)
Alberta Labour
Labour Market Information Office (British Columbia)

These provincial partners were also part of consultations to redesign the IMDB and its analytical tools.

Many thanks to the following people for reviewing the report prior to its publication: Margareta Dovgal, Benoît St-Jean, Winnie Chan, Hélène Maheux, and Tiana Major (Statistics Canada); Yoko Yoshida (Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology, Dalhousie University); Michael Haan (Canada Research Chair in Migration and Ethnic Studies and the Department of Sociology of Western University); and Ian Clara (Manitoba Research Data Centre).

Abstract

The Longitudinal Immigration Database (IMDB) is a comprehensive source of data that plays a key role in the understanding of the economic behaviour of immigrants. It is the only annual Canadian dataset that allows users to study the characteristics of immigrants to Canada at the time of admission and their economic outcomes and regional (inter-provincial) mobility over a time span of more than 35 years.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) administrative records contain exhaustive information about immigrants who were admitted to Canada since 1952 and non-permanent residents who have been issued temporary resident permits since 1980. 

This report will discuss the IMDB data sources, concepts and variables, record linkage, data processing, dissemination, data evaluation and quality indicators, comparability with other immigration datasets, and the analyses possible with the IMDB.

Key words: Administrative Data, Immigration, IMDB, longitudinal data, non-permanent residents, taxfilers

Glossary of terms

Following are the description of acronyms that will be used several times in the report.


Glossary of terms
Table summary
This table displays the results of Following are the description of acronyms that will be used several times in the report.. The information is grouped by Acronym (appearing as row headers), Definition (appearing as column headers).
Acronym Definition
CPI Consumer Price Index
CRA Canada Revenue Agency
ILF Immigrant Landing File
IMDB Longitudinal Immigration Database
IRCC Immigration, Refugee and Citizenship Canada
LAD Longitudinal Administrative Databank
LSIC Longitudinal Survey of Immigrants to Canada
NHS National Household Survey
NPR Non-permanent resident
NRF Non-permanent Resident File
NRF, Permits Non-permanent resident, Permit File
PNRF Integrated Permanent and Non-permanent Resident File
PR Permanent resident
SDLE Social Data Linkage Environment
T1FF T1 Family File

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Études analytiques : méthodes et références
Base de données longitudinales sur l’immigration (BDIM) – Rapport technique, 2019

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 1 février 2021

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Remerciements

La publication initiale du rapport technique de la BDIM a été co-écrite par Rose Evra et Elena Prokopenko.

Nous souhaitons souligner la contribution particulière des personnes suivantes : Laetitia Martin de la Diversité et statistique socioculturelle (DSS), qui a rédigé les sections 3.3.1 à 3.3.3 de ce rapport, ainsi que Tristan Cayn, Kristen James, Caroline Li, Ian Marrs, Scott McLeish et Eric Mongrain, membres de l’équipe des données administratives, qui produisent la BDIM et ont contribué au contenu de plusieurs sections du rapport.

La BDIM est le fruit d’un partenariat entre Statistique Canada, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) et les provinces. IRCC finance la BDIM depuis ses débuts et collabore continuellement avec Statistique Canada pour élargir le contenu de la BDIM en plus de contribuer au développement de nouveaux outils d’analyse.

Du côté provincial, les ministères suivants ont fait partie du consortium qui finance la BDIM :

Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
Island Investment Development Inc (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
Nova Scotia Office of Immigration (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Division de la croissance démographique (Nouveau-Brunswick)
Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration (Québec)
Ministère des Services à l'enfance et des Services sociaux et communautaires (Ontario)
Travail et Immigration Manitoba
Ministry of Immigration and Career Training (Saskatchewan)
Alberta Labour
Labour Market Information Office (Colombie-Britannique)

Ces partenaires provinciaux ont également participé aux consultations visant à remanier la BDIM et ses outils d'analyse.

De plus, nous remercions les personnes suivantes d’avoir relu le rapport avant sa publication : Margareta Dovgal, Benoît St-Jean, Winnie Chan, Hélène Maheux et Tiana Major (Statistique Canada), Yoko Yoshida (Département de sociologie et d’anthropologie sociale, Université Dalhousie), Michael Haan (Chaire de recherche du Canada en migration et relations ethniques et Département de sociologie de l’Université de Western Ontario) et Ian Clara (Centre de données de recherche du Manitoba).

Résumé

La base de données longitudinales sur l’immigration (BDIM) est une source importante et complète de données contribuant à mieux comprendre le comportement économique des immigrants. Il s’agit du seul ensemble annuel de données canadiennes permettant d’étudier les caractéristiques des immigrants au Canada au moment de leur admission ainsi que leur situation économique et leur mobilité régionale (interprovinciale) sur plus de 35 ans.

La BDIM comprend les dossiers administratifs d'Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) qui contiennent des renseignements exhaustifs sur les immigrants admis au Canada depuis 1952. Elle comprend également des données sur les résidents non permanents à qui on a délivré des permis de séjour temporaire depuis 1980. 

Ce rapport traitera des sources de données, des concepts et des variables de la BDIM, du couplage d’enregistrements, du traitement des données, de la diffusion, de l’évaluation des données et des indicateurs de qualité, de la comparabilité avec d’autres ensembles de données relatives à l’immigration ainsi que des analyses rendues possibles avec la BDIM.

Mots clés : données administratives, immigration, BDIM, données longitudinales, résidents non permanents, déclarants

Glossaire

Ci-après figure la signification des sigles utilisés dans le présent rapport.


Tableau Glossaire
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau Glossaire. Les données sont présentées selon Acronyme français (titres de rangée) et Acronyme anglais et Définition(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Acronyme français Acronyme anglais Définition
ARC CRA Agence du revenu du Canada
BDIM IMDB Base de données longitudinales sur l'immigration
DAL LAD Banque de données administratives longitudinales
ECDS SDLE Environnement de couplage de données sociales
ELIC LSIC Enquête longitudinale auprès des immigrants du Canada
ENM NHS Enquête nationale auprès des ménages
FFT1 T1FF Fichier sur la famille T1
FIR ILF Fichier des immigrants reçus
FRPN PNRF Fichier intégré des résidents permanents et non permanents
FRN NRF Fichier des résidents non permanents
FRN, permis NRF, Permits Fichier des résidents non permanents, permis
IPC CPI Indice des prix à la consommation
IRCC IRCC Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada
RNP NPR Résident non permanent
RP PR Résident permanent

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :