The Business & Community Newsletter – February 2018

The Business & Community Newsletter

The New Year brings us some of the most recent regional data in Canada.

Therefore, with this in mind we are dedicating this month's newsletter to featuring province-by-province Canadian data on multiple topics in an effort to highlight what is happening in our country.

Feature articles

Health

basket of fruitThe study Trends and correlates of frequency of fruit and vegetable consumption, 2007 to 2014 has data from the annual Canadian Community Health Survey.

Eating fruit and vegetables is recommended as part of a healthy diet. This study describes trends in the frequency of fruit and vegetable consumption in Canada, the contribution of fruit juice to these trends, and correlates of the frequency of fruit and vegetable consumption.

Between 2007 and 2014, the frequency of fruit and vegetable consumption was consistently low. Those who reported consuming fruit and vegetables at least 5 times a day tended to be female, younger, in the highest household income quintile, and neither overweight nor obese.

For a regional perspective, look at the table Average frequency of fruit and vegetable consumption, including and excluding fruit juice, by sex, age group, household income, region and body mass index (BMI), household population aged 12 or older, Canada, 2007 and 2014.

Cannabis Stats Hub

cannabisVisit the new Cannabis Stats Hub which provides statistics related to the use, production and distribution of Cannabis in Canada using interactive graphs and tables. The statistical information is presented by theme such as health, justice, the economy and prices for both medical and non-medical cannabis.

Regional data is available under Health for Canadian's use of cannabis by age, sex, province and territory.

Non-medicinal purposes dominate cannabis spending

In 2017, about 4.9 million Canadians aged 15 to 64 spent an estimated $5.7 billion on cannabis for medical and non-medical purposes. This was equivalent to approximately $1,200 per cannabis consumer. The majority of the household spending on cannabis (over 90%) was for non-medical purposes. Read the article in the Daily "Cannabis Economic Account, 1961 to 2017" and view the provincial breakdowns in the CANSIM table 388-0011 Cannabis consumer prices.

Economy

Food services and drinking places, November 2017

Sales in the food services and drinking places subsector edged down 0.2% to $5.8 billion in November. Prices for food purchased from restaurants were up 2.9% in the 12 months to November and prices for alcoholic beverages rose 1.4% over the same period.

Lower sales in British Columbia (-1.4%) and Alberta (-1.3%) were attributable to declines at full-service and limited-service restaurants. Higher sales were reported in Ontario (+0.4%) for the third consecutive month. Sales were also up in Quebec (+0.4%) and Nova Scotia (+1.4%).

To find out more, consult the dashboard entitled Food Services and Drinking Places Sales. This web application provides access to data on the sales of food services and drinking places for Canada, the provinces and territories. This dynamic application allows users to compare provincial and territorial data with interactive maps and charts.

Investment in new housing construction, November 2017

construction workersNew housing construction investment rose in seven provinces in November. The largest increase was in Alberta (+$105.3 million), followed closely by Ontario (+$101.0 million) and Quebec (+$97.3 million). Saskatchewan posted the largest decline (-$10.5 million or -9.6%) compared with November 2016.

New housing construction investment increased for all types of housing in four provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Prince Edward Island.

See this table for provincial comparisons.

Crime and Justice

Employment and Social Development Canada, Homeless Shelters

The data provides capacity statistics for homeless shelters in communities across the country.

Visit the detailed tables from CANSIM 278-0016 on homeless shelter capacity, bed and shelter counts for emergency shelters, transitional housing and violence against women shelters for Canada and provinces, Employment and Social Development Canada.

Numbers in Focus

Numbers in Focus - Shelter
Numbers in Focus - Shelter

Of all the provinces, in 2016 the largest share of consumption spent on shelter was seen in households in Ontario (30.9%) and British Columbia (30.0%). Households in Newfoundland and Labrador spent the smallest share on shelter. (23.7%).

Source: Survey of Household Spending, 2016

Numbers in Focus - Transportation
Numbers in Focus - Transportation

Households in Alberta ($15,318) and Saskatchewan ($14,522) spent the most on transportation among all the provinces, while households in Quebec ($9,652) spent the least.

Source: Survey of Household Spending, 2016

Did you know…?

Custom services

Our experienced regional consultants can create customized solutions to meet specific data requirements for your region. Email us at infostats-infostats@canada.ca or call 1-800-263-1136 TTY: 1-800-363-7629. We are available Monday to Friday: 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM.

Statistics Canada's Workshop Series

diagramOffered through our regional offices, our Workshop Series provides you with direct access to Statistics Canada's extensive survey methodology and analysis experience. From designing surveys to interpreting and using statistical data in your day-to-day business, we have the course to suit your needs. All instructors are professional staff with broad experience and knowledge in their field of expertise and in training.

Featured Workshops

Turning Statistics into Stories (1 Day) 10H0083

Join us for a one-day introductory workshop that will help you to communicate your message in a more effective manner. During this workshop, you will focus on your target audience, use statistics to present your story and put numbers into a context to help your audience understand your messages.

Learn some useful tips on how to use tables, graphs and maps to illustrate your story.

Emphasis is on getting your message across in five easy to follow steps:

  • State your key messages
  • Get the evidence
  • Understand the evidence
  • Match the data to your messages
  • Tell your story

Practice the five steps by using examples from Statistics Canada throughout the workshop.

For more information on this workshop, visit Turning Statistics into Stories (1 Day) 10H0083.

How to Use Census Data (1 Day)

Conducted every five years, the Census of Population is the most comprehensive source of data on the demographic, social and economic characteristics of Canadians.

The Census workshop is designed for those new to working with Census data or those who want to further develop their abilities in regards to working with Census concepts, methodology, geography and analysis.

The workshop material will explore the depth and breadth of data available and enhance participants' ability to use the 2016 Census resources effectively.

During this workshop, you will:

  • Review methodology and questionnaire content
  • Explore Census Geographies
  • Understand Census concepts and variables
  • Learn how to use Census Program website tools
  • Learn how to find and use Census data on the Statistics Canada website

For more information on this workshop, visit How to Use Census Data (1 Day).

Also worth reading

Study: The effect of labour demand on regional demographics, 2001 to 2015

people in business suitsThe Effect of Labour Demand on Regional Demographics article in the Economic Insights series assesses the degree to which changes in labour demand affect the working-age population and the regional demographic dependency ratio, based on a range of administrative data and Statistics Canada's population estimates.

Using administrative data, the study quantifies demographic changes observed in 76 economic regions that were characterized by different trends in labour demand from 2001 to 2015. The study takes advantage of the substantial differences in employment growth across economic regions. For example, from 2001 to 2008, the 8 economic regions in Alberta experienced paid employment growth that averaged about 19.0%—more than three times the amount registered in the economic regions of Quebec and Ontario.

Average paid employment growth in economic regions, by province and territory, 2001 to 2015
Table summary
This table displays the employment growth in economic regions, by province and territory (row headers) from 2001 to 2008 and 2008 to 2015, calculated using average paid employment growth (percent) units of measure (appearing as column headers).
2001 to 2008 2008 to 2015
percent
Nunavut 16.4 11.8
Northwest Territories 5.9 0.3
Yukon 12.5 7.8
British Columbia 7.3 0.5
Alberta 19.3 6.1
Saskatchewan 11.1 2.3
Manitoba 6.3 3.8
Ontario 4.3 -1.0
Quebec 6.2 -0.5
New Brunswick 1.4 -4.0
Nova Scotia 2.1 -5.6
Prince Edward Island 2.6 -1.0
Newfoundland and Labrador 3.6 -6.0
Note: Paid employment growth is measured as the growth in the number of tax filers aged 15 to 64 who had some paid employment income in a given year.
Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Employer–Employee Dynamics Database.

In a context where population aging will pose a number of challenges, these results highlight the key role that employment growth may play to alter the demographics of regions.

Infographic

Opioid awareness in Canada

Infographic - Opiate awareness in CanadaThis infographic looks at the level of awareness of Canadians regarding the opioid issue in Canada, as of November 2017. For further information on opioids in your province, please visit www.canada.ca/opioids.

By the Numbers…

Valentine's Day… by the numbers

February 14th is Valentine's Day!

Named for Saint Valentine, this is a day when people express their love by sending cards, exchanging gifts of chocolate, roses or personal items, and even sharing romantic dinners by candlelight.

