Life expectancy, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Canadian Megatrends

On the journey of life, the commuting time for each of us is different. Life expectancy?an indicator widely used to explore the general health of a population?is an estimate of the average number of years someone is expected to live from birth or another age, based on death rates calculated for a specific period. Obviously, this is just an average; not everyone will live for precisely the expected length of time. Those who live longer than their life expectancy have often benefited from developments that extend life, such as advancements in the treatment and prevention of disease.

Improvements in life expectancy in Canada

Life expectancy in Canada has greatly improved since the early 20th century. The life expectancy at birth for men has increased by 20.5 years, from 58.8 years in 1920?1922 to 79.3 years in 2009?2011. During the same period, the life expectancy of women increased by 23.0 years, from 60.6 years to 83.6 years.

Life expectancy has historically been lower for men than for women. While the gap was small in 1920?1922 (1.8 years), it reached a high of 7.3 years in 1975?1977 and narrowed to 4.3 years in 2009?2011.

The widening of the gap was partly the result of fewer women dying during childbirth. The narrowing was related to the decline in deaths caused by cardiovascular diseases, which generally affect men more than women.

Life expectancy at birth

Lower life expectancy at birth during the early 20th century was, in part, a reflection of high levels of infant mortality. About 1 in 10 Canadian babies died within the first year of life in 1921, compared with about 1 in 200 in 2011.

Chart 1: Life expectancy at birth by sex, Canada, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Description for Chart 1
Chart 1: Life expectancy at birth, by sex, Canada, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Year Men at birth Women at birth
1920?1922 58.84 60.60
1925?1927 60.47 62.33
1930?1932 60.00 62.06
1935?1937 61.34 63.66
1940?1942 63.04 66.31
1945?1947 65.06 68.62
1950?1952 66.40 70.90
1955?1957 67.68 72.95
1960?1962 68.44 74.26
1965?1967 68.73 75.25
1970?1972 69.58 76.58
1975?1977 70.47 77.79
1980?1982 72.03 79.16
1985?1987 73.29 79.99
1990?1992 74.61 80.96
1995?1997 75.42 81.15
2000?2002 76.92 82.03
2005?2007 78.17 82.78
2009?2011 79.33 83.60

Life expectancy of one-year-olds

The large gains that Canadians experienced in life expectancy at birth were accompanied by smaller gains in life expectancy at other ages.

In 1920?1922, one-year-old boys were expected to live until age 64.7 and one-year-old girls until age 65.3. This was higher than life expectancy at birth by 5.8 years for men and 4.7 years for women. This difference decreased to less than half a year by 2009?2011 as a result of the large reduction in infant mortality. Overall, from 1920?1922 to 2009?2011, the life expectancy of one-year old boys increased by 15.0 years and the life expectancy of one-year-old girls increased by 18.6 years.

Chart 2: Total number of expected years of life for Canadian men at birth, age 1, and age 65, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Description for Chart 2
Chart 2: Total number of expected years of life for Canadian men?at birth, age 1, and age 65, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Year Men at birth Men at age 1 Men at age 65
1920?1922 58.84 64.71 78.04
1925?1927 60.47 66.01 78.28
1930?1932 60.00 65.57 77.98
1935?1937 61.34 66.25 77.97
1940?1942 63.04 67.04 77.81
1945?1947 65.06 68.51 78.18
1950?1952 66.40 69.31 78.31
1955?1957 67.68 70.01 78.38
1960?1962 68.44 70.51 78.56
1965?1967 68.73 70.48 78.58
1970?1972 69.58 71.00 78.87
1975?1977 70.47 71.49 79.17
1980?1982 72.03 72.82 79.65
1985?1987 73.29 73.92 80.01
1990?1992 74.61 75.14 80.81
1995?1997 75.42 75.89 81.04
2000?2002 76.92 77.36 81.98
2005?2007 78.17 78.60 83.00
2009?2011 79.33 79.75 83.82
Chart 3: Total number of expected years of life for Canadian women?at birth, age 1, and age 65, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Description for Chart 3
Chart 3: Total number of expected years of life for Canadian women?at birth, age 1, and age 65, 1920?1922 to 2009?2011
Year Women at birth Women at age 1 Women at age 65
1920?1922 60.60 65.33 78.55
1925?1927 62.33 66.90 78.97
1930?1932 62.06 66.64 78.72
1935?1937 63.66 67.68 78.85
1940?1942 66.31 69.63 79.07
1945?1947 68.62 71.49 79.60
1950?1952 70.90 73.36 80.00
1955?1957 72.95 74.96 80.59
1960?1962 74.26 76.01 81.11
1965?1967 75.25 76.77 81.76
1970?1972 76.58 77.77 82.66
1975?1977 77.79 78.71 83.30
1980?1982 79.16 79.83 84.02
1985?1987 79.99 80.54 84.35
1990?1992 80.96 81.43 84.97
1995?1997 81.15 81.57 84.90
2000?2002 82.03 82.41 85.52
2005?2007 82.78 83.17 86.07
2009?2011 83.60 83.98 86.73

