Publications

Economic Insights

Business Entry and Exit Rates in Canada: A 30-year Perspective

Business Entry and Exit Rates in Canada: A 30-year Perspective

by Ryan Macdonald, Economic Analysis Division

Start of text box

This article in the Economic Insights series describes the results of a data linkage project that created experimental long-term estimates of firm entry and exit rates for the Canadian business sector. It is part of a series of papers that examines firm dynamics using micro-economic data.

End of text box

Firm entry and exit are an important source of dynamism that is essential to a well functioning economy. The entry of new firms is an important source of productivity growth and technology adoption while exit removes less productive firms. Based on a new set of linked, experimental data for the period 1983/1984Note 1 to 2011/2012, Canada’s business-sectorNote 2 entry rate declined from 24.5% to 13.1%; and, the exit rate fell from 16.5% to 11.6% (Chart 1).

Chart 1 Business-sector, entry rate and exit rate, 1983/1984 to 2011/2012

Description for Chart 1

Entrants reflect an important aspect of economic dynamism because entry can be viewed as a form of experimentation which introduces new ideas, business models and technologies into the marketplace. Similarly, exits can be viewed as the end of unsuccessful experiments, which were selected out of the marketplace through competitive pressures. Measures of entry and exit are, therefore, a means of examining firm turnover, which is a major feature of micro-economic business dynamics.

Recent studies that focus on the years after 2000 offer mixed evidence that firm entry and exit rates declined in Canada. Ciobanu and Wang (2012) found that, based on the number of firms, a clear trend was not apparent in business-sector entry and exit rates between 2000 and 2008. Baldwin, Liu and Wang (2013) reported stable entry and exit rates in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario, but negative trends in Atlantic Canada, Quebec and Manitoba. Criscuolo, Gal, and Menon (2014) found that, during the 2000s, the share of start-ups (firms less than three years old) declined in many nations, including Canada.Note 3

The entry rates and exit rates reported here are derived by calculating the number of entrants or exits divided by the population of active firms. This approach accounts for differences in the number of firms through time. These results extend the analyses in the previous work by showing that a downward trend in entry and exit rates is evident if the time series are lengthened with the addition of historical estimates. When post-2000 data are combined with historical values, the downward trend becomes clearer. These results are not inconsistent with the mixed conclusions in earlier research because the 2000-to-2010 period exhibits a less pronounced downward trend than do earlier periods.

The data show a long-run decline in the business-sector entry rate that was more than double the decline in the exit rate. Most of this difference was attributable to the 1980s when entry rates declined but exit rates increased. The entry rate declined by 5.7 percentage points between 1983/1984 and 1990/1991 while the exit rate increased by 2.6 percentage points. As a consequence, in the mid-1980s, the entry rate was 8.0 to 4.8 percentage points above the exit rate. By the 1990-1991 recession, the exit rate had risen to match the entry rate (which was trending downward) and the two then maintained a similar level until 1995/1996. In 1995/1996, the exit rate declined relative to the entry rate, and a more stable difference between entry and exit rates was established. The difference averaged 1.98 percentage points between 1996/1997, and the end of the sample period in 2011/2012.

Patterns similar across industries

From 1983/1984 to 2011/2012, entry rates in many industries declined by 7 to 11 percentage points, and exit rates tended to decline by 2 to 7 percentage points (Chart 2). This suggests similarity in the underlying forces that affect entry and exit rates—for instance, a general decline in experimentation—rather than idiosyncratic effects in particular industries.

Despite similarity in the magnitude of the declines in entry and exit rates, some changes were industry-specific as not all industries evolved in the same way or at the same pace. One example is manufacturing.

Chart 2 Change in entry rate and exit reate by indusry, 1983/1984 to 2011/2012

Description for Chart 2

Manufacturing

Manufacturing entry and exit rates exhibit many of the same features as overall business-sector entry and exit rates (Chart 3): a wider gap in the 1980s that was reduced by a rise in the exit rate; a long downturn in the entry rate; and long-term similarity in entry- and exit-rate trends.

However, after the late 1990s, unlike the business sector overall, in which the number of firms increased (the entry rate surpassed the exit rate), in the manufacturing sector, the entry rate fell below the exit rate. That is, the number of manufacturing firms began to decline. This coincides with the period when manufacturing’s share of value-added in the Canadian economy began to decline. By contrast, in the 1980s and 1990s, when the share of manufacturing in value-added rose, the entry rate surpassed the exit rate resulting in an increase in the number of manufacturing firms.

The differences in manufacturing entry and exit rates across decades reflect differences in the economic environment manufacturers faced. In the 1980s and 1990s, the Canadian dollar depreciated relative to the American dollar, and in the 1990s, the implementation of the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement (FTA) and North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) changed the composition of Canada’s manufacturing industry.Note 4  During these decades, the number of firms increased, and the share of manufacturing in value added in Canada moved counter to the international trend that saw a decline in the importance of this sector.Note 5

Chart 3 Manufacturing entry rate and exit rate, 1983/1984 to 2011/2012

Description for Chart 3

The implementation of the FTA and NAFTA, in particular, coincided with changes in firm entry rates for manufacturing. After the 1990-1991 recession, the entry rate rose from around 12.2% to 15.8% in 1996/1997, and then subsequently resumed a downward trend.

Is the economy becoming less dynamic?

Firm entry and exit rates in Canada fell during the last three decades. The decline in the entry rate was about twice as large as the decline in the exit rate, a pattern that was generally similar across industries. Experimentation and technology adaption through entry, and the process through which market forces lead unsuccessful firms to exit, weakened through time, and this is suggestive of a reduction in one aspect used to characterize the extent of economic dynamism in an economy. However, changes in entry and exit rates do not mean that Canada’s economy has become less dynamic.  Entry and exit are only one aspect of the process of economic re-alignment that comprises economic dynamism. Other measures, such as firm turnover, changes in market share and employment re-allocation, are not addressed here and require further evaluation, in greater depth, and along additional dimensions.

Conclusion

Based on experimental linked data, a decline in firm entry and exit rates over the last 30 years is apparent. The magnitude of the decline was similar across industries, suggesting the decline was secular rather than the result of a compositional shift with growth favouring industries with lower entry rates and exit rates. Nor was the decline the result of one area of the economy adjusting to specific events, and producing a dynamic that differed substantially from another area. Although industry-specific shocks created industry-specific adjustments, they were not large enough to negate the evidence of widespread declines in entry and exit rates.   

References

Baldwin, J.R., H. Liu, and W. Wang. 2013. Firm Dynamics: Firm Entry and Exit in the Canadian Provinces. The Canadian Economy in Transition, no. 030. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-622-M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Baldwin, J. R., and R. Macdonald. 2009. The Canadian Manufacturing Sector: Adapting to Challenges. Economic Analysis Research Paper Series, no. 057. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0027M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Criscuolo, C., P.N. Gal, and C. Menon. 2014. The Dynamics of Employment Growth: New Evidence from 18 Countries. OECD Science, Technology and Industry Policy Papers no. 14. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Ciobanu, O., and W. Wang. 2012. Firm Dynamics: Firm Entry and Firm Exit in Canada, 2000-2008. The Canadian Economy in Transition, no. 022. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-622-M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Decker, R., J. Haltiwnager, R.S. Jarmin and J. Miranda 2014. The Secular Decline in Business Dynamism in the U.S. University of Maryland. Manuscript.

Hathaway, I., and R.E. Litan. 2014. Declining Business Dynamism in the United States: A Look at States and Metros. The Brookings Institution. Economic Studies at Brookings, May 2014.

Pilat, D., A. Cimper, K. Olsen, and C. Webb. 2006. The Changing Nature of Manufacturing in OECD Economies. DSTI Working Paper no. 9. Paris: Organization of Economic Co-operationand Development.

Rollin, A.M. 2012. Firm Dynamics: Employment Dynamics Arising from Firm Growth and Contraction in Canada, 2001 to 2009. The Canadian Economy in Transition, no. 024. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-622-M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

United States Census Bureau. Business Dynamics Statistics. Last updated November 21, 2013. Available at:http://www.census.gov/ces/dataproducts/bds/ (accessed August 5, 2014).

Appendix: Linking the data

Statistics Canada’s Longitudinal Employment Analysis Program (LEAP) tracks firm entry and exit. The program follows firms through time by using tax files, particularly administrative data on T4 filings and the associated business numbers. By linking administrative files for multiple years, the lifespan of a particular firm can be tracked.

A new LEAP vintage is constructed each year. Through implementing rules for mergers, acquisitions and divestitures, LEAP creates a particular firm structure unique to that vintage. As a result, with each year that is added to the dataset, the number of firms changes.  These changes have a greater effect on the number of firms than the growth rate of firms. Consequently, the long-run estimates of firm entry and exit constructed here use growth rates from past vintages to back-cast current year estimates.

To form industry estimates for firm entry and exit, it is necessary to transform data from past vintages from the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Based on information from the LEAP files for overlapping years, a concordance between SIC and NAICS was created. This concordance was used to transform the SIC codes from SIC-based vintages into NAICS industry codes.

For a number of industries, correlations between NAICS-based data and the SIC-to-NAICS converted data were lower than desired.  Because the NAICS 61 (education) and NAICS 62 (health care and social assistance) industry links performed poorly, these industries are not reported, and the business-sector aggregate omits them. NAICS 52 (finance and insurance), NAICS 53 (real estate) and NAICS 55 (management of companies) also yielded values that were not ideal for linking, and so were grouped into finance, insurance, real estate and leasing (FIREL), which provided more appropriate results.  The aggregate value, rather than the individual NAICS industries, is reported. Finally, the NAICS 22 (utilities) industry contained a number of aberrant observations; its values were deemed to be of insufficient quality to publish and report separately. 

To back-cast the data, historical estimates are created at two levels of aggregation.  First, the top-level business sector is back-cast. The business sector is defined as all industries excluding NAICS 61 (education), NAICS 62 (health care and social assistance) and NAICS 91 (public administration). Because firms’ industry allocation can change over time, the business sector offers the most stable link.

Next, a back-cast is performed for each industry. These industry-based estimates are used to calculate a bottom-up business sector estimate. This estimate is not identical to the top-level value, which has the strongest link. To produce industry estimates that match the top-level business sector estimate, each industry’s share, in each year, of the bottom-up business sector estimate is calculated, and these shares are used to distribute the top-level link across industries. In this way, the strongest aggregate link is combined with information from the industry links so as to ensure aggregation across industries to the top-level business-sector data.

The results for the entry and exit rate by industry are presented in Table 1 and Table 2.


Notes

Date modified:

Publications

Aperçus économiques

Taux d’entrée et de sortie d’entreprises au Canada : un portrait sur 30 ans

Taux d’entrée et de sortie d’entreprises au Canada : un portrait sur 30 ans

par Ryan Macdonald, Division de l’analyse économique

Début de l'encadré

Cet article de la série Aperçus économiques décrit les résultats d’un projet de couplage de données visant à créer des estimations expérimentales à long terme des taux d’entrée et de sortie d’entreprises au Canada. Il fait partie d’un ensemble d’articles examinant la dynamique des entreprises au moyen de données microéconomiques.

Fin de l'encadré

L’entrée et la sortie d’entreprises constituent des facteurs importants du dynamisme essentiel à une économie en santé. L’entrée de nouvelles entreprises est un moteur important de la croissance de la productivité et de l’adoption des nouvelles technologies, alors que les sorties éliminent les entreprises moins productives. Selon un nouvel ensemble de données expérimentales couplées pour la période allant de 1983-1984Note 1 à 2011-2012, le taux d’entrée dans le secteur canadien des entreprisesNote 2 est passé de 24,5 % à 13,1 %, alors que le taux de sortie est passé de 16,5 % à 11,6 % (graphique 1).

Graphique 1  Secteur des entreprises, taux d'entrée et taux de sortie, 1983-1984 à 2011-2012

Description du graphique 1

Les entrées constituent des indicateurs importants du dynamisme de l’économie, parce qu’elles peuvent être considérées comme une forme d’expérimentation introduisant sur le marché de nouvelles idées, de nouveaux modèles opérationnels et de nouvelles technologies. Dans le même ordre d’idées, les sorties peuvent être vues comme la fin d’expériences non réussies, éliminées du marché par les pressions concurrentielles. Les mesures des entrées et des sorties sont donc un bon moyen d’examiner le roulement des entreprises, caractéristique importante de la dynamique microéconomique des entreprises.

Les résultats d’études récentes axées sur les années suivant l’an 2000 sont contrastés quant au déclin des taux d’entrée et de sortie d’entreprises au Canada. Après examen du nombre d’entreprises, Ciobanu et Wang (2012) n’ont pas pu établir une tendance claire des taux d’entrée et de sortie dans le secteur des entreprises entre 2000 et 2008. Baldwin, Liu et Wang (2013) font quant à eux état de taux d’entrée et de sortie stables en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et en Ontario, mais de tendances à la baisse dans le Canada atlantique, au Québec et au Manitoba. Criscuolo, Gal et Menon (2014) ont constaté que, durant les années 2000, la part des entreprises en démarrage (entreprises de moins de trois ans) a diminué dans beaucoup de pays, y compris au CanadaNote 3.

Les taux d’entrée et de sortie présentés ici sont calculés à partir du nombre total d’entrées ou de sorties, divisé par la population des entreprises actives. Cette approche rend compte de la variation du nombre d’entreprises au fil du temps. Les résultats complètent les analyses réalisées dans le cadre des travaux antérieurs et montrent clairement une tendance à la baisse des taux d’entrée et de sortie lorsque la période couverte par les séries chronologiques est accrue par l’ajout d’estimations historiques. Lorsqu’on combine les données postérieures à 2000 aux données historiques, la tendance à la baisse se dégage plus clairement. Ces résultats ne contredisent pas les conclusions contrastées des études antérieures, parce que la tendance baissière est moins prononcée durant la période de 2000 à 2010 que durant les périodes antérieures.

Les données révèlent un déclin à long terme du taux d’entrée dans le secteur des entreprises correspondant à plus du double du recul du taux de sortie. La majeure partie de cette différence est attribuable aux années 1980, période durant laquelle les taux d’entrée ont reculé mais où les taux de sortie ont augmenté. Le taux d’entrée a reculé de 5,7 points de pourcentage entre 1983-1984 et 1990-1991, alors que le taux de sortie a augmenté de 2,6 points de pourcentage. En conséquence, au milieu des années 1980, le taux d’entrée était supérieur de 8,0 à 4,8 points de pourcentage au taux de sortie. À la récession de 1990-1991, le taux de sortie avait augmenté jusqu’à atteindre le niveau du taux d’entrée (qui affichait une tendance à la baisse), et tous deux sont demeurés à des niveaux comparables jusqu’en 1995-1996. En 1995-1996, le taux de sortie a reculé par rapport au taux d’entrée, et un écart plus stable s’est installé entre les taux d’entrée et de sortie. Cet écart s’établissait en moyenne à 1,98 point de pourcentage entre 1996-1997 et la fin de la période étudiée en 2011-2012.

Tendances similaires dans toutes les industries

De 1983-1984 à 2011-2012, les taux d’entrée dans de nombreuses industries ont reculé de 7 à 11 points de pourcentage, alors que les taux de sortie ont eu tendance à diminuer de 2 à 7 points de pourcentage (graphique 2). Cette situation porte à croire qu’il existe une similarité entre les facteurs sous-jacents qui influent sur les taux d’entrée et de sortie — par exemple, un déclin général de l’expérimentation — plutôt que des effets idiosyncrasiques dans certaines industries.

Malgré la similarité de l’ampleur des reculs des taux d’entrée et de sortie, certains changements étaient propres à des industries particulières, toutes les industries n’ayant pas évolué de la même manière ni au même rythme. C’est notamment le cas de l’industrie de la fabrication.

Graphique 2 Variation du taux d'entrée et du taux de sortie par industrie, 1983-1984 à 2011-2012

Description du graphique 2

Industrie de la fabrication

Les taux d’entrée et de sortie de l’industrie de la fabrication présentent bon nombre des mêmes caractéristiques que ceux de l’ensemble du secteur des entreprises (graphique 3), soit : un écart plus important dans les années 1980, réduit par une hausse des taux de sortie; un long repli des taux d’entrée; et des tendances de taux d’entrée et de sortie similaires à long terme.

Toutefois, après la fin des années 1990, contrairement à ce qui s’est passé dans l’ensemble du secteur des entreprises où le nombre d’entreprises a augmenté (le taux d’entrée dépassait alors le taux de sortie), le taux d’entrée de l’industrie de la fabrication est passé en dessous du taux de sortie, c’est-à-dire que le nombre d’entreprises a commencé à diminuer. Cet événement coïncide avec la période où la part de l’industrie de la fabrication dans la valeur ajoutée de l’économie canadienne a commencé à diminuer. En revanche, lorsque cette part a augmenté dans les années 1980 et 1990, les taux d’entrée dépassaient les taux de sortie, ce qui a entraîné une hausse du nombre d’entreprises dans l’industrie.

Les écarts entre les taux d’entrée et de sortie de l’industrie de la fabrication reflètent les différences du contexte économique auquel les fabricants ont été confrontés. Dans les années 1980 et 1990, le dollar canadien s’est déprécié par rapport au dollar américain, et dans les années 1990, la mise en œuvre de l’accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et les États-Unis et de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) a changé la composition de l’industrie canadienne de la fabricationNote 4. Durant ces décennies, le nombre d’entreprises a augmenté, et la part de l’industrie de la fabrication dans la valeur ajoutée au Canada a évolué inversement à la tendance internationale, qui présentait une diminution de l’importance de ce secteurNote 5.

Graphique 3 Taux d'entrée et taux de sortie dans l'industrie de la fabrication, 1983-1984 à 2011-2012

Description du graphique 3

La mise en œuvre de l’ALE et de l’ALENA, plus particulièrement, a coïncidé avec des changements des taux d’entrée des entreprises dans l’industrie de la fabrication. Après la récession de 1990-1991, le taux d’entrée est passé d’environ 12,2 % à 15,8 % en 1996-1997, avant de reprendre une tendance à la baisse.

L'économie perd-elle en dynamisme?

Les taux d’entrée et de sortie d’entreprises au Canada ont diminué depuis trente ans. Le recul du taux d’entrée était environ deux fois plus important que celui du taux de sortie, et ce, généralement dans toutes les industries. L’expérimentation et l’adoption des technologies qui accompagnent habituellement les entrées, ainsi que le processus en vertu duquel les forces du marché font en sorte que les entreprises qui ne réussissent pas sortent, se sont atténués au fil du temps, ce qui semble indiquer une diminution d’un des aspects servant à caractériser le degré de dynamisme d’une économie. Toutefois, les changements dans les taux d’entrée et de sortie ne signifient pas que l’économie du Canada devient moins dynamique. Les entrées et les sorties ne sont qu’un des éléments du processus de rééquilibrage économique qui constitue le dynamisme de l’économie. D’autres paramètres, comme le roulement des entreprises, les changements dans les parts de marché et la redistribution des emplois, ne sont pas abordés ici et nécessitent une évaluation approfondie selon d’autres dimensions.

Conclusion

Selon les données expérimentales couplées, il est clair que les taux d’entrée et de sortie des entreprises ont reculé depuis trente ans. L’ampleur de ce repli était comparable dans toutes les industries, ce qui donne à penser qu’il s’agissait d’un déclin de longue durée plutôt que du résultat d’un changement de composition permettant que la croissance favorise les industries ayant les taux d’entrée et de sortie les plus faibles. Le recul ne découlait pas non plus d’un rajustement d’un secteur de l’économie à la suite d’événements spécifiques produisant une dynamique considérablement différente de celle d’un autre secteur. Bien que des chocs touchant certaines industries aient entraîné des ajustements dans celles-ci, aucun n’était suffisamment important pour annuler le recul généralisé des taux d’entrée et de sortie.

Références

Baldwin, J.R., H. Liu et W. Wang. 2013. Dynamique des entreprises : l’entrée et la sortie d’entreprises dans les provinces canadiennes. L’économie canadienne en transition, no 30. Produit no 11-622-M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Baldwin, J.R., et R. Macdonald. 2009. Le secteur canadien de la fabrication : adaptation aux défis. Série de documents de recherche sur l’analyse économique, no 57. Produit no 11F0027M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Criscuolo, C., P.N. Gal et C. Menon. 2014. The Dynamics of Employment Growth : New Evidence from 18 Countries. OECD Science, Technology and Industry Policy Papers, no 14. Paris : Éditions OCDE.

Ciobanu, O., et W. Wang. 2012. Dynamique des entreprises : l’entrée et la sortie d’entreprises au Canada, 2000 à 2008. L’économie canadienne en transition, no 22. Produit no 11-622-M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Decker, R., J. Haltiwnager, R.S. Jarmin et J. Miranda 2014. The Secular Decline in Business Dynamism in the U.S. University of Maryland. Manuscrit.

Hathaway, I., et R.E. Litan. 2014. Declining Business Dynamism in the United States: A Look at States and Metros. The Brookings Institution. Economic Studies at Brookings, Mai 2014.

Pilat, D., A. Cimper, K. Olsen, et C. Webb. 2006. The Changing Nature of Manufacturing in OECD Economies. DSTI Working Paper no. 9. Paris : Organization of Economic Co-operationand Development.

