Publications

Economic Insights

Quarterly Business and Employment Dynamics: Experimental Estimates, First Quarter 2001 to Third Quarter 2014

Quarterly Business and Employment Dynamics: Experimental Estimates, First Quarter 2001 to Third Quarter 2014

by Danny LeungNote 1, Economic Analysis Division

Start of text box

This Economic Insights article presents quarterly estimates of employer business entry and exit, and the associated job creation and destruction from the first quarter of 2001 to the third quarter of 2014. These quarterly estimates supplement the annual data provided by Statistics Canada’s Longitudinal Employment Analysis Program by providing more timely, infra-annual data on business and employment dynamics. Quarterly entrantsNote 2 and exitersNote 3 are identified by determining if enterprises had employment in adjacent years, and examining the timing of this employment. Job creation by entrants is the sum of all jobs across firms that started to be employers; job destruction by exiters is the sum of all jobs across firms that ceased to be employers. The data pertain to all industrial sectors except those primarily involved in educational services, health care and social assistance, and public administration.

End of text box

Small, young businesses are important to the employment growth of an economy. They account for a disproportionate share of gross job creation and net employment growth in a number of countries who are members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.Note 4 In the United States the slow recovery in overall job creation up to 2011 has been linked to weak job creation by young firms.Note 5,Note 6 Entrants and their contribution to employment growth are, therefore, indicators of a healthy and dynamic economy.

Since the late 1980s, Statistics Canada has produced annual statistics on business entry and exit, and job creation and job destruction from its Longitudinal Employment Analysis Program (LEAP). However, the time lag between the end of the year and the production of these statistics is substantial. For example, the 2013 LEAP data will not be available until the summer of 2015. Quarterly estimates fill a need for more timely, sub-annual indicators of business and employment dynamics.

Methodology

Both LEAP and the quarterly estimates cover incorporated and unincorporated enterprises with employees. In LEAP, employer enterprises are identified as businesses that annually issue one or more statements of remuneration paid (T4 slip) from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) to their employee(s) for income tax purposes. To obtain more timely, infra-annual data, the quarterly estimates also use CRA payroll deduction data—the same data that are used as input in the Survey of Employment, Payroll and Hours to compile total payroll employment, and in the National Accounts to calculate the number of paid employee jobs. The quarterly estimates are consistent with the annual estimates of business entry and exit from LEAPNote 7 and the labour statistics published in the National Accounts. The quarterly estimates are seasonally adjusted and annualized.

Gross creation and destruction is sizeable relative to net employment growth

Gross job creation is the sum of the increase in the number of jobs across all entrants and across all incumbent enterprises that increase their employment. Gross job destruction is the sum of the decrease in the number of jobs across all enterprises that exit and across all incumbent enterprises that reduce their employment. Net employment growth is the difference between job creation by entrants and incumbents and job destruction by exiters and incumbents.

Over the period from the first quarter (Q1) of 2001 to the third quarter (Q3) of 2014, the average annualized quarterly job creation rateNote 8 for entrants was 2.0%. The average job destruction rate for exits was 1.5%. The average net employment growth rate for entrants and exits was 0.5%. This is one half of the net employment growth rate that includes changes due to incumbents. The employment dynamics represented by these entrants and exits are substantial, and can be important in accounting for changes in net employment growth.

Decline in business formation and jobs created by entrants since the recession

From 2001 Q1 to 2008 Q3, average annualized quarterly job creation rate by entrants was 2.3 % (Chart 1). This contrasted with 1.5 % for the 2008 Q4-to-2014 Q3 period. The entry rate of businesses showed a similar, but less pronounced, pattern. Prior to the recession, the average annualized quarterly entry rate of businesses was 15.2 %, compared with the post-recession average of 13.6 %. The most recent data show little deviation from these post-recession averages; in 2014 Q3, the job creation rate and entry rate were 1.6% and 13.5 %, respectively. Nonetheless, these figures were up from lows of 1.4 % for job creation in 2012 Q4, and 12.8 % for entry in 2013 Q1.