Life expectancy of 65-year-olds

In 1920?1922, Canadian men who had lived to age 65 could expect to live for 13 more years, and women could expect to live for 13.5 more years (to age 78.0 and 78.5 respectively). The expected total life span of 65-year-olds was substantially higher than life expectancy at birth: 19.2 years higher for men and 18.0 years higher for women.

In 2009?2011, 65-year-old men were expected to live until they were 83.8, while 65-year-old women were expected to live until the age of 86.7. This means that from 1920?1922 to 2009?2011, the life expectancies of 65-year-olds increased by 5.8 years for men and 8.2 years for women. This is a much smaller gain than the 20-year increase in life expectancy for newborns during this same period.

Gains in life expectancy

Most of the gains in life expectancy from 1920?1922 to 2009?2011 were attributable to the prevention of death among younger people. For example, childhood immunization against infectious diseases helped to reduce death at early ages. Health awareness campaigns and associated legislation aimed at preventing injury, such as mandatory seat-belt use, also helped to prevent deaths across a broad age range.

People aged 65 and older have experienced modest gains in life expectancy, in part because of advancements in the prevention and treatment of circulatory diseases and, more recently, the treatment of cancer.


Definitions

Life expectancy: Average number of years an individual could be expected to live, based on current patterns of mortality. This indicator reflects environmental conditions in a country, the health of its people, the quality of care they receive when they are sick, and their living conditions.

Expected years of life: Sum of the age reached and the life expectancy for that age.

References

Cutler, D. M., and E. Meara. 2001. “Changes in the Age Distribution of Mortality over the 20th Century.” NBER Working Paper Series. no. 8556. Cambridge, Massachusetts: National Bureau of Economic Results.

Decady, Y., and L. Greenberg. 2014. Ninety years of change in life expectancy, Health at a Glance. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 82-624-X.

Greenberg, L. and C. Normandin. 2011. Disparities in life expectancy at birth, Health at a Glance. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 82-624-X.

Nagunar, D. 1986. Longevity and Historical Life Tables 1921-1981 (Abridged): Canada and the Provinces. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 89-506-XPB.

Public Health Agency of Canada. 2008. The Chief Public Health Officer’s Report on the State of Public Health in Canada. Available at: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cphorsphc-respcacsp/2008/fr-rc/pdf/CPHO-Report-e.pdf. Accessed January 5, 2016.

Statistics Canada. Table 102-0030 Infant mortality, by sex and birth weight, Canada, provinces and territories (table). CANSIM (database). Last updated September 24, 2013.

Contact information

To enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact Lawson Greenberg (Lawson.Greenberg@canada.ca; 613-799-8690), Health Statistics Division.

Date modified:

L'espérance de vie des Canadiens de 1920-1922 à 2009-2011

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Mégatendances canadiennes

La vie suit un chemin différent pour chacun et la durée du trajet n'est pas la même pour tous. L'espérance de vie, un indicateur d'usage très répandu pour explorer l'état de santé général d'une population, est une estimation du nombre moyen d'années restantes de vie à la naissance ou à d'autres âges, selon les taux de décès calculés pour une période donnée. Mais il ne s'agit que d'une moyenne. En effet, la vie ne dure jamais exactement le temps prévu. Ceux qui vivent plus longtemps que leur espérance de vie ont souvent profité d'avantages permettant de prolonger la vie, comme des progrès réalisés dans le domaine de la prévention et du traitement des maladies.

Amélioration de l'espérance de vie au Canada

Au Canada, l'espérance de vie s'est grandement améliorée depuis le début du 20e siècle. En effet, chez les hommes, l'espérance de vie à la naissance s'est accrue de 20,5 années, passant de 58,8 ans en 1920-1922 à 79,3 ans en 2009-2011. Au cours de la même période, l'espérance de vie des femmes a augmenté de 23,0 années, passant de 60,6 ans à 83,6 ans.

L'espérance de vie des hommes a toujours été plus courte que celle des femmes. Si cet écart entre les sexes était faible en 1920-1922 (1,8 année), il a atteint un sommet de 7,3 années en 1975-1977, pour ensuite diminuer, passant à 4,3 années en 2009-2011.

L'accentuation de l'écart est partiellement attribuable à la réduction du nombre de femmes qui mouraient durant l'accouchement. Le rétrécissement ultérieur de l'écart, quant à lui, est lié à la réduction du nombre de décès causés par les maladies cardiovasculaires, qui touchent généralement plus d'hommes que de femmes.

Espérance de vie à la naissance

L'espérance de vie plus courte à la naissance au début du 20e siècle s'expliquait en partie par les taux élevés de mortalité infantile. Au Canada, en 1921, environ 1 enfant sur 10 mourait au cours de sa première année de vie, comparativement à environ 1 sur 200 en 2011.

Graphique 1 
Espérance de vie à la naissance selon le sexe, Canada, 1920–1922 à 2009–2011
Description du graphique 1
Taux d'activité des hommes et des femmes âgés de 25 à 54 ans, 1953 à 2014
Année Hommes à la naissance Femmes à la naissance
1920–1922 58,84 60,60
1925–1927 60,47 62,33
1930–1932 60,00 62,06
1935–1937 61,34 63,66
1940–1942 63,04 66,31
1945–1947 65,06 68,62
1950–1952 66,40 70,90
1955–1957 67,68 72,95
1960–1962 68,44 74,26
1965–1967 68,73 75,25
1970–1972 69,58 76,58
1975–1977 70,47 77,79
1980–1982 72,03 79,16
1985–1987 73,29 79,99
1990–1992 74,61 80,96
1995–1997 75,42 81,15
2000–2002 76,92 82,03
2005–2007 78,17 82,78
2009–2011 79,33 83,60

Espérance de vie à un an

La forte croissance de l'espérance de vie des Canadiens à la naissance s'est accompagnée de hausses plus modestes à d'autres âges.

En 1920-1922, on pouvait s'attendre à ce que les garçons d'un an vivent jusqu'à 64,7 ans, et les filles d'un an, jusqu'à 65,3 ans. Pour les garçons, cela dépassait de 5,8 ans l'espérance de vie à la naissance et pour les filles, de 4,7 ans. En 2009-2011, cet écart avait diminué à moins d'une demi-année, résultat de l'importante baisse de la mortalité infantile. Dans l'ensemble, de 1920-1922 à 2009-2011, l'espérance de vie des garçons d'un an a augmenté de 15,0 ans, et celle des filles, de 18,6 ans.

Graphique 2 : Nombre total d'années qu’une personne peut s’attendre à vivre, hommes — à la naissance, à l'âge d'un an et à l'âge de 65 ans, 1920–1922 à 2009–2011
Description pour Graphique 2
Graphique 2: Nombre total d'années qu'une personne peut s'attendre à vivre, hommes — à la naissance, à l'âge d'un an et à l'âge de 65 ans, 1920–1922 à 2009–2011
Year Hommes à la naissance Hommes à l'âge d'un an Hommes à l'âge de 65 ans
1920–1922 58,84 64,71 78,04
1925–1927 60,47 66,01 78,28
1930–1932 60,00 65,57 77,98
1935–1937 61,34 66,25 77,97
1940–1942 63,04 67,04 77,81
1945–1947 65,06 68,51 78,18
1950–1952 66,40 69,31 78,31
1955–1957 67,68 70,01 78,38
1960–1962 68,44 70,51 78,56
1965–1967 68,73 70,48 78,58
1970–1972 69,58 71,00 78,87
1975–1977 70,47 71,49 79,17
1980–1982 72,03 72,82 79,65
1985–1987 73,29 73,92 80,01
1990–1992 74,61 75,14 80,81
1995–1997 75,42 75,89 81,04
2000–2002 76,92 77,36 81,98
2005–2007 78,17 78,60 83,00
2009–2011 79,33 79,75 83,82
Graphique 3 : Nombre total d'années qu’une personne peut s’attendre à vivre, femmes — à la naissance, à l'âge d'un an et à l'âge de 65 ans, 1920–1922 à 2009–2011
Description pour Graphique 3
Graphique 3 : Nombre total d'années qu'une personne peut s'attendre à vivre, femmes — à la naissance, à l'âge d'un an et à l'âge de 65 ans, 1920–1922 à 2009–2011
Year Femmes à la naissance Femmes à l'âge d'un an Femmes à l'âge de 65 ans
1920–1922 60,60 65,33 78,55
1925–1927 62,33 66,90 78,97
1930–1932 62,06 66,64 78,72
1935–1937 63,66 67,68 78,85
1940–1942 66,31 69,63 79,07
1945–1947 68,62 71,49 79,60
1950–1952 70,90 73,36 80,00
1955–1957 72,95 74,96 80,59
1960–1962 74,26 76,01 81,11
1965–1967 75,25 76,77 81,76
1970–1972 76,58 77,77 82,66
1975–1977 77,79 78,71 83,30
1980–1982 79,16 79,83 84,02
1985–1987 79,99 80,54 84,35
1990–1992 80,96 81,43 84,97
1995–1997 81,15 81,57 84,90
2000–2002 82,03 82,41 85,52
2005–2007 82,78 83,17 86,07
2009–2011 83,60 83,98 86,73

L'espérance de vie à 65 ans

En 1920-1922, les hommes canadiens qui avaient vécu jusqu'à l'âge de 65 ans pouvaient s'attendre à vivre 13 années de plus, et les femmes, 13,5 années de plus (jusqu'à l'âge de 78,0 et de 78,5 ans, respectivement). À l'âge de 65 ans, le nombre d'années qu'une personne peut s'attendre à vivre était beaucoup plus grand que l'espérance de vie à la naissance : 19,2 années de plus pour les hommes et 18,0 années de plus pour les femmes.

En 2009-2011, les hommes de 65 ans pouvaient s'attendre à vivre jusqu'à l'âge de 83,8 ans et les femmes de 65 ans, jusqu'à l'âge de 86,7 ans. Ainsi, de 1920-1922 à 2009-2011, l'espérance de vie à 65 ans a augmenté de 5,8 années pour les hommes et de 8,2 années pour les femmes, une augmentation beaucoup moins grande que celle de 20 années de l'espérance de vie observée pour les nouveau-nés au cours de la même période.

Amélioration de l'espérance de vie

Les augmentations observées au chapitre de l'espérance de vie de 1920-1922 à 2009-2011 sont principalement attribuables à la prévention des décès chez les plus jeunes. Par exemple, la vaccination des enfants contre les maladies infectieuses a contribué à réduire la mortalité à un jeune âge. Les campagnes de sensibilisation à la santé et les dispositions législatives visant à prévenir les blessures, comme le port obligatoire de la ceinture de sécurité, ont également contribué à la prévention des décès dans une large tranche d'âge.

Les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus ont connu une progression modeste de leur espérance de vie, en partie grâce aux progrès réalisés dans le domaine de la prévention et du traitement des maladies de l'appareil circulatoire et, plus récemment, du cancer.


Définitions

Espérance de vie : Nombre moyen d'années qu'une personne peut s'attendre à vivre, compte tenu des profils actuels de mortalité. Cet indicateur reflète les conditions environnementales, la santé de la population, la qualité des soins dispensés et les conditions de vie prévalant dans un pays.

Nombre d'années qu'une personne peut s'attendre à vivre : Somme de l'âge atteint et de l'espérance de vie à cet âge.

Bibliographie

Cutler, D. M. et E. Meara. 2001. « Changes in the Age Distribution of Mortality over the 20th Century », NBER Working Paper Series, no 8556, Cambridge, Massachusetts, National Bureau of Economic Results.

Decady, Y. et L. Greenberg. 2014. Quatre-vingt-dix ans de changements dans l’espérance de vie, Coup d’œil sur la santé, produit no 82-624-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Greenberg, L. et C. Normandin. 2011. Variations en matière d’espérance de vie à la naissance, Coup d’œil sur la santé, produit no 82-624-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Nagunar, D. 1986. Longévité et tables de mortalité chronologiques (abrégées), 1921-1981, Canada et provinces, produit no 89-506-XPB au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada. 2008. Rapport de l’administrateur en chef de la santé publique sur l’état de la santé publique au Canada, http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/cphorsphc-respcacsp/2008/fr-rc/pdf/CPHO-Report-f.pdf (site consulté le 5 janvier 2016).

Statistique Canada. Mortalité infantile, selon le sexe et le poids à la naissance, Canada, provinces et territoires, tableau CANSIM no 102-0030, mis à jour le 24 septembre 2013.

Personnes-ressources

Pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, la méthodologie ou la qualité des données de cette publication, veuillez communiquer avec Lawson Greenberg (Lawson.Greenberg@canada.ca; 613-799-8690), Division de la statistique de la santé.

 
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :