The Business & Community Newsletter – September 2016

The Business & Community Newsletter

It is ‘back to school' season, so in this issue we put the spotlight on education.

Feature articles

Education indicators in Canada: An international perspective, 2015

graduateThis report, Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective, is a product of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (PCEIP). It is intended to facilitate the comparison of educational systems in Canada's provinces and territories with those of countries that belong to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The document presents a series of indicators harmonized to the definitions and methodologies used by the OECD in Education at a Glance. The indicators are designed to serve as a basis for decision making and for development of programs in the field of education.

Study: Do layoffs increase transitions to postsecondary education among adults?, 2001 to 2011

two adults looking at a cmoputer screenEvery year, thousands of workers lose their job in many industrialized countries. Faced with job loss, displaced workers may choose to return to school to help them reintegrate into the labour force. Job losses in a given local labour market may also induce workers who have not yet been laid off to pre-emptively enroll in postsecondary institutions, as a precautionary measure. Combining microdata and grouped data, this study, Do layoffs increase transitions to postsecondary education among adults?, examines these two dimensions of the relationship between layoffs and postsecondary enrolment over the 2001 to 2011 period.

Women in Canada: Education, qualifications, skills and technology

woman on construction site Canada's knowledge-based economy – especially the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) – continues to grow. Related changes in the economy, including shifts to globalized markets and an emphasis on innovation and technology, all mean that education is more and more an integral component of economic and social well-being.

At the same time, women in Canada have become increasingly well-educated and today represent a larger share of the labour market than they have ever represented previously. However, women continue to have fewer apprenticeship or trades certificates as well as STEM university degrees than their male counterparts. Topics, in Women in Canada: Education, qualifications, skills and technology, include a profile of women's education in Canada, the skills of young girls and women, field-of-study patterns at the postsecondary level, and labour market outcomes, including earnings.

Study: Literacy and numeracy among off-reserve First Nations people and Métis, 2012

student Existing research shows that higher cognitive skills, such as literacy and numeracy, are associated with greater labour force participation and higher earnings, as well as a positive relationship with self-reported health status. However, this research has not focused specifically on the Aboriginal population in Canada.

The impact that literacy and numeracy have on economic and social outcomes may be especially important for the Aboriginal population as they are typically younger and have a faster rate of population growth than the non-Aboriginal population. In 2011, 46% of Aboriginal people were aged 24 and under, compared with 30% of the non-Aboriginal population. The relatively larger proportion of Aboriginal youth, along with their generally lower levels of education and skills than their non-Aboriginal counterparts, may have important labour market implications for this population. Past research confirms that, in general, the Aboriginal population does not fare as well in the labour market as the non-Aboriginal population, both in terms of employment and earnings. Given the lower educational attainment of the Aboriginal population, it stands to reason that they may be even more vulnerable to downturns in the economy. It is therefore important to understand the factors that may help the Aboriginal population become more fully integrated into the labour market. These are some of the issues examined in the study, Literacy and numeracy among off-reserve First Nations people and Métis.

Study: Diversity of young adults living with their parents, 1981 to 2011

Individuals in their twenties may be engaged in a variety of activities including the pursuit of postsecondary education, finding employment or establishing a career, forming a couple relationship and/or having children. While such a myriad of life changes can provide many opportunities for young adults to grow and develop, there can also be many challenges during these years. Factors such as the high cost of education, economic uncertainty or difficulty finding adequate work, relationship dissolution or conflict, as well as indecision regarding their future all can influence the living arrangements of individuals in their twenties.

One response to their circumstances may be for young adults to live with their parents, either returning after an earlier departure or never leaving. For some young adults—and perhaps their parents as well—co-residence may be seen as a temporary solution until an economic or personal situation improves, while for others it may be a longer-term strategy. While parents and adult children sharing a home is generally perceived to be more beneficial for the younger generation, exchanges of support—financial, emotional or otherwise—could occur in both directions.