Chart 1 Entry rate and job creation rate, seasonally adjusted, 2001 Q1 to 2014 Q3

Description for Chart 1

Slowdown in job creation by entrants prevalent across all industries

The slowdown in job creation by entrants is not concentrated in any one industry (Table 1). Job creation rates declined in all industries in the post-recession period. The decline was more marked in mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction; utilities; manufacturing; wholesale trade; management of companies and enterprises; and administrative and support and waste management and remediation services. Data for the most recent quarters have been broadly stable.

Table 1
Average job creation rates by industry, pre- and post recession
Table summary
This table displays the results of Average job creation rates by industry Job creation rate, 2001 Q1 to 2008 Q3, 2008 Q4 to 2014 Q3, Difference between latter and former period and 2014 Q3 rates, calculated using percent and percentage points units of measure (appearing as column headers).
  Job creation rate
2001 Q1 to 2008 Q3 2008 Q4 to 2014 Q3 Difference between latter and former period 2014 Q3 rates
percent percentage points percent
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 3.4 3.1 -0.3 3.3
Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction 1.8 0.8 -0.1 0.7
Utilities 0.7 0.2 -0.5 0.3
Construction 3.6 2.4 -1.2 2.3
Manufacturing 1.2 0.5 -0.7 0.5
Wholesale trade 1.5 0.7 -0.8 0.6
Retail trade 1.8 1.1 -0.6 1.0
Transportation and warehousing 1.7 1.3 -0.5 1.3
Information and cultural industries 2.4 1.2 -1.2 1.0
Finance and insurance 1.1 0.7 -0.5 0.6
Real estate and rental and leasing 4.0 3.1 -0.9 2.9
Professional, scientific and technical services 3.8 2.4 -1.4 2.9
Management of companies and enterprises 5.1 2.1 -2.9 2.4
Administrative and support, waste management and remediation services 2.9 1.4 -1.5 1.3
Arts, entertainment and recreation 2.5 1.5 -0.9 2.0
Accommodation and food services 4.0 3.2 -0.8 3.6
Other services 2.8 1.9 -1.0 1.7

References

Criscuolo, C., N. P. Gal, and C. Menon. 2013. The Dynamics of Employment Growth: New Evidence from 18 Countries. OECD Science, Technology and Industry Policy Papers, no. 14. OECD Publishing.

Dixon, J., and A-M. Rollin. 2012. Firm Dynamics: Employment Growth Rates of Small Versus Large Firms in Canada. The Canadian Economy in Transition Series, no. 025. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-622-M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Haltiwanger, J., J. Miranda, and R. Jarmin. 2013. Anemic Job Creation and Growth in the Aftermath of the Great Recession: Are Home Prices to Blame? Business Dynamics Statistics Briefing, no. 8. U.S. Census Bureau.

Notes

Date modified:

Publications

Aperçus économiques

Dynamique trimestrielle des entreprises et de l’emploi : Estimations expérimentales du premier trimestre de 2001 au troisième trimestre de 2014

Dynamique trimestrielle des entreprises et de l'emploi : Estimations expérimentales du premier trimestre de 2001 au troisième trimestre de 2014

par Danny LeungNote 1, Division de l'analyse économique

Le présent article des Aperçus économiques contient les estimations trimestrielles de l’entrée et de la sortie d’entreprises avec salariés, ainsi que de la création et de la destruction d’emplois connexes, pour la période allant du premier trimestre de 2001 au troisième trimestre de 2014. Ces estimations trimestrielles complètent les données annuelles fournies par le Programme d’analyse longitudinale de l’emploi de Statistique Canada en fournissant des données infra-annuelles récentes sur la dynamique des entreprises et de l’emploi. Chaque trimestre, les entreprises entrantesNote 2 et les entreprises sortantesNote 3 sont recensées en déterminant si les entreprises comptaient des employés au cours d’années adjacentes et en examinant à quel moment elles ont eu des employés. La création d’emplois par les entreprises entrantes représente la somme des emplois au sein des entreprises qui sont devenues des employeurs; la destruction d’emplois par les entreprises sortantes représente la somme des emplois au sein des entreprises qui ont cessé d’être des employeurs. Les données se rapportent à tous les secteurs industriels, sauf ceux qui sont surtout engagés dans les services d’enseignement, les soins de santé et l’assistance sociale, et l’administration publique.