Here are some facts on assorted topics available at Valentine's Day… by the numbers.

     
Date modified:

Bulletin d'information pour les entreprises et les collectivités – Février 2018

Bulletin d'information pour les entreprises et les collectivités

La nouvelle année apporte avec elle certaines des plus récentes données régionales du Canada.

Nous consacrons donc le bulletin de ce mois-ci à de nouvelles données nationales sur de nombreux sujets, présentées par province, afin de mettre en relief ce qui se passe dans votre pays.

En vedette

Santé

fruitsL'étude Tendances et corrélations de la fréquence de la consommation de fruits et de légumes, 2007 à 2014 sont tirées les données de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes annuelle pour la période de 2007 à 2014.

Il est recommandé de manger des fruits et des légumes dans le cadre d'un régime alimentaire sain. La présente étude décrit les tendances en ce qui concerne la fréquence de la consommation de fruits et de légumes au Canada, la contribution des jus de fruits à ces tendances, ainsi que les corrélations de la fréquence de la consommation de fruits et de légumes.

De 2007 à 2014, la fréquence de la consommation de fruits et de légumes était, de façon constante, faible.

Les participants qui ont indiqué consommer des fruits et des légumes au moins cinq fois par jour étaient plus susceptibles d'être des femmes, jeunes, dans le quintile de revenu du ménage le plus élevé et de ne pas être obèses ni afficher de surpoids.

Pour voir les résultats selon une perspective régionale, veuillez consultez le tableau Fréquence moyenne de la consommation de fruits et de légumes, y compris le jus de fruits et à l'exclusion du jus de fruits, selon le sexe, le groupe d'âge, le revenu du ménage, la région et l'indice de masse corporelle (IMC), population à domicile âgée de 12 ans et plus, Canada, 2007 et 2014.

Centre de statistiques sur le cannabis

cannabisVisitez le nouveau Centre de statistiques sur le cannabis qui présente des statistiques sur l'utilisation, la production et la distribution de cannabis au Canada à l'aide de graphiques et de tableaux interactifs. Les renseignements statistiques sont présentés par thème, tels que la santé, la justice, l'économie et les prix, et sont applicables tant au cannabis médicinal qu'au cannabis non médicinal.

Les données régionales sont disponibles sous Santé pour l'utilisation du cannabis par les Canadiens selon l'âge, le sexe, la province et le territoire.

La majorité des dépenses en cannabis est consacrée à l'achat de cannabis à des fins non médicales

En 2017, environ 4,9 millions de Canadiens âgés de 15 à 64 ans ont dépensé un montant estimatif de 5,7 milliards de dollars pour se procurer du cannabis à des fins médicales et non médicales. Cela équivaut approximativement à 1 200 $ par consommateur de cannabis. La majorité des dépenses (plus de 90 %) a été consacrée à l'achat de cannabis à des fins non médicales.

Veuillez lire l'article du Quotidien « Compte économique sur le cannabis, 1961 à 2017 » et consulter la ventilation provinciale dans le tableau CANSIM 388-0011 – Prix du cannabis pour les consommateurs.

Économie

Services de restauration et débits de boissons, novembre 2017

Les ventes du sous-secteur des services de restauration et des débits de boissons ont fléchi de 0,2 % en novembre pour se fixer à 5,8 milliards de dollars. Les prix des aliments achetés au restaurant ont crû de 2,9 % au cours de la période de 12 mois ayant pris fin en novembre, tandis que les prix des boissons alcoolisées ont progressé de 1,4 % au cours de la même période.

La diminution des ventes observée en Colombie-Britannique (-1,4 %) et en Alberta (-1,3 %) était attribuable aux baisses enregistrées dans les restaurants à service complet et les restaurants à service restreint. Les ventes ont augmenté en Ontario (+0,4 %) pour un troisième mois consécutif. Elles se sont également accrues au Québec (+0,4 %) et en Nouvelle-Écosse (+1,4 %).

De plus amples renseignements figurent dans le tableau de bord intitulé Vente de services de restauration et débits de boissons. Cette application Web permet d'accéder aux données sur les ventes des services de restauration et des débits de boissons pour l'ensemble du Canada et par province et territoire. Cette application dynamique permet aux utilisateurs de comparer les données provinciales et territoriales à l'aide de cartes et de graphiques interactifs.

Investissement dans la construction de logements neufs, novembre 2017

la constructionEn novembre, l'investissement dans la construction de logements neufs s'est accru dans sept provinces. La croissance la plus prononcée a été observée en Alberta (+105,3 millions de dollars), suivie de près de l'Ontario (+101,0 millions de dollars) et du Québec (+97,3 millions de dollars). La Saskatchewan a affiché la baisse la plus marquée (-10,5 millions de dollars ou -9,6 %) comparativement à novembre 2016.

L'investissement en construction de logements neufs s'est accru pour l'ensemble des types de logements dans quatre provinces : l'Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique, le Manitoba et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Pour voir des comparaisons provinciales, jetez un coup d'œil à ce tableau.

Crime et Justice

Emploi et Développement social Canada, Refuges pour sans-abri

Les données offrent des statistiques sur la capacité d'hébergement des refuges pour sans-abri dans les collectivités à travers le pays.

Veuillez consulter les tableaux détaillés de CANSIM 278-0016  Capacité d'hébergement, nombre de lits et de refuges pour les refuges d'urgence, logements de transition et refuges pour les femmes victimes de violence pour le Canada et les provinces, Emploi et Développement social Canada.

Gros plan sur les chiffres

Gros plan sur les chiffres - logement
Gros plan sur les chiffres - logement

Reflétant les coûts supérieurs du logement en Ontario (30,9 %) et en Colombie-Britannique (30,0 %), la part de la consommation des ménages dans ces deux provinces réservée au logement a été la plus importante parmi toutes les provinces.

La proportion des dépenses dans ménages à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador pour le logement a été la plus faible parmi toutes les provinces (23,7 %).

Source : Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages, 2016

Gros plan sur les chiffres - transport
Gros plan sur les chiffres - transport

Ce sont les ménages de l'Alberta (15 31 $) et de la Saskatchewan (14 522 $) qui ont dépensé le plus en transport parmi toutes les provinces, tandis que ce sont les ménages du Québec qui ont dépensé le moins (9 652 $) dans cette catégorie de dépenses.

Source : Enquête sur les dépenses des ménages, 2016

Savez-vous…?

Services personnalisées

Nos conseillers régionaux chevronnés peuvent vous proposer des solutions personnalisées pour répondre aux besoins particuliers en données de votre région.

Si vous avez des questions, il suffit de communiquer par courriel à infostats-infostats@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-263-1136, du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés) de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30.

Série d'ateliers de Statistique Canada

diagrammePrésenté dans nos bureaux régionaux, notre série d'ateliers vous assure un accès direct à la solide méthodologie d'enquête et à la vaste expérience de l'analyse que possède Statistique Canada. De la conception des enquêtes à l'interprétation et à l'utilisation des données statistiques dans vos affaires courantes, nous avons le cours qui répondra à vos besoins. Tous les formateurs sont des professionnels chevronnés jouissant d'une connaissance approfondie de leur domaine d'expertise et de la formation.

Ateliers en vedette

Que racontent les statistiques? (1 jour) 10H0083

Venez assister à un atelier d'introduction d'une journée qui vous aidera à mieux communiquer votre message. Au cours de l'atelier, vous apprendrez à bien définir votre public cible, à utiliser des statistiques pour présenter vos idées et à mettre les chiffres dans un contexte que votre public pourra comprendre.

Vous recevrez des conseils utiles sur l'utilisation de tableaux, de graphiques et de cartes vous permettant de bien illustrer vos idées.

L'accent sera mis sur la transmission de votre message, en cinq étapes faciles :

  • Énoncer votre message clé
  • Réunir les faits
  • Comprendre les preuves
  • Jumeler les données à vos messages
  • Présenter vos idées

Tout au long de l'atelier, vous mettrez en pratique ces cinq étapes un utilisant des exemples de Statistique Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet atelier, visitez Que racontent les statistiques? (1 jour) 10H0083.

Comment utiliser les données du Recensement (1 journée)

Effectué tous les cinq ans, le recensement de la population est la plus importante source de données sur les caractéristiques démographiques, sociales et économiques des Canadiens.

L'atelier sur le recensement est conçu pour les nouveaux utilisateurs de données du recensement ainsi que les personnes qui veulent développer leurs habiletés en lien avec les concepts, la méthodologie, la géographie et l'analyse du recensement.

Les participants exploreront l'étendue des données disponibles et apprendront à mieux se servir des ressources disponibles dans le cadre du Recensement de 2016.

Lors de cet atelier, vous allez :

  • Passer en revue la méthodologie et le contenu du questionnaire
  • Parcourir les niveaux géographiques du recensement
  • Comprendre les concepts et les variables du recensement
  • Apprendre à utiliser les outils sur la page web du Programme du recensement
  • Apprendre comment trouver et utiliser des données du recensement gratuites sur le site web de Statistique Canada (www.statcan.gc.ca)

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet atelier, visitez Comment utiliser les données du Recensement (1 journée).

À lire également

L'effet de la demande de main-d'œuvre sur la démographie régionale

la constructionLe présent article de la série Aperçus économiques, L'effet de la demande de main-d'œuvre sur la démographie régionale évalue la mesure dans laquelle les variations de la demande de main-d'œuvre ont un effet sur la population en âge de travailler et le rapport de dépendance démographique régional, au moyen d'une gamme de données administratives et des estimations démographiques de Statistique Canada.

Au moyen de données administratives, l'étude quantifie les variations démographiques observées dans 76 régions économiques caractérisées par différentes tendances de la demande de main-d'œuvre de 2001 à 2015. L'étude tire parti des différences importantes observées dans la croissance de l'emploi dans les régions économiques. Par exemple, de 2001 à 2008, les huit régions économiques de l'Alberta ont connu une croissance de l'emploi rémunéré d'environ 19,0 %, en moyenne, ce qui représente plus de trois fois la croissance enregistrée dans les régions économiques du Québec et de l'Ontario.

Croissance moyenne de l'emploi rémunéré dans les régions économique, par province et territiore, de 2001 à 2015
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre l'emploi rémunéré dans les régions économique, par province et territiore (figurant comme rangées) de 2001 à 2008 et 2008 à 2015, calculées selon croissance moyenne de l'emploi rémunéré (en pourcentage) unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
2001 à 2008 2008 à 2015
pourcentage
Nunavut 16,4 11,8
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 5,9 0,3
Yukon 12,5 7,8
Colombie-Britannique 7,3 0,5
Alberta 19,3 6,1
Saskatchewan 11,1 2,3
Manitoba 6,3 3,8
Ontario 4,3 -1,0
Québec 6,2 -0,5
Nouveau-Brunswick 1,4 -4,0
Nouvelle-Écosse 2,1 -5,6
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 2,6 -1,0
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 3,6 -6,0
Note : La croissance de l'emploi rémunéré se mesure par la croissance du nombre de déclarants âgés de 15 à 64 ans qui ont eu un revenu d'emploi au cours d'une année donnée.
Source : Statistique Canada, Base de données canadienne sur la dynamique employeurs-employés.

Dans un contexte où le vieillissement de la population posera un certain nombre de défis, ces résultats mettent en évidence le rôle clé que la croissance de l'emploi pourrait jouer dans la modification de la démographie des régions.

Infographie

Sensibilisation aux opioïdes au Canada

Infographie: Sensibilisation aux opioïdes au CanadaCette infographie examine la mesure dans laquelle les Canadiens étaient au courant du problème des opioïdes au Canada en novembre 2017.

Pour en savoir plus sur les opioïdes, veuillez consulter le site Web www.canada.ca/opioids

En chiffres…

La Saint-Valentin… en chiffres

Le 14 février, c'est le jour de la Saint-Valentin !

Nommé d'après Saint Valentin, c'est le jour où les gens en profitent pour exprimer leur amour en s'offrant cartes, chocolats, cadeaux et fleurs, ou prévoient même un souper romantique à la lueur des chandelles.

Voici quelques faits concernant différents sujets liés à la Saint-Valentin disponible à La Saint-Valentin… en chiffres.

Date de modification :