In the decades since 1981, there has been an overall upward trend in the proportion of young adults aged 20 to 29 living in the same home as their parents. At the same time, there has been an increase in the ethnocultural diversity of the overall population, which, in turn, can influence living-arrangement patterns. This study, Diversity of young adults living with their parents, examines the extent to which parental co-residence is associated with the particular ethnocultural, socioeconomic and geographic characteristics of young adults.

Did you know that?

graduating owlThe number of students enrolled in French immersion programs in 2013/2014 was 392,430, up 5.5% from the previous academic year.

The average amount paid in tuition fees by Canadian full-time undergraduate students in the 2015/2016 academic year was $6,191, compared with $5,998 the previous year.

The proportion of women among all elementary school and kindergarten teachers in Canada in 2011 was 84%.

For more on the subject, have a look at Back to school... by the numbers, 2016.

Numbers in focus

Every month we put a couple of interesting numbers in the spotlight!

Numbers in Focus - 35%
Numbers in Focus - 35%

The proportion of women aged 25 to 64 with a university certificate or degree grew at a faster pace than that of men, more than doubling from 15% in 1991 to 35% in 2015.

Source: Labour Force Survey; National Household Survey; Census of Population

Numbers in Focus - 2 Million
Numbers in Focus - 2 Million

Enrolments in Canadian public postsecondary institutions (colleges and universities) reached more than 2 million in the 2013/2014 academic year, up 1.2% from a year earlier.

Source: Postsecondary Student Information System

What's new?

Webinars

touch screenRegister for free online learning sessions on FINDING EDUCATION DATA, in English & French!

Learn useful tips on how to access education data on Statistics Canada's website.

Please click on link below to register:

Topic: Finding Education Data (in English)
Date: Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Time: 1:00 pm, Eastern Daylight Time (Toronto, GMT-04:00)

Topic: Comment trouver des données sur l'éducation (in French)
Date: Thursday, October 20, 2016
Time: 1:00 pm, Eastern Daylight Time (Toronto, GMT-04:00)

Limited spaces available so please register early.

Also worth reading

Canadians' overwhelming response enables 'best ever' Census in 2016

2016 censusThe willing participation of Canadians has enabled Statistics Canada to achieve the 'best Census ever,' the agency announced on August 29.

The overall collection response rate of 98.4 per cent for the 2016 Census of Population is higher than for both the 2011 and 2006 Census programs.

In 2016, the collection response rate for the long form was 97.8 per cent, the best ever recorded. This response rate will enable the provision of high-quality information for virtually all communities.

The 2016 Census also stood out in two other regards: self-response and Internet response. Almost 9 in 10 Canadian households completed their long or short form questionnaire without any assistance from Statistics Canada staff. The rate of 88.8 per cent makes this the most efficient among traditional censuses conducted in the world.

For the Internet response, Canadians delivered a gold medal performance with an Internet response rate of 68.3 per cent, surpassing the ambitious initial objective of 65 per cent and setting yet again another world record.

Statistics Canada will now turn its focus to providing high quality Census information. An accelerated release schedule is planned to provide Canadians with results in a more timely fashion than for any previous census. First results from the 2016 Census will be published on February 8, 2017, with the release of data on population and dwelling counts.

As well, Statistics Canada continues to plan for future censuses. Consultations on census content for 2021 will take place in 2017. The agency will seek to further refine collection processes, with a view to ensuring the 2021 Census continues to improve inclusiveness, data quality and efficiency.

For more information on the census, please visit Statistics Canada's website.

Study: New facts about financial literacy in Canada, 2014

caculator There is a gap in financial knowledge between men and women, especially among older and more educated Canadians.

Also, a higher level of financial knowledge is more often associated with a higher degree of retirement preparation among labour market participants.

These findings are included in two studies, which are based on data from the Canadian Financial Capability Survey. In the survey, a 14-question quiz was administered to respondents to assess their financial literacy.

The first article, "Gender differences in the financial knowledge of Canadians," and the second article, "Financial literacy and retirement planning," are now available in Insights on Canadian Society.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Bulletin d'information pour les entreprises et les collectivités – Septembre 2016

Bulletin d'information pour les entreprises et les collectivités

Comme c'est la période de la rentrée scolaire, le présent numéro est consacré à l'éducation.

En vedette

Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale, 2015

diplôméCe rapport, Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale, est un produit du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation (PIPCE). Il vise principalement à faciliter la comparaison des systèmes d'éducation des provinces et des territoires canadiens avec ceux des pays membres de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Le document présente une série d'indicateurs harmonisés aux définitions et aux méthodologies adoptées par l'OCDE dans Regards sur l'éducation. Les indicateurs aideront à la prise de décision et au développement de programmes dans le domaine de l'éducation.

Étude : Les mises à pied augmentent-elles les transitions aux études postsecondaires chez les adultes?, 2001 à 2011

chercheurs d'emploisChaque année, des milliers de travailleurs perdent leur emploi dans de nombreux pays industrialisés (OCDE, 2013). Lorsqu'ils perdent leur emploi, les travailleurs déplacés peuvent choisir de retourner aux études pour réintégrer plus facilement la population active. Les pertes d'emploi dans un marché du travail local donné peuvent aussi inciter les travailleurs qui n'ont pas encore été mis à pied à s'inscrire, à titre préventif, dans des établissements postsecondaires. En combinant des microdonnées et des données regroupées, la présente étude, Les mises à pied augmentent-elles les transitions aux études postsecondaires chez les adultes?, examine ces deux aspects du rapport entre les mises à pied et les inscriptions aux études postsecondaires pour la période allant de 2001 à 2011.

Femmes au Canada : éducation, qualifications, compétences et technologies

femme sur un site de constructionL'économie du savoir canadienne continue de croître, particulièrement dans les domaines de la science, de la technologie, du génie et des mathématiques (STGM). En raison des changements connexes apportés à l'économie, dont la mondialisation des marchés et l'accent mis sur l'innovation et la technologie, l'éducation fait de plus en plus partie intégrante de la santé de l'économie et du bien-être de la société.

Parallèlement à ces changements, les femmes au Canada sont de plus en plus instruites et la part de la population active qu'elles représentent est aujourd'hui plus importante que jamais. Toutefois, elles continuent d'être moins nombreuses que les hommes à détenir un certificat d'un programme d'apprenti ou d'une école de métiers, ou un grade universitaire, dans les domaines des STGM. Les thèmes, dans Femmes au Canada : éducation, qualifications, compétences et technologies, présentent un profil de l'éducation des femmes au Canada, les compétences des jeunes filles et des femmes, les tendances relatives aux domaines d'études postsecondaires, et les résultats sur le marché du travail, y compris les revenus.

Étude : Littératie et numératie chez les Premières Nations vivant hors réserve et les Métis, 2012

étudiants autochtonesLes recherches existantes indiquent que des compétences cognitives supérieures, comme les compétences en littératie et en numératie, sont associées à une meilleure participation au marché du travail et à un revenu plus élevé, ainsi qu'à un meilleur état de santé autodéclaré. Cependant, ces recherches ne portent pas expressément sur la population autochtone du Canada.

Les répercussions de la littératie et de la numératie sur les résultats économiques et sociaux peuvent être particulièrement importantes pour les Autochtones, car ceux-ci sont généralement jeunes et leur taux de croissance démographique est supérieur à celui de la population non autochtone. En 2011, 46 % des Autochtones avaient 24 ans ou moins, comparativement à 30 % des non-Autochtones. La proportion relativement élevée de jeunes Autochtones de même que leurs niveaux de scolarité et de compétence plus faibles que ceux de leurs homologues non autochtones pourraient entraîner d'importantes répercussions pour cette population sur le marché du travail. Les recherches antérieures confirment que les Autochtones n'obtiennent pas, en général, d'aussi bons résultats sur le marché du travail, en ce qui concerne l'emploi et le revenu, que les non-Autochtones. Étant donné le faible niveau de scolarité de la population autochtone, celle-ci est plus vulnérable aux ralentissements économiques. Il est donc important de comprendre les facteurs qui pourraient favoriser une plus grande intégration de cette population au marché du travail. Voilà quelques-unes des questions examinées dans l'étude intitulée Littératie et numératie chez les Premières Nations vivant hors réserve et les Métis.

