The Daily
 In the news  Indicators  Releases by subject
 Special interest  Release schedule  Information

Ecological Land Classification, 2017

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Released: 2018-01-23

The Ecological Land Classification (ELC), 2017, Statistics Canada's official classification for ecological areas in Canada, is now available.

The ELC was developed to enable the production of integrated statistics for ecological areas. It is a hierarchical framework that classifies ecological areas or ecosystems and that incorporates all major components of ecosystems: air, water, land and biota.

All boundaries in the ecological framework are matched to soil landscape polygons from the Soil Landscapes of Canada. There are 15 ecozones at the top of the ELC hierarchy, covering the entire terrestrial extent of Canada. These ecozones are subdivided into 53 ecoprovinces that contain 194 ecoregions, which can be further subdivided into 1,027 separate ecological units called ecodistricts.


The Ecological Land Classification, 2017 (Catalogue number12-607-X) is now available.

Contact information

For more information, or to enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact us (toll-free 1-800-263-1136; 514-283-8300; or Media Relations (613-951-4636;

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: