Economic Insights
Environmentally Adjusted Productivity Growth and the Market Price of Greenhouse Gas Emissions for the Canadian Manufacturing Sector

by Michael Willox,
Economic Analysis Division, Analytical Studies Branch, Statistics Canada

11-626-X No. 094
Release date: May 8, 2019

This article in the Economic Insights series examines how accounting for greenhouse gas emissions as part of economic activity changes the measurement of productivity growth. Productivity growth is a commonly used measure of economic performance; it is defined as the amount of output produced relative to inputs used in production. Results indicate that, in the Canadian manufacturing sector, productivity growth that includes greenhouse gas emissions as an undesirable output of production was higher than standard measures of productivity growth, which include only desirable outputs. Higher environmentally adjusted productivity growth reflects the decline in greenhouse gas intensity (the amount of undesirable output, such as greenhouse gas emissions, relative to the amount of desirable output) of manufacturers. This article also provides estimates of the market price of greenhouse gas emissions, which are required to estimate environmentally adjusted productivity growth.

Introduction

Historically, statistical agencies such as Statistics Canada have measured economic activity with more focus on how much desirable output is produced (goods and services) and less focus on how much undesirable output (pollution) is produced as a by-product.

To determine the degree to which economic performance and environmental performance are tied, economic activity must be measured as a process that creates both desirable and undesirable outputs. Moreover, standard measures of economic activity that measure only desirable output are incomplete. One of those standard measures is productivity, which can be defined most simply as efficiency in production (Baldwin et al. 2014 and OECD, 2001). Productivity growth matters because it is one of the most important contributors to economic growth and prosperity, especially over long periods of time.

A standard productivity measure called multifactor productivity (MFP) growth compares how much desirable output is produced relative to the amount of factor inputs (labour, capital and intermediate inputs) that are used in production. A more inclusive productivity measure is environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity (EAMFP), which compares how much total output (desirable and undesirable) is produced with the same factor inputs. EAMFP was developed in a recent Statistics Canada study, Environmentally Adjusted Multifactor Productivity Growth for the Canadian Manufacturing Sector (Gu, Hussain and Willox 2019). This article summarizes the main findings of that study.

Productivity growth in Canada’s manufacturing sector from 2004 to 2015 was somewhat faster when businesses’ greenhouse gasNote (GHG) emissions were included in the measurement of productivity growth (Chart 1). Faster productivity growth was largely caused by a decline in the intensity of GHG emissions (defined as tonnes of GHG emissions per dollar of desirable output, adjusted for inflation) among the largest GHG emitters in the manufacturing sector.Note

Although the data used in this study end in 2012, information from Statistics Canada’s annual MFP accounts can be used to project EAMFP growth for 2013 to 2015, as represented by the dashed line in Chart 1.Note On average, EAMFP grew 0.17% per year, compared with 0.10% for MFP over the extended 2004-to-2015 period.

Chart 1

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Multifactor productivity, Environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity and Projected environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity, calculated using index (2004=100) units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Multifactor productivity Environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity Projected environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity
index (2004=100)
2004 100.00 100.00 Note ...: not applicable
2005 100.49 100.88 Note ...: not applicable
2006 100.35 100.45 Note ...: not applicable
2007 99.65 99.97 Note ...: not applicable
2008 99.33 99.66 Note ...: not applicable
2009 97.51 97.48 Note ...: not applicable
2010 98.64 98.97 Note ...: not applicable
2011 99.43 99.90 Note ...: not applicable
2012 99.96 100.47 100.47
2013 100.33 Note ...: not applicable 100.88
2014 101.11 Note ...: not applicable 101.72
2015 101.11 Note ...: not applicable 101.85

Calculating environmentally adjusted multifactor productivity

The difference between EAMFP and MFP reflects the fact that total output is calculated differently for the two productivity measures. In the case of MFP, total output includes only desirable output. For EAMFP, total output also includes the undesirable output that is jointly produced with desirable output. Because it is unwanted, undesirable output is subtracted from desirable output, making the total output for EAMFP lower than that of MFP. Since both productivity measures are calculated as their respective total output relative to the same inputs, the level of EAMFP is lower than that of MFP, except when no undesirable output is produced.

However, the growth of MFP and EAMFP is a different story. When the quantity of inputs does not change over time but desirable output increases, MFP grows. If GHG emissions also decline, EAMFP growth will be higher than MFP growth. Put another way, if the quantity of GHG emissions relative to the quantity of desirable output produced (i.e., GHG emission intensity) declines, EAMFP will grow faster than MFP. The general decline in GHG emission intensity among Canadian manufacturers was the primary source of stronger EAMFP growth.

Measuring the quantity of pollution

Information on GHG emission quantities from Environment and Climate Change Canada was combined with information from Statistics Canada’s Annual Survey of Manufacturing) to calculate the GHG emission intensity of large emitting manufacturers (manufacturers that emitted 100,000 tonnes of GHGs or more annually). The intensity of these businesses’ GHG emissions, shown in Chart 2 (the bars for 2013 to 2015 are projected values), generally declined with some volatility over the period examined in the study.Note

Chart 2

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2 Price of total GHGs , Projected price of total GHGs , GHG emissions intensity and Projected GHG emission intensity , calculated using dollars and tonnes / million 2012 dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Price of total GHGs Projected price of total GHGs GHG emissions intensity Projected GHG emission intensity
dollars tonnes / million 2012 dollars
2004 -298 Note ...: not applicable 782 Note ...: not applicable
2005 -336 Note ...: not applicable 694 Note ...: not applicable
2006 -317 Note ...: not applicable 736 Note ...: not applicable
2007 -341 Note ...: not applicable 684 Note ...: not applicable
2008 -357 Note ...: not applicable 652 Note ...: not applicable
2009 -310 Note ...: not applicable 751 Note ...: not applicable
2010 -350 Note ...: not applicable 666 Note ...: not applicable
2011 -381 Note ...: not applicable 612 Note ...: not applicable
2012 -390 -390 598 Note ...: not applicable
2013 Note ...: not applicable -395 Note ...: not applicable 586
2014 Note ...: not applicable -409 Note ...: not applicable 553
2015 Note ...: not applicable -422 Note ...: not applicable 536

Measuring the cost of pollution

With information on quantities of undesirable outputs, price information for undesirable outputs—which is needed to calculate EAMFP—was estimated using an economic model similar to those used in two studies from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development by Brandt, Schreyer and Zipperer (2014), and Dang and Mourougane (2014). Over the 2004-to-2012 period examined, the market price of GHGs, indicated by the solid line (right axis) in Chart 2, fell from a high of -$298 per tonne for large emitting manufacturers in 2004 to about -$422 per tonne in 2015.Note This negative price indicates that, in 2015, the cost of reducing GHG emissions by one tonne would be equal to reducing production by $422 worth of desirable output. In other words, the negative price of GHGs reflects a trade-off in which reducing undesirable output means that desirable output must also be reduced proportionately.Note

While the modelling of an estimated market price of GHGs is helpful, there are three reasons to interpret these findings with some caution. First, the price of GHGs for the manufacturing sector does not apply to the whole economy. The manufacturing sector is generally more pollution-intensive than other sectors, especially the services sector. Second, the data used to create price estimates included only businesses that emitted 100,000 tonnes of GHGs or more annually. This means that the businesses that are included in the dataset are typically larger than the average manufacturer, and likely more emissions-intensive.Note Therefore, the price estimates in the study may not reflect the price of GHGs for all other manufacturers. Third, the prices for undesirable outputs derived in the study reflect the cost of reducing emissions for producers. They are not the social prices or costs of undesirable outputs, which would also account for the impact of undesirable outputs on public institutions and infrastructure, social justice, and the health and income of individuals.

Conclusion

From 2004 to 2012, the decline in the intensity of GHG emissions among the largest emitters in the manufacturing sector was the main reason that EAMFP growth outpaced MFP growth. A decline in GHG emission intensity was also the primary driver behind the falling price of GHGs. From a business perspective, the market price of GHGs represents the cost of reducing emissions, which increased from $298 per tonne of GHG emissions in 2004 to $390 per tonne in 2012.

References

Baldwin, J.R., W. Gu, R. Macdonald, and B. Yan. 2014. What Is Productivity? How Is It Measured? What Has Canada’s Performance Been over the Period 1961 to 2012? The Canadian Productivity Review, no. 38. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 15-206-X. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Baldwin, J.R., D. Leung, and L. Rispoli. 2014. Canada-United States Labour Productivity Gap Across Firm Size Classes. The Canadian Productivity Review, no. 33. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 15-206-X. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Brandt, N., P. Schreyer, and V. Zipperer. 2014. Productivity Measurement with Natural Capital and Bad Outputs. OECD Economics Department Working Papers, no. 1154. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Dang, T., and A. Mourougane. 2014. Estimating Shadow Prices of Pollution in OECD Economies. OECD Green Growth Papers, no. 2014-02. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Gu, W., J. Hussain, and M. Willox. 2019. Environmentally Adjusted Multifactor Productivity Growth for the Canadian Manufacturing Sector. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series, no. 425. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0019M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). 2001. Measuring Productivity—OECD Manual: Measurement of Aggregate and Industry-Level Productivity Growth. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Statistics Canada, n.d.a. Table 36-10-0217 Multifactor productivity, gross output, value-added, capital, labour and intermediate inputs at a detailed industry level. Available at: https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv-action?pid=3610021701 (accessed January 29, 2019).

Statistics Canada, n.d.b. Table 38-10-0097 Physical flow account for greenhouse gas emissions. Available at: https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/en/tv-action?pid=3810009701 (accessed January 29, 2019).


Date modified:

Aperçus économiques
Croissance de la productivité ajustée en fonction de l’environnement et prix du marché des émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour le secteur de la fabrication au Canada

par Michael Willox,
Division de l’analyse économique, Direction des études analytiques, Statistique Canada

11-626-X no 094
Date de diffusion : le 8 mai 2019

Le présent article de la série Aperçus économiques examine la mesure dans laquelle tenir compte des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le calcul de l’activité économique modifie la mesure de la croissance de la productivité. La croissance de la productivité est une mesure de performance économique communément utilisée; on la définit comme la production par rapport aux intrants utilisés. Les résultats indiquent que, dans le secteur de la fabrication au Canada, la croissance de la productivité qui tient compte des émissions de gaz à effet de serre comme produits non souhaitables était supérieure aux mesures standard de croissance de la productivité, qui ne comprennent que les produits souhaitables. Une croissance supérieure de la productivité ajustée en fonction de l’environnement reflète la baisse de l’intensité des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (la quantité de produits non souhaitables, comme les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, par rapport à la quantité de produits souhaitables) des fabricants. Le présent article présente également des estimations du prix du marché des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, qui sont requises pour évaluer la croissance de la productivité ajustée en fonction de l’environnement.

Introduction

Historiquement, les organismes statistiques comme Statistique Canada mesurent l’activité économique en mettant davantage l’accent sur la production de produits souhaitables (les biens et services) et en accordant moins d’importance à la production de sous-produits non souhaitables (la pollution).

Pour établir la mesure dans laquelle la performance économique et la performance environnementale sont liées, on doit mesurer l’activité économique comme un procédé qui génère à la fois des produits souhaitables et non souhaitables. En outre, les mesures standard de l’activité économique qui ne mesurent que les produits souhaitables sont incomplètes. Une de ces mesures standard est la productivité, que l’on peut définir dans sa plus simple expression comme l’efficacité de la production (Baldwin et coll., 2014 et OCDE, 2001). La croissance de la productivité est importante, car il s’agit d’un des plus importants facteurs contribuant à la croissance et à la prospérité économiques, plus particulièrement sur de longues périodes.

Une mesure standard de productivité appelée « croissance de la productivité multifactorielle » (PMF) compare la production d’un produit souhaitable par rapport à la quantité de facteurs (main-d’œuvre, capital et intrants intermédiaires) utilisés dans l’activité de production. Une mesure de productivité plus inclusive est la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement (PMFAE), qui compare la partie de la production totale (souhaitable et non souhaitable) qui est produite avec les mêmes facteurs. La PMFAE a été élaborée dans une étude récente de Statistique Canada : Croissance de la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement dans le secteur de la fabrication au Canada (Gu, Hussain et Willox, 2019). Le présent article résume les principaux résultats de cette étude.

La croissance de la productivité de 2004 à 2015 dans le secteur de la fabrication au Canada était légèrement supérieure lorsqu’on incluait les émissions de gaz à effet de serreNote (GES) des entreprises dans la mesure de la croissance de la productivité (graphique 1). La croissance plus rapide de la productivité provenait en grande partie d’une baisse de l’intensité des émissions de GES (définie comme les tonnes d’émissions de GES par dollar de produit souhaitable, ajustée pour tenir compte de l’inflation) chez les plus grands émetteurs de GES dans le secteur de la fabricationNote .

Bien que les données utilisées dans l’étude se terminent en 2012, on peut utiliser les renseignements des comptes annuels de la PMF de Statistique Canada pour projeter la croissance de la PMFAE pour 2013 à 2015, comme l’indique la ligne pointillée dans le graphique 1Note . En moyenne, la PMFAE a augmenté de 0,17 % par année, comparativement à 0,10 % pour la PMF au cours de la période prolongée de 2004 à 2015.

Graphique 1

Tableau de données du graphique 1 
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1 Productivité multifactorielle, Productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement et Projection de la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement, calculées selon indice (2004=100) unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Productivité multifactorielle Productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement Projection de la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement
indice (2004=100)
2004 100,00 100,00 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2005 100,49 100,88 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2006 100,35 100,45 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2007 99,65 99,97 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2008 99,33 99,66 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2009 97,51 97,48 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2010 98,64 98,97 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2011 99,43 99,90 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2012 99,96 100,47 100,47
2013 100,33 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 100,88
2014 101,11 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 101,72
2015 101,11 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 101,85

Calculer la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement

La différence entre la PMFAE et la PMF tient du fait que la production totale est calculée différemment pour les deux mesures de la productivité. Dans le cas de la PMF, la production totale comprend uniquement les produits souhaitables. Dans le cas la PMFAE, la production totale comprend également la production conjointe des produits non souhaitables. Puisqu’elle est indésirable, la production non souhaitable est soustraite de la production souhaitable, ce qui rend la production totale pour la PMFAE inférieure à la PMF. Comme les deux mesures de la productivité sont calculées selon leur production totale respective par rapport aux mêmes intrants, le niveau de la PMFAE est inférieur à celui de la PMF, sauf lorsqu’il n’y a aucun produit non souhaitable.

Cependant, pour ce qui est de la croissance de la PMF et de la PMFAE, l’histoire est toute autre. Lorsque la quantité d’intrants ne change pas au fil du temps, mais que la production souhaitable augmente, la PMF affiche une croissance. Si les émissions de GES diminuent aussi, alors la croissance de la PMFAE sera supérieure à la croissance de la PMF. Autrement dit, si la quantité d’émissions de GES par rapport à la quantité de produits souhaitables (c.-à-d. l’intensité des émissions de GES) diminue, la PMFAE aura une croissance plus rapide que la PMF. Le déclin général de l’intensité des émissions de GES chez les fabricants canadiens était le facteur principal de la croissance accrue de la PMFAE.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Mesurer la quantité de pollution

On a combiné les renseignements sur les quantités d’émissions de GES fournis par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada aux renseignements de l’Enquête annuelle des industries manufacturières et de l’exploitation forestière de Statistique Canada pour calculer l’intensité des émissions de GES des grands émetteurs (les fabricants qui émettent au moins 100 000 tonnes de GES annuellement). L’intensité des émissions de GES de ces entreprises, présentée dans le graphique 2 (les barres pour 2013 à 2015 sont des valeurs projetées), était généralement à la baisse malgré une certaine volatilité au cours de la période dont traite l’étudeNote .

Graphique 2

Tableau de données du graphique 2 
Tableau de données du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 2 Prix des GES totaux , Prix projeté des GES totaux , Intensité des émissions de GES et Intensité projetée des émissions de GES , calculées selon dollars et tonnes / million de dollars de 2012 unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Prix des GES totaux Prix projeté des GES totaux Intensité des émissions de GES Intensité projetée des émissions de GES
dollars tonnes / million de dollars de 2012
2004 -298 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 782 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2005 -336 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 694 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2006 -317 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 736 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2007 -341 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 684 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2008 -357 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 652 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2009 -310 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 751 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2010 -350 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 666 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2011 -381 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 612 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2012 -390 -390 598 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
2013 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer -395 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 586
2014 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer -409 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 553
2015 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer -422 Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer 536

Mesurer les coûts associés à la pollution

Grâce aux renseignements sur les quantités de produits non souhaitables, on a estimé les prix associés aux produits non souhaitables — qui sont requis pour calculer la PMFAE — en utilisant un modèle économique semblable à ceux utilisés dans deux études de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques qui ont été réalisées par Brandt, Schreyer et Zipperer (2014) et par Dang et Mourougane (2014). Au cours de la période examinée (2004 à 2012), le prix du marché des GES, indiqué par la ligne pleine (axe droit) dans le graphique 2, est passé d’un sommet de -298 $ par tonne pour les grands émetteurs en 2004 à environ -422 $ par tonne en 2015Note . Ce prix négatif indique que, en 2015, le coût de la réduction des émissions de GES d’une tonne était égal à une réduction de la production d’une valeur de 422 $ en produits non souhaitables. Autrement dit, le prix négatif des GES reflète un compromis selon lequel réduire les produits non souhaitables signifie qu’il faut également réduire les produits souhaitables de façon proportionnelleNote .

Bien que la modélisation d’un prix du marché estimé des GES soit utile, il existe trois raisons d’interpréter ces résultats avec une certaine prudence. Premièrement, le prix des GES pour le secteur de la fabrication ne s’applique pas à l’ensemble de l’économie. Le secteur de la fabrication est habituellement plus polluant que les autres secteurs, plus particulièrement le secteur des services. Deuxièmement, les données utilisées pour estimer les prix ne comprenaient que les entreprises qui émettaient au moins 100 000 tonnes de GES annuellement. Cela signifie que les entreprises incluses dans l’ensemble de données étaient en général plus grandes que le fabricant moyen et probablement de plus grandes émettrices de GESNote . Par conséquent, les estimations de prix présentées dans l’étude peuvent ne pas refléter le prix des GES pour tous les autres fabricants. Troisièmement, les prix des produits non souhaitables calculés dans l’étude reflètent le coût de la réduction des émissions pour les producteurs. Il ne s’agit pas des prix ou des coûts sociaux des produits non souhaitables, qui tiendraient également compte des répercussions des produits non souhaitables sur les institutions et les infrastructures publiques, la justice sociale ainsi que la santé et le revenu des particuliers.

Conclusion

De 2004 à 2012, la réduction de l’intensité des émissions de GES chez les plus grands émetteurs du secteur de la fabrication constituait la principale raison pour laquelle la croissance de la PMFAE a devancé la croissance de la PMF. Une baisse de l’intensité des émissions de GES était également le principal facteur à l’origine de la baisse des prix des GES. Du point de vue opérationnel, le prix du marché des GES représente le coût de la réduction des émissions, qui a augmenté de 298 $ par tonne d’émissions de GES en 2004 à 390 $ par tonne en 2012.

Bibliographie

Baldwin, J. R., W. Gu, R. Macdonald, et B. Yan. 2014. Qu’est-ce que la productivité? Comment la mesure-t-on? Quelle a été la productivité du Canada pour la période de 1961 à 2012? La revue canadienne de productivité, no 38. Produit no 15-206-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Baldwin, J. R., D. Leung, et L. Rispoli. 2014. Écart entre la productivité du travail au Canada et aux États-Unis selon les catégories de taille d’entreprise. La revue canadienne de productivité, no 33. Produit no 15-206-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Brandt, N., P. Schreyer, et V. Zipperer. 2014. Productivity Measurement with Natural Capital and Bad Outputs. OECD Economics Department Working Papers, no 1154. Paris : OECD Publishing.

Dang, T., et A. Mourougane. 2014. Estimating Shadow Prices of Pollution in OECD Economies. OECD Green Growth Papers, no 2014-02. Paris : OECD Publishing.

Gu, W., J. Hussain, et M. Willox. 2019. Croissance de la productivité multifactorielle ajustée en fonction de l’environnement pour le secteur de la fabrication au Canada. Direction des études analytiques : documents de recherche no 425.  Produit no 11F0019M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

OCDE (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques). 2001. Mesurer la productivité - Manuel de l’OCDE : Mesurer la croissance de la productivité par secteur et pour l’ensemble de l’économie. Paris : Éditions OCDE.

Statistique Canada. Tableau 36-10-0217 Productivité multifactorielle, production brute, valeur ajoutée, facteurs capital, travail et intermédiaire au niveau de l’industrie détaillé, selon des industries. Disponible à l’adresse suivante : https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/fr/tv?pid=3610021701&request_locale=fr (consulté le 29 janvier 2019).

Statistique Canada. Tableau 38-10-0097 Compte physique de flux des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Disponible à l’adresse suivante : https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/t1/tbl1/fr/tv?pid=3810009701&request_locale=fr (consulté le 29 janvier 2019).


Date de modification :