Fin de l'encadré

Les jeunes petites entreprises sont importantes pour la croissance de l’emploi d’une économie. Elles sont à l’origine d’une part disproportionnée de la création brute d’emplois et de la croissance nette de l’emploi dans plusieurs pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiquesNote 4. La lenteur de la reprise de la création globale d’emplois aux États-Unis jusqu’en 2011 a été liée au faible taux de création d’emplois par les jeunes entreprisesNote 5,Note 6. Ainsi, les entreprises entrantes et leur contribution à la croissance de l’emploi constituent des indicateurs d’une économie saine et dynamique.

Depuis la fin des années 1980, Statistique Canada produit des statistiques annuelles sur l’entrée et la sortie d’entreprises ainsi que la création et la destruction d’emplois, dans le cadre de son Programme d’analyse longitudinale de l’emploi (PALE). Toutefois, il existe un délai important entre la fin de l’année et la production de ces statistiques. Par exemple, les données de 2013 du PALE ne seront disponibles qu’à l’été de 2015. Les estimations trimestrielles comblent le besoin d’indicateurs infra-annuels récents de la dynamique des entreprises et de l’emploi.

Méthodologie

Le PALE ainsi que les estimations trimestrielles portent sur les entreprises constituées et non constituées en société avec salariés. Dans le cadre du PALE, les entreprises avec salariés désignent les entreprises qui remettent chaque année, à chacun de leurs employés, un État de la rémunération payée (feuillet T4) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu. Pour produire des données infra-annuelles récentes, les estimations trimestrielles utilisent également les données de l’ARC sur les retenues sur la paie, c’est-à-dire les mêmes données que celles utilisées dans le cadre de l’Enquête sur l’emploi, la rémunération et les heures de travail pour établir le nombre total d’employés inscrits sur les listes de paie, et dans les Comptes nationaux pour calculer le nombre d’emplois rémunérés. Les estimations trimestrielles sont conformes aux estimations annuelles de l’entrée et de la sortie d’entreprises du PALENote 7 ainsi qu’aux statistiques sur le travail publiées dans les Comptes nationaux. Les estimations trimestrielles sont désaisonnalisées et annualisées.

La création et la destruction brutes sont importantes par rapport à la croissance nette de l'emploi

La création brute d’emplois représente la somme de l’augmentation du nombre d’emplois au sein de toutes les entreprises entrantes et de toutes les entreprises demeurées en activité qui accroissent leur effectif. La destruction brute d’emplois représente la somme de la diminution du nombre d’emplois au sein de toutes les entreprises sortantes et de toutes les entreprises demeurées en activité qui réduisent leur effectif. La croissance nette de l’emploi représente la différence entre la création d’emplois par les entreprises entrantes et les entreprises demeurées en activité et la destruction d’emplois par les entreprises sortantes et les entreprises demeurées en activité.

Au cours de la période allant du premier trimestre (T1) de 2001 au troisième trimestre (T3) de 2014, le taux de création d’emplois moyen trimestriel annualiséNote 8 des entreprises entrantes s’établissait à 2,0 %. Le taux moyen de destruction d’emplois par les entreprises sortantes se situait à 1,5 %. Le taux moyen de croissance nette de l’emploi pour les entreprises entrantes et les entreprises sortantes était de 0,5 %. Il s’agit de la moitié du taux de croissance nette de l’emploi qui comprend les variations attribuables aux entreprises établies. La dynamique de l’emploi représentée par ces entreprises entrantes et ces entreprises sortantes est importante et peut contribuer grandement à expliquer les variations de la croissance nette de l’emploi.

Diminution de la formation d'entreprises et de la création d'emplois par les entreprises entrantes depuis la récession

Du T1 de 2001 au T3 de 2008, le taux de création d’emplois moyen trimestriel annualisé des entreprises entrantes a atteint 2,3 % (graphique 1). Ce taux tranchait avec celui de 1,5 % pour la période allant du T4 de 2008 au T3 de 2014. Le taux d’entrée des entreprises présentait une tendance semblable, quoique moins prononcée. Avant la récession, le taux d’entrée moyen trimestriel annualisé des entreprises s’élevait à 15,2 %, comparativement à la moyenne de 13,6 % observée après la récession. Les données les plus récentes ne s’éloignent pas beaucoup de ces moyennes postérieures à la récession; au T3 de 2014, le taux de création d’emplois et le taux d’entrée étaient respectivement de 1,6 % et de 13,5 %. Néanmoins, ces chiffres étaient en hausse par rapport aux creux enregistrés pour la création d’emplois au T4 de 2012 (1,4 %) et pour l’entrée au T1 de 2013 (12,8 %).

Graphique 1 Taux d'entrée et taux de création d'emplois, désaisonnalisés, 
T1 de 2001 au T3 de 2014

Description du graphique 1

Prévalence du ralentissement de la création d'emplois par les entreprises entrantes dans toutes les industries

Le ralentissement de la création d’emplois par les entreprises entrantes ne se concentre dans aucune industrie en particulier (tableau 1). Les taux de création d’emplois ont diminué dans toutes les industries dans la période suivant la récession. Le repli était plus marqué dans les secteurs suivants : extraction minière, exploitation en carrière et extraction de pétrole et de gaz; services publics; fabrication; commerce de gros; gestion de sociétés et d’entreprises; et services administratifs, services de soutien, services de gestion des déchets et services d’assainissement. Les données des plus récents trimestres sont demeurées essentiellement stables.

Tableau 1
Taux moyens de création d'emplois selon l'industrie, avant et après la récession
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Taux moyens de création d'emplois selon l'industrie Taux de création d'emplois, T1 de 2001 au T3 de 2008, T4 de 2008 au T3 de 2014, Différence entre la dernière et la première période et Taux du T3 de 2014, calculées selon pourcentage et points de pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
  Taux de création d'emplois
T1 de 2001 au T3 de 2008 T4 de 2008 au T3 de 2014 Différence entre la dernière et la première période Taux du T3 de 2014
pourcentage points de pourcentage pourcentage
Agriculture, foresterie, pêche et chasse 3,4 3,1 -0,3 3,3
Extraction minière, exploitation en carrière, et extraction de pétrole et de gaz 1,8 0,8 -0,1 0,7
Services publics 0,7 0,2 -0,5 0,3
Construction 3,6 2,4 -1,2 2,3
Fabrication 1,2 0,5 -0,7 0,5
Commerce de gros 1,5 0,7 -0,8 0,6
Commerce de détail 1,8 1,1 -0,6 1,0
Transport et entreposage 1,7 1,3 -0,5 1,3
Industrie de l’information et industrie culturelle 2,4 1,2 -1,2 1,0
Finance et assurances 1,1 0,7 -0,5 0,6
Services immobiliers et services de location et de location à bail 4,0 3,1 -0,9 2,9
Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques 3,8 2,4 -1,4 2,9
Gestion de sociétés et d’entreprises 5,1 2,1 -2,9 2,4
Services administratifs, services de soutien, services de gestion des déchets et services d’assainissement 2,9 1,4 -1,5 1,3
Arts, spectacles et loisirs 2,5 1,5 -0,9 2,0
Services d'hébergement et de restauration 4,0 3,2 -0,8 3,6
Autres services 2,8 1,9 -1,0 1,7

Références

Criscuolo, C., P.N. Gal et C. Menon. 2013. The Dynamics of Employment Growth: New Evidence from 18 Countries. OECD Science, Technology and Industry Policy Papers, n° 14. Publications de l’OCDE. http://dx.doi.org/10.1787/5jz417hj6hg6-en.

Dixon, J. et A.-M. Rollin. 2012. Dynamique des entreprises : taux de croissance de l’emploi dans les petites et grandes entreprises au Canada. L’économie canadienne en transition, no 025. Produit no 11-622-M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Haltiwanger, J., J. Miranda et R. Jarmin. 2013. Anemic Job Creation and Growth in the Aftermath of the Great Recession: Are Home Prices to Blame? Business Dynamics Statistics Briefing, no. 8. U.S. Census Bureau.

Notes

Date de modification :