Analysis in Brief
Analysis on supply chain challenges and conditions in Canada, first quarter of 2023

Release date: March 9, 2023

Skip to text

Text begins

Canadian businesses have been experiencing supply chain challenges since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic in early 2020 and exacerbated by the 2022 conflict in Ukraine. While these challenges have been significant, they have been abating throughout 2022. The proportion of businesses experiencing worsening supply chain conditions declined over the year, shining a spotlight on the strength, resilience, and optimism of Canadian supply chains. Nonetheless, the status of supply chains and the impact they have on the economy remain of great interest.

In 2022, widespread global supply constraints combined with pent-up consumer demand and the economic consequences of the conflict in Ukraine resulted in inflationary pressures for much of the year. While annual inflation was 0.7% in 2020 and 3.4% in 2021Note , it picked up speed in 2022. The Consumer Price Index (CPI) reached peak levels in June 2022 with an 8.1% increase, the largest annual change since January 1983.Note  However, inflation gradually decreased to 5.9% year over year in January. On a monthly basis, the CPI rose 0.5% in January 2023 following a 0.6% decline in December. On a seasonally adjusted monthly basis, the CPI rose 0.3%.Note  The relative easing in inflationary pressures toward the end of 2022 coincided with a decline in the proportion of businesses that experienced or expected to experience worsened supply chain challenges.

From the beginning of January to early February 2023, Statistics Canada conducted the Canadian Survey on Business Conditions to better understand the current environment within which businesses in Canada are operating and their expectations moving forward. Based on the results of the survey, fewer businesses expected supply chain challenges than the previous quarter. Businesses experiencing supply chain challenges were less likely to report these challenges as worsening. Additionally, fewer businesses expected worsening supply chain challenges in the short term, compared to the previous quarter. However, the leading factors that contributed to worsened supply chain challenges over the last three months remained the same from the previous quarter. This article provides insights on the topic of supply chain challenges and the impacts of these issues on businesses in Canada.

Fewer businesses expected supply chain challenges

One in ten (10.0%) businesses expected maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle over the next three months.Note  This number has decreased from the previous quarter, when over one-tenth (12.8%) of businesses expected maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle. However, this remains a significant obstacle in some industries. Nearly one quarter of businesses in retail trade (24.9%) and wholesale trade (24.7%) expect maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge over the next three months. These businesses planned to respond to these difficulties in various ways, with close to half (49.1%) planning to raise selling prices for goods and services offered, and over three-tenths planning to: find alternate inputs (35.8%); hold higher-than-usual level of inventories as a precaution against future shortages (33.6%); and improve inventory tracking to plan timing of purchases (32.0%).

Among businesses that expected maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge over the next three months, over two-fifths (45.5%) expected these difficulties to continue for six months or more, a significant decrease from the previous quarter (56.3%). Businesses in administrative and support, waste management and remediation services (65.1%) and manufacturing (58.2%) were most likely to expect maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge for 6 months or more. Conversely, over one-third (34.9%) of businesses expecting maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle over the next three months were uncertain how long these challenges will persist.

One-fifth (20.7%) of businesses expected difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months. This proportion has decreased from the previous quarter, when close to one-quarter (23.5%) of businesses anticipated challenges in this regard. Furthermore, this decline has been observed since the first quarter of 2022.  Businesses in construction (36.7%) and manufacturing (32.3%) were most likely to expect this obstacle.

Chart 1

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1. The information is grouped by Supply chain obstacle faced by businesses
(appearing as row headers), 2022Q1, 2022Q2, 2022Q3, 2022Q4 and 2023Q1, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Supply chain obstacle faced by businesses
2022Q1 2022Q2 2022Q3 2022Q4 2023Q1
percent
Proportion of businesses that expected difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months 32.1 28.2 26.8 23.5 20.7
Proportion of businesses that expected difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad over the next three months 18.1 18.2 14.4 12.3 9.4
Proportion of businesses that expected difficulty maintaining inventory levels over the next three months 20.8 17.4 14.2 12.8 10.0

Among businesses expecting difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically, close to half (48.6%) expected these challenges to continue for six months or more, down from the previous quarter (56.0%). Meanwhile, nearly two-fifths (39.2%) of businesses are uncertain how long these challenges will persist, an increase from the previous quarter (30.8%).


Table 1
Business expectations of supply chain challenges lasting longer than six months, among businesses expecting supply chain obstacles over the next three months
Table summary
This table displays the results of Business expectations of supply chain challenges lasting longer than six months Q42022 and Q12023, calculated using % of businesses  units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Q42022 Q12023
% of businesses 
Maintaining inventory levels 56.3 45.5
Difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically 56.0 48.6
Difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad 61.3 56.2

Less than one-tenth (9.4%) of businesses expected difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad over the next three months, a decrease from 12.3% of businesses in the previous quarter. Over one-fifth of businesses in wholesale trade (23.7%) and manufacturing (20.1%) expected to experience this challenge. Of businesses expecting these difficulties over the next three months, over half (56.2%) expected these challenges to continue for six months or more, down from the previous quarter (61.3%). At the same time, over three-tenths (31.3%) are uncertain how long these challenges will persist.

Expectations related to supply chain challenges continued to improve

Among businesses that expected supply chain challenges over the next three months, close to two-fifths (39.6%) reported these challenges had worsened over the last three months.Note  This figure has significantly decreased from the previous quarter (52.0%), the fourth straight quarter of decline since the first quarter of 2022.

Businesses in other services (except public administration) (56.4%), accommodation and food services (56.0%), and information and cultural industries (52.2%) were the most likely to report that supply chain challenges have worsened over the last three months.

Chart 2

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2. The information is grouped by Change experienced in supply chain challenges (appearing as row headers), 2022Q1, 2022Q2, 2022Q3, 2022Q4 and 2023Q1, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Change experienced in supply chain challenges 2022Q1 2022Q2 2022Q3 2022Q4 2023Q1
percent
Proportion of businesses that reported supply chain challenges experienced have worsened over the last three months 71.9 67.9 58.2 52.0 39.6

For these businesses, the leading factors that contributed to worsened supply chain challenges over the last three months were increased prices of inputs, products or supplies (81.7%); increased delays in deliveries of inputs, products or supplies (78.7%), and supply shortages resulting in fewer inputs, products or supplies being available (72.9%). These were also the leading factors in the previous quarter (79.7%, 80.4%,  and 75.0% respectively).

Under half (48.0%) of businesses that expected supply chain challenges over the next three months reported that these challenges have remained about the same over the last three months, an increase from the previous quarter (41.1%). Over one in ten (12.4%) businesses said that supply chain challenges have improved over the last three months, compared to 6.9% in the previous quarter. For the fourth straight quarter, among businesses that expected to experience supply chain challenges, there was a decline in the proportion of businesses that expected these to worsen over the next three months, from 43.4% in the first quarter of 2022 to 20.3% in the current quarter. The proportion of businesses that expected these challenges to improve over the next three months was relatively unchanged from the previous quarter (12.4%) to this quarter (12.8%).

Planned adjustments to supply chains

In the first quarter of 2023, among businesses that expected to experience supply chain challenges, close to one-third planned to partner with new suppliers (32.1%), while close to three-tenths planned to substitute inputs, products or supplies with alternate inputs, products or supplies (29.1%) and work with suppliers to improve timeliness (28.4%).

Additionally, over one-fifth (23.5%) of businesses were uncertain of plans to adjust their supply chain, and one-fifth (20.2%) had no plans to adjust their supply chain over the next 12 months.

Methodology

From January 3 to February 6, 2023, representatives from businesses across Canada were invited to take part in an online questionnaire about business conditions and business expectations moving forward. The Canadian Survey on Business Conditions uses a stratified random sample of business establishments with employees classified by geography, industry sector, and size. An estimation of proportions is done using calibrated weights to calculate the population totals in the domains of interest. The total sample size for this iteration of the survey is 30,554 and results are based on responses from a total of 15,963 businesses or organizations.

References

Statistics Canada. 2023. Canadian Survey on Business Conditions, first quarter of 2023.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Analyse en bref
Analyse des défis et des conditions liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au Canada, premier trimestre de 2023

Date de diffusion : le 9 mars 2023

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Les entreprises canadiennes sont confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement depuis le début de la pandémie de COVID-19 au début de 2020, qui ont été exacerbés par le conflit en Ukraine en 2022. Bien que ces défis aient été importants, ils se sont atténués tout au long de 2022. La proportion d’entreprises connaissant une détérioration des conditions de la chaîne d’approvisionnement a diminué au cours de l’année, mettant en lumière la force, la résilience et l’optimisme des chaînes d’approvisionnement canadiennes et la capacité des entreprises à survivre au fil du temps. Néanmoins, l’état des chaînes d’approvisionnement et l’incidence qu’elles ont sur l’économie restent d’un grand intérêt et un sujet d’étude crucial.

En 2022, les contraintes d’approvisionnement généralisées à l’échelle mondiale, combinées à une demande refoulée des consommateurs et aux conséquences économiques du conflit en Ukraine, ont entraîné des pressions inflationnistes pendant une grande partie de l’année. Alors que l’inflation annuelle était de 0,7 % en 2020 et de 3,4 % en 2021Note , elle a augmenté rapidement en 2022. L’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) a atteint des sommets en juin 2022, en hausse de 8,1 %, la plus forte progression annuelle observée depuis janvier 1983Note . Toutefois, l’inflation a progressivement diminué pour s’établir à 5,9 % d’une année à l’autre en janvier. Sur une base mensuelle, l’IPC a progressé de 0,5 % en janvier 2023 après avoir reculé de 0,6 % en décembre. Sur une base mensuelle désaisonnalisée, l’IPC a crû de 0,3 %Note . L’assouplissement relatif des pressions inflationnistes vers la fin de 2022 a coïncidé avec une diminution de la proportion d’entreprises qui ont connu ou qui s’attendaient à connaître l’aggravation des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Du début de janvier jusqu’au début de février 2023, Statistique Canada a mené l’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises afin de mieux comprendre l’environnement actuel dans lequel évoluent les entreprises au Canada et leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. D’après les résultats de l’enquête, un moins grand nombre d’entreprises s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement que le trimestre précédent. Les entreprises confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement étaient moins susceptibles de déclarer que ces défis s’aggravaient. En outre, moins d’entreprises s’attendaient à une aggravation des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement à court terme par rapport au trimestre précédent. Toutefois, les principaux facteurs qui ont contribué à aggraver les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois derniers mois sont demeurés les mêmes que ceux du trimestre précédent. Le présent article donne un aperçu des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement et des répercussions de ces enjeux sur les entreprises au Canada.

Un moins grand nombre d’entreprises s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Au total, 1 entreprise sur 10 (10,0 %) s’attendait à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks demeure un obstacle au cours des trois prochains moisNote . Ce nombre a légèrement diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent, lorsque plus du cinquième (12,8 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle. Toutefois, cela reste un obstacle important dans certaines industries. Près du quart des entreprises dans le secteur du commerce de détail (24,9 %) et de celles du commerce de gros (24,7 %) s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois. Ces entreprises prévoyaient répondre à ces difficultés de diverses manières, près de la moitié (49,1 %) envisageant d’augmenter les prix de vente des biens et services offerts, et plus des trois dixièmes prévoyant de trouver d’autres intrants (35,8 %); de maintenir un niveau de stocks plus élevé que d’habitude par mesure de précaution contre les pénuries futures (33,6 %); et d’améliorer le suivi des stocks pour planifier le calendrier des achats (32,0 %).

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un défi au cours des trois prochains mois, plus des deux cinquièmes (45,5 %) s’attendaient à ce que ces difficultés se poursuivent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une diminution importante par rapport au trimestre précédent (56,3 %). Les entreprises des services administratifs, des services de gestion des déchets et des services d’assainissement (65,1 %) et de la fabrication (58,2 %) étaient plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un défi pendant six mois ou plus. À l’inverse, plus du tiers (34,9 %) des entreprises qui s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks constitue un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois ne savaient pas combien de temps ces défis persisteraient.

Le cinquième (20,7 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada au cours des trois prochains mois. Cette proportion a diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent, quand plus du quart (23,5 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à être confrontées à cette difficulté. En outre, cette baisse a été observée depuis le premier trimestre de 2022. Les entreprises des secteurs de la construction (36,7 %) et de la fabrication (32,3 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à cet obstacle.

Graphique 1

Tableau de données du graphique 1 
Tableau de données du graphique 1

Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de . Les données sont présentées selon Obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement auxquels sont confrontées les entreprises
(titres de rangée) et 2022T1, 2022T2, 2022T3, 2022T4 et 2023T1, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement auxquels sont confrontées les entreprises
2022T1 2022T2 2022T3 2022T4 2023T1
pourcentage
Proportion des entreprises qui s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au pays au cours des trois prochains mois 32,1 28,2 26,8 23,5 20,7
Proportion des entreprises qui s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger au cours des trois prochains mois 18,1 18,2 14,4 12,3 9,4
Proportion des entreprises qui s’attendaient à éprouver des difficultés à maintenir les niveaux de stocks au cours des trois prochains mois 20,8 17,4 14,2 12,8 10,0

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada au cours des trois prochains mois, près de la moitié (48,6 %) s’attendait à ce que ces problèmes se poursuivent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une diminution par rapport au trimestre précédent (56,0 %). Parallèlement, près des deux cinquièmes (39,2 %) des entreprises ne savent pas pendant combien de temps ces défis persisteront, une augmentation par rapport au trimestre précédent (30,8 %).