Étude : La diversité parmi les jeunes adultes qui vivent avec leurs parents, 1981 à 2011

Les personnes dans la vingtaine peuvent s'engager dans diverses activités, y compris poursuivre des études postsecondaires, trouver un emploi ou établir leur carrière, constituer une relation de couple et avoir des enfants. Même si une telle gamme de changements dans la vie peut fournir de nombreuses occasions aux jeunes adultes de grandir et de se développer, de nombreux défis peuvent aussi se poser au cours de ces années. Des facteurs comme le coût élevé des études, l'incertitude économique ou la difficulté de trouver un travail approprié, la dissolution des unions ou les conflits relationnels ainsi que l'indécision concernant l'avenir peuvent tous influer sur les modalités de vie des personnes dans la vingtaine.

Les jeunes adultes peuvent réagir à ces situations notamment en vivant avec leurs parents, c'est-à-dire en retournant vivre avec eux après être partis ou en restant avec eux plus longtemps. Pour certains jeunes adultes, et peut-être aussi pour leurs parents, la corésidence peut être perçue comme une solution temporaire, jusqu'à ce que leur situation économique ou personnelle s'améliore, tandis que pour d'autres, il peut s'agir d'une stratégie à plus long terme. Même si la corésidence des parents et des enfants adultes est généralement perçue comme comportant plus d'avantages pour la jeune génération, les échanges de soutien — financier, émotionnel ou autre — peuvent se faire dans les deux sens.

Au cours des décennies depuis 1981, on a assisté à une tendance générale à la hausse dans la proportion de jeunes adultes de 20 à 29 ans qui vivent dans le même domicile que leurs parents. Parallèlement, on a noté une augmentation de la diversité ethnoculturelle de la population en général, ce qui est susceptible d'influencer les tendances des modalités de vie. La présente étude, La diversité parmi les jeunes adultes qui vivent avec leurs parents, vise à déterminer dans quelle mesure la corésidence avec les parents est associée aux caractéristiques ethnoculturelles, socioéconomiques et géographiques particulières des jeunes adultes.

Saviez-vous que…?

un hibou diplôméLe nombre total d'élèves inscrits à des programmes d'immersion en français en 2013/2014 était 392 430, ce qui représente une hausse de 5,5 % par rapport à l'année scolaire précédente.

Le montant moyen que les étudiants à temps plein de premier cycle à l'université ont payé en frais de scolarité pour l'année scolaire 2015/2016 était 6 191 $, comparativement aux 5 998 $ payés l'année précédente.

La proportion de femmes parmi tous les enseignants aux niveaux primaire et préscolaire au Canada en 2011 était 84 %.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le sujet, consultez La rentrée scolaire... en chiffres, 2016.

Gros plan sur les chiffres

Chaque mois, nous mettons l'accent sur certains chiffres intéressants!

Gros plan sur les chiffres - 35 %
Gros plan sur les chiffres - 35 %

La proportion de femmes âgées de 25 à 64 ans titulaires d'un certificat ou d'un grade universitaire s'est accrue plus rapidement que celle des hommes, ayant plus que doublé pour passer de 15 % en 1991 à 35 % en 2015.

Source : Enquête sur la population active; Enquête nationale auprès des ménages; Recensement de la population

Gros plan sur les chiffres - 2 millions
Gros plan sur les chiffres - 2 millions

Les inscriptions dans les établissements publics postsecondaires canadiens (collèges et universités) ont atteint plus de 2 millions pendant l'année scolaire 2013-2014, ce qui représente une hausse de 1,2 % par rapport à l'année précédente.

Source : Système d'information sur les étudiants postsecondaires

Quoi de neuf?

Webinaires

écran tactileInscrivez-vous à des séances d'apprentissage en ligne gratuites sur COMMENT TROUVER DES DONNÉES SUR L'ÉDUCATION, en anglais et en français!

Apprenez des trucs utiles sur la façon d'accéder à des données sur l'éducation sur le site Web de Statistique Canada.

Veuillez cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous pour vous inscrire :

Sujet : Finding Education Data (en anglais)
Date : Le mercredi 19 octobre 2016
Heure : 13 h, heure avancée de l'Est (Toronto, UTC-04:00)

Sujet : Comment trouver des données sur l'éducation (en français)
Date : Le jeudi 20 octobre 2016
Heure : 13 h, heure avancée de l'Est (Toronto, UTC-04:00)

Veuillez vous inscrire sans tarder, car les places sont limitées.

À lire également

Le taux de réponse exceptionnel des Canadiens a donné lieu en 2016 au « meilleur recensement jamais produit »

recensement 2016La volonté des Canadiens de participer au recensement a permis à Statistique Canada de produire le « meilleur recensement de son histoire », a annoncé l'organisme le 29 août.

Le taux global de réponse de collecte au Recensement de la population de 2016 a été de 98,4 pour cent. Ce taux est plus élevé que celui obtenu lors des recensements de 2011 et de 2006.

Pour 2016, le taux de réponse au questionnaire détaillé se situe à 97,8 pour cent, ce qui représente le meilleur taux jamais enregistré. Un tel taux de réponse permettra à Statistique Canada de fournir des renseignements de grande qualité pour pratiquement toutes les collectivités.

Le Recensement de 2016 se démarque également sur deux autres plans : l'autodéclaration et la réponse par Internet. Près de 9 ménages canadiens sur 10 ont rempli le questionnaire abrégé ou détaillé sans l'aide du personnel de Statistique Canada. Le taux de 88,8 pour cent donne lieu en 2016 au plus efficace des recensements traditionnels effectués dans le monde.

Pour ce qui est des réponses par Internet, les Canadiens ont livré une performance olympique, soit un taux de réponse en ligne de 68,3 pour cent. Ils ont ainsi dépassé l'objectif ambitieux de 65 pour cent et ont du coup établi un autre record mondial.

Statistique Canada se concentre maintenant sur la production de données du recensement de grande qualité. Un calendrier de diffusion accéléré fournira aux Canadiens tous les résultats bien plus rapidement que pour les recensements précédents. Les premiers résultats du Recensement de 2016 — les données sur les chiffres de population et des logements — seront publiés le 8 février 2017.

De plus, Statistique Canada continue de planifier les prochains recensements. En 2017, des consultations sur le contenu du recensement de 2021 auront lieu. L'organisme cherchera à perfectionner les processus de collecte de données dans le but d'améliorer le caractère inclusif, la qualité des données et l'efficacité du Recensement de 2021.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le recensement, veuillez visiter le site Web de Statistique Canada.

Étude : Nouveaux faits concernant la littératie financière au Canada, 2014

calculatriceIl existe un écart entre les connaissances financières des hommes et celles des femmes, particulièrement chez les Canadiens plus âgés et plus scolarisés.

En outre, un niveau plus élevé de connaissances financières est plus souvent associé à un degré plus poussé de préparation à la retraite chez les personnes qui sont actives sur le marché du travail.

Telles sont les constatations de deux études fondées sur les données de l'Enquête canadienne sur les capacités financières. Dans le cadre de l'enquête, 14 questions ont été posées aux participants en vue d'évaluer leur littératie financière.

Le premier article, intitulé « Les connaissances financières des Canadiens : différences selon le sexe », et le deuxième article, intitulé « Les connaissances financières des Canadiens : différences selon le sexe », et le deuxième article, intitulé « Littératie financière et planification de la retraite », peuvent maintenant être consultés dans Regards sur la société canadienne.

Date de modification :