Sort Help
entries

Results

All (9)

All (9) ((9 results))

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202400500001
    Description: Over the last several years, recreational screen time has been increasing. During the COVID-19 pandemic, recreational screen time rose among Canadian youth and adults, and those who increased screen time had poorer self-reported mental health. Using data from the 2017, 2018, and 2021 Canadian Community Health Survey, the objective of this study was to compare recreational screen time behaviours before (2018) and during (2021) the pandemic, looking at patterns by sociodemographic subgroups of the Canadian population.
    Release date: 2024-05-15

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202300300002
    Description: Previous studies examining the cardiometabolic risks associated with physical activity (PA) in workers have predominantly used self-reported measures. Little is known about workers’ distinct daily PA patterns and whether these are linked with cardiometabolic risks. This study examined associations between patterns of workers’ accelerometer-measured daily PA and four markers of cardiometabolic health. Furthermore, the study examined similarities and differences between younger compared to middle-aged and older workers, and between men and women, to understand whether these groups are associated with different cardiometabolic risks.
    Release date: 2023-03-15

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202201100001
    Description:

    Data on meeting the Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for adults (24-H Guidelines) and associations with health indicators by body mass index (BMI) class are needed to support public health surveillance. Using data from the cross-sectional Canadian Health Measures Survey, this study aims to describe the proportion of Canadian adults meeting individual and various combinations of the 24-H Guidelines by BMI class and their association with health indicators.

    Release date: 2022-11-16

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202201000002
    Description:

    Canadian adults spend a large proportion of their day engaged in sedentary behaviour, which in excess, is a risk factor for hypertension, obesity, depression, chronic conditions and premature mortality. Using data from the Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) and the new Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults aged 18-64 years and 65 years and older, the purpose of this study is to compare the percentages of Canadians meeting three different sedentary thresholds (less than and equal to 3 hours per day of screen time, less than and equal to 7 per day of self-reported sitting time and less than and equal to 9 hours per day of accelerometer-measured sedentary time).

    Release date: 2022-10-19

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202200800001
    Description:

    The physical activity (PA) recommendation was recently revised in the Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults. The 150 minutes per week of moderate-to-vigorous intensity PA (MVPA) went from requiring that MVPA be accrued in bouts of 10 minutes or more (bouted) to having no bout requirement (non-bouted). Using adult accelerometer data from three combined cycles of the nationally representative Canadian Health Measures Survey, this study compared adherence to the bouted and non-bouted recommendations, and assessed differences in sociodemographic, health and fitness measures.

    Release date: 2022-08-18

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202000900002
    Description:

    The objective of this study is to describe occupational differences in accelerometer-measured and self-reported physical activity and sedentary behaviour of Canadian full-time workers.

    Release date: 2020-09-16

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202000500002
    Description:

    Canada recently adopted the 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Children and Youth (24-Hour Guidelines) for young people aged 5 to 17 years-an international first, providing integrated recommendations for physical activity, sedentary time and sleep. Since the release of the guidelines, very few studies have examined the associations of adherence to the 24-Hour Guidelines with health outcomes-and none focus on psychosocial health. Therefore, the objective of this study was to assess the associations of meeting the 24-Hour Guidelines and their behaviour-specific recommendations with psychosocial health among Canadian children and youth.

    Release date: 2020-07-02

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X201900700001
    Description:

    Statistics Canada developed a new Physical Activity for Youth Questionnaire (PAYQ) to address the limitations of previous self-reporting and objective measurement. PAYQ was subsequently implemented in both the Canadian Health Measures Survey (2014-2015) and the Canadian Community Health Survey (2015-2016). Using those surveys, this study compares accelerometer-measured and self-reported physical activity from the new PAYQ among Canadian youth.

    Release date: 2019-07-17

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X201801200001
    Description:

    The objective of this study is to compare estimates of physical activity among adults from a newly developed Canadian questionnaire with those obtained objectively by accelerometry. Data for 18- to 79-year-olds were collected in 2014 and 2015 as part of the Canadian Health Measures Survey. Moderate-to-vigorous physical activity was reported on the household questionnaire by domain (transportation, recreation, and occupational or household) as part of the new Physical Activity Adult Questionnaire (PAAQ) and measured objectively using the Actical accelerometer.

    Release date: 2018-12-19
Stats in brief (0)

Stats in brief (0) (0 results)

No content available at this time.

Articles and reports (9)

Articles and reports (9) ((9 results))

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202400500001
    Description: Over the last several years, recreational screen time has been increasing. During the COVID-19 pandemic, recreational screen time rose among Canadian youth and adults, and those who increased screen time had poorer self-reported mental health. Using data from the 2017, 2018, and 2021 Canadian Community Health Survey, the objective of this study was to compare recreational screen time behaviours before (2018) and during (2021) the pandemic, looking at patterns by sociodemographic subgroups of the Canadian population.
    Release date: 2024-05-15

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202300300002
    Description: Previous studies examining the cardiometabolic risks associated with physical activity (PA) in workers have predominantly used self-reported measures. Little is known about workers’ distinct daily PA patterns and whether these are linked with cardiometabolic risks. This study examined associations between patterns of workers’ accelerometer-measured daily PA and four markers of cardiometabolic health. Furthermore, the study examined similarities and differences between younger compared to middle-aged and older workers, and between men and women, to understand whether these groups are associated with different cardiometabolic risks.
    Release date: 2023-03-15

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202201100001
    Description:

    Data on meeting the Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for adults (24-H Guidelines) and associations with health indicators by body mass index (BMI) class are needed to support public health surveillance. Using data from the cross-sectional Canadian Health Measures Survey, this study aims to describe the proportion of Canadian adults meeting individual and various combinations of the 24-H Guidelines by BMI class and their association with health indicators.

    Release date: 2022-11-16

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202201000002
    Description:

    Canadian adults spend a large proportion of their day engaged in sedentary behaviour, which in excess, is a risk factor for hypertension, obesity, depression, chronic conditions and premature mortality. Using data from the Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) and the new Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults aged 18-64 years and 65 years and older, the purpose of this study is to compare the percentages of Canadians meeting three different sedentary thresholds (less than and equal to 3 hours per day of screen time, less than and equal to 7 per day of self-reported sitting time and less than and equal to 9 hours per day of accelerometer-measured sedentary time).

    Release date: 2022-10-19

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202200800001
    Description:

    The physical activity (PA) recommendation was recently revised in the Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults. The 150 minutes per week of moderate-to-vigorous intensity PA (MVPA) went from requiring that MVPA be accrued in bouts of 10 minutes or more (bouted) to having no bout requirement (non-bouted). Using adult accelerometer data from three combined cycles of the nationally representative Canadian Health Measures Survey, this study compared adherence to the bouted and non-bouted recommendations, and assessed differences in sociodemographic, health and fitness measures.

    Release date: 2022-08-18

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202000900002
    Description:

    The objective of this study is to describe occupational differences in accelerometer-measured and self-reported physical activity and sedentary behaviour of Canadian full-time workers.

    Release date: 2020-09-16

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X202000500002
    Description:

    Canada recently adopted the 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Children and Youth (24-Hour Guidelines) for young people aged 5 to 17 years-an international first, providing integrated recommendations for physical activity, sedentary time and sleep. Since the release of the guidelines, very few studies have examined the associations of adherence to the 24-Hour Guidelines with health outcomes-and none focus on psychosocial health. Therefore, the objective of this study was to assess the associations of meeting the 24-Hour Guidelines and their behaviour-specific recommendations with psychosocial health among Canadian children and youth.

    Release date: 2020-07-02

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X201900700001
    Description:

    Statistics Canada developed a new Physical Activity for Youth Questionnaire (PAYQ) to address the limitations of previous self-reporting and objective measurement. PAYQ was subsequently implemented in both the Canadian Health Measures Survey (2014-2015) and the Canadian Community Health Survey (2015-2016). Using those surveys, this study compares accelerometer-measured and self-reported physical activity from the new PAYQ among Canadian youth.

    Release date: 2019-07-17

  • Articles and reports: 82-003-X201801200001
    Description:

    The objective of this study is to compare estimates of physical activity among adults from a newly developed Canadian questionnaire with those obtained objectively by accelerometry. Data for 18- to 79-year-olds were collected in 2014 and 2015 as part of the Canadian Health Measures Survey. Moderate-to-vigorous physical activity was reported on the household questionnaire by domain (transportation, recreation, and occupational or household) as part of the new Physical Activity Adult Questionnaire (PAAQ) and measured objectively using the Actical accelerometer.

    Release date: 2018-12-19
Journals and periodicals (0)

Journals and periodicals (0) (0 results)

No content available at this time.

Date modified:

Aide à l'ordre
entrées

Résultats

Tout (8)

Tout (8) ((8 résultats))

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202300300002
    Description : Les études antérieures sur les liens entre les risques cardiométaboliques et l’activité physique chez les travailleurs se sont surtout appuyées sur des mesures autodéclarées. On sait peu de choses sur les habitudes quotidiennes distinctes en matière d’activité physique des travailleurs et sur leurs liens avec les risques cardiométaboliques. Cette étude a permis d’examiner les liens entre les habitudes quotidiennes en matière d’activité physique mesurée par accéléromètre et quatre indicateurs de la santé cardiométabolique. De plus, l’étude portait sur les similarités et les différences entre les travailleurs plus jeunes, les travailleurs d’âge moyen et les travailleurs plus âgés, ainsi qu’entre les hommes et les femmes afin de déterminer si ces groupes présentent des différents risques cardiométaboliques.
    Date de diffusion : 2023-03-15

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202201100001
    Description :

    Le vélo est le mode de transport qui enregistre la plus forte croissance dans de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes. Il a connu un essor important au cours de la pandémie de COVID-19. Bien que des efforts aient été déployés récemment pour élaborer des mesures nationales de l'accessibilité à la vie active dans les milieux de vie pour la marche et le transport en commun au Canada, il n'existe aucune mesure correspondante pour les environnements cyclables. L'objectif de l'étude est d'élaborer le premier ensemble de données nationales au Canada pour les mesures de l'environnement cyclable au niveau de l'aire de diffusion : le Système de mesures du confort et de la sécurité des voies cyclables canadiennes. Il aidera à élaborer des mesures de l'environnement cyclable à l'échelle des régions pour l'ensemble du Canada.

    Date de diffusion : 2022-11-16

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202201000002
    Description :

    Les adultes canadiens adoptent un comportement sédentaire pendant une grande partie de leur journée, qui, lorsqu'il est excessif, pose un facteur de risque pour l'hypertension, l'obésité, la dépression, les maladies chroniques et la mortalité prématurée. L'étude, qui repose sur des données de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS) et les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les adultes âgés de 18 à 64 ans et les adultes âgés de 65 ans ou plus, vise à comparer les pourcentages de Canadiens qui atteignent trois seuils de démarcation de sédentarité (inférieur et égal à 3 heures par jour d'utilisation d'écran, inférieur et égal à 7 heures par jour de temps assis autodéclaré et inférieur et égal à 9 heures de temps sédentaire mesuré avec l'accéléromètre).

    Date de diffusion : 2022-10-19

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202200800001
    Description :

    La recommandation sur l'activité physique (AP) que proposent les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les adultes a été récemment révisée. Pour atteindre les 150 minutes par semaine d'AP modérée à vigoureuse (APMV), on est passé de l'exigence d'accumuler l'APVM par séances de 10 minutes ou plus (activité par séances) à la suppression de cette exigence (activité sans séances). S'appuyant sur les données d'accéléromètre pour adultes tirées de trois cycles combinés de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé, représentative à l'échelle nationale, cette étude a comparé le respect des recommandations sur l'activité par séances avec celui des recommandations sur l'activité sans séances, et a évalué les différences dans les mesures sociodémographiques, de santé et de condition physique.

    Date de diffusion : 2022-08-18

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202000900002
    Description :

    La présente étude a pour but de décrire les différences sur le plan des professions en matière d’activité physique et de comportement sédentaire mesurés par accéléromètre et autodéclarés chez les travailleurs canadiens à temps plein.

    Date de diffusion : 2020-09-16

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202000500002
    Description :

    Le Canada a récemment adopté les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les enfants et les jeunes (les Directives sur 24 heures) âgés de 5 à 17 ans, une première à l'échelle internationale, où sont formulées des recommandations intégrées sur l'activité physique, le comportement sédentaire et le sommeil. Depuis la publication des directives, très peu d'études ont permis d'examiner les liens entre le respect des Directives sur 24 heures et les résultats en matière de santé, et aucune ne s'attarde à la santé psychosociale. Par conséquent, l'objectif de la présente étude était d'évaluer les liens entre l'observation des Directives sur 24 heures et leurs recommandations axées sur le comportement et la santé psychosociale chez les enfants et les jeunes du Canada.

    Date de diffusion : 2020-07-02

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X201900700001
    Description :

    Statistique Canada a élaboré un nouveau questionnaire sur les activités physiques pour les jeunes (QAPJ) pour répondre aux limites des outils que l'on utilisait pour obtenir des mesures objectives et des données autodéclarées. On a utilisé le QAPJ à la fois dans l'ECMS (2014-2015) et l'ESCC (2015-2016). En utilisant ces enquêtes, cette étude a pour but de comparer les données mesurées par accéléromètre et les données autodéclarées sur l'activité physique obtenues à l'aide du nouveau QAPJ chez les jeunes canadiens.

    Date de diffusion : 2019-07-17

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X201801200001
    Description :

    La présente étude vise à comparer les estimations de l'activité physique chez les adultes provenant d'un nouveau questionnaire canadien à celles obtenues de façon objective par accélérométrie. Les données se rapportant aux personnes âgées de 18 à 79 ans ont été recueillies en 2014 et en 2015 dans le cadre de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé. L'activité physique modérée à vigoureuse (APMV) a été déclarée dans le questionnaire de l'enquête menée auprès des ménages selon le contexte de l'activité (transport, loisirs et travail ou tâches ménagères) dans le cadre du nouveau Questionnaire sur les activités physiques destiné aux adultes (QAPA). En outre, l'APMV a été mesurée de façon objective à l'aide de l'accéléromètre Actical.

    Date de diffusion : 2018-12-19
Stats en bref (0)

Stats en bref (0) (0 résultat)

Aucun contenu disponible actuellement

Articles et rapports (8)

Articles et rapports (8) ((8 résultats))

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202300300002
    Description : Les études antérieures sur les liens entre les risques cardiométaboliques et l’activité physique chez les travailleurs se sont surtout appuyées sur des mesures autodéclarées. On sait peu de choses sur les habitudes quotidiennes distinctes en matière d’activité physique des travailleurs et sur leurs liens avec les risques cardiométaboliques. Cette étude a permis d’examiner les liens entre les habitudes quotidiennes en matière d’activité physique mesurée par accéléromètre et quatre indicateurs de la santé cardiométabolique. De plus, l’étude portait sur les similarités et les différences entre les travailleurs plus jeunes, les travailleurs d’âge moyen et les travailleurs plus âgés, ainsi qu’entre les hommes et les femmes afin de déterminer si ces groupes présentent des différents risques cardiométaboliques.
    Date de diffusion : 2023-03-15

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202201100001
    Description :

    Le vélo est le mode de transport qui enregistre la plus forte croissance dans de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes. Il a connu un essor important au cours de la pandémie de COVID-19. Bien que des efforts aient été déployés récemment pour élaborer des mesures nationales de l'accessibilité à la vie active dans les milieux de vie pour la marche et le transport en commun au Canada, il n'existe aucune mesure correspondante pour les environnements cyclables. L'objectif de l'étude est d'élaborer le premier ensemble de données nationales au Canada pour les mesures de l'environnement cyclable au niveau de l'aire de diffusion : le Système de mesures du confort et de la sécurité des voies cyclables canadiennes. Il aidera à élaborer des mesures de l'environnement cyclable à l'échelle des régions pour l'ensemble du Canada.