Tableau 1
Entreprises s’attendant à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement durent plus de six mois, parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à des obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Entreprises s’attendant à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement durent plus de six mois T42022 et T12023(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
T42022 T12023
% des entreprises 
Maintien des niveaux de stocks 56,3 45,5
Difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au pays 56,0 48,6
Difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger 61,3 56,2

Moins d’un dixième (9,4 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance de l’étranger au cours des trois prochains mois, une diminution par rapport à 12,3 % des entreprises au trimestre précédent. Plus du cinquième des entreprises du secteur du commerce de gros (23,7 %) et du secteur de la fabrication (20,1 %) s’attendait à être confronté à ce défi. Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à avoir ces difficultés au cours des trois prochains mois, plus de la moitié (56,2 %) s’attendait à ce que ces difficultés persistent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une diminution par rapport au trimestre précédent (61,3 %). Parallèlement, plus du quart (31,3 %) des répondants ne savent pas combien de temps ces défis persisteront.

Les attentes liées aux défis de la chaîne d’approvisionnement ont continué de s’améliorer

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, près des deux cinquièmes (39,6 %) ont indiqué que ces défis s’étaient aggravés au cours des trois derniers moisNote . Ce chiffre a nettement diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent (52,0 %), ce qui représentait un quatrième trimestre d’affilé de repli depuis le premier trimestre de 2022.

Les entreprises d’autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) (56,4 %), des services d’hébergement et de restauration (56,0 %) et de l’industrie de l’information et de l’industrie culturelle (52,2 %) ont été les plus susceptibles de déclarer que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés au cours des trois derniers mois.

Graphique 2

Tableau de données du graphique 2 
Tableau de données du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 2. Les données sont présentées selon Changement dans les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement (titres de rangée) et 2022T1, 2022T2, 2022T3, 2022T4 et 2023T1, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Changement dans les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement 2022T1 2022T2 2022T3 2022T4 2023T1
pourcentage
Proportion d’entreprises ayant signalé que les problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’étaient aggravés au cours des trois derniers mois 71,9 67,9 58,2 52,0 39,6

Pour ces entreprises, les principaux facteurs qui ont contribué à aggraver les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois derniers mois étaient l’augmentation du prix des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures (81,7 %), l’augmentation des retards dans la livraison des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures (78,7 %), et des pénuries d’approvisionnement provoquant une baisse dans le nombre d’intrants, de produits ou de fournitures disponibles (72,9 %). Il s’agissait également des principaux facteurs du trimestre précédent (79,7 %, 80,4 % et 75,0 % respectivement).

La moitié (48,0 %) des entreprises qui s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois ont indiqué que ces défis sont demeurés à peu près les mêmes au cours des trois derniers mois, en hausse par rapport au trimestre précédent (41,1 %). Plus d’une entreprise sur dix (12,4 %) a déclaré que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés au cours des trois derniers mois, par rapport à 6,9 % au trimestre précédent. Pour le quatrième trimestre consécutif, parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à rencontrer des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la proportion d’entreprises qui s’attendaient à une aggravation de ces problèmes au cours des trois prochains mois a diminué, passant de 43,4 % au premier trimestre de 2022 à 20,3 % au trimestre en cours. La proportion d’entreprises qui s’attendaient à ce que ces défis s’améliorent au cours des trois prochains mois était pratiquement inchangé du trimestre précédent (12,4%) au trimestre actuel (12.8%).

Ajustements prévus aux chaînes d’approvisionnement

Au premier trimestre de 2023, près du tiers des entreprises qui s’attendaient à rencontrer des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement avaient prévu de s’associer à de nouveaux fournisseurs (32,1 %), tandis que près des trois dixièmes prévoyaient remplacer les intrants, les produits ou les fournitures par d’autres intrants, produits ou fournitures (29,1 %) et de travailler avec les fournisseurs pour accroître la rapidité (28,4 %).

De plus, près du cinquième (23,5 %) des entreprises étaient incertaines des plans qu’elles mettraient en place pour ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement, et plus du cinquième (20,2 %) n’avaient pas l’intention d’ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des 12 prochains mois.

Méthodologie

Du 3 janvier au 6 février 2023, des représentants d’entreprises de partout au Canada ont été invités à répondre à un questionnaire en ligne portant sur la situation des entreprises et sur leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. L’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises repose sur un échantillon aléatoire stratifié d’établissements commerciaux dans lequel les employés sont classés par région géographique, secteur d’industrie et taille. L’estimation des proportions se fait à l’aide de poids calibrés afin de calculer les totaux de population dans les domaines d’intérêt. La taille totale de l’échantillon pour ce cycle de l’enquête est de 30 554 et les résultats sont fondés sur les réponses d’un total de 15 963 entreprises ou organismes.

Références

Statistique Canada. 2023. Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, premier trimestre de 2023.

Date de modification :