Rollin, A.M. 2012. Dynamique des entreprises : dynamique de l’emploi résultant de la croissance et de la décroissance des entreprises au Canada, 2001 à 2009. L’économie canadienne en transition, no 24. Produit no 11-622-M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

United States Census Bureau. Business Dynamics Statistics. Dernière mise à jour le 21 novembre 2013. Disponible au lien suivant : http://www.census.gov/ces/dataproducts/bds/ (consulté le 5 août 2014).

Annexe : Couplage des données

Le Programme d’analyse longitudinale de l’emploi (PALE) de Statistique Canada fait le suivi des entrées et des sorties d’entreprises. Le programme suit les entreprises au fil du temps au moyen des fichiers d’impôt, plus particulièrement des données administratives figurant sur les déclarations T4 et des numéros d’entreprise qui y sont associés. En couplant les fichiers administratifs de plusieurs années, on peut déterminer la durée de vie d’une entreprise particulière.

Une nouvelle version du PALE est construite chaque année. Grâce à l’application de règles pour les fusions, les acquisitions et les dessaisissements, le PALE crée une structure particulière d’entreprises propres à la version. Quand les données d’une année sont ajoutées à l’ensemble de données, le nombre d’entreprises change donc. Ces changements ont une plus grande incidence sur le nombre d’entreprises que le taux de croissance des entreprises. En conséquence, les estimations à long terme des entrées et sorties d’entreprises établies dans la présente étude font appel aux taux de croissance des versions antérieures afin d’extrapoler rétrospectivement les estimations pour l’année courante.

Pour établir des estimations des entrées et sorties d’entreprises par industrie, il faut convertir les données des versions antérieures de la Classification type des industries (CTI) au Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN). À partir des renseignements des fichiers du PALE pour les années de chevauchement, une concordance entre la CTI et le SCIAN a été établie. Cette concordance a ensuite servi à convertir les codes de la CTI des versions du PALE fondées sur la CTI en codes du SCIAN.

Pour un certain nombre d’industries, les corrélations entre les données fondées sur le SCIAN et les données de la CTI converties au SCIAN étaient inférieures à ce qui était souhaité. Comme le couplage des données des industries SCIAN 61 (services d’enseignement) et SCIAN 62 (soins de santé et assistance sociale) n’a pas donné de résultats satisfaisants, ces industries ne sont pas comprises dans les données présentées, ni dans l’ensemble agrégé du secteur des entreprises. Les industries SCIAN 52 (finance et assurances), SCIAN 53 (services immobiliers) et SCIAN 55 (gestion de sociétés et d’entreprises) ont aussi donné des valeurs qui n’étaient pas idéales pour le couplage, et ont donc été regroupées dans l’industrie finance, assurances, services immobiliers et de location (FASIL), qui donne de meilleurs résultats. La valeur agrégée, plutôt que les valeurs individuelles des industries du SCIAN, est présentée. Enfin, l’industrie SCIAN 22 (services publics) contenait un certain nombre d’observations aberrantes; les valeurs ont été jugées de qualité insuffisante pour être publiées et présentées isolément.  

Pour extrapoler rétrospectivement les données, des estimations historiques sont créées à deux niveaux d’agrégation. D’abord, le secteur des entreprises de niveau supérieur fait l’objet d’une extrapolation rétrospective. Le secteur des entreprises s’entend de l’ensemble des entreprises toutes industries confondues, à l’exception des industries SCIAN 61 (services d’enseignement), SCIAN 62 (soins de santé et assistance sociale) et SCIAN 91 (administrations publiques). Comme la répartition des entreprises dans les industries peut changer au fil du temps, le secteur des entreprises permet le couplage le plus stable.

Ensuite, on effectue une extrapolation rétrospective pour chaque industrie. Ces estimations par industrie servent à obtenir une estimation ascendante pour le secteur des entreprises; cette estimation n’est pas identique à la valeur de niveau supérieur, qui donne le meilleur couplage. Pour produire des estimations par industrie qui correspondent à l’estimation de niveau supérieur du secteur des entreprises, la part de chaque industrie dans l’estimation ascendante du secteur des entreprises pour chaque année est calculée; les résultats obtenus servent ensuite à répartir le couplage de niveau supérieur dans les industries. Ainsi, le meilleur couplage agrégé est combiné aux données des couplages par industrie, ce qui permet une agrégation des industries avec les données de niveau supérieur du secteur des entreprises.

Les résultats des taux d’entrée et de sortie par industrie sont présentés aux tableaux 1 et 2.


Notes

Date de modification :