    Date de diffusion : 2022-11-16

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202201000002
    Description :

    Les adultes canadiens adoptent un comportement sédentaire pendant une grande partie de leur journée, qui, lorsqu'il est excessif, pose un facteur de risque pour l'hypertension, l'obésité, la dépression, les maladies chroniques et la mortalité prématurée. L'étude, qui repose sur des données de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS) et les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les adultes âgés de 18 à 64 ans et les adultes âgés de 65 ans ou plus, vise à comparer les pourcentages de Canadiens qui atteignent trois seuils de démarcation de sédentarité (inférieur et égal à 3 heures par jour d'utilisation d'écran, inférieur et égal à 7 heures par jour de temps assis autodéclaré et inférieur et égal à 9 heures de temps sédentaire mesuré avec l'accéléromètre).

    Date de diffusion : 2022-10-19

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202200800001
    Description :

    La recommandation sur l'activité physique (AP) que proposent les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les adultes a été récemment révisée. Pour atteindre les 150 minutes par semaine d'AP modérée à vigoureuse (APMV), on est passé de l'exigence d'accumuler l'APVM par séances de 10 minutes ou plus (activité par séances) à la suppression de cette exigence (activité sans séances). S'appuyant sur les données d'accéléromètre pour adultes tirées de trois cycles combinés de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé, représentative à l'échelle nationale, cette étude a comparé le respect des recommandations sur l'activité par séances avec celui des recommandations sur l'activité sans séances, et a évalué les différences dans les mesures sociodémographiques, de santé et de condition physique.

    Date de diffusion : 2022-08-18

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202000900002
    Description :

    La présente étude a pour but de décrire les différences sur le plan des professions en matière d’activité physique et de comportement sédentaire mesurés par accéléromètre et autodéclarés chez les travailleurs canadiens à temps plein.

    Date de diffusion : 2020-09-16

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X202000500002
    Description :

    Le Canada a récemment adopté les Directives canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les enfants et les jeunes (les Directives sur 24 heures) âgés de 5 à 17 ans, une première à l'échelle internationale, où sont formulées des recommandations intégrées sur l'activité physique, le comportement sédentaire et le sommeil. Depuis la publication des directives, très peu d'études ont permis d'examiner les liens entre le respect des Directives sur 24 heures et les résultats en matière de santé, et aucune ne s'attarde à la santé psychosociale. Par conséquent, l'objectif de la présente étude était d'évaluer les liens entre l'observation des Directives sur 24 heures et leurs recommandations axées sur le comportement et la santé psychosociale chez les enfants et les jeunes du Canada.

    Date de diffusion : 2020-07-02

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X201900700001
    Description :

    Statistique Canada a élaboré un nouveau questionnaire sur les activités physiques pour les jeunes (QAPJ) pour répondre aux limites des outils que l'on utilisait pour obtenir des mesures objectives et des données autodéclarées. On a utilisé le QAPJ à la fois dans l'ECMS (2014-2015) et l'ESCC (2015-2016). En utilisant ces enquêtes, cette étude a pour but de comparer les données mesurées par accéléromètre et les données autodéclarées sur l'activité physique obtenues à l'aide du nouveau QAPJ chez les jeunes canadiens.

    Date de diffusion : 2019-07-17

  • Articles et rapports : 82-003-X201801200001
    Description :

    La présente étude vise à comparer les estimations de l'activité physique chez les adultes provenant d'un nouveau questionnaire canadien à celles obtenues de façon objective par accélérométrie. Les données se rapportant aux personnes âgées de 18 à 79 ans ont été recueillies en 2014 et en 2015 dans le cadre de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé. L'activité physique modérée à vigoureuse (APMV) a été déclarée dans le questionnaire de l'enquête menée auprès des ménages selon le contexte de l'activité (transport, loisirs et travail ou tâches ménagères) dans le cadre du nouveau Questionnaire sur les activités physiques destiné aux adultes (QAPA). En outre, l'APMV a été mesurée de façon objective à l'aide de l'accéléromètre Actical.

    Date de diffusion : 2018-12-19
Revues et périodiques (0)

Revues et périodiques (0) (0 résultat)

Aucun contenu disponible actuellement

Date de modification :