5 Data Visualization
5.5 Line chart

Text begins

Line charts, especially useful in the fields of statistics and science, are more popular than all other graphs combined because their visual characteristics reveal data trends clearly and these charts are easy to create.

A line chart is a visual comparison of how two variables—shown on the x- and y-axes—are related or vary with each other. It shows related information by drawing a continuous line between all the points on a grid.

Line charts compare two variables: one is plotted along the x-axis (horizontal) and the other along the y-axis (vertical). The y-axis in a line chart usually indicates quantity (e.g. dollars, litres) or percentage, while the horizontal x-axis often measures units of time. As a result, the line chart is often viewed as a time series graph. For example, if you wanted to graph the height of a baseball pitch over time, you could measure the time variable along the x-axis, and the height along the y-axis. Although they do not present specific data as well as tables do, line charts are able to show relationships more clearly than tables do. Line charts can also depict multiple series and hence are usually the best candidate for time series data and frequency distribution.

Vertical bar charts and line charts share a similar purpose. The vertical bar chart, however, reveals a change in magnitude, whereas the line chart is used to show a change in direction.

In summary, line charts:

  • show specific values of data well,
  • reveal trends and relationships between data,
  • compare trends in different groups.

Graphs can give a distorted image of the data. If scales on the axes of a line graph force data to appear a certain way, then a graph can even reveal a trend that is entirely different from the one intended. This happens when the intervals between adjacent points along the axis may be dissimilar, or when the same data charted in two graphs using different scales appear different.

Example 1 – Plotting a trend over time

Chart 5.5.1 shows one obvious trend, the fluctuation in the labour force from January to July. The number of students at Andrew’s high school who are members of the labour force is scaled using intervals on the y-axis, while the time variable is plotted on the x-axis.

The number of students participating in the labour force was 252 in January, 252 in February, 255 in March, 256 in April, 282 in May, 290 in June and 319 in July. When examined further, the line chart indicates that the labour force participation of these students was at a plateau for the first four months (January to April), and for the next three months (May to July) the number increased steadily.

Chart 5.5.1 Labour force participation in Andrew’s high school

Data table for Chart 5.5.1 
Data table for Chart 5.5.1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 5.5.1. The information is grouped by Month (appearing as row headers), Number of students (appearing as column headers).
Month Number of students
January 250
February 250
March 255
April 260
May 280
June 290
July 315
Example 2 – Comparing two related variables

Chart 5.5.2 is a single line chart comparing two items. In this example, time is not a factor. The chart compares the average number of dollars donated by the age of the donors. According to the trend in the chart, the older the donor, the more money he or she donates. The 17-year-old donors donate, on average, $84. For the 19-year-olds, the average donation increased by $26 to make the average donation of that age group $110.

Chart 5.5.2 Average number of dollars donated at Evergreen High School, by age of the donors

Data table for Chart 5.5.2 
Data table for Chart 5.5.2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 5.5.2. The information is grouped by Age (appearing as row headers), Average donation ($) (appearing as column headers).
Age Average donation ($)
15 36
16 52
17 83
18 100
19 110
Example 3 – Using correct scale

When drawing an axis, it is important that you use the correct scale. Otherwise, the line’s shape can give readers the wrong impression about the data. Compare Chart 5.5.3 with Chart 5.5.4:

Chart 5.5.3 Number of guilty crime offenders, Grishamville

Data table for Chart 5.5.3 
Data table for Chart 5.5.3
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 5.5.3. The information is grouped by Month (appearing as row headers), Number of crime offenders (appearing as column headers).
Month Number of crime offenders
January 418
February 399
March 391
April 372
May 372

Chart 5.5.4 Number of guilty crime offenders, Grishamville

Data table for Chart 5.5.4 
Data table for Chart 5.5.4
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 5.5.4. The information is grouped by Month (appearing as row headers), Number of crime offenders (appearing as column headers).
Month Number of crime offenders
January 418
February 399
March 391
April 372
May 372

Using a scale of 350 to 430 (Chart 5.5.3) focuses on a small range of values. It does not accurately depict the trend in guilty crime offenders between January and May since it exaggerates that trend. However, choosing a scale of 0 to 450 (Chart 5.5.4) better displays how small the decline in the number of guilty crime offenders really was.

Both charts can be useful depending on the context. The important thing to remember is that you should pay attention to the scale that is being used when interpreting a graph.

Example 4 – Multiple line graphs

A multiple line chart can effectively compare similar items over the same period of time, as you can see in Chart 5.5.5 which compares the use of cell phones by gender.

Chart 5.5.5 Cell phone use in Anytown by gender, 2012 to 2016

Data table for Chart 5.5.5 
Data table for Chart 5.5.5
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 5.5.5. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Number of men (thousands), Number of women (thousands) and Total number (thousands) (appearing as column headers).
Year Number of men (thousands) Number of women (thousands) Total number (thousands)
2012 150.0 147.5 297.5
2013 165.0 157.5 322.5
2014 177.5 160.0 337.5
2015 155.0 177.5 332.5
2016 162.5 182.5 345.0
2017 175.0 180.0 355.0
2018 195.0 187.5 382.5

Chart 5.5.5 is an example of a good chart. The message is clearly stated in the title, and each of the line graphs is properly labelled. It is easy to see from this chart that the total cell phone use has been rising steadily since 2012, except for a one-year period (2015) where the numbers drop slightly. The pattern of use for women and men seems to be quite similar with very small discrepancies between them.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

5 Visualisation des données
5.5 Graphique linéaire

Début du texte

Les graphiques linéaires, surtout employés en statistique et en science, sont utilisés plus fréquemment que tous les autres types de graphiques, parce que leurs caractéristiques visuelles révèlent clairement les tendances dans les données de façon claire et qu'il s'agit d'un type de graphique facile à créer.

Un graphique linéaire est une comparaison visuelle des relations entre deux variables placées sur l'axe des x et l'axe des y. Il montre les liens entre les informations en plaçant un trait continu entre les points d'une grille.

Les graphiques linéaires comparent deux variables : l'une est placée sur l'axe des x (horizontal) et l'autre sur l'axe des y (vertical). L'axe des y dans un graphique linéaire indique habituellement une quantité (p. ex., dollars, litres) ou un pourcentage, alors que l'axe des x horizontal sert souvent à mesurer les unités de temps. C'est pourquoi le graphique linéaire est souvent considéré comme un graphique de séries chronologiques. Par exemple, si vous vouliez montrer dans un graphique la hauteur d'un lancer de baseball, vous pourriez placer la variable du temps sur l'axe des x et la hauteur sur l'axe des y. Bien qu'ils ne présentent pas les données spécifiques aussi bien que les tableaux, les graphiques linéaires peuvent montrer les relations plus clairement que les tableaux. Ils peuvent également montrer de nombreuses séries et conviennent donc habituellement mieux aux séries chronologiques et aux distributions statistiques.

Les graphiques à barres verticales et les graphiques linéaires ont un objectif commun. Le graphique à barres verticales présente un changement d'amplitude, alors que le graphique linéaire est employé pour montrer un changement d'orientation.

En résumé, les graphiques linéaires :

  • montrent bien les valeurs de données spécifiques,
  • révèlent les tendances et les relations entre les données,
  • comparent les tendances de différents groupes.

Les graphiques peuvent parfois donner une représentation déformée des données. Si les échelles employées pour les axes d'un graphique font paraître les données d'une certaine façon, alors le graphique peut faire ressortir une tendance autre que la tendance réelle. C’est le cas si les intervalles entre les points adjacents d'un axe sont inégaux ou si la même donnée, placée dans deux échelles différentes, semble différente.

Exemple 1 – Extraire une tendance temporelle

Le graphique 5.5.1 montre une tendance évidente, la variation de la population active de janvier à juillet. Le nombre d'élèves de l'école d'Olivier qui font partie de la population active est présenté sur l'axe des y (l’axe vertical), alors que la variable du temps se trouve à l'axe des x (l’axe horizontal).

Le nombre d'élèves qui font partie de la population active était de 252 en janvier, 252 en février, 255 en mars, 256 en avril, 282 en mai, 290 en juin et 319 en juillet. En examinant le graphique plus attentivement, on s'aperçoit que la participation des élèves était constante pour les quatre premiers mois (janvier à avril) et que pour les trois autres mois (mai à juillet) le nombre s'est accru de façon constante.

Graphique 5.5.1 Participation à la population active à l’école d’Olivier

Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.1 
Tableau de données pour le graphique 5.5.1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données pour le graphique 5.5.1 . Les données sont présentées selon Mois (titres de rangée) et Nombre d’élèves(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Mois Nombre d’élèves
Janvier 250
Février 250
Mars 255
Avril 260
Mai 280
Juin 290
Juillet 315
Exemple 2 – Comparer deux variables liées

Le graphique 5.5.2 est un graphique linéaire simple qui compare deux éléments. Dans cet exemple, le temps n'est pas un facteur. Le graphique compare le nombre moyen de dollars donnés selon l'âge des donneurs. Selon la tendance dans le graphique, plus le donneur est âgé, plus il donne un montant important. Le donneur de 17 ans donne, en moyenne, 84 $. Chez les donneurs âgés de 19 ans, le don moyen est supérieur de 26 $, soit 110 $.

Graphique 5.5.2 Nombre moyen de dollars donnés à l’école Bois-Verts, selon l’âge des donateurs

Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.2 
Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.2 . Les données sont présentées selon Âge (titres de rangée) et Don moyen ($)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Âge Don moyen ($)
15 36
16 52
17 83
18 100
19 110
Exemple 3 – Utiliser la bonne échelle

Lorsque vous tracez un axe, il est important d'utiliser la bonne échelle. Si vous ne le faites pas, l’axe pourra donner au lecteur une impression fausse quant aux données. Comparez le graphique 5.5.3 et le graphique 5.5.4 :

Graphique 5.5.3 Nombre de contrevenants reconnus coupables à Grishamville

Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.3 
Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.3
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.3 . Les données sont présentées selon Mois (titres de rangée) et Nombre de contrevenants(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Mois Nombre de contrevenants
Janvier 418
Février 399
Mars 391
Avril 372
Mai 372

Graphique 5.5.4 Nombre de contrevenants reconnus coupables à Grishamville

Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.4 
Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.4
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.4 . Les données sont présentées selon Mois (titres de rangée) et Nombre de contrevenants(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Mois Nombre de contrevenants
Janvier 418
Février 399
Mars 391
Avril 372
Mai 372

L'utilisation d'une échelle de 350 à 430 (graphique 5.5.3) met l'accent sur un petit éventail de valeurs. Elle ne permet pas de montrer clairement la tendance en ce qui a trait aux contrevenants reconnus coupables entre janvier et mai, puisqu'elle exagère la tendance. Cependant, le choix d'une échelle de 0 à 450 (graphique 5.5.4) montre mieux à quel point le déclin des contrevenants reconnus coupables est réellement minime.

Les deux graphiques peuvent avoir leur utilité selon le contexte. La chose importante à retenir, c’est qu’il faut toujours porter attention à l’échelle lors de l’interprétation d’un graphique.

Exemple 4 – Graphiques linéaires multiples

Les graphiques linéaires multiples permettent de comparer efficacement des éléments semblables pour une même période, comme le montre le graphique 5.5.5 qui compare l’utilisation du téléphone cellulaire selon le genre.

Graphique 5.5.5 Utilisation des téléphones cellulaires par genre, Touteville, 2012 à 2018

Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.5 
Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.5
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 5.5.5 . Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Nombre d'hommes (en milliers), Nombre de femmes (en milliers) et Nombre total (en milliers)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Nombre d'hommes (en milliers) Nombre de femmes (en milliers) Nombre total (en milliers)
2012 150,0 147,5 297,5
2013 165,0 157,5 322,5
2014 177,5 160,0 337,5
2015 155,0 177,5 332,5
2016 162,5 182,5 345,0
2017 175,0 180,0 355,0
2018 195,0 187,5 382,5

Le graphique 5.5.5 est un exemple d'un bon graphique. Le message est énoncé clairement dans le titre et chaque ligne du diagramme est identifiée correctement. Il est facile de voir dans ce graphique que l'utilisation totale des téléphones cellulaires s'est accrue de façon constante depuis 2012, sauf pendant une période d’un an (2015) pendant laquelle le nombre a diminué quelque peu. La tendance d'utilisation pour les femmes et les hommes semble être très semblable, malgré quelques différences mineures.


Date